Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back
COVID-19
Response
  • Home Delivery
  • Service Pickup & Delivery
  • Virtual Appointments

David McDavid Acura of Austin

Austin, TX

2.9
230 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership
David McDavid Acura of Austin has been awarded Acura's most prestigious honor, the Dealership of Distinction award. David McDavid Acura of Austin Name is among 103 Acura dealerships in the United States to meet or exceed the rigorous 2010 standards to qualify for this distinguished award. David McDavid Acura of Austin offers a full line of technologically advanced performance luxury vehicles through a network of 270 dealers within the United States. The 2017 Acura lineup features five distinctive models, including the RLX luxury sedan, the TLX performance luxury sedan, the 5 passenger RDX luxury crossover SUV, the 7 passenger MDX luxury SUV, and the ILX.

13553 Research Blvd

Austin, TX

78750

Directions

By Type

Showing 230 reviews

September 22, 2020

"I leased an Acura RDX for 3 years, which was my first..."

- hollisw

I leased an Acura RDX for 3 years, which was my first time to lease a vehicle as well as my first business with David McDavid. I found them to be extremely professional, attentive, and they delivered on every expectation. Further, when for other reasons I decided not to renew the lease, but choose another option, the handling of my case by Clifton Goldsmith was impressive. And, the next time I'm in the market, due to Clifton's professional manner and approach I will once again look at David McDavid & Acura.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Clifton Goldsmith
Sep 24, 2020 -

David McDavid Acura of Austin responded

Hello, thank you for the high rating! Our team works tirelessly to provide excellent customer service.

August 09, 2020

"complaint about the finance director"

- dina chibli

nonprofessional business when hire a finance director that lost his temper with me. I left the dealer and totally disappointed and unpleased that I received a full of disrespectful attitude from him. He was totally discriminated and racist and the service I got was unbelievable. I believe his job to listen to customer need and answer all my question def not recommended.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Michael Ginther
Aug 20, 2020 -

David McDavid Acura of Austin responded

Greetings Dina and thank you for bringing to our attention. We're so sorry that you had this experience. Someone from our sales team should have reached out to you to get more information and to address your concerns as well. If for some reason you haven't spoken with anyone, please contact us at (512) 401-5940.Thank you.

August 08, 2020

"Adrian Duke is an excellent Service Advisor. "

- pattyeason1950

I was immediately able to get in touch with Adrian Duke, my Service Advisor. He was able to make a convenient appointment for me. Adrian and his team did an outstanding job of handling my problem and getting me back in my car quickly.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Adrian Duke, Service Advisor
Aug 12, 2020 -

David McDavid Acura of Austin responded

Your high rating motivates us to be sure we always provide the best possible customer experience! Thanks!

Aug 12, 2020 -

David McDavid Acura of Austin responded

Your high rating motivates us to be sure we always provide the best possible customer experience! Thanks!

July 24, 2020

"Goodbye 17 years with David McDavid Acura of Austin"

- Josh S.

