About Us
Copyright 2018 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Garden State Volvo

3.1

13 Lifetime Reviews

2415 Highway 35, Manasquan, New Jersey 08736 Directions
Sales: (732) 528-7500

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

13 Reviews of Garden State Volvo

Sort by Write a review
October 15, 2018

"Great experience"

- Chevyguy

Found a used Camaro on Carfax atVolvo cars Manasquan. Visited dealership on10-13,spoke to Kevin Bay and the sales manager. I returned on 10-13 and bought the car. This dealer is 65 miles from my home and I would travel this distance again to buy a vehicle.They gave me a fair price for my trade and a good price on the Camaro.they were very professional and friendly people and I am a satisfied customer.I highly recommend this dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Kevin Bay and the sales manager
July 13, 2018

"Misrepresented Pre-Sale Service on Used Volvo "

- LC1

(Volvo Cars of Manasquan and Garden State Volvo appear as names for the location at 2415 Hwy 35, Manasquan, NJ) Recently purchased a used 2008 Volvo S60, end of May 2018. It’s a safe vehicle for a newer driver. Nice car. Sales person was Barbara (nice lady, easy to work with). The car was originally listed at $1000 lower than the price on the day I saw it. I inquired why the price was raised, and would they agree to the original lower price? Sales manager (Chris) reluctantly agreed because of ‘how much maintenance’ they put into the car before they offered it for sale ($1600). While brakes were not done, I was assured that they had 80-90% pads and needed no work. Shortly after agreeing, Barbara was told by the Sales Manager that to give me the reduced price, I needed to purchase a Powertrain Maintenance Contract. When I questioned the change in direction, Chris joined the discussion to inform me of how the car is 10 years old and they want to be certain they can help me out should something go wrong. They can’t control unforeseen mechanical failures and unhappy customers which results in poor reviews etc. I would respect someone more for their honesty, if I was simply told reducing by $700 is more manageable, versus the bait and switch with a useless $300 warranty. I’m stating this because it should have been my warning. Fast forward, we purchased the car anyway, along with the powertrain maintenance (for $200 rather than 3). My son has been driving the car for six weeks, and put a little more than 1,000 miles on it. Son was visiting family a couple towns over from home and called me about noise he was hearing when he applied the brakes. As a newer driver, he is always cautious/uncertain. The mechanic our family uses is right there in town, so to be safe we took the car in. To my surprise, I was told not to drive the car home because it isn’t safe. It has zero front brake pads & rotors, and zero rotors in back, and partial pads over the bad rotors. I explained our recent purchase of the car and the maintenance I was told about. I was told by the mechanic, best guess, new pads were put over totally bad rotors, and the pads wear like an eraser in a pencil sharpener. I’m not saying Manasquan Volvo knowingly put the pads over completely bad rotors, but they surely failed to exercise due diligence by checking the brake pads and rotors. I called today to speak with Barbara, she was out, so I asked for Chris. After explaining the issue, and expressing my disappointment with not only the misrepresentation of the maintenance, but the risk to any driver of the car, I was cut off mid-sentence by Chris with what was clearly his definition of ‘great customer service’. He told me he would check the maintenance records and call me back. He did promptly call back. He wanted to know why I didn’t bring the car there, what mechanic did I take it to, how do I know they aren’t lying to me about the brakes because mechanics do that all the time (seems like he knows that part well), why should he take word of mouth from another mechanic, on and on. My mechanic already started the work on the car, however, did offer to provide me with all the parts he removed. Chris stated there is nothing he can do since I did not bring him the car. I said I will call the mechanic, tell them to stop the work, put the old parts back on, and I will have the car towed to Volvo. Will you replace the rotors at no cost to me? No response. What I got was a lot of rhetoric about how deceptive mechanics are, and he can’t take the word of someone else, and he can’t answer me until his service manager sees the car etc. When I was finally able to get a word in, I asked if Volvo is going to stand by what I was told and repair the brakes, or at the very least offer something toward the repair. When Chris refused a direct response, I said goodbye and ended the call. Within ten minutes, my phone rang from Manasquan Volvo. I thought perhaps they had reconsidered and were willing to meet halfway. Wrong again. It was Chris’s manager calling to give me a piece of his mind on how I was wrong and being ripped off by my mechanic, etc. Would I go to ‘just any doctor to get my knee replaced’ he asked me? Not sure what that has to do with my car but I surely would not go to a doctor that treated me like Manasquan Volvo. My apology that I don’t recall his name, since I would truly like to credit him for being such a buffoon. Condescending, rude, obnoxious, patronizing, doesn’t even come close. He was worse than Chris. It is unfortunate for Volvo. They make a good product. These guys are the epitome of shady used car dealers in bad suits. Not sure how they stay in business. Stay away.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chris (Sales Mgr), Barbara (sales person), Chris' Manager (don't recall name)
February 19, 2018

"Manager is the most condensending man I’ve ever met "

