Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back
COVID-19
Response
  • Home Delivery
  • Virtual Appointments

Elmhurst Toyota

Elmhurst, IL

2.8
729 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership
Welcome to Elmhurst Toyota! As part of the family-owned and operated Elmhurst Auto Group, we have been serving the Chicagoland community for over 50 years. In that time, with the support and loyalty of our wonderful family of customers, we've become one of the larger Toyota dealerships in Illinois. In our beautiful, state of the art facility, which is twice the size of our former location, we're able to provide low prices and a phenomenal selection of vehicles, services and amenities to our customers. And with one of the highest customer satisfaction ratings in the Midwest, we know that if you visit Elmhurst Toyota, you will have the absolute best buying and ownership experience available in the automotive business.

440 W. Lake Street

Elmhurst, IL

60126

Directions

Filter Reviews By Type

Showing 729 reviews

October 05, 2020

"The salesman, Tom, intentionally hid defective safety..."

- Nickell

The salesman, Tom, intentionally hid defective safety features on the used car I purchased. I discovered the issue the next day and tried for 4 days to contact a manager to discuss it but they avoided my calls and have not called me back. Be very cautious as this dealership is very shady and unethical and they have a lot of hidden fees. For example, they will charge a $300 processing fee for any “negotiated” price so take this fee into consideration if you’re trying to negotiate.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Tom
October 04, 2020

"This place is full of scam artists, liars, and full of..."

- Oldtinbox

This place is full of scam artists, liars, and full of unbelieveable price gouging. Tony the sales manager Dan the parts director and Brian the service manager literally will price gouge recommend unnecessary work and lie to your face about services or prices. Let me start by saying this store has no general manager although tony misrepresents himself online as the owner and likes to tell people he is the owner he is in fact not the owner... there is no general manager according to them the owner is the general manager and he doesn't get involved in the business... but aren't you the owner tony...what a convenient lie and shady business practice. And if you reach out to Toyota they recommends you talk to the general manager owner, or the customer relations manager... thiers no general manager or customer relations manager and tony is not the owner although he continues to misrepresent himself as the owner... they have refused to service my car under warranty because I told dan I wouldn't be price gouged and when I called him out for inflating price and phony services he has refused to do work on my car or even sell me parts or tires even though I had an appointment for a warranty service they are beyond inconsiderate and have discriminatory business practices they charge people different prices and use labor phony labor cost to increase prices. 140 dollars to change a tail light they tried to rip me off to do work that requires a screwdriver and takes 5 minutes The sales man mario used high pressure tactics trying to keep you there long and also the guy literally was like what do I have to do to make you walk out of here with it today, this financing offer may not last and this is a limited time buy I can get you well off mark up they used every tactic in the book he could muster I though I got a good price but the next day I went to their Toyota Elmhurst. Com and it was 1200 less than what I paid. in fact they care nothing about you as a person and are only concerned with making a sale they didn't care about my budget or if I could afford it they didnt ask what I did or how much i earned they did anything just to make a sale. why do I say this. Because i was unemployed doing uber for two weeks I literally gave them no proof of income no pay stubs and filled out no paperwork for a loan the fiance guy literally made stuff up to be honest I didn't fill out anything I just signed on the line. I could only imagine the lies David told Toyota fiance I even told him I have a stress migraine even gave me aspirin. They didn't care had to make a sale. In all reality that was a high risk loan for me that left me stress sick for weeks I truly intended to just look at a car not take out a 25000 plus loan. What david put told them for proof of income or fiance information I could only imagine the lies. Just wanted to get me outta there with a loan. He did several things wrong which I was not aware of until months later ie maintenance plan was supposeded to included in my haggling I thought... Anyway my issue began with discovering that first bought a RIP off maintenance plan and that the 5 free services were just a scam to keep you coming in Tony even tells people you'll pay more for a maintenance plan which is a lie he just wants to keep you coming in so they can inflate prices. I had a taillight assembly leak water they said it would cost 480 to replace 280 for the part and 140 labor to replace it. Total scam to do this job requires a screwdriver and takes three minutes is the same as changing a taillight bulb and the part Is priced differently on thier website even if they order it they won't give you an honest price it was marked up 4 times their cost. They have ripped me off on several services and lied to my face about pricing and repair cost. Dan and Brian are liars I called another dealership told me how to do the repair myself said I wouldn't feel right charging you for that repair do you have a screwdriver oh and try silicone don't replace the part??!! Who is the owner? Tony Dan and Brian are liars