Clifton Goldsmith, the GM, reached out to me over email and phone to get me to end my 2018 TLX lease 4 months early to go into a 2020 TLX. I previously had such an offer that was supposed to be lower than my current payments with lots of other benefits so went down where I wasted 90 minutes sitting there in a vacuum of no information and an unfriendly atmosphere. When they finally were able to present numbers, instead of being lower than my $317/month payments, they wanted me to pay $470/month for a car that is essentially the same. This time he was able to get me numbers without me having to physically be present. We came to an arrangement and he passed me on to a sales person to do the paperwork. I would have to pay a deposit or do paperwork before they could bring the car down from another lot in Texas. I went down there and after 2 hours of being told "10 more mins, 10 more mins" I left as I warned them I was going to do. I get home and my phone rings. It's the sales guy telling me the information has finally been loaded into the finance director's computer (as if this were 1988) and to please please come back and just quickly finish the deal. I was annoyed, but went back only to find the place locked up. I called the sales guy who had the Clifton Goldsmith unlock it and sit down with me. I'd never met him, but he told me he didn't know why I was back or why the sales guy told me everything was ready. It was not. In fact, they messed up everything in the computer (which they blamed on the dealership that had the blue 2020 TLX I wanted) and put in the wrong data. So, they'd have to start from scratch, he said, and that will clearly not make me happy so he's sorry we can't do a deal. He then basically threw me out. I called Acura Finance to see what I could do to terminate my lease and relationship with Goldsmith/McDavid early. I had emailed him and asked, but he ignored me as did the sales guy who was really responsive prior. The rep was absolutely shocked and decided to call David McDavid to see what could be done. They hung up on her. No kidding. So, I called Tim Caldwell at Sterling Acura of Austin, even though it's far away from me, and he and his Finance Director, Jay Buck, and their sales guy, Phillip Huron, all worked together to get me a deal on the same car that was even slightly better. Literally, the same car. The deal was done in 45 minutes. They brought the exact same car down from the exact same other dealer in Texas without the need for a deposit or paperwork in advance. Then they drove it to my home, which was nice since they're so far from me unlike David McDavid. Then, at my home, Phillip did all of the finance paperwork with me – which took minutes, not hours – and then took me through all of the features of the car. He then drove back again today with the sunglasses I had left in my old car and my license plates. I never even set foot in Sterling. But all of that is beyond Mr. Goldsmith and David McDavid. I found out later that the car had tinted windows, a trunk tray, special wheels filled with nitrogen and special grips and wheel locks... And that is why David McDavid decided to terminate my relationship with them after more than a decade and 1/2. Clifton Goldsmith clearly did not want to pay for all of that or ask me to do so on top of the other bungles they had already made. He took the easy way out, which shows what they care about at David McDavid. Hint: it's not the customers. I hope someone with sense comes back to run that operation, but it has been on a downward slide for many years, so I doubt it.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Clifton Goldsmith
Jul 27, 2020 -

David McDavid Acura of Austin responded

Thank you for sharing your experience and concerns, Josh. We are disappointed that we could not meet your expectations, but we're glad that you were able to find a deal elsewhere. Thank you and we hope to have an opportunity to earn your business in the future.

Jul 27, 2020 -

Josh S. responded

My expectations are: • that you would simply honor the deal that we made • communicate appropriately and professionally • not ignore my emails and calls • not hang up on Acura Finance • not refuse to do business with me for no stated reason other than "we could not meet your expectations" or "we won't be able to make you happy" without asking me first what my expectations are or what making me happy would look like How do you think you can earn my business back after terminating such a long relationship in such an obnoxious manner?

July 17, 2020

"Professional and courteous service from Tony Yeo"

- pj.hanson

Tony answered all our questions and helped us decide on the pre-owned RDX we purchased. The dealership worked with us and made a deal we are very happy with. Great place to do business!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tony Yeo
Jul 20, 2020 -

David McDavid Acura of Austin responded

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this positive review! Have a wonderful day!

May 15, 2020

"Worst Experience Ever!"

- Anonymous

This is a ZERO STAR EXPERIENCE!! I Have been going to this place for a while but have never felt so unwelcoming and honestly feel terrible that i have been giving my money to this place. I Bought my vehicle from this place, had every single service done here but today was the worst of experience. I signed up for service appointment online and specially asking for a loaner and go in next day just to be disclosed that they never give out loaner for a B1 service on my TL. Never before have i ever heard that. There website is totally misleading customers. Not only they had the audacity to straight up reject my loaner but also said because it is not a big job and they won't give one. So they discriminate between customer who spend more and who spend less. I myself have always received a loaner from them for any services big or small if needed. Is spend $1800 for my last service and would have spend a lot more but i would rather go to south Austin than ever waste my dime at this dealership. Thank you Lance, the service manager for having the worst ever customer satisfaction skills and no intention to resolve a misleading website marketing. Don't go to these cheats who have neither any skills or will to know how to treat their customers.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Lance, service manager
May 18, 2020 -

David McDavid Acura of Austin responded

It is disappointing to hear that you feel this way over your loaner request. Since no name is provided, we are unable to look into this and address your concerns, but you may give us a call to discuss at 512-401-5975. We value your business and hope to have the opportunity to serve you better in the future. Thank you.

April 22, 2020

"Well for starters I had an appointment to view the used..."

