About Us
Copyright 2018 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Fred Caldwell Chevrolet

4.0

10 Lifetime Reviews

974 Bethel St., Clover, South Carolina 29710 Directions
Sales: (803) 222-4581

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

10 Reviews of Fred Caldwell Chevrolet

Sort by Write a review
December 21, 2017

"Great experience!"

- vols2107

Bill and Martin were great! They made buying our new car easy and stress free! By far the best experience I’ve ever had buying a car!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Bill, Martin
December 07, 2017

"Don’t go here"

- Pissedaboutit

Recently bought a used car from there. Had a good knock in the front end but I figured it was struts or something simple like that and that was expected because of how many miles were on the car. After I took it to my mechanic I found out that the car has more than likely been wrecked and someone paid for it out-of-pocket so it doesn't show up on a Carfax also the two struts in the front of the car were out of a junkyard and off of an 04 model not a 2010 which is what I bought.Everyone seemed kind of nice but I guess it is a typical car dealership when dealing with a used vehicle. I am certain someone there knew what shape the front of that car was in and said nothing about it. Given those struts are a big part of the front suspension I would say they sold me an unsafe car. Also when I first started the process of buying the car I told them I was already preapproved through my bank. They still ran my credit at least 10 times! There was no reason for that other than being underhanded and trying to grab every little bit of money they could by offering me interest rates six times higher than what my bank had already said they could do for me. I would stay away or be very cautious if you go here.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Used car
March 01, 2017

"Incredible Service and Professionalism "

- Russell Kaye

We were in a very unique situation, needed special financing, we worked with Todd Horne and Andy GM, these guys went over and above the call of duty Even though the deal fell through, the advice and professional handling of our account, led us to another lender, who were able to help us get approved, only thing i regret, is we did not have the opportunity to work with them If your looking for a honest dealership, and salesmen who actually care about you as a person, this is your place

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Todd and Andy
December 13, 2015

"Easiest car buying experience ever."

- Michael R Little

Did the entire sales experience over the phone. Very easy and hassle free. Picked from their inventory online and was sent pictures via text. Within 37 hours the process was completed and car delivered to my door. Everyone was extremely .ice and helpful, especially Andy Mcgee. Highly recommend them on your .next purchase.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Andy Mcgee
March 31, 2015

" fred Caldwell Chevrolet one of the best car buying experi"

- Clifford Scott

purchased the 2013 Srt8 Grand Cherokee I made the complete deal over the phone I had a trade in sight unseen a sales manager by the name Andy, promise he could make the deal happen without me leaving the state of New Jersey! Yeah rite i said!! Knot only did he make the deal happen he deliver the car 14 hours away to my door step on top of that he give me the most value for my trade out of 5 different dealership!!! I cant wait. To buy another vehicle from Fred Caldwell Chevrolet what an experience I love to feel important like they made me feel, Unbelievable!!!!!!!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Andy
September 20, 2013

"My experience at Fred Caldwell Chevy lived up to the..."

- rewhite9

My experience at Fred Caldwell Chevy lived up to the countless positive reviews I had read online. Being my first time purchasing a car, I feared that I would encounter a sleazy salesman pressuring me to overspend. Luckily, my experience was the exact opposite. The sales staff, Todd and Andy in particular, was both patient and knowledgeable. I felt they genuinely had my best interest in mind. The customer service was exceptional and I could not be happier with my car or my decision to purchase from this dealership. I recommend Fred Caldwell Chevy to anyone who is in the market to buy a quality new or used car at a competitive price.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Andy McGee, Todd Horne
August 13, 2013

"I had been searching for a new vehicle for a few weeks..."

- PhilGoshen

I had been searching for a new vehicle for a few weeks and happened to stop by Fred Caldwell Chevrolet. I have been to many dealerships during our search but it is rare to find one where you don't feel like you are getting tackled as you step out of the car. From the minute I stepped onto the lot I felt comfortable and welcomed by the entire Fred Caldwell team and never did my wife or I feel pressured. That is what made this experience top notch in my book. Our salesman was very knowledgable about the car we purchased, even though it turned out being a non-chevy used vehicle with extremely low miles (might as well been new). It just speaks to the effort and thoroughness of the team at this dealership. The experience was super. After the test drive, they even let us take it for a longer duration to be able to see if it would fit in the garage/fit into our daily routine without the typical hassle of talking numbers and other high pressured sales tactics. - I have never enjoyed purchasing a car because A) Poor Sales tactics and Customer Service and B) you never know if you are getting a good deal. I know I got a good deal and the service was 5 star - they beat all others in charlotte metro area. They were fair with my trade as well. Much different experience than going to the chevy dealership off of South Blvd a couple of years ago. Needless to say, I walked away but if I had gone here, I know it would have been different. If you are thinking about buying a chevy or another used car, give these guys a chance to earn your business. It is worth the drive here because these people know how to treat customers. :) Very happy with our purchase - they have earned my business the next time we need a vehicle. Thanks again!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Robby
December 26, 2011

"18 monts ago, I casually began a search for a used car. ..."

