Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

Dick's Hillsboro Honda

3.3

308 Lifetime Reviews

750 Southwest Oak Street, Hillsboro, Oregon 97123 Directions
Call (503) 616-5183

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

308 Reviews of Dick's Hillsboro Honda

Sort by Write a review
November 20, 2019

"Please do not assume because this is a Honda dealership..."

- allamgeorge

Please do not assume because this is a Honda dealership they will take care of you in the way other Honda dealerships might. Or at least if you do, prepare to lose your shirt and any extra money you might have had walking in (I lost thousands ) do not need to give my specific interactions with them due to privacy concerns , anyone with any intelligence should recognize the warning I am trying to give. The auto response from the dealership to this review after they helped themselves to my money they didn’t earn and did not show grace at all is precious. I am also surprised by all of the positive reviews, given the situation at the dealership, I would not be surprised at all if we found out that these are somehow fabricated or at the very least managed/touched up by the unscrupulous managers (Anthony, Mike, and others) I observed and had to talk to. Been a Honda believer all my life and forever in my family, however this has me second guessing Honda or at the very least this dealership. Have a nice day.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Anthony Pelpola
1.0
Dec 02, 2019 -

Dick's Hillsboro Honda responded

We are sorry to hear about your experience with us. We would like to speak with you about the details of your frustration. We can be reached at your convenience. Thank you! Sincerely, Dick’s Hillsboro Honda Team

November 11, 2019

"Sales Person was Great"

- Carlos1997

Great dealership with many cars to look at. Jonathon f was very friendly and helped every step of the way, he went out of his way to make sure I was happy with what I was paying.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jonathan Rodriguez
Nov 19, 2019 -

Dick's Hillsboro Honda responded

Thank you for your review. It is great to hear our team could provide you with a 5-star experience. Please don't hesitate to contact us if we can assist you with anything else. Take care! Sincerely, Dick’s Hillsboro Honda Team

August 25, 2019

"Typical sleazeball dealership"

- steinomite

Don't trust these guys further than you can throw them! Here's some of the dirty sales tricks you can expect them to pull on you, based on my direct firsthand experience. 1.) Good Cop, Bad Cop. The first salesperson you talk to will be friendly and might even negotiate with you. Then he'll disappear and (after 10+ minutes; see #4) the sales manager will come out of his hidey hole and walk it back, saying there's no way he can reduce the price a penny from list, because see #2. 2.) Outright Lie. They'll tell you they're losing money on the car. I was shown (flashed really) a piece of paper with the number $3800 at the bottom which was supposedly how much money they were losing on the particular vehicle. How could a business that loses money selling cars ever stay in business? Answer: they couldn't. They're lying. 3.) Make You Feel Like You Bought The Car Before You Have. After Good Cop and I agreed on what I thought was going to be my final sale price, he wrote the number down and asked me to sign the price sheet. What I did not know was this paper was completely meaningless. After I signed it I admit I felt relieved, the car buying process is a PITA anyways, and I thought the worst was over. I was wrong. They get you to let your guard down so you will 4.) The Waiting Game. AKA the time-wasting game. They can take their sweet time doing everything (or nothing), this just wears you down and makes you more likely to cave on something just to get out of there, whether it be the purchase price, add-ons or extended warranties. 5.) Pre-Installed Add-Ons. Most dealerships will use one or more of these tactics but I'd never heard of this one until coming to this dealership. Paint protection, which is a transparent polyurethane film applied to the exterior body, is normally a $400 add-on that comes with a warranty against tree sap, bird poop, acid rain, and other terrible, horrible things (except physical damage to your car). Normally, you just say no. However this place has the film installed on each and every car they buy, meaning it's a non-optional add-on! And as they will gleefully tell you (probably more than once), they "can't just take it off." So on top of DMV and documentation fees ($472) be prepared to pay an additional $400 on top of the sticker price. Tips for not getting screwed on your next car purchase: 1.) Do your homework and have a drop-dead price you won't exceed and be prepared to walk. Just the serious threat of walking can be enough to get them to budge (it didn't work for me this time but it did last time I bought a car). 2.) Only deal in terms of the out-the-door price. Some fees and add-ons are non-negotiable but at the end of the day all that matters is the total price you pay. 3.) Always try to negotiate. It never hurts to ask, "Is that the best you can do?" Good luck!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Zackary Brush, Jeff S.
Aug 29, 2019 -