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Oct 06, 2020 -

Elmhurst Toyota responded

Our team has acknowledged this review.

Oct 06, 2020 -

Oldtinbox responded

I left this review on a Sunday dan the part and service director called me immediately at 7 am on Monday to tell me I read your review and I think you shouldn't come in here anymore. at which point he said if you don't listen to me I'll hang up and at the same time he said that I was sayin what are you gonna do hang up on me?Hahahhahah. That's when I told him what he can do with his smart mouth honestly this dealership woke me up to complain about my review and tell me to not come in when I had told them I wouldn't come back there and had already cancelled my appointment... These guys are cowards they then filed a false complaint against me with the local police because I recorded my interaction with them and they were offened when I called them out for thier shady business practices. They literally can't stand an honest review that describes my real experience with them stay away from these scam artists they try to make you think thier your friends and family but they are just price gougers who are really the elmhurst auto group. which is slowly failing due to change in the industry nobody wants a jaguar and they don't make no money off of economy cars. and you know you make less by not price gouging for phony labor and part repairs is just plain unprofitable ...although if you need a loan no questions asked is this is your place you just have to pay more for the car. Thier is no team it's dan Brian or Tony who responded to this and they are too cowardly too actually respond as an honest business man to the actually complaints...would you know why they wouldn't respond? They are scam artists and price gougers who will lie for a dollar. Their whole sales team was scared when I walked in there recording my interaction for my protection as allowed to me by law and I demanded a refund and to talk to the general manager and or owner. Tony told me thier is no general manager thats the owner and he doesn't get involved then tells I can't record it's private property and I'm like well then have the owner tell me... says to me I'm the owner???!!! I'm like wait now your the owner and he's like no I'm not I was like I know your not you con artist. you just claim to be the owner. the owner is the elmhurst auto group it didn't take much digging I already found more of these scam artists but they ain't worth the breathe so now to the BBB now you lie about that so much Tony you don't even know the truth is mister owner your not the owner you lied to my face that was your little lie though you've become so accoustmed to saying you slipped so stop lying to people... You think people even believe you? why would the owner of a dealership work there in person you think he would stand thier 12 hours a day six days a week? Honestly I didn't leave a bad review before cause I felt bad for you as people you work in a car dealership... but since I see how your part of the problem in america well your the worst predatory sales men arrogant staff and you just refuse service to people who don't brown nose you... Asm certification is a joke it's like a ged and you guys went to college? You have no skills. I remember when I was a young boy I said momma I want to be a car salesman when I grow up that's my dream... as I told your cashier, car salesmen are like thieves you know are gonna rob you but have no choice in dealing with just hope you don't get robbed badly. You all remind me of al bundy with crushed dreams... There is no team they have no general manager or customer relations manager the person who responded to this was one of them and they hate this review but it's true the predatory lending, I mean look it up what did you guys tell toyota fiance... made up numbers given to toyota fiance and then the repair work and phony billing service charge I tried to explain to dan I'm stressed coming in cause everytime your trying to upcharge me and make me pay ridiculous amounts and not honor the agreements I made at purchase and my warranty just all of it you put on my bill of sale extended service agreement that's so general he gave me paperwork for both and told me it would be to a 100000. Mile warranty for both .They put me in situation well if you don't like it go somewhere else. they did an engine flush that I was sure was covered under my service plan but no they did it then charged me 200 I was like $#@& wasn't gonna argue with them but I ate that one 200 for an engine flush I can do that myself for 30 bucks these guys are con men stay away. I've had so many problems with them I could go on and on they called to harass me for leaving a review 7am on the dot I left this review they called me immediately to complain about it

June 12, 2020

"i bought this 2020 camry xse v6 from this toyota elmhurst..."