- johnmyster

18 monts ago, I casually began a search for a used car. My family is historically a GM family, but I also considered one model from Toyota, one VW, one Honda, and one Ford, against several GM vehicles. About 4 months in, I had narrowed my search to one specific GM model and began a regional search. I live in Virginia, have family in South Carolina, and cover a wide territory for work. As a young professional this is my first “real money” car purchase. No new car this time, but maybe next time. Based on internet searches, I set out to return to Virginia from Carolina with four planned stops to look at cars. Fred Caldwell was number three. I called the dealership and reached Richard who gave me directions from the interstate and had the car warmed up when I arrived...as I remember the high was 30 degrees that day. The car was as promised, in fantastic condition. Clean, never had a fluid leak. All factory options except sunroof (I’m tall, so I prefer not to have a sunroof cutting into headroom.) Factory perfect inside. One small door ding and 5 stone chips (all touched up) outside. Outstanding for a 4 year old vehicle with 60k miles. Carfax checked out with the expected services for that year/model. Clean southern car with no history near the beach (salt) or snow (salt.) On the test drive Fred demonstrated the On-Star, discussed the origin of the vehicle, but could not get the satellite radio to work, as it “required activation.” The car even had the dealership installed splash guards and wintertime slush mats. Cherry of a car. Rode perfect, and showed no signs of the mechanical problems that plague this particular model. As we entered negotiations I brought up the GM Certified Used Warranty, as the car was advertised with one. Richard said that the car was not actually certified and steered me towards purchasing a third party warranty on my dime. I pointed to the price of other examples, and pointed towards the price I wanted including the GM Certified warranty. We finally settled that he could certify the vehicle but could not offer much of a break on the price due to the cost of certification. Then he tacked on title, tax, and tag fees. Again I questioned this. I was going to register the vehicle myself in my home state, not in SC. Therefore I would be paying sales tax, registration fees, titling fees, and plate fees at the DMV counter in Virginia. All I needed was a signed over title. Richard replied that he even had to pay this fee when he purchased a car (no doubt because the dealership processed tax, title, and tags for him) and that he could not come back on this fee. He would leave off sales tax. Richard had me where he wanted me, and commanded full asking price of the car. I accepted this as the cost of finding what was probably the nicest, best condition, most loved example in existence of the exact car I wanted. As Richard sent the car back for warranty certification (and to wash, fill the tank, and have a second key made) I visited a local branch of my bank to obtain a certified check. The car was ready upon my arrival and I headed home for Virginia. Richard shook my hand, and promised to have the sale documents to me in a week so that I could register in my home state before holiday travels. He also promised to send a copy of the owner’s manual, since mine was missing and this was required for GM Certified Used vehicles. Two weeks later, I followed up with the dealership to find the missing paperwork, as I needed to register before holiday travel. No luck, as they could not locate the paperwork. I left for holiday travel with a temporary tag on the vehicle. After holiday I followed up and it seemed they should have already arrived. We figured out the problem. The package had been sent without any type of tracking or certification to the wrong address. They used my old address. Virginia does not reissue your license when you move, but they issue a “change of address” card that you present along with your license. Rather than sending the package to my current address…the one hand-written on the sales contract…it was sent to the address on the copy of my license, which coincidentally, had the change of address card copied right next to it. So, I rushed back after holiday and committed a federal crime when I went to the mailbox at my former address and collected the sales documents. Fortunately the new tenants were on holiday and allowing their mail to build up, so I had my package. Otherwise the dealership would have had to file for a replacement in SC, no doubt another 3 week process. Again, all Richard had to do was sign over the title and send me on my way, but he couldn’t give up that pesky, title, tag, and registration fee. Thanks for the hassle. So now I’m bitter when standing at the VA DMV, paying all those fees for the second time around. Retroactive strike one against Richard’s sales techniques. Tags on car. Excellent, it’s official. I wanted to get that satellite radio working, so I called the number included with the sales documents, only to find out the vehicle didn’t have factory satellite radio installed. Really? Looking back, the abbreviated advertised feature list didn’t spell out satellite radio, But Richard said it was there. Oh well, guess I can’t expect Richard to know about his cars, especially when I call ahead and he knows what car I am coming to look at. Wait, that actually would have been a reasonable expectation (one he gave me no reason to second guess.) Most of the other cars of this model included sat-radio, even in lower trim levels, so I guess I wanted to believe Richard. I really would’ve liked sat-radio. I