Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

David McDavid Acura of Austin

Austin, TX

2.7
234 Reviews

13553 Research Blvd

Austin, TX

78750

Directions

234 Reviews of David McDavid Acura of Austin

Sort by
June 11, 2021

"We bought a truck and it broke 2 weeks after our..."

- Carmen

We bought a truck and it broke 2 weeks after our purchase. We are very lucky that we did not DIE or KILL another family in this truck that we bought from David Mc David Acura. My husband lost control when the bracket that holds the differential broke!! He almost went head-on with another car, thank God the lady was able to move out of the way since my husband was unable to control the truck. It makes me so upset that we are dealing with this when we purchased specifically from a supposedly "reputable" dealership. We took the truck in to get an estimate to see how much it would cost to repair and the guy said the truck had been welded before where it broke off. This is something that the dealership should have seen since they supposedly inspect their vehicles. We were basically told oh well you bought it "as is". The general manager, Clifton Goldsmith did not even make time for us after waiting over an hour to talk to him. He is the one who made the call not to help out with the cost of repair. It's a BROKEN truck! A broken truck that could have caused a BIG ACCIDENT on the road. Something that this dealership could of easily take responsibility for missing such a dangerous defect. Instead, they just washed their hands. Just to think that we drove in that UNSAFE truck with my two little kids makes me very mad. By the way, the seat belts were not even bolted down! JUST HORRIBLE!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Clifton Goldsmith
March 27, 2021

"I am 64 years old. Over the years between wife and kids..."

- Paul.saforms

I am 64 years old. Over the years between wife and kids we have purchased several vehicles. My Acura purchase from Davis McDavid recently was by far the smoothest. Sales Rep. Tony and Ralph first class. Honestly they were there to help not just sell. Thanks Paul

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tony and Ralph
Mar 29, 2021 -

David McDavid Acura of Austin responded

Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. You definitely made our day with your rating! We hope you have a wonderful day!

March 11, 2021

"There are two Acura dealerships in Austin, and I sure..."

- smitter11

There are two Acura dealerships in Austin, and I sure feel like I picked the wrong one when I bought a 2019 RDX from David McDavid. I really do like the vehicle, but I don't think I will ever buy from this dealership again. During the sales process, I got a bit of the "slimy car salesman" approach from their team, but since I thought I got a good deal, I went against my instincts about the people involved in the sale and moved forward with the purchase. The salesman promised me a “luxury car buying experience” but that was not how it has felt to me during and after the sales process. The after-sales support has truly been awful so far. When I had questions about my billing statements, I couldn't get the Finance Manager (Myron) to call me back. When I did talk to him, he was clearly being deceptive with his answers and even pretended that he couldn’t answer simple questions because he knew that they had deceived me in the buying process. David McDavid has also not lived up to their service commitments. I don't know why I let myself be convinced to purchase their "maintenance package" but that has been a disaster from the start. These people have not lived up to their end of the bargain and now they are trying to charge me for things that were included in the maintenance package that I purchased. I feel completely ripped-off my this and this has completely betrayed my trust in the people that work at this dealership. I feel like they not only swindled me with the maintenance package but that the swindle continues to this day when I try to schedule service. As a result, I cannot trust this dealership and I can see why they currently have a pathetic 2.4 star rating on this site, while the other dealership in town (Sterling) is much higher. I can't imagine buying another vehicle from this dealer. Sterling will get my next Acura purchase unless David McDavid learns how to treat customers and live up to their commitments, but unfortunately I see no evidence of that so far. Addition on 3/25/21: It is baffling that this dealership has such poor communication and customer support. I've tried to get someone on the phone there to discuss this two weeks ago before I wrote this review. No one called back. I started this review on 3/11/21 in hopes that it would inspire some better communication and support from them, but the only responses that I received from them were that someone would call me (which never happened). I'm not sure what to do here. I bought a maintenance package from David McDavid and they aren't living up to their commitments. I guess I can cut my losses here and just advise everyone to avoid them if possible. If I buy another Acura, I can't imagine buying if from them. (Sterling isn't that far away after all.) This dealership charged me $1000 for a maintenance package that (so far) has included one oil change and fluid top-off. This also came with the dealership picking up my car at my house, taking it back to the dealership to get the work done, then returning my car to my house. So I have received that service ONCE in the nearly two years that I have had the car. And now they are refusing to do the same service and basically leaving me to have paid them $1000 for one oil change and car pick-up/return service. Don't waste your time here.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Andrew Reed
3.0
Myron Dixon
1.0
Mar 12, 2021 -

David McDavid Acura of Austin responded

Good morning and thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We are sorry to hear that you have not been completely satisfied with your sales and service experiences and we would very much like to opportunity to address this and assist you in any way. When you have a moment, can you please reply here in a private message with your first and last name and phone number so that we may contact you? We can only see your screen name at this time. Thank you.

