Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

David McDavid Honda Of Irving

Irving, TX

2.7
545 Reviews

3700 West Airport Freeway

Irving, TX

75062

Directions

545 Reviews of David McDavid Honda Of Irving

Sort by
October 19, 2021

"My daughter who is 20 and a first time car buyer chose..."

- kjbeut

My daughter who is 20 and a first time car buyer chose this dealership to purchase a car with her boyfriend. Both having bad credit scores of low to mid 500s they were approved for a car that was around $16,600.. They were talked into a $3,000 warranty on the car also and after taxes and fees the car was around $21,000. They used ever bit of money they had at $3,500 to put down so they financed the car (a 2017 Chevy Malibu) at 72 months and were given a whopping rate of 20.5 % interest. All for a car with over 107,000 miles on it. That’s right, a vehicle with over 100k miles which the total cost after all payments are made will be over $35,000. This is predatory lending in my opinion and taking advantage of naive young people trying to start their life. We’re disappointed that our daughter wasn’t more financially smart to not sign for such a rip-off financing but the salesman selling them this vehicle should’ve been more honest and let them know what they were possibly getting into. I have purchased a vehicle before from a David McDavid dealership and it will be my last one.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Baha Mahmoud
1.0
Oct 21, 2021 -

David McDavid Honda Of Irving responded

Thanks for your feedback Mr. Beutnagel. We’re sorry to hear that you are not happy with your daughter’s deal. We would never take advantage of our customers as there are many factors that go into a deal including credit rating. If she would like for us to go over it in more detail for her, please refer her back to our sales team. We can be reached at (214) 516-7502. Thank you. Ali Benli, GM

Oct 21, 2021 -

kjbeut responded

Thanks for your response. I definitely understand credit ratings as I’ve bought many vehicles in my lifetime from dealerships and that’s why I listed theirs in the review I posted. Both had poor credit ratings and should’ve been denied credit to purchase a vehicle where they’d end up paying such an astronomically high interest rate and cumulative cost after all payments are made, way more than the vehicle is worth, especially for a vehicle with over 107,000 miles on it. I do blame my daughter as well for being naive enough to fall into this financing trap nothing short of predatory lending. This is going to create a financial hardship for them and there should be honest salespeople that try and educate our young people along the way when they could be potentially signing up for something that is going to set them back financially. Parents do their best but sometimes their kids try to do things on their own and the sharks are waiting for them.

Oct 22, 2021 -

David McDavid Honda Of Irving responded

Thanks for your feedback Mr. Beutnagel. We’re sorry to hear that you are not happy with your daughter’s deal. We would never take advantage of our customers as there are many factors that go into a deal including credit rating. If she would like for us to go over it in more detail for her, please refer her back to our sales team. We can be reached at (214) 516-7502. Thank you. Ali Benli, GM

October 17, 2021

"Jesus Sales Rep and Jeff Financial Manager was awesome!..."

- dkshmth

Jesus Sales Rep and Jeff Financial Manager was awesome! They both took care of me, very professional, and good listeners and was willing to help.I can tell they love their job and appreciate their customers. Phenomenal job!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jesus Sale Agent
October 14, 2021

"Service Department is Great,Josh the manager takes the..."

- anais5403

Service Department is Great, Josh the manager takes the time to explain everything, Josh/Manager has Great Customer Service Skills!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
JoshManager at the Service Dept.
September 23, 2021

"I always have a great experience at David McDavid Honda..."

- Amanda Clark

I always have a great experience at David McDavid Honda of Irving. Excellent customer service. Jesse in new cars always goes above and beyond to make sure his customers are happy!!

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jesse Esquivel
5.0
Other Employees : Lucio Luna
September 21, 2021

"I found the car I wanted (Subaru Outback) online through..."