- Triciab876

As a woman I always am weary walking into a male dominated world. I went to this dealership and dealt with a salesman named mark. Lovey. Honesty lovely. We talked pricing and then he pull d over Chris the manager who proceeded to tell me the other prices I’d received were lies and the dealers used hard tactics and would lure me in and then double prices. At one point when I looked at mark to help me out Chris said don’t look at him look at me. I’d honestly never experienced anything like it. Don’t go there. Certainly not as a woman. Awful.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mark. Christ.
July 06, 2017

"Never a Problem"

- Bill K Brielle N J

I have leased three Volvos from Garden State and it has been a pleasure.Brian and Herb in the service Dept are very professional and they keep you advised on your repairs and the work is completed in a timely manner.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brian and Herb
September 15, 2015

"Rude Sales Manager"

- kasambucci

Marco is sales is fantastic. The "Sales manager" there is not. I recently purchased a certified pre-owned 2013 XC90. My sales rep Marco was fantastic, very personable and helpful! Today, I was pulled over and informed I had no inspection. I did not realize there was no inspection as I have never purchased a car and needed an inspection done, they normally are done by the dealership. The officer told me the dealership at the least should have given me a pink temporary sticker giving me 14 days to have the car inspected. He and I searched through the paperwork and could not find anything. I called the dealership and was connected to the sales manager Trish who was completely rude to me. She informed me when they buy cars they take the out of state sticker off. I told her I had no idea where the car came from that's not my responsibility and how do you let someone leave the dealership without one? She informed me my sales rep should have said something and in 20 years she's never heard of a temporary inspection. I proceeded to tell her that's what the officer said the point is you released the car with no inspection. I have never heard of this my husband purchased a certified pre-owned Mercedes and they handled his inspection I do not understand why you do not. She informed me it's the customers responsibility to which I replied well I almost got a ticket and now I have to go and get it inspected. Her answer was "Well there you go". At that point I hung up on her. I did contact my sales rep Marco and he was 100% on top of the issue. He informed me because it was purchased by the dealership it was an out of state inspection which needs to be removed however every packet the dealership gives out should have information stating the car needs to be inspected and a temporary sticker. He offered to take it and have it inspected however the closest inspection station to my office is closed for repairs and I would take it first thing in the morning. Should I be issued a ticket the dealership is responsible for it. I am hesitant to recommend the dealership for fear they would have to deal with Trish but would definitely recommend my sales rep Marco.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Marco
June 15, 2015

"My experience with the Service Dept."

- Libby and Steve

We've purchased our last three cars from Garden State Volvo, to a great extent because of the experience we've had with its Service Department. We've mainly dealt with Gail (Service Manager) and Herb (Service Dept. customer rep) and, to a lesser extent, Brian. We have consistently, found them all to be pleasant, accommodating, fair, and genuinely concerned that we are satisfied with the work done to our car. There are some negative commentaries offered below, but it is my guess that they probably reflect more the approach and attitude of the writers than they do the general level of concern, courtesy and helpfulness of the Service Department. Libby and Steve Feldman

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Gail, Herb
March 31, 2014

"Great service, freindly staff"

- gtchill

I've been going to Garden State Volvo for the past 6 years and 3 cars. Its been pretty straightforward every time, they listen to my concerns, check out the car and fix whatever is wrong. It's never taken longer to fix anything than estimated. The folks who work in service are friendly (even at 7:30am) and do their best to accommodate you.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Gail, Bryan and Herb
May 08, 2013

"Very rude customer service. One associate tells you one..."

- Volvofreak

Very rude customer service. One associate tells you one thing one the phone, when you get there, they change their whole story.just to get you to spend more money

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
service
October 15, 2012

"Having Lexus and Acura as my previous cars I walked into..."

- colleen213

Having Lexus and Acura as my previous cars I walked into this dealer expecting some service and had such a bad experience with a salesman by the name of David Valentini, I actually walked out of there because he wouldn't even get out of his seat to help me. So I decided to go to Red Bank Volvo even though it was a little further. IT WAS WORTH IT!!! Having a personality and the willingness to help the customer is most important to me when buying a car. From the moment I called Red Bank Volvo to going there and in the end leaving with the XC-90 was the best car dealership experience I have ever had. I strongly recommend them!!! GARDEN STATE I THINK YOU NEED TO GET SOME TIPS FROM RED BANK VOLVO. Your loss was their gain!! Maybe you just need to get rid of David. Being a business myself, I wouldn't keep him if he wasn't put an effort in assisting customers especiaaly when I had to keep walking to his desk to ask him a question. He never made an effort to get out of his seat to help me.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
David Valentini
Oct 15, 2012 -

colleen213 responded

I DO NOT RECOMMEND THEM!! I GUESS I DIDN"T REALIZE IT WAS CHECKED!!!!

January 11, 2012

"Do not attempt to reason with Gail. In my opinion she is..."

- chriscapo74

Do not attempt to reason with Gail. In my opinion she is ignorant to the point of frustration. I can't believe the management even lets her use a computer!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
gail
1
1 - 10 of 13 results