Mar 12, 2021 -

smitter11 responded

(Edit on 3/25/21) I posted my name and phone number here and no one ever called. Since this review is now going public, I am removing my personal information from here. After calling this dealership on 3/9/21 and 3/10/21 and being told that someone in management would call, I never received a call back from them. Customer service is just not their strong suit.

Mar 12, 2021 -

David McDavid Acura of Austin responded

Thank you for your info Brian, Our service manager Lance Parish has been reaching out to you. Please look out for his calls and texts and he will address some concerns.

Mar 12, 2021 -

smitter11 responded

(Edit on 3/25/21) It's now been two weeks since I wrote my initial review of this dealership. They have had two people tell me on the phone that someone in management would call me, but that never happened. Then in this review string, they said someone named Lance Parish would be calling me, but he never did. I'm starting to think that my worst suspicions about this dealership are confirmed -- that they don't care about their customers at all. Customer service here is pathetic -- AVOID IF YOU CAN.

January 29, 2021

"I assisted my son (lives in Ohio) in researching..."

- westernscicon

I assisted my son (lives in Ohio) in researching vehicles, speaking to salesmen and getting their lowest purchase price (including TT&L). My son decided on the Acura RDX, mainly because of the lowest total cost. The price included licencing in Ohio and sending the plates to Ohio. The deal was signed on 8-28-20, down payment made and things finalized. On 10-27-20 (a month after his temporary license expired), David McDavid Acura of Austin e-mailed my son and said he needed to pay $511 dollars more for the license, in order to receive the actual car plates. I believe this is Fraud. If it is not fraud, then their finance person made an error in providing the out of state TT&L and they should pay the $511. However, I believe that they purposely gave a lower price in order to make the deal, knowing they would increase the price later. John Knorre was not at fault here, I believe it was his Sales manager, Cliffton who knowingly committed the fraudulent act! I called and spoke to Cliffton and gave him the opportunity to do the right thing (accept it was their error and pay the $511) and he belligerently refused! I believe the public needs to be aware of these unscrupulous business tactics.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
John Knorre
5.0
Other Employees : Cliffton, Sales manager
Feb 02, 2021 -

David McDavid Acura of Austin responded

Thank you for sharing your experience. Please give me a call to discuss at (512) 401-5940. Thank you. Clifton Goldsmith, GM

September 22, 2020

"I leased an Acura RDX for 3 years, which was my first..."

- hollisw

I leased an Acura RDX for 3 years, which was my first time to lease a vehicle as well as my first business with David McDavid. I found them to be extremely professional, attentive, and they delivered on every expectation. Further, when for other reasons I decided not to renew the lease, but choose another option, the handling of my case by Clifton Goldsmith was impressive. And, the next time I'm in the market, due to Clifton's professional manner and approach I will once again look at David McDavid & Acura.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Clifton Goldsmith
Sep 24, 2020 -

David McDavid Acura of Austin responded

Hello, thank you for the high rating! Our team works tirelessly to provide excellent customer service.

August 09, 2020

"complaint about the finance director"

- dina chibli

nonprofessional business when hire a finance director that lost his temper with me. I left the dealer and totally disappointed and unpleased that I received a full of disrespectful attitude from him. He was totally discriminated and racist and the service I got was unbelievable. I believe his job to listen to customer need and answer all my question def not recommended.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Michael Ginther
Aug 20, 2020 -

David McDavid Acura of Austin responded

Greetings Dina and thank you for bringing to our attention. We're so sorry that you had this experience. Someone from our sales team should have reached out to you to get more information and to address your concerns as well. If for some reason you haven't spoken with anyone, please contact us at (512) 401-5940.Thank you.

August 08, 2020

"Adrian Duke is an excellent Service Advisor. "

- pattyeason1950

I was immediately able to get in touch with Adrian Duke, my Service Advisor. He was able to make a convenient appointment for me. Adrian and his team did an outstanding job of handling my problem and getting me back in my car quickly.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Adrian Duke, Service Advisor
Aug 12, 2020 -

David McDavid Acura of Austin responded

Your high rating motivates us to be sure we always provide the best possible customer experience! Thanks!

Aug 12, 2020 -

David McDavid Acura of Austin responded

Your high rating motivates us to be sure we always provide the best possible customer experience! Thanks!

July 24, 2020

"Goodbye 17 years with David McDavid Acura of Austin"

- Josh S.

