Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

DARCARS Toyota of Silver Spring

3.5

615 Lifetime Reviews

12210 Cherry Hill Rd, Silver Spring, Maryland 20904 Directions
Call (301) 622-0300

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

615 Reviews of DARCARS Toyota of Silver Spring

Sort by Write a review
December 29, 2019

"Tom is the best! He is straight forward, and works hard..."

- Jlash410

Tom is the best! He is straight forward, and works hard for the customer. One of the kindest human beings I've ever met. Will definitely recommend others to see him.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tom Kim
5.0
Jan 03, 2020 -

DARCARS Toyota of Silver Spring responded

Thank you for the 5 star review and recommendation. Congratulations on your new Toyota. We wish you many happy miles in it. Happy New Year! DARCARS Customer Relations

November 23, 2019

"Fundamentally dishonest service center"

- srosen

I was quoted a low price on the phone for a factory-recommended service only to be told in person that it would actually cost more than 2x as much when we arrived at the dealer. Since then, despite repeated efforts, they have refused to say how much they charge for standard, factory-recommended service. On top of that, they recommended service that was not necessary at that time without making it clear that they were recommending something different than Toyota’s recommendations. They also charged for service they did not perform to any reasonable standard. 
All of this was on top of a 45+ minute wait just to drop the car off, even with an appointment. I emailed the service department’s management team and the dealer’s general manager and none of them expressed even the slightest concern with my experience. They ultimately agreed to refund what I paid, after I involved BBB. But it's been weeks and they haven't sent the check and haven't responded when I asked. Find another dealer.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mehdi Keshti
Ethan Rossignol
Other Employees : Bethany Fuller
November 04, 2019

"They ran credit check without my approval... I paid with..."

- Anna992

They ran credit check without my approval... I paid with debit card specifically to avoid that ... found out after purchase from letter in the mail.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Amadou Bah
2.0
Other Employees : Donald Moore; Gonzalo Medina
Nov 04, 2019 -

DARCARS Toyota of Silver Spring responded

Thank you for your feedback. We invite you to contact us at 800.327.2277 or customerrelations@darcars.com, so we may discuss your specific personal experience. Thank you, DARCARS Customer Relations

October 08, 2019

"Everything is good but this guy Rodolfo who works in..."

- Ana

Everything is good but this guy Rodolfo who works in service checking the cars in he’s very rude He made me upset all the times I get there

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Rodolfo
Oct 08, 2019 -

DARCARS Toyota of Silver Spring responded

Dear Ana, Thank you for your feedback. We invite you to contact us at 800.327.2277 or customerrelations@darcars.com, so we may discuss your specific personal experience. Thank you, DARCARS Customer Relations

September 26, 2019

"A horrible experience with this dealer"

- Unlucky man

I had a horrible experience with this dealer. I traded my 2004 Toyota Camry with 2018 Camry in the end of July 2019. I switched my tag to the new car and canceled the insurance policy for the old one. Almost two months later, the MVA has not received the dealer's notice that 2004 Camry was off the road. The MVA thought that I had driving the 2004 Camry without insurance. I faxed the MVA letter to Mr. John Batista Desouza at the dealer and asked him to fix the problem. My wife has a problem to get another car registered at the MVA now because of this problem. I just called Mr. Desouza and his manager a moment ago. I was told neither was available. I have tried to reach managers there a couple of times. None has be successful. I am posting this incidence. The people at this dealer may laugh. Who cares, they would say. I should rate this dealer zero.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
John Desouza
Sep 27, 2019 -

DARCARS Toyota of Silver Spring responded

We are very disappointed to hear that you feel your experience did not meet your expectations. We take your feedback very seriously and would like the opportunity to speak with you about what happened further. We can be reached at customerrelations@darcars.com or 800-327-2277 if you would like additional assistance. Thank you, DARCARS Customer Relations

September 26, 2019

"Life Saver"

- mytoyotaservice

Couple days ago my car would not start in the morning. I called the service manager Mr. Keshti and told him about the issue. He had me tow the car in right away and while I was waiting for about an hour, had me back on the road again. It's a good feeling having a service shop looking after their customers so well.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mehdi Keshti
5.0
Sep 27, 2019 -

DARCARS Toyota of Silver Spring responded

Mr. Keshti will be happy to learn that you are satisfied with your experience. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon. DARCARS Customer Relations

August 28, 2019

"Worst experience of my life with manager LEE RAY"

