Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back

Contemporary Motor Cars, Inc.

4.7

88 Lifetime Reviews

100 Oceanport Ave, Little Silver, New Jersey 07739
Call (732) 842-5353

88 Reviews of Contemporary Motor Cars, Inc.

Sort by Write a review
September 18, 2019

"Very helpful, knowledgeable and welcoming"

- Stacey

Have purchased another car here in past. As a whole, they are great. Sarah our sales rep was very friendly, knowledgeable and extremely helpful! She was always available and had answers to all of our questions as well as providing us with much useful information about the car we were looking at and ultimately bought.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Sep 18, 2019 -

Contemporary Motor Cars, Inc. responded

Stacey, thank you for leaving a great review! We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and mention Sarah!

August 28, 2019

"This dealership has been caught red handed."

- JT

The following is a short summary of how Contemporary Motor Cars Inc, a Mercedes Benz Dealership in Little Silver NJ went to great lengths to attempt to have me pay over $12,000 for a new transmission. This is after requesting a simple program that was originally quoted as being $330 for a few hours labor in early April of this year 2019. My vehicle is an ML63 and was in perfect condition before leaving it with the dealership to have the transmission control module re programmed. Thousands of dollars out of pocket and months later they gave me back an ML63 that was no longer drivable. I was told by Contemporary Motor Car that they would need to replace the entire transmission and I would need to pay for all associated parts if I wanted my ML63 to be operational again. I am forced to take the ML63 vehicle from CMC and at this point the vehicle is not functional and cannot be driven as the transmission is not operating and will not change gears anymore. I was given documentation from CMC that stated in full detail, exactly what they found that fully justified replacing an entire transmission, such as bolts that had come out of the valve body and a steel check ball that they also claimed had come from inside the valve body. I took photos and video at the dealership after asking permission and will be posting on a soon to be released blog that shares the full story. Terry Beck is the supervising service manager and I had a meeting with him and Steven Jung (service advisor) that lasted over an hour at the dealership on the 22nd of May around 430pm. Terry Beck and Steven Jung both agreed in this meeting that they had returned my ML63 back to me and the vehicle was not drivable. At the end of our meeting, Terry, said "I'm appalled at where we are right now" Terry told me that he use to be in the shop before you came into the service and he stated "the integrity that I have, I'm not liking what I hear" Terry also said, "Let me look into this and get back with you so we can successfully resolve this and get your car back on the road" Several weeks had passed by since I met with Terry and Steve and not a single person from CMC had attempted to contact me with any help. This was an email from Terry Beck still insisting on me paying for the repairs that were never needed. Terry underlined the words THIS IS MY LAST EMAIL to make it clear what his intentions were. This was how I was treated!!!!!! Terry Beck #####@cmcbenz.com, Tue, July 16, 6:09AM Mr. Trent We are waiting for your decision on moving forward with the repairs on your vehicle, this is my last email. Terry Beck As I said, I was given documentation from CMC that stated in full. Detailing exactly what they found that fully justified over $12,000 in work. Such as bolts that had come out of the valve body and a steel check ball that they also claimed had come from inside the valve body. These statements were later found to be untrue and 100% fabricated. These details were uncovered through an inspection and removal of the parts in question by another transmission company. This was all documented and reported. It was even confirmed that none of the parts I paid CMC to put into the vehicle (ie replacement of valve body) had actually been done and this was all verified in writing and I have photos. I actually paid money to CMC for labor that they claimed to have done and they gave me a report in writing, but never actually did the work. None of the parts CMC claimed to have been missing from the original valve body (Which they documented in writing) were actually missing. The original valve body and transmission were in perfect condition. I paid the new transmission company to reprogram the same made transmission control module for the cost of $200. This ML63 never had anything wrong and drove perfectly. When faced with bad service, unfair policy or corporate indifference, most people these days will publish a negative review, which I fully understand. When that same company are caught engaging in deceptive practices, making misleading statements and are ultimately caught red handed, it's time to release it on every social media platform available, such as blogs and YouTube channels that identify with these kind of predatory business practices. I tried emailing the general manager and several other people at Contemporary over the months and not a single person responded. I did speak with Mercedes Benz USA and gave them dozens of documents to prove what had happen and they were horrified. Needless to say, I am taking the steps to fully expose this in every way possible to let people know not to do business with Contemporary Motor Cars Inc.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : Steven Jung, Mechanic Dale
Sep 12, 2019 -