- naseerakram85

i bought this 2020 camry xse v6 from this toyota elmhurst il dealership and after few days i started hearing a weird noise when my car is in idle position and engine is ON. i took it to the this dealership and next day they called me and said there is nothing wrong with my car. but when i drove again the same noise was there. after some time i took the car again and this time i was told the same story by them. so long story short i went to them 3 times but they always told me that there is no noise. but today when i took the car again and ask the mechanic to go for a test drive with me ,he did noticed the same noise and asked me to leave the car so that he can check it. and then they called me and said that there is some damage to my exhaust shield and this is because i hit the car somewhere. i went to the dealer and asked to meet their service and parts director and actually i was standing at his door but he refused to meet me because he according to him he is busy and dont have time to meet me. i requested again to Daniel(service director) that i had contacted him earlier few weeks ago about the situation and he sent me an email and also promised me that he will look into the matter but he again refused to meet. this is only because he knew that the fault was there in my car and thats was a company’s fault but now they are asking me to pay $613. for the repairs as warranty will not cover it. i told him that when i bought the car 3 times why i was not told that there is some damage and now when you guys are telling me after 6 months and on my fourth visit that its my fault. i told them on my very first visit that the noise is there since the day i bought it. but dealership and service director Daniel refused to address my issue. worst customer service seen by this director Daniel and dealership. they just sold me this faulty car and now am stuck with it.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Daniel (service and parts director)
Jun 12, 2020 -

Elmhurst Toyota responded

Mr. Akram, your vehicle was here first on 1/14/20 with 711 miles for a ECU reprogramming recall. You never mention noise on this visit. The first mention of the noise was 2/12/20 with 1066 miles on the vehicle, at which time we were not able to hear the noise you complained about. You completed a negative Toyota survey which I responded to on May 5, 2020. I told you at that time to let me know when you would like to bring car in and we would re-inspect vehicle for noise. You never called me to set appointment nor did you let me know car came in for inspection, yesterday June 11, 2020. You are correct, at that exact second, I was in the middle of a time sensitive issue that needed may attention and I was unavailable when you demanded my immediate attention. Steve the service advisor told you I was not available for a little bit but you wanted me NOW! Our service manager Brian Corrigan was available immediately. Brian investigated your concern and found noise to be due to accident damage under the vehicle which is not a warrantable concern. Brian bent the damaged heat shield so the noise would no longer happen.

Jun 12, 2020 -

naseerakram85 responded

yeah i was expecting this same anwer from you guys. and no there was no accidental damage done by me. if there was a damage done why would i bring the car again and again to tour dealership as i know you guys will find that u did something wring with the car. but i kept on coming again and again and you guys keep on telling me that there is no noise. and now when you guys found the fault you guys are putting on me. may be you advised your mechanic to put some marks of damage on the defective prt so you can put blame on the customer.such a big dealership and doing this cheap tactics to save $613 repair cost. i will definitely make sure that i will put my concern to every possible and available platform. and yes i did saw you how much busy were you. talking to the other customer which was there too without appointment and you did passed by me twice but didn’t bother to ask me about my concern

April 05, 2020

"A great and smooth buy! Enrique Valdivia was an awesome..."

- Lang

A great and smooth buy! Enrique Valdivia was an awesome agent. He made everything painless. All my queries were answered satisfactorily. Todd Thiede was an awesome help too! He found me very good deal. I am very happy with my 2016 Rav4! Thank you Enrique! Thank you Todd!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : Enrique Valdivia
Apr 16, 2020 -

Elmhurst Toyota responded

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how happy you are with your experience! Feedback from you is one way we know we are achieving our goals. Let us know if we can assist you again! Sincerely, Tony Gmitrovic, GSM - tonyg@elmhursttoyota.com - 630-279-2160

March 24, 2020

"Excellent experience!"