- jenmcguirk

I found the car I wanted (Subaru Outback) online through Edmunds. I negotiated the price via text and phone calls. I submitted the paperwork online and scheduled a time to come pick the car up. I was told that I would have to finalize the paperwork in person, and that it would take about 30-45 minutes, and that a finance manager would call me the day I was driving into town to solidify the paperwork. My husband and I had to make a 3-hour drive to get the car, so we were very motivated in making the in-person component as swift as possible. No one ever called me the day of. I tried calling three times and could never get anyone on the phone. Jesus (my salesman) finally did call me back and assured me that everything was still set and we were good to go. Our appointment time was confirmed. We showed up at our time and no one was ready for us. After 3+ hours of waiting and being moved from waiting area to waiting area, we were beyond frustrated. The finance manager did not have the paperwork ready; the temporary tags weren't printed and ready; it seems as if no one even knew we were coming. The finance manager told us that the case had been dumped on his desk and he had to research how to do the paperwork for out-of-state sales. That is inexcusable because we had an appointment, and I had completed all the paperwork online prior to showing up! I give them two stars because everyone was very friendly and they did work with me on the price of the vehicle. Other than that, the service at the location was horrible. We will be in the market for a car for our teenager in the next year, but I would never consider buying from this dealer again.

Read More
Quality of Work
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jesus
Sep 23, 2021 -

David McDavid Honda Of Irving responded

Hello Jen, a representative from our management team has reached out to you and James to address your concerns. Thank you.

September 18, 2021

"Never buy a used car here. Horrible customer service, Hid..."

- Jaye.martin

Never buy a used car here. Horrible customer service, Hid problems with car from us

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jesse Esquivel
1.0
Other Employees : Garen
Sep 23, 2021 -

David McDavid Honda Of Irving responded

Thank you for your feedback, Jaye. We apologize for that. As soon as you get a moment, please reach out to our General Manager Ali at (214) 516-7502 and or abenli@mcdavid.com. He will assist you!

Sep 23, 2021 -

Jaye.martin responded

Not true. No one has reached out to me. I waited several days before I posted and still no attempt from you then to resolve this. And by the way, I don’t have a husband. Not sure where that came from.

August 26, 2021

"Bought a jeep from maritza and garret (sales manager)...."

- jonbrister

Bought a jeep from maritza and garret (sales manager). They failed to disclose info on the vehicle. It was in an accident and had I known that I would have never traded my.perfectly good truck in for a jeep that's been in and out of the shop since I've owned it (they sold it to me with electrical, front end, and transmission problems). I have never been burnt so bad in entire life. Also, when I post on their Facebook page, my posts instantly get deleted. Guess they can't handle being told they love to screw people. Wish they would've taken me out to a nice dinner before they bent me over. I 110% regret ever going there and honestly, I wouldn't recommend them to anyone. I wouldn't even look their way passing through on the highway.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Garret Elkins
Aug 30, 2021 -

David McDavid Honda Of Irving responded

Jonathon, we are disappointed to learn that you aren't completely satisfied with your purchase. We are not able to remove any posts you’ve made, however we are happy to answer any questions you have about your vehicle as records show that your warranty has expired. We can be reached at (214) 516-7502. Thank you.

Aug 30, 2021 -

jonbrister responded

Thats a bold faced lie. Ive tried to contact your sales manager and my saleswoman numerous times. Even tried to speak with other people up there and absolutely no one will respond, help, or even give me advice. Youre sales woman ripped me off. The only way this can and will be fixed is if i am traded out of this jeep and its paid off in the process. It was sold to me with a ton of problems, your team failed to disclose to me it was in an accident (had i known i wouldnt have bought it). I refuse to hold any negative equity on a vehicle that was sold to me the way it was. I have screenshots, voice recordings, and documents and all kinds of proof that i can and will use against your dealership if i have to take it that far and trust me, im strongly considering it.

July 19, 2021

"Placed an order for a used SUV on Wednesday night around..."

- tomcavjr

Placed an order for a used SUV on Wednesday night around 6:30. Before submitting my info and financing, I called the dealership to confirm it was still available. The person I talked to said yes, it was available. I went ahead, submitted my paperwork and my financing was approved! Everything was green green on my side! I was super happy as this was my first time buying a vehicle. So Thursday morning, my dad picks me up and we head over. We knew things weren't good from the beginning. Godfrey met us at the front door and took us to his desk. He pulled up the vehicle and all the info. He walks away to go find the keys. Comes back, and nervously tells us "you know...the bank requires a $5,000 down payment?" I'm like yeah, I did all of that last night. He studders again and nervously says ok and walks away. I had a bad feeling after that. Things only got worse after that. Manager Jesse comes over and apologizes and tries to remedy by recommending a smaller SUV. I disprove and ask what happened to the SUV I put down on the night before. And he's not sure what happened to it. Says it was probably sold after I ordered it. So then we ask for a refund of the $5,000 and one of the managers tells us they can't refund it because it never transferred over. Well my receipt and bank account say otherwise. This was a very janky experience and it has pretty much scarred me. Not sure I will be buying a car for a while. I'm still waiting for my $5,000 refund. Stay away from these folks. Not a good feeling about them.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jesse Esquivel
1.0
Godfrey Fergus
1.0
Other Employees : Jabari Palmer
Jul 20, 2021 -

