About Us
Copyright 2018 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Don Vance Ford

2.7

18 Lifetime Reviews

14897 Hwy. 38 W., Marshfield, Missouri 65706 Directions
Sales: (800) 947-7567

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

18 Reviews of Don Vance Ford

Sort by Write a review
May 14, 2018

"New Car experience"

- Diana

Don Vance Ford and Gary Skelton were recommended to me by a retired Ford employee. I dealt with them by phone only and purchased a new Focus. It was exactly as they quoted, and was delivered to my home as promised. I would recommend this dealership in a heartbeat.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Gary Skelton
January 18, 2018

"Long Distance Car Purchase"

- Brown-eyed Susan

I recently was forced to buy a replacement for my 2011 Mustang convertible following a serious accident. I live in Minnesota. This Missouri dealership offered a price that made it worth my time and expense to buy from them. Gary Skelton was an extremely friendly, responsive and accommodating partner in this transaction. He went out of his way to make this a positive buying experience. Thank you, Gary! Don and I got home safely and declare you the BEST! Susan C.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Gary Skelton
September 20, 2017

"Gary Skelton is a PEST"

- dandrew

Asked the dealership (Gary Skelton) about removing the THREE dealership decals if I bought a new F150 from them, got no answer....so I bought elsewhere and told them so. But that hasn't stopped Gary Skelton, who continues to pester and hound me relentlessly with emails about buying from them. He just doesn't get it! Finally had to block his emails. Better shop elsewhere.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Gary Skelton
June 29, 2017

"Never ending excuses"

- 2minuterepair?

On a Thursday evening when I dropped off my 2014 Ford Transit Connect, I gave a detailed description regarding a sliding door latch part that had broke and was missing. Friday the shop at Don Vance Ford (Marshfield, MO) called and told me that the mechanic could not find anything wrong. All the mechanic had to do was compare the sliding door with the issue, with the exact same sliding door on the other side in order to see what was missing (never mind the description of the problem that was in his/her work order). The service Rep said they had to order the part. Come Monday, they gave excuses about not having the part yet...comes from the Ford warehouse in Saint Louis (Wow, a whopping 200 miles away---you can walk that distance 3 days) Then, Tuesday...excuses. Wednesday...excuses. Then, Thursday morning I get a call that informs me that UPS miss-delivered the part....so they still don't have it. Personally, even though they called me each day, I don't believe they ever ordered the part. Because, there's no money to be made under warranty on a 2 minute repair. Did you folks know that a dealerships shop makes more money for the dealership than all of the combined revenue from selling new and used cars? That's a fact. I'll pick up my vehicle today and fix the door myself. I bought this Transit Connect from Don Vance Ford, my wife is in the market for a new car. Guess where we won't buy it?

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Amy, and another woman, I forget her name
May 23, 2017

"Repairs on 2016 Transit Connect"

- TOM

A faulty wiring harness disabled all of the accessory functions and the vehicle couldn't be moved as the shifter didn't work. They claimed that Ford would only split the cost of the harness but no labor. In the process they also fixed a recall on the door locks of the rear door. I filed a complaint with Ford and they said they would inform the dealer. Vance had the vehicle for another month and did nothing to fix it. They said it needed a new door module and that would be over $200. They supposedly fixed it but it worked before they touched it. When I got the vehicle back they had removed a door panel and cut the insulation and just left it. In addition they ran a wire from the fuse block to somewhere under the front right side. This wire is loose with no protection and floats in the breeze. It will surely rug against something and short out or break. I would expect this kind of work in a driveway with a motor hanging from a tree not a "certified Ford service department" Better off taking your vehicle to the shade tree mechanic as he will be better than Don Vance. I have picture should you like see their "professional" work.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Glen
April 05, 2017

"Repair by guesswork"

- traveling man

On my way from St. Louis to San Diego my Ford SporTrac starting cutting like water in gas after being repaired the day before in Fulton, MO. Had to spend the night at motel in Conroy, MO and called the Ford dealer Don Vance in Marshfield. Showed them the two hours of diagnosis charged by Fulton Ford for repair done the day before. Don Vance service thought it was fuel filter charging me $107. I drove about 40 miles when it started cutting out again. Stayed the night in a little hotel struggled to make it next day to Springfield who discovered a bad sensor in fuel rail and charged me $307. Maybe Toyota next vehicle!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
not known
February 18, 2017

"Best car buying experience ever! "

- SGMJohn

I couldn't get the price I wanted with my local Ford dealer so I sent my Ford truck requirements and what my trade was to Don Vance. Dennis Horne responded to my request with a very satisfiable trade beating my local Ford dealer. I placed my order and 6 weeks later my truck was built and delivered. Dennis being the Sales Manager turned over the purchase completion to Richard Branch. I wanted a couple service modifications performed before taking delivery and Richard was more than helpful. Yesterday, I took possession of my new truck and EVERYTHING was as expected, service modifications complete and my truck was prepared and on display when I arrived. The paperwork process was quick and easy. I have to say this is the best buying experience I have ever had. And I have purchased some 25 cars in my life. Everyone, to include the receptionist was very polite and professional. Don Vance Ford has my business from now on! Thank you Dennis and Richard!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Dennis Horne and Richard Branch
January 16, 2017

"They Tried to Scam Me"

- Raspeaker

This dealership sent me a supposed EXPERIAN report on a relatively new vehicle (4000 miles) that said it had been in no accidents. I did not have the vehicle inspected, or order a CARFAX or EXPERIAN report of my own and was about to buy the vehicle (I had actually turned over a check from our finance company). My insurance agent called just in time to inform me of the nightmarish history of this vehicle (shipped to this dealer from out of state), which involved two accidents that nearly totaled it. The ownership of the dealership had to know the history before buying the vehicle and even if they had not they do now. Also, their mechanics would have been able to spot the extensive repairs that have been made to the vehicle (I was foolish enough to not have it checked by a mechanic of my own). I see now that Don Vance is still selling this vehicle for the very same price and likely sending the same, bogus EXPERIAN report to those who inquire. I cannot recommend Don Vance Ford since I do not trust them and would never try to buy from them again.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
I worked with the owner, a salesman, and the finance specialist.
October 22, 2015

""Bad Experience" turn good"

- Ripped off

Called about a vehicle on their lot. New 2015 truck, looking for the max tow package with tow mirrors. Paid $500 down payment over the phone using credit card. Car was delivered to me and when it arrived "no tow mirrors" and two scratches on the side of the truck. Called the manager and they wanted additional $300 to install the tow mirrors, I refused the truck and had delivery man take it back. Called the sales manager and he said they would refund the down payment. Been a month and no refund yet. No contract was signed but still waiting on refund. Would not do business with them again. Update..Michael Barker, General Manager, of Don Vance Ford, got ahold of me and told me they were going to refund full amount. Stand up guy and company. Will recommend them to anyone.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
sales manager, Don Vance Ford, Marshfield, MO
April 30, 2015

"Every which way ..."

- David

Back at the beginning of April of 2015 My wife & I went to Don Vance Ford in Marshfield ,Mo and were looking to buy a 2014 Ford F150 4x4,they had some good prices on them.Long story short I was so upside down in my 2014 Charger and they tried everything under the sun to get us into that awesome truck.But to no avail,but we were totally satisfied with what they tried to accomplish,I truly love that truck but just wanted to let them know that they are the best group of guys I know the business thanks for the hard work and honesty gentlemen.Will continue to tell people of my experiences with Don Vance Ford....

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tony
1
1 - 10 of 18 results