Clifton Goldsmith, the GM, reached out to me over email and phone to get me to end my 2018 TLX lease 4 months early to go into a 2020 TLX. I previously had such an offer that was supposed to be lower than my current payments with lots of other benefits so went down where I wasted 90 minutes sitting there in a vacuum of no information and an unfriendly atmosphere. When they finally were able to present numbers, instead of being lower than my $317/month payments, they wanted me to pay $470/month for a car that is essentially the same. This time he was able to get me numbers without me having to physically be present. We came to an arrangement and he passed me on to a sales person to do the paperwork. I would have to pay a deposit or do paperwork before they could bring the car down from another lot in Texas. I went down there and after 2 hours of being told "10 more mins, 10 more mins" I left as I warned them I was going to do. I get home and my phone rings. It's the sales guy telling me the information has finally been loaded into the finance director's computer (as if this were 1988) and to please please come back and just quickly finish the deal. I was annoyed, but went back only to find the place locked up. I called the sales guy who had the Clifton Goldsmith unlock it and sit down with me. I'd never met him, but he told me he didn't know why I was back or why the sales guy told me everything was ready. It was not. In fact, they messed up everything in the computer (which they blamed on the dealership that had the blue 2020 TLX I wanted) and put in the wrong data. So, they'd have to start from scratch, he said, and that will clearly not make me happy so he's sorry we can't do a deal. He then basically threw me out. I called Acura Finance to see what I could do to terminate my lease and relationship with Goldsmith/McDavid early. I had emailed him and asked, but he ignored me as did the sales guy who was really responsive prior. The rep was absolutely shocked and decided to call David McDavid to see what could be done. They hung up on her. No kidding. So, I called Tim Caldwell at Sterling Acura of Austin, even though it's far away from me, and he and his Finance Director, Jay Buck, and their sales guy, Phillip Huron, all worked together to get me a deal on the same car that was even slightly better. Literally, the same car. The deal was done in 45 minutes. They brought the exact same car down from the exact same other dealer in Texas without the need for a deposit or paperwork in advance. Then they drove it to my home, which was nice since they're so far from me unlike David McDavid. Then, at my home, Phillip did all of the finance paperwork with me – which took minutes, not hours – and then took me through all of the features of the car. He then drove back again today with the sunglasses I had left in my old car and my license plates. I never even set foot in Sterling. But all of that is beyond Mr. Goldsmith and David McDavid. I found out later that the car had tinted windows, a trunk tray, special wheels filled with nitrogen and special grips and wheel locks... And that is why David McDavid decided to terminate my relationship with them after more than a decade and 1/2. Clifton Goldsmith clearly did not want to pay for all of that or ask me to do so on top of the other bungles they had already made. He took the easy way out, which shows what they care about at David McDavid. Hint: it's not the customers. I hope someone with sense comes back to run that operation, but it has been on a downward slide for many years, so I doubt it.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Clifton Goldsmith
Jul 27, 2020 -

David McDavid Acura of Austin responded

Thank you for sharing your experience and concerns, Josh. We are disappointed that we could not meet your expectations, but we're glad that you were able to find a deal elsewhere. Thank you and we hope to have an opportunity to earn your business in the future.

Jul 27, 2020 -

Josh S. responded

My expectations are: • that you would simply honor the deal that we made • communicate appropriately and professionally • not ignore my emails and calls • not hang up on Acura Finance • not refuse to do business with me for no stated reason other than "we could not meet your expectations" or "we won't be able to make you happy" without asking me first what my expectations are or what making me happy would look like How do you think you can earn my business back after terminating such a long relationship in such an obnoxious manner?

July 17, 2020

"Professional and courteous service from Tony Yeo"

- pj.hanson

Tony answered all our questions and helped us decide on the pre-owned RDX we purchased. The dealership worked with us and made a deal we are very happy with. Great place to do business!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tony Yeo
Jul 20, 2020 -

David McDavid Acura of Austin responded

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this positive review! Have a wonderful day!

May 15, 2020

"Worst Experience Ever!"

- Anonymous

This is a ZERO STAR EXPERIENCE!! I Have been going to this place for a while but have never felt so unwelcoming and honestly feel terrible that i have been giving my money to this place. I Bought my vehicle from this place, had every single service done here but today was the worst of experience. I signed up for service appointment online and specially asking for a loaner and go in next day just to be disclosed that they never give out loaner for a B1 service on my TL. Never before have i ever heard that. There website is totally misleading customers. Not only they had the audacity to straight up reject my loaner but also said because it is not a big job and they won't give one. So they discriminate between customer who spend more and who spend less. I myself have always received a loaner from them for any services big or small if needed. Is spend $1800 for my last service and would have spend a lot more but i would rather go to south Austin than ever waste my dime at this dealership. Thank you Lance, the service manager for having the worst ever customer satisfaction skills and no intention to resolve a misleading website marketing. Don't go to these cheats who have neither any skills or will to know how to treat their customers.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Lance, service manager
May 18, 2020 -

David McDavid Acura of Austin responded

It is disappointing to hear that you feel this way over your loaner request. Since no name is provided, we are unable to look into this and address your concerns, but you may give us a call to discuss at 512-401-5975. We value your business and hope to have the opportunity to serve you better in the future. Thank you.

1
...
1 - 10 of 234 results