About Us
Copyright 2019 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Clay Cooley Volkswagen of Park Cities

1.9

846 Lifetime Reviews

5555 Lemmon Avenue, Dallas, Texas 75209 Directions
Sales: (214) 561-8100

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

846 Reviews of Clay Cooley Volkswagen of Park Cities

Sort by Write a review
December 24, 2018

"If you like to double check paperwork, this is the place!"

- CharlesM

My experience I had with Clay Cooley VW of Park Cities. Their staff is inept or dishonest. I lean towards inept. "I will give you a call tomorrow and update you", this is an empty promise coming from the mouths of anyone working at Clay Cooley VW. Due to character limits I have summarized my email to Stephen Dodge the General Manager. He has not responded: • October 24th I visited Clay Cooley VW and asked to see a car listed on Clay Cooley VW website for 27000. • The offer sheet appeared with 4000 of accessories. I explained clearly that I did not expect any cost of accessories as the list price had been 27000 and that I would be leaving. The salesman asked me what price I had expected to pay. I answered, "The 2700 plus Tax, Title, and License". He asked to write this number down and he would take it to the finance manager. I agreed with him at that time to pay 28500 which included Tax, Title, and License. This can be found on the offer sheet, which I have a copy of. • At this stage, there had been no issues. • The paperwork dragged on till 10 pm. My wife and I had to leave as the babysitter was not staying any longer. We were asked to return the next day to finish the paperwork. • The car was empty on gas. • The car did not have the temporary plates on the car as the salesman could not find a screw driver. Rather it was jammed in the window. I had to correct this myself. • We returned evening of the 16th. The financing manager began having us sign the paperwork without review. As my wife was signing and I was co-signing, I was entertaining our son. As the paperwork does not clearly state the "sale price", she did not catch this error. It is also written as "total amount financed" and it is unclear if this did or did not include the 3000 down payment I had already made. • My wife did however notice that my name had been written incorrectly and the paperwork had to be re-printed or corrected. • After discovering the issue by asking the financing manager, I immediately informed her that this was not what had been promised to me. I asked her what I could do and who could help me. Her only answer "No one is around this late at night and besides you already have a great price". • Sales manager does not remember even to take the keys of my trade in and I had to return to turn them in. • I placed complaints with the customer service representative Mercedes Delgado and the Sales Manager Dwayne Johnson. • Dwayne listened about my experience and offered me a 500 dollar refund, but he was unable to refund without higher permission the correct amount which is closer to 1500. He ensures me that he will submit the necessary paperwork and update me the next day. • Weeks pass with many unreturned voicemails and failed promises to call me back. • Someone from the sales team calls me to ask if I am still interested in purchasing an Atlas. This is the THIRD such call I had received, but I have chosen not to and all of them to reduce clutter in my massive list of disappointments. At this time I learn that both Dwayne and Mercedes have quit or were let go. No one knew about my complaint or planned to follow up. • It is now around December 7th and I am forwarded now to Paul Farris, who I AGAIN must explain my complaint to. • I decided at this point to visit in person. Introducing myself to Paul Farris, he had naturally forgotten my name and who I even was. I AGAIN reminded him about my issue. • Regretfully Stephen Dodge was at the corporate office this day. Paul Farris promises to call me with an update once you return. I was not called. • It took 60 days to call me regarding my license plates. Now 57 days after agreeing to purchase the vehicle, I receive my first actual answer to my complaint... via email, no phone call. It told me that I signed a contract and they will not reimburse me anything. How do you allow in your institution so many sloppy, incoherent, and lazy behaviors? Perhaps most importantly, how do we go from Dwayne Johnson offering to refund me 500 dollars to 0 dollars? Lesson: Double check all of their work in advance!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Stephen Dodge, Paul Ferris, Dwayne Johnson, Mercedes Delgado
December 01, 2018

"Dishonesty has a new name...its Clay Cooley"