David McDavid Honda Of Irving responded

We appreciate your business and feedback Tom. I apologize that the vehicle you were interested in purchasing was sold before we could remove it from the website. Records show that your money was refunded yesterday. Please give me a call to discuss your experience as I would love to step in and turn things around. I can be reached at (214) 516-7502. Thank you. Ali Benli, GM

May 03, 2021

"I just bought a new Honda Hybrid @ David McDavid. I'm..."

- SHERRIFF529

I just bought a new Honda Hybrid @ David McDavid. I'm thrilled to say my Sales Consultant, Johnte', Cox, took buying a new car to a totally new and positive level! Being a female septuagenarian, I've bought many, many cars and I was procrastinating as I find the activity frustrating, humiliating, condescending, not to mention a haggling, exhausting experience.... often behavior reserved for female customers. However, Mr. Cox, an Army Veteran, was extremely conscientious & knowledgeable. He listened & heard: What I wanted/ What I needed/What I could afford! Not to mention, he patiently sat with me in my new wheels for a most extended time going over all the fancy whistles and stops and then doing a roadie! Jonte' was so professional and personable that I left DVD feeling like I had made a new, endearing friend because he catered and accommodated my wishes. Thank You Johnte'!!!!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jonte',Cox
May 04, 2021 -

David McDavid Honda Of Irving responded

Hello SHERRIFF529, thank you for taking the time to post your rating. Your review is very important to us, and we are really pleased that you had a positive customer experience with us. Kind regards!

April 26, 2021

"Sales was fine, but had a terrible experience with the..."

- Longhorn214

Sales was fine, but had a terrible experience with the Finance Department at David McDavid Irving. Unfortunately, this completely ruined my experience at this dealership. When you think of the stereotype of a sleezy car salesman, that's what I feel like I got in the form of my Finance Manager. 1. During the day I purchased my car (2/8), I met with the Finance Manager, who tried to sell me insurance. At first, I wasn't interested. However, he was a bit pushy and insisted it was not smart to not purchase warranty. So I obliged - it was a total of $3700 for Honda Care and Ding Shield. He insisted I could always cancel (sales tactic I guess) 2. When I got home, I did more research and decided I was overcharged significantly. I could get it online from other Honda dealerships for 1/3 of price. I decided I wanted to cancel my warranty. 3. I went into the dealership and filled out on my cancellation paperwork literally the day after on 2/9. I was told everything would be taken care of, but that it would take 6-8 weeks. I did not trust my Finance Manager, and he was incredibly rude when I told him I wanted to cancel the warranty. I told them I wanted to deal with different Finance Manager. I was connected with the Director of Finance, who promised that she would make sure the papers were processed. 4. When i got my license plate 2 months after the day I purchased my car (early April), I asked the Finance Manager about the warranty cancellation. He insisted everything was taken care of and it would just take a little bit more time. 5. I called back today (4/26) to follow up again because nothing had changed on the Honda site (my principal amount was still the same). I was told by another Finance Manager that no one had submitted any paperwork. I resubmitted my paperwork and was told it would take another 6-8 weeks. This is ridiculous and not the way that you treat customers. I will not recommend David McDavid Honda of Irving to anyone.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Baha Mahmoud
5.0
Apr 30, 2021 -

David McDavid Honda Of Irving responded

Josh, we're so sorry to hear that you had this experience. When we recently received your cancellation, it was submitted. Unfortunately it does take some time to be processed through Honda. We appreciate your business and patience as well and hope to have the opportunity to serve you better in the future. In the meantime, should you have any additional questions about the warranty cancellation, feel free to reach out to our team at (214) 516-7502. Thank you.

1
...
1 - 10 of 545 results