- Jelisaamparo

This will be long because I feel that I need my story to be heard to get my experience with Mr. LEE RAY, from silver spring DarCars dealership out there and still have yet to receive a response from anyone who can help with this issue or from customer relations. Hello all, I would like to begin by saying that My family and I are Latino-African American and our skin indeed dark complexioned. My reason for me mentioning my background is because I strongly believe it has a lot to do with my experience at this dealership, specifically with the manager, LEE RAY. Just to provide you with a bit more of information, this is the 6th Toyota my family has purchased from DarCars at the Silver Spring location, the salespersons can confirm this. Now with that being said, my family has never experienced any type of disappointment when leaving this location with our new cars as we have never had to talk to Mr. Lee Ray directly. On 08/24/2019, my family made the decision to purchase a car that was used with approximately 15,000 miles on it and carfax indicated it was only used for about 2 months and returned “because they purchased another car”, at least that is what the sales representative told us. They also offered us a great interest rate and overall it seemed like a good deal. We drove it home that same night not even 5 miles away. The very next morning we turned the car on and we were showing our family our new car and the service message came up on both Dashboards indicating “2WD has been engaged, 4WD malfunction, take the car to Toyota”. Now this was very concerning, being that this was only purchased yesterday and was literally driven from the dealership to our home. At arrival to DarCars that same next day after we purchased the vehicle, we explained the problem to the woman he helped us with this sale the night before and she had explained that the service shop was closed to check the problem and nothing can be done at the moment until the next day. We were very disappointed and bummed out that this car is already displaying a message of such, after discussing the issue with her we stated that we did not want the car. She said okay and that she would speak to her boss, Mr. Ray. She came back to where we were sitting about 30 minutes later and told us that her boss said we cannot return the car because the bank had our paperwork already. We asked to speak to her boss, so she went to go speak to him again and came back a few moments later and said that he was going to come over momentarily to speak with us. After waiting a little over 40 minutes, which by the way was not a big deal to us because we wanted to speak with Mr. Ray to try and resolve this issue, we continued to wait with no sign of him coming to speak to us as we watched him at his desk from the building across through the glass windows. Finally, we decided to get up and walk over to him to speak to him. He looked at us once we approached his desk and we patiently waited for him to finish speaking to one of his employees. After he was finished talking with his employee he looked at us and asked how he can help. I’d like to mention that this was probably the only time that Mr. Ray had made eye contact with us. After explaining the situation, he said that his employee had informed him of it and that the car could not be returned because it is not only the law and but also it is their policy. We were trying to explain to him that this car has a problem and we only took it home yesterday and his response was “but did you leave the dealership with this problem”. Instead of addressing our concern and helping us resolve it with any other option that he could’ve provided us with and spoken to us like we were actual human beings, or even just explain the situation to us like the professional he is supposed to act like, instead what he did was to continue to file paperwork, work on his computer, talk with other employees while talking to us and made no eye contact with us as if our concern was not important and we did not matter because we had already purchased and signed paperwork the day before. Mr. Ray felt and acted like he had every right to say he will not take the car back with pride and smiled because he can. We explained to him that we have a copy of a paper stating that if the bank did not approve yet we can cancel this deal and his response was “ I will make sure it gets approved” to try and make us upset by telling us he will make sure we are stuck with the car. Now, can you understand our frustration with Mr. Ray? As respectful and as calmly as we approached Mr. Ray, he was being rude for no reason, stating that he was the one in charge and he will not take the car back in a very disgusting manner! Was it because my father barely spoke English and it took him a while to say in English what he was trying to say? -(Mr. Ray only continued to talk over him). Was it because we come from Latino-African American background and we are of a dark complexion? We gave Mr. Ray no reason to treat us and talk to us in this way and give us responses that we did not deserve, so I have no other option than to call it what it was, racism! I have never experienced such an experience with anyone in my life and thought that at this dealership would be the last place I would encounter this experience. This is the first time we have dealt directly with Mr. Ray, we have never had any issues buying brand new cars from this place. I have absolutely nothing to say about the salespeople working in this place as they have apologized for what is currently happening to us with this car and even apologized for Mr. Rays encounter with us as some of them were there watching this interaction!!!!!! The salespeople always have treated my family and I with respect and are truly kind until we met their boss on 8/25/2019. After we asked Mr. Ray if there is anyone else we can speak to because he was clearly not trying to help us he said “comeback another day, I am the only person in charge here today”. I then proceeded to ask for customer relations number, he provided us with the number and his name and sarcastically said “have a good day” and this was the only time he made eye contact with us as we were about to walk out! My only regret was not recording this interaction with Mr. Ray and exposing him not only to the company he works for but to everyone I possibly can because only a recorded voice conversation would’ve done this and a video would’ve shown his body language, his response towards us and he wouldn’t even let us speak to try and express how we were worried about this issue. I even had to ask him if he can please let me talk, because all he kept repeating was that he is not taking the car back and that he would make sure our deal with the bank would get approved so that we can definitely stay with the car. I had asked him to show me proof or some kind of paperwork stating where our deal was approved because he said that it had already been approved overnight(it was Sunday) and he kept repeating he did not have to show us anything and that he would make sure it would get approved as if he wanted to get under our skin to make us upset, but since we are nothing like Mr. Ray who is unprofessional, rude and displayed nothing but racism towards us, we left and told him we would get in contact with customer relations. Mr. Ray then said “we may contact whomever we wanted”. We contacted customer relations and left a voicemail and have yet to receive a response from them. We had no other option than to leave with the car, unsatisfied, and in shock of what we’ve just experienced. I have no words to explain how we felt after leaving. Again my only regret is not recording our interaction with Mr. Ray. It is now day 3 and we are still trying to deal with this issue. Mr. Ray should not be employed in this type of business and even less as the manager.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Lee Ray
1.0
August 14, 2019