Dick's Hillsboro Honda responded

We have seen this review and are concerned with the experience you described. It is not our team’s standard quality of service and I would like to discuss what happened in greater depth if you are available. Please contact myself or a member of the sales department to get in touch so we can work towards an understanding. Thank you. Rich Purinton | Service Manager | rpurinton@dicksautogroup.com - (503) 640-6401

June 22, 2019

"Unfulfilled "Due Bill" after two months "

- Gilly

After no fewer than ten (10) attempts over the past two months to have a "Due Bill" item completed, it remains unfulfilled. I have received nothing but empty promises and commitments on the phone and in person, from Carl, one of the sales manager as well as the salesman, Anthony. I will say however that Anthony seems to have tried very hard to bring this "Due Bill" matter to a close, but maybe not as hard as he did when he was selling me the vehicle. I find it very unprofessional, and lacking of integrity when a car dealership makes a "Due Bill" promise in writing as part of the purchase agreement, and thereafter refuses to meet its contractual obligation. I would not buy another vehicle from this dealership, nor would I recommend this dealership, solely for its lack of honesty and integrity. This is not the foundation upon which this dealership or any other of the Dick Inukai family dealerships were built upon... Buyer Beware....

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Anthony Pelpola
3.0
Other Employees : Carl - Sales Manager
Jun 25, 2019 -

Dick's Hillsboro Honda responded

We are concerned about this issue and committed to promptly resolving it. Please contact us directly as soon as you can and we can work on a resolution together. Sincerely, Dick's Hillsboro Honda Team

April 17, 2019

"Personal vehicle defaced in parking lot by Honda employees. "