- Annette

I had a WONDERFUL experience with Steve Salidas! He was patient, knowledgeable, and definitely went above and beyond to take care of me while I bought my dream car. After the purchase of the car was complete, he made sure the car was set up for me. Even took his own time to set up my Bluetooth! To top it off, he gave a few key chains and a little stuffed Toyota giraffe to commemorate the moment. Inside the dealership is set up like a small town, very cute and clean. I didn't have to spend much time there because they were very efficient despite it being a Saturday. I was there for 1.5 hours and left with a car! I would definitely recommend Steve and Elmhurst Toyota to a friend.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mar 25, 2020 -

Elmhurst Toyota responded

At Elmhurst Toyota, our number one goal is customer satisfaction. We train our staff to go the extra mile and give the customer a positive experience. We are very pleased you enjoyed your recent visit and we hope you will continue to use our dealership for your parts and service needs. Thank you for your great review! Sincerely, Tony Gmitrovic, GSM - tonyg@elmhursttoyota.com - 630-279-2160

November 26, 2019

"Just visited them yesterday... Had scheduled..."

- Mykhailo Parobok

Just visited them yesterday... Had scheduled appointment... 3 hours waiting... Said me they needed more time, because they got some problems, but HAVE NO IDEA, what is going on with 3 month old car! Said: can't give me loaner car on that time, because it's out of their policy... asked me about carwash... even didn't do that, at the end... I had recall paper, - even didn't do that... THEY WAS DOING NOTHING DURING 3 HOURS WITH MY CAR! Had small defect on my rear bumper plastic (could fix by myself...), but asked them to see this, - they said: let's go to your native dealership, in Romeoville...)))) I live 50 miles away...:)))) I was calling to Toyota customer service, they were really surprised about all of this "Service"... P.S.: I was reading previous review from one lady: she said they are liers... THAT'S TRUE!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jan 06, 2020 -

Elmhurst Toyota responded

I would like to speak with you directly in order to better understand the circumstances you’ve described and reach a satisfactory resolution together. Please contact me directly at your earliest convenience. Thank you, I look forward to speaking with you. Dan Briggs, Parts and Service Director eservice@elmhursttoyota.com

November 06, 2019

"Lies, Lies and more Lies"

- Debbie

I went to Elmhurst Toyota after my 3 month old car was totaled in an accident. I'd had an 18 year relationship with them and our family had leased 10 cars and outright purchased another. I thought they would be helpful to an extremely long-term customer. I spoke with my salesman, Steven Salidas and Tony Gmitrovic. I wanted another 2019 Camry XLE. Tony told me one did not exist in the red color I wanted. He also told me that they did not have a 2020 and could not get one without ordering it from Toyota. All lies. Eighteen year relationship and I was told lie after lie. Three other dealerships had the 2019 Camry I wanted and every other dealership I spoke with had the red one in a 2020. I went to Continental Toyota and they happily traded a vehicle with another dealership to get me a red 2019 Toyota Camry XLE. Will never be back.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Nov 25, 2019 -

Elmhurst Toyota responded

Debbie, we appreciate your feedback regarding your recent experience. We don't want to lose a loyal customer or miss out on the opportunity to grow as a company. I'd like the chance to speak with you and hear your feedback regarding your visit. Please contact me at your earliest convenience. Best, Tony Gmitrovic, GSM - tonyg@elmhursttoyota.com - 630-279-2160

October 04, 2019

"*****Do not buy a used car here!! I did 1 year ago and..."