guess I’ll have to get it for my next car since there is no aftermarket kit available for this year/model…the very reason I was glad this car “had” it. Retroactive strike two against Richard. No owner’s manual ever appeared and I wasn’t about to follow up. Surely Richard had long since forgotten about me. I got a copy in PDF from the internet. Retroactive strike two. After seven months of driving and approaching the end of the GM Certified Warranty period, I had a few things I wanted my local dealership to check out. So there I was in the service drive pointing out three small concerns when my service rep types in the VIN and alerts me that my vehicle was never given a Certified GM warranty. He sees the inspection, but not the enrollment. What? So in the end that big expensive warranty that Richard was so concerned about never happened. Really? That was part of our negotiation…and turns out he didn’t follow through AND PROFITED FROM IT! So there we are on the phone, back and fourth on the phone. Eventually, after asking me about the mechanical concerns and consulting with HIS OWN service department about an estimate of cost, Fred Caldwell’s Sales Manager, Jerry, agreed to cover the service at my local dealer. Really? Your “Top Honors” sales consultant failed to complete the deal, has since left (or been released from) the dealership, and you agree to cover the issues only after you get an estimate? What if it had been major? What then? Clearly I’m an out of town customer that will never come back, so do you just ignore doing the right thing? In the end, Jerry did the right thing and forked over for a diagnosis and a replacement dome light assembly. The dealership never addressed the other two (more major) concerns, one of which I since had corrected on my own dime since the dealership couldn’t figure out how, or was coerced not to fix it. I’ll get over it. It’s a good car and will fit my needs for years to come. Did I pay to much? Yes. Especially considering the car had no warranty. Did the dealership make things right? Kinda. But in the end I trusted the small town Chevy dealership to take care of me in the first place. I was an out of town customer. A freebie if you will. All you had to do was have the exact car I wanted. I’ll never come back for those free oil changes or car washes. Not worth my time. I came in on a Tuesday morning at the end of the month and paid in cash. I was likely the only car you sold that day. I wasn’t taking up your “prime sales hours.” I came in on a slow day. No, I wasn’t buying a $45k Tahoe, but that doesn’t mean you can’t treat me well. But instead you were probably only making your minimum so you either intentionally or neglectfully decide that I’m not worth backing up the sale with the warranty you promised as a part of the deal (not to mention, as advertised.) Perhaps I would come back for my next GM purchase. You’re not that far out of the way. Just give me the warranty and hand my title over at sale, or at least mail it to the right address. That’s all you had to do to make this go right. If I can’t get small town GM dealership honesty from a small town GM dealer, I’ll just shop for a Toyota next time. And the punch line is that my primary employment is for a company that provides customer service education for comission salespeople. It’s about the total experience guys. Even for a used car that has never come back after the sale, you’ve disappointed me several times along the way. You’ve hurt your own reputation but you’ve also tarnished the GM experience for me…a traditional GM buyer who has many years of driving and car purchasing ahead. Fred Caldwell Chevrolet. Good dealer for small town Clover? Maybe. Good dealer for out of town shoppers who know what they want? No. Richard doesn’t work there anymore? Good for you. But that doesn’t really change my experience…without the promised timely delivery of sales paperwork, manual, satellite radio, or certified warranty. And in the end my experience is the only one that matters to me. If you dropped the ball with me, you can drop it with any customer.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Richard Hoeflick, Certified Internet Manager - Top Honors Sales Consultant
July 07, 2011

"I have had the pleasure of purchasing 3 Suburbans from..."

- Warren Klugman

I have had the pleasure of purchasing 3 Suburbans from Fred Caldwell over the past 10 years. Each experience and interaction I have had has been better that the preceding one. The professionality and honesty that is in their core has been experiend not only by myself but by all those people I have sent their way. A case in point that just occured. I was a victim of hail damage that took place this past April 2011. The process for repair was seamless and easy. Now for the icing on the cake...Just today I have received a reimbursement check from Fred Caldwell as a result of a bookkeeping overpayment. This did not have to be done and candidly, I would never had known the difference. Fred Caldwell Chevrolet is the definition of integrity! Offered by Warren Klugman

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Martin & Jerry (sales) and Barry & Therese (Service)
June 30, 2004

"Nice people who truly work hard to make your experience a..."

- BigSherm

Nice people who truly work hard to make your experience a good one. A few things after the fact were disappointing, with registration, paying off old loan, etc. It all worked out, but they were a bit tardy in tying things up. I would use them again, but keep my eye on the process.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tony Falls
1
1 - 10 of 10 results