- kporter1472

Well for starters I had an appointment to view the used vehicle. Brycen, your sales Manager, called 1st thing am on the day of to confirm. When I arrived I was told the vehicle had been sent to the Jeep dealer for repairs but had hoped it would be back before I arrived. That was Friday. I was not notified of this and wasted a trip to view a vehicle that was not there. The vehicle arrived back today and we went to view as I am purchasing for my 16 year old son.  After viewing and a test drive I requested that the lighting and front brake rotors be looked at. The lights were sporadic at working and the rotors are grooved. I was told by Adam that there were no more meat and potatoes for them to do anything and if I didn't purchase as is it would be shipped to Lubbock.  I have NEVER been told anything like that by a dealer. #1 lighting and braking are a safety hazard. If that is how you guys care to do business you may do it with someone else. I have since went every place online that I can leave a review of the service and let it be known how you guys treat your potential customers. 

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
May 18, 2020 -

David McDavid Acura of Austin responded

Kenny, someone from our team should have reached out to you to address your concerns. If you haven't spoken to anyone, please reach out to us at (512) 401-5940. Thank you and we look forward to assisting you.

March 03, 2020

"My husband and I had a great experience with the very..."

- volks9594

My husband and I had a great experience with the very thorough and kind sales professional John Knorre. This was very Refreshing! Thank you for taking the extra time to explain all the features and making our experience very positive.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
john knorre
Mar 05, 2020 -

David McDavid Acura of Austin responded

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this positive review! Have a wonderful day!

February 10, 2020

"Dishonest Business Practices!!!"

- Kareng

ABSOLUTELY DISHONEST BUSINESS PRACTICES!!! DO NOT TRUST THEM TO HONOR ANY OFFER THEY MAKE TO YOU! QUOTED AND SENT ME A CERTIFICATE OF PRICE FOR SALE OF A VEHICLE, CALLED ME AND CONFIRMED THE VEHICLE AND THE PRICE, WE CHECKED OUT THE VEHICLE, THE SALESMAN AGREED IT WAS A GREAT DEAL, TEST DROVE THE VEHICLE LATER, THEY DID REPAIRS, CALLED US BACK, TWO TRIPS, AND THEN THEY DECIDED TO DOUBLE THE PRICE, AND NOT HONOR THEIR OFFER. I WAS EVEN NOTIFIED BY EMAIL THAT THEY WERE INCREASING THE PRICE......WHILE I WAS SITTING THERE WITH THEM WITH THE ORIGINAL CERTIFICATE AND OFFER. WE WILL NEVER REFER THEM TO ANYONE, OR BUY FROM THEM!!! No rating deserved.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Tony
Feb 13, 2020 -

David McDavid Acura of Austin responded

Hello there, please respond here in a private message with your first and last name and phone number so that we can have someone from our team reach out to you to address your concerns. Thank you and we look forward to assisting you.

Feb 14, 2020 -

Kareng responded

N. Gillespie & K. Gillespie 512-775-7758

January 06, 2020

"Buyer beware! I bought a used TL from David McDavid Acura..."

- Nope20

Buyer beware! I bought a used TL from David McDavid Acura less than a year ago and now I’m being told that I need $12k worth of service on the car. That’s more than the car is worth!! I had a specific conversation with that salesman regarding upcoming maintenance, and he reassured me that it was well maintained. The only upcoming maintenance that would be required is the timing belt/water pump. Now I find out it needs a whole list of urgent services/repairs, and this is the first scheduled service since I bought it. Either the salesman lied about the true condition of the car, or David McDavid never bothered to inspect it fully before re-selling it. I explained to the salesman the reason for purchasing an Acura is so I wouldn’t have the service headaches that I had on my 09 Audi A4. Now I’m regretting purchasing from this dealership and trusting a used car dealer on their recommendation. I wasn’t even looking at TLs when he showed this one to me and insisted it was a great deal. Too good to be true! Be careful of David McDavid Acura, especially if you’re a woman! It’s dealerships like these that give the auto industry a bad rep. They’ve got quite the racket set up selling used cars that will end up needing thousands of dollars in repairs a few months down the line.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
James Binford
Jan 10, 2020 -

David McDavid Acura of Austin responded

Thank you for bringing this to my attention. Upon purchase, did you decline the service warranty? We offer plans to protect customers in cases such as these. I would like to look into and address your concerns, but there is no name posted here. You may reply in a private message with your contact info and I will give you a call. Thank you and I look forward to speaking with you. Ryan Scott, GM 512-401-5975

1
...
1 - 10 of 230 results