- Tim415

I am writing in regard to my recent experience at xxxxx Hillsboro Honda. My wife and I are expecting our second child at the end of April and needed to purchase a larger SUV that could safely and comfortably fit two car seats. After visits to many dealerships, our search ended when we found a beautiful 2015 Acadia Denali on Tuesday, March 26th around 7:30pm. We fell in love with the vehicle instantly and decided to purchase the Acadia that evening from Jonathan Rodriguez who provided us with a wonderful car buying experience. After signing all the papers with Jonathan, we waited to meet with your financial representative. We knew the paperwork would take some time with only one finance representative on site that evening and two more buyers ahead of us. However, we were still happy to wait for our new family vehicle. A little after 11:00pm, we were finally escorted into the finance office to fill out paperwork. When it was all said and done, we ended up leaving the office at 12:30am Wednesday morning. My wife is 35 weeks pregnant and after sitting in the waiting room for three hours, she was low on energy and was having painful contractions so having her drive the 45min trip home was not a safe option. We asked Jonathon if we would be able to park our vehicle in the parking lot for a few days until I would be able to coordinate a time to pick up my car, which I was hoping would be Thursday night. I was clear with Jonathan that we did not want to be a hassle or in the way and offered to leave my keys should he need to move my vehicle. He assured us that we were okay to park at the dealership near the rear of the building under a lighted street pole, that it would be safe and he would not need my keys. I was unable to pick up my car on Thursday and received a text message (attached) from Jonathan on Friday, March 29th apologizing and letting me know that where/how we parked was inhibiting some employees and that he should have been more specific on where we should have parked and that we would need to pick up the car soon or they would have us towed. I sent a text back to Jonathan apologizing for the added day of having my car there and that I would pick it up that evening (Friday 3/29) once I finished work. Jonathan stated that he would let management know and that he would make sure we were ‘good’. (Screen shot of text message available) I headed home after a 10 hour work day, grabbed my three-year-old and mother-in-law and headed down to pick up my vehicle from your employee parking lot. This is the turning point of where our wonderful experience of purchasing our first vehicle as a Family turned into a disaster. You can imagine our faces as customers when we pulled into the parking lot to see that an employee (Manager per the message) from Dick’s Honda decided to deface my car windows with a windshield marker and electrical tape a balloon to my antenna even after being authorized to park in your lot by your sales person. I would expect a dealership on 82nd avenue to display this kind of unprofessional and disrespectful behavior but would never imagine it to happen at a Dealership that prides itself on its team’s values and services. Shocked, appalled and disappointed I walked into the Dealership and asked to speak with a Manager on Duty. The young lady who I asked, responded with, ‘Who’s asking’?... I said that I was asking and that I just drove here with my daughter and mother-in-law to get my car and someone wrote all over my car with marker and I needed someone to clean it off. She went back to speak with her immediate Manager, Jorge Avila who waved me in. I explained to Jorge that I just purchased a car here on Wednesday and that Jonathan Rodriguez allowed me to park in the lot for a few days and that I needed someone to clean off my windows. I have photos of the vandalism that I sent to the GM. My car was in no condition to be driven 45 minutes across town safely by my almost 70 year old mother- in-law. He looked at me and said, “I can’t help you”. He stated that, “You had your car parked there for a few days and you are lucky we didn’t tow you.” I again reiterated that Jonathan permitted me to park there. Failing to listen to what I was telling him, Jorge made it clear by his body language and response, that he was not going to have anyone help me clean off my windows even if I did just purchase a vehicle from their Dealership two days prior. He left me with no other choice but to embarrassingly ask him for a towel and windex to clean my own windows due to the actions of your Team. Jorge tossed me a microfiber towel and said he was not able to find any windex or window cleaner. A service guy commented to him that a razor blade would be the only thing to get the marker off the windows. I showed Jorge the text thread between Jonathan and I, and he finally asked the service guy to help me. Due to the 30 minute delay and lack of assistance from management to ensure my car was safe to drive for my mother in law, I was left no choice but to scrape off the marker with another employee in a garage bay to ensure my Family has a safe vehicle to drive back up to Portland and to get my nearly three year old home to bed. I have never felt so belittled and disrespected in my life. At no point did I receive an apology from Jorge or any other employee. Buying a car is the largest purchase most people will ever make next to buying a home. I am at a loss for words on how fast our experience went from wonderful to terrible. My wife and I went from being extremely excited to feeling severely disappointed, disrespected and frankly sickened by what transpired. I have never been the person to write complaints, especially given that I work in the service industry and know that sometimes things happen, but there was no excuse for this type of behavior. I am appalled and saddened by the level of immaturity, disregard and disrespect shown to me to my family. I received a voicemail from the GM, Dan Blankenship a few days later. I missed his call due to work but called him on three separate occasions shortly after and did not get a call or email back from him for eight(8) days. When we did finally speak he was very dismissive of my situation. He acted like my experience was not a big deal to him or his team that he mentioned that the defacement of personal vehicles between their sales team was a normal practice and when I mentioned his managers actions of telling me he couldn’t assist me in cleaning off my windows with the marker that his team put on my vehicle, Mr. Blankenship stated that Jorge was just having a bad day and most customers like him. It was clear Mr. Blankenship was ignoring the details I shared. Throughout our conversation he seemed to indicate that my worries were not a big deal to them. This belittling of my concerns Isn’t helpful in solving the experience my family experienced.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jonathan Rodriguez - Salesperson ; Jorge A - Sales Manager ; Dan Blankenship - GM
Apr 17, 2019 -

Dick's Hillsboro Honda responded

Thank you for your feedback. We are looking into this matter at the present time. Sincerely, Dick’s Hillsboro Honda team

March 28, 2019

"Do not purchase a car at this dealership "

- Myara

This dealership has antiquated means of filling out the sale agreements which leads to a lot of errors on their part. Their methods of convincing the customer to buy the service agreement is aggressive and not comfortable. Avoid this place, other Honda dealerships don’t have questionable morales and ethics as this place

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Anthony Pelpola
1.0
Other Employees : Michael a sale managr
Apr 10, 2019 -

Dick's Hillsboro Honda responded

We’ve received your comments and are reviewing them with our team. Please contact us directly if you’d like to discuss your concerns further. Sincerely, Dick’s Hillsboro Honda team

November 13, 2018

"James made it a great experiene!"