- Tgyh67

Classic bait and switch. Here’s the my cautionary tale about dealing with Clay Cooley VW of Park Cities. Made an inquiry early in the week. The person I spoke with said it was a “reasonable” offer and someone would follow up with me. Crickets. So I called back the next day and spoke to another person who again said that my offer was “reasonable.” And again, no follow up. Today a new person called me. I reiterated my offer. This new person again, using their stock phrase, said my offer was “reasonable.” She said she would take it to her manager and then get back to me. She called me back 15 minutes later and said they accepted my offer. Even though the process had been a little sloppy, at this point I had no reason to believe they were dishonest. But the first red flag was when I asked the sales person to text or email me the details and she didn’t. No worries, I left work early to go to the dealer to complete the transaction. When I arrived, second red flag was when I saw the car that I had agreed to buy sitting in the showroom and not prepped at all. So at this point I’m greeted by another new guy because the person I spoke to on the phone had left and the person she told me to ask for when I arrived was supposedly busy. Spoke to the new guy and I gave him the details, which I’m not sure why they didn’t have already. After some back and forth, the manager come out and says there must have been some sort of miscommunication because although I had been only discussing one particular vehicle the entire time with a higher level trim, the sales person was actually offering the base trim. The funny thing about this explanation was that if this was true then my offer would have been significantly higher than MSRP. But whatever, they had wasted way too much of my time. You would think they would have learned something from the VW emissions cheating scandal. But then again, maybe they did. Maybe they learned how to cheat their customers. Learn from me, try another dealer that actually respects their customers to deal with them honestly. I guess I know now why everyone says: “He’s the worst. He’s an xxx. Either way, stay away from Clay.”

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Reid Ryan
February 23, 2018

"Penultimate Purchase Experience"

- Jim Rice

I found the 2012 Hyundai Sonata Blue online and spoke with Clint Hickman about the vehicle. Clint was very helpful, honest, and a pleasure to work with. I went out for a test drive and liked the car. It was clean and in very good shape. Took the car to my mechanic and it check out with flying colors with an hour-long inspection. I worked with Clint, the Sales Manager Paul, and Finance Manager Jeff. I found everyone to be extremely professional and never once felt any hard sell. For me, this was a perfect buying experience and would highly recommend this group of professionals.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Clint Hickman (Customer Experience), Paul (Sales Manager), Jeff (Finance Manager)
December 28, 2017

"Bad Service department."

- Whit214

Took my car in for service under warranty, 1st time it was not fixed properly, and now have a new problem after picking it up from service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Nick Mims
Jan 04, 2018 -

Clay Cooley Volkswagen of Park Cities responded

Please contact me, Chris Chiv, at cchiv@comeseeclay.com so we can help remedy any issues you may have had during your recent visit. Thanks! Chris Chiv.

November 01, 2017

"Don't let Clay Cooley service department waste your time."

- smithy2001

The 2nd batter from Clay Cooley died on my 2012 Passat died this morning. I called Clay Cooley this morning about the dead battery and I was told it was still under warranty. I asked how much the cost of labor would be and I was told it would be free as the battery was under warranty. I drive to Clay Cooley and am told by Nick (Service Manager) the battery had a two year warranty, it is now pro rated, I do have to pay for instillation,I'm better off buying a new battery. They speak with the customer service representative (Pete) that lied to me, they admit he gave me wrong information, but they do not want my business and offer me nothing. I am told their batteries usually die in 3 years. My car has 33,000 miles on it. This is the 3rd batter in 5 years. I am not impressed by Clay Cooley's level of service. After speaking with another manager who did not care one iota, I left and went to a part store, bought a better battery for less, and had my battery installed for free. I bought my car from Clay Cooley, but today they lost me as a customer.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Pete Hodges
1.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Other Employees : Nick, Frank from parts
Nov 03, 2017 -

Clay Cooley Volkswagen of Park Cities responded

Please send me an email at support@comeseeclay.com so that I can look into your situation.

October 20, 2017

"Ignored"

- Tgirl80

I do not and will not ever recommend a Clay Cooley dealership. From buying the cc in 2017 till now I’ve had nothing but problems. With the financial paperwork being handled to the warrantees I’ve purchased. Very disappointing service still waiting on my refund. Do not use Clay Cooley!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Christopher Chiv
Oct 24, 2017 -

Clay Cooley Volkswagen of Park Cities responded

Please send me an email at support@comeseeclay.com so that I can turn this around for you. Thank you and I hope to hear from you soon.