- Cgrider

*****Do not buy a used car here!! I did 1 year ago and have put almost $3000 in repairs!!! They power washed the engine to clean off the oil that turned out to be a fire hazard to sell the car, they don't sell quality used cars!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Oct 20, 2019 -

Elmhurst Toyota responded

Thank you for sharing this review regarding your experience with us. I’d like to discuss this with you further if you could please contact me at your earliest convenience. Best, Tony Gmitrovic, GSM - tonyg@elmhursttoyota.com - 630-279-2160

August 16, 2019

"Visit to the dealership for tire pressure light on "

- Rashid

On August 12, 2019, I dropped off my vehicle, a 2019 Toyota Sienna, with Elmhurst Toyota Dealership.  On this newly-purchased Sienna, the tire pressure light on the dashboard was always on.  After carefully checking the tire pressure on all tires, it was clear that there was a malfunction with the sensor.  Elmhurst Toyota Dealership quoted a price of $135, to cover the cost of a computer diagnosis, to which I agreed.  Over the course of three days, with collaborating correspondence, the technicians working at the dealerships were unable to identify the problem.  Over the course of the three days, I received phone calls from the dealership with updates, each concluding that they needed more time to further troubleshoot the issue.  During this period, as I rely on my vehicle for my occupation, I missed my usual revenue and earnings.  On August 14, 2019, I returned to the Elmhurst Toyota Dealership to collect my car.  To my complete surprise, the service representative who had assisted me was supplanted by Daniel Briggs, the Parts & Service Director, who angrily presented me with an invoice for $1,800.  He was absolutely dismissive of my concerns about the enormous sum, and was resentful of my profession, exclaiming, "WHATEVER HE SAID ABOUT WHEELCHAIR ACCESSIBLE TAXIS," in a derogatory manner.  I explained that I only agreed to the diagnosis with the stated fee of $135, as is stated and recorded in the invoice.  Director Daniel Briggs lectured that Elmhurst Toyota Dealership had to be compensated for the uncalculated and unstated hours of labor, and that the diagnosis fee of $135 did not apply.  Because Elmhurst Toyota Dealership was unable to correctly run a diagnosis, their Director's decision was to charge me for the arbitrarily calculated labor that wasn't able to detect any issue.  Had it been conveyed to me at any point during the THREE?  FOUR? voice mails and phone conversations that I would be expected to pay for the hours of labor used to discover nothing, I would have removed the vehicle from their facility as soon as they informed me pricing had changed. Parts & Service Director Daniel Briggs disparagingly told me that if I want my vehicle back, I need to pay the invoice in full.  Perhaps feeling guilty for his abstract and randomly calculated hours of labor, he offered a 10% discount. The following day, August 15, 2019, I returned as I had no choice but to pay the invoice so that I could have my car back as it is essential to my career.  The bait-and-switch invoicing along with the condescending and patronizing attitude of Parts & Service Director Daniel Briggs was deeply dissatisfying. 

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Aug 19, 2019 -

Elmhurst Toyota responded

Hello Rashid, As Tommy explained to you when you dropped off you’re your Mobility Works (handicap conversion) Taxi, if the problem is due to a manufacture defect the repair would be covered under warrant. However if we find the problem is due to either the Mobility Works conversion or the added equipment that your taxi company has added, it would not be covered under warranty and you would be liable for the diagnosis fee and repair. We finally determined the issue with the low tire pressure warning light was due to the install of the aftermarket taxi equipment. Note to all that are reading this we were not provided any wiring diagrams or help from Mobility Works or the Taxi company …we had to figure issue out within the rats nest of wiring they left under the dash. The issue you had was due to the incompetence of the person that installed your taxi equipment. Daniel Briggs Parts and Service Director

August 07, 2019

"Shady"

- mustangman

Received a quote from Neda but when I called to tell her I wanted to buy she informed me that the price went up to the tune of $1,900! I called Rob Smithburg, her manager, but he never returned my call. I messaged him along with Tony Gmitrovic and Vlad Rikhman, Director of Sales Operations and New Car Manager respectively, but have not heard back from any of them. This dealership does not come across as trustworthy or concerned about customer service. They lost a sure sale and a customer for life. Would NOT recommend doing business with them. There are plenty of other Toyota dealers in Chicago.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : Neda Gorancic
1
...
1 - 10 of 729 results