- Tbomb

James Morton was a great saleman! For a young guy, he was very honest, respectful, courtious and very attentive to details. I went in to look at a older Camry with a lot of miles on it and James directed to to an older Totota RAVE4 with less miles on it! After buying the Toyota, I suspected a transmisson problem and took it in to be checked out! Mike?, in service totally checked the transmission and said that the car passed his inspection! Being the new guy on the team, Frank the Manager, helped James, seal the deal! My 2006 Civic had been stolen, But am loving sitting up a little highers in my RAV4! I'm very happy and will stear anyone buying a car, new or used to James Morton! What a good guy! Tommy Burke

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
James Morton
Nov 14, 2018 -

Dick's Hillsboro Honda responded

Thank you for the awesome feedback! You're right, James is a great salesman and we appreciate all he does for us! We're very happy to hear that he was there to provide you with great service. Enjoy your purchase! Best, Sam Riley | General Manager | sriley@dicksautogroup.com - (503) 735-7300

August 12, 2018

"Great Service"

- Natnatmorgan

I just bought a car from Dick’s Hillsboro Honda and the service that I received was great! I was interested in a car they had listed online and had called ahead because I lived over an hour away. When I arrived they had the car already for me to check out, and I was helped by several different sales men and women who were all extremely helpful and professional. The purchase process was seemless and easy and I walked out with the car I wanted for a price I was willing to pay. I’d highly recommend you check them out.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Other
Aug 13, 2018 -

Dick's Hillsboro Honda responded

We’re delighted to hear of your positive experience at our dealership! We always strive to provide the utmost in customer service and quality, and it makes us happy to know that you feel you experienced these values first hand. We hope you continue to choose us for all of your future automotive needs, and we hope to see you again soon. Until next time, have a great day! Sincerely, Sam Riley | General Manager | sriley@dicksautogroup.com - (503) 735-7300

May 06, 2018

"Good salesman, and finance manager"

- Jdix

I had a good experience until I got to financing. As a costco buyer they were supposed to show me the dealer invoice and Costco price sheet. They did not. They told me the Costco price but I saw nothing to verify. I walked in with my own approved financing from my bank but they insisted I fill out their financing documents "just in case" and days after I left, he called to tell me he could not reach my bank! I could reach them every time I called! He then proceeded to finance through their own finance institution, no matter what I said! That seemed dishonest to me. Terms of use for submitting would not come up below either, but I had to accept to submit.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Nick Tepea sales, Andrew Harmon, finance
May 21, 2018 -

Dick's Hillsboro Honda responded

I am happy to hear that your experience with our sales team was a good one. I am, however, disappointed to hear that you felt your time after that could have been better. We do everything we can to take care of our customers and provide them with the very best service. We also take customer’s comments and feedback very seriously. If you would please reach out to me, we can find a way to possibly remedy your situation. Please call me at (303) 578-6117 and I will look forward to hearing from you. - Roman Gelfand, General Manager

March 08, 2018

"Good Service, bad service advisor"

- pdxhonda

I have had Alex numerous times for service on a couple of my cars. He forgets to inform you that there are issues with your car, can be rude and confrontational when you ask questions about service and next mileage service. He seems bothered to help you. I have had better service from other advisors so I avoid booking with him at all costs. Hopefully, someone at Hillsboro Honda will finally do something about his poor work and unprofessional behavior. Someone should also coach the mechanics not to openly discuss how much they hate working there while getting coffee in the lounge. It didn't leave me feeling great about returning for service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Alex Schenbeck
Mar 08, 2018 -

Dick's Hillsboro Honda responded

I am terribly sorry to hear about the negative impression you got during your recent visit at our dealership. We appreciate feedback like yours because it helps us identify the areas in which we need to improve as a business. We encourage you to contact us at your earliest convenience so that we can address your concerns together and move forward in a positive direction. Your satisfaction is of the utmost importance. Sincerely, Rich Purinton | Service Manager | rpurinton@dicksautogroup.com - (503) 640-6401

1
...
1 - 10 of 308 results