October 07, 2017

"Disappointing Service"

- Wyzdom Price

BEWARE OF Clay Cooley VW SERVICE DEPT Another reputable auto repair shop completed a thorough diagnostic test on my car and informed me that the problem was related to an ABS module. They contacted VW and learned that there is an open recall on this module and suggested that I take my car to VW. I scheduled an appt. w/Clay Cooley VW the following day. In a nutshell, Peter the service rep operated with zero integrity and attempted to defraud me. I believe that Peter did this to justify the car not being ready and to buy more time. I immediately escalated to the service manager - John. Instead of John remaining neutral to fully understand "the customer" concern, he was defensive, deflected from Peter's detestable actions, and stated VW requires my authorization to proceed with the thorough diagnostic test that takes a couple of hours and cost $140 before they can perform the recall repair. When I called back 20 minutes later to tell them I'm picking up the car, Peter arrogantly informed me that I can pick up the car but they already performed the diagnostic test, something else is wrong with the car and the cost is over $3,000. They will charge me $140 diagnostic fee because they already performed the test. Note that after John's (service mgr) response, I reached out to another VW dealership to perform the recall repair. I called the other dealership back and informed them of Peter's last statements. Because of the other VW dealership intervention directly with Clay Cooley, when I picked up my car a hour later, John stated that it was "not possible" to perform the diagnostic test so they will not charge me $140. This is my first negative experience with any VW service dept. since I purchased my vehicle in 2010. I love my car and because of past excellent customer service with this dealership and nearby VWs, I purchased my teenager a used Jetta a few months ago. We will continue to be VW fans but will never return to Clay Cooley because of Peter and John's morally reprehensible conduct. I do appreciate the other VW dealership service dept. getting involved and will go to that dealership for future service and

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
John (service manager) and Peter Haley
Oct 10, 2017 -

Clay Cooley Volkswagen of Park Cities responded

Please send me an email at support@comeseeclay.com. We understand your frustration and we want to work to turn this around and give you a positive experience with our service team. I hope to hear from you soon.

August 28, 2017

"Horrible service"

- Dena F

On Saturday, I brought my VW Eos w/less than 50K miles in for basic maintenance and got a call that they found several major repairs needed totally $3600. After my shock and horror, I was told it would be ready on Monday. I called Monday around 4:00 to see if it was ready. I was told it was still being worked on but it would be ready later. I asked for a time and was put on hold. A couple minutes later, the service rep said actually they didn't even have the parts for it and it would be Tuesday. So not only does my car w/less than 50K miles need major repairs (in addition to a $1500 water pump replacement earlier in the year), but I'm told my car would be ready until I pushed for a time and the service rep has no clue the actual status of my car and didn't think to call to keep me updated. I not only will never buy a VW again, I will never take my car back to this dealership. I'll be driving straight to the Honda dealer for a trade in.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Nick
Aug 29, 2017 -

Clay Cooley Volkswagen of Park Cities responded

Dena, thank you for bringing this issue to my attention. I appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. I’m sorry to learn that you were disappointed in how your service was handled. If there is anything else I can do to help find a solution, please contact me, the service manager, at jboidy@comeseeclay.com. Hope to hear from you soon, John Boidy

July 30, 2017

"Ask for Paul"

- Susan P

Five-star experience. Paul is terrific, no pressure kind of guy. He made our daughter's first car buying experience a very pleasant one. A quick shout out to Frank, the general sales manager, who has not forgotten the importance of customer service - thank you Frank for taking the time to visit with our young daughter about the importance of maintaining a good credit rating in life.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Paul, Frank
Aug 01, 2017 -

Clay Cooley Volkswagen of Park Cities responded

Thank you for your feedback, Susan! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with our dealership, especially with Paul and Frank. Please let us know if there's anything else we can do for either of you! -Craig Chancellor

February 23, 2016

"Don't buy here"

- Tony Helms

Do not buy from these people they will tell you anything to sell you a car.. The car I bought had only 38000 miles I've had it for 3 months and had to take it to get worked on.. The warranty they sold us doesn't cover everything like the man said ..He told us is was bumper to bumper and thats was lie there is also a deductible on the warranty which he did not notify us of that. He said the car was pre owned certified which was a lie.. He told us that they work with BMW of Dallas and that is where they get their mini coopers from which is where I had to take my car to get fixed and I just found out that was a lie too.. It's going to cost over $6000 to get it fixed and the so called warranty will only cover $3000... About the third day after I had the car I called them and told them that the check engine light was on and they said that that's normal Mini Coopers do that sometimes it'll turn on and then it will turn off S since the third day that I got this car I've been having problems with it do not buy anything from these people..Itt will cost you more than you think..

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Sam
1
...
1 - 10 of 846 results