"Horrible oil change experience"

- Donna

I brought my 2004 Highlander in for routine oil change on 7/22/2019. Two days later my husband noticed oil leaking from vehicle. Returned to Darcars 7/24/2019 (same day I notice leak). After waiting 30 min informed by manager, Mehdi Keshti, that oil is leaking from drain plug that he admits was stripped by technician and because of this it couldn't be tightened. He then tells me I need a new oil pan at a cost of $806.18. I explained I don't know why I have to pay for your technician's mishap. My oil has only been changed by this dealership since I bought it in Dec 2003 and I've never had a problem until now. Mr Keshti goes on to tell me it happened because of wear and tear and my car is "15 yrs old and nothing last forever'. He further states that this is a problem they've been having with the Highlander. Now even the dumbest mechanic knows an oil drain plug only gets stripped because either it was over tightened, put in crooked or an impact was improperly used to tighten it and wear and tear have nothing to do with it. Further if plug couldn't be tightened 2 days after oil change, how was it tightened on day of oil change. Technician knew he stripped it then and said and did nothing about it. In the package of recommendations I received when I picked up my car on 7/22/19, not one mention of drain plug being stripped because of wear and tear. Fortunately this situation wasn't made worse as my car could have sustained significant damage if this oil leak had not been detected as early as it was. This tactic is very deceiful and dishonest and I wonder how many times has this happened to other unsuspecting customers. So anyone reading this BEWARE and make sure you check your vehicle for leaks after oil change and remember drain plugs can last life of vehicle and NEVER EVER get stripped because of "wear and tear". Darcars should be ashamed for being so dishonest

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mehdi Keshti
1.0
Aug 16, 2019 -

DARCARS Toyota of Silver Spring responded

Dear Donna, Thank you for your feedback. Your review is very concerning to us. We would appreciate if you would contact our customer care team by calling 800.327.2277 or customerrelations@darcars.com, to speak to us about your experience. Thank you, DARCARS Customer Relations

August 09, 2019

"Reliable everytime"

- mytoyotaservice

I recently had my car serviced for multiple issues. This shop always take good care of my car and treat me well when I visit. I recommend this shop to anyone with a Toyota

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
O.J. Darvish
5.0
Mehdi Keshti
5.0
Aug 11, 2019 -

DARCARS Toyota of Silver Spring responded

Thank you for the 5 star review and your recommendation. It means the world to us! We look forward to serving you again in the future. DARCARS Customer Relations

August 02, 2019

"Service Center RIP Off"

- JSingh

I bought a Highlander almost year ago and was at your Service Center few months ago to do 5,000 miles service in which they rotate my tires. Once it was done I requested my wife to pick up the SUV. She brought home with trust that everything was performed correctly. Few weeks later we notice that one of the Tire lock of front passenger tire was missing, I took it to service center and ask them if something can be done since this seems like shop forgot to put it on when my car was there in service but I was told that they cannot do anything since its been few weeks now and i have to buy a whole new set. I paid $39.99 for the new set of Tire locks and it was put on. Now this time I was at your service center to get my 10,000 miles service. I was scheduled with Mr. Mahyar Abedi, who did a great job as a Service Advisor but once my car was done with 10,000 miles service, he showed me my paperwork and outlined items which were done in this service. I look at all the items and was happy that all these things were done. In that list it was stated that my Cabin Filter was also changed. I also requested to rotate my tires so I took Mr. Mahyar with me to my car to check and my tires were rotated. Once I open my glove box, I didn't see any of my items moved, which tells me that something is wrong and I requested that I would like to see my new Cabin Filter. Mr. Mahyar went inside and called the Technician who worked on my car and once he took out the filter we find out that it was never changed and Darcars lied that this service was performed. I approached to Mr, Mehandi ( I guess Manager) and first he bluntly said he is not sure but after looking at Technician Remarks in the Ticket and old Cabin Filter in my hand, he changed his statement. So in other words, if a customer doesn't pay attention Darcars is going to Rip OFF that customer specially If you don't know about the Car. Now I am not even sure if all the listed things were performed on my car or not even sure if my SUV oil was changed or not. I email Ethan Rossignol, one of their Manager right after the service was done (more than 3 weeks ago) and no one either call or reply to my email. So frustrated.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Anthony Galloway
5.0
Mehdi Keshti
1.0
Ethan Rossignol
1.0
Aug 05, 2019 -

DARCARS Toyota of Silver Spring responded

Thanks for sharing your feedback. We're sorry your experience didn't match your expectations. Please call 800.327.2277 or customerrelations@darcars.com. We would love to make things right if you give us another chance. Thank you, DARCARS Customer Relations

Aug 13, 2019 -

JSingh responded

I called 800.327.2277 and they told me they will take care of the issue and i will be receiving a call from Mr. Ethan Rossignol. Until today no once has contacted me and not sure even they took any action regarding this matter. So frustrating.

1
...
1 - 10 of 615 results