Contemporary Motor Cars, Inc. responded

Mr. Trent scheduled his vehicle in for service on March 15, 2019, this was his first time servicing with Contemporary Motor Cars Inc.; he has a 2009 ML63 with 92,901 miles. The Service Advisor wrote up the vehicle for a check engine light on. The Technician diagnosed the vehicle and found codes for the problem with the transmission electrical control unit. The Service Advisor gave Mr. Trent the estimate for the repairs and he declined the repairs. The Advisor explained to Mr. Trent this was the first step in diagnoses and we still may need to do further testing. Mr. Trent said that he didn’t have the money for us to do the repairs, that he would replace the parts himself. The Service Advisor advised against him doing the work because of the technical procedures it would take to perform the repairs. He paid the invoice and took his vehicle. After Mr. Trent replaced the part for the transmission he towed the vehicle back for us to reprogram the transmission control unit. We programed the transmission control unit and road tested the vehicle, the shift was still not correct. The Advisor called Mr. Trent and explained the control unit didn’t resolve the shifting problem and we would need to do more diagnosis with the valve body and or transmission. Mr. Trent stated he didn’t have a lot of money to spend because of family issues. Terry and Steve understood and tried to help with the diagnostic cost, in tracing the faults causing the shifting problem. The Technician removed the valve body pan and found a loose bolt, and steel ball from the valve body in the pan and other valve body bolts were not torque properly, the technician looked over the work that was done by Mr. Trent, checked the valves and electrical connectors. Then torqued the valve body and reassembled the pan, road-tested the vehicle, the transmission seems to shift harshly. The Technician and Foreman felt that we needed to replace the valve body or check further into rebuilding the transmission. The Advisor contacted Mr. Trent and advised him of our next steps. Mr. Trent supplied us with a valve body, the first Valve body wasn’t the correct part number and he brought in another valve body. The technician installed the supplied valve body, programmed the control unit, cleared the codes and road tested the vehicle and found the transmission still wasn’t shifting properly. Both the technician and foreman tested the electronic to the Transmission and felt they would need to replace the transmission. The internal parts and labor would cost more than just replacing a remanufactured transmission from Mercedes-Benz which comes with a warranty. Mr. Trent came in for a meeting about his vehicle and spoke with Steve and Terry. He was upset with how the vehicle was proceeding. We explained that we spent a lot of time diagnosing and tracing for the repairs without charging him. We stated our recommendation on how to proceed with the work, and gave an estimate on replacing the transmission and would give a discount if he decides to replace the transmission, his cost about $7600.00 for replacement. Sometime had passed between our discussions with Mr. Trent, I was waiting for him to tell us how to proceed with his vehicle. I sent an email asking for his decision on how we should move forward. He wanted a different resolution and we explained the vehicle didn’t have any warranty and he would have to come up with the money to repair his Transmission. At this time the vehicle was returned to Mr. Trent.

August 06, 2019

"Mercedes e class service "

- Stacyrin

Anthony is great at what he does he always finds and fixes what ever I bring my car in for from this car to all my other cars he is great service. I recommend everyone going to Them for service

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Aug 07, 2019 -

Contemporary Motor Cars, Inc. responded

Thank you Stacyrin for following up and leaving a 5-star review. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us! Best,

July 10, 2019

"Amazing Customer Service"

- Wayne M Whitman

At 515 PM or closing time for most service departments, the right front tire on my car blew out, fortunately my tires are run flats so I knew I could travel a few more miles. I was on my way to an important meeting. In a panic I went to Contemporary Motors and found my service advisor Anthony Molfino hoping for a loaner, but instead he took my car in the shop, found someone willing to stay past hours and put on a brand new tire and have me out in less than an hour. What a relieve, what customer service. Bravo Anthony ! Wayne M Whitman

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
May 15, 2019

"Sarah Makes You Smile..."

- MichaelC

We truly enjoyed our overall car buying experience working with Sarah and the Contemporary Motors team. Sarah is personable, courteous and professional. She not only asked all the right questions but most importantly she listened! We are very impressed with Sarah’s attention to detail, follow up and commitment to our satisfaction so much so we’re going back in June to get our new GLC. Our best compliment is we will definitely be part of the Contemporary family for years to come with special thanks to Sarah!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
May 13, 2019

"Top of The Game in Mercedes Benz Dealers"

- MBFan

I have known Mike Founds for many years he is a Class Act and total Professional. The experience at this dealership is 100% White Glove!! They are the only dealership to go to for Mercedes Benz worthy of the product in Metro NY/ NJ. Worth the trip for the experience from anywhere!! David Evans Westfield NJ

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
January 09, 2019

"Quick and painless"

- peterhagelund

I worked with Sarah and it was a pleasure. Had the car ready when I came; appraisal of my trade-in was done during the test drive. No long-winded negotiations - done in no time flat. I picked up the car later the same day and had a painless and quick session with finance to do the paperwork. Highly recommended.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
December 29, 2018

"Best sales person at Contemporary"

- Demarzano

Sarah is a pleasure to work with. She is customer-oriented and willing to go above and beyond to locate the best car for her customers.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
December 27, 2018

"The Best experience"

- Mdpdmd22

I have purchased dozens of new cars in my lifetime and I have never had a better customer experience here. It's my 5th Mercedes bought here and it keeps getting better every time. If you want a great price and a red carpet buying experience look no further.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
August 31, 2018

"Superb in Every Way "

- hilmar

My first purchase in 2012 was wonderful experience with Tim Welsh. As the years have gone by , I have also dealt with Ed and Griffin in Sprinter Sales, all of the sales personnel making car / van buying a very easy process. John and Michael in service have been keeping the " fleet " running perfectly, Finance department easy to deal with, and of course Richard who knows everything about the MB lineup and never far away to help navigate the MB command system.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
1
...
1 - 10 of 88 results