Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Gateway Kia of North Brunswick

North Brunswick Township, NJ

1.6
167 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

720 U.S. 1 North

North Brunswick Township, NJ

08902

Directions

167 Reviews of Gateway Kia of North Brunswick

Sort by Write a review
July 17, 2020

"SCAMMERS AT THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT BEWARE OF UPSALES"

- keystocar

3rd bad Experience at the service department I would not go to them but I have no choice but to go here since my car engine has a recall and needs to be replaced under warranty. 1st bad experience was around 25k miles went in for oil change. They came back with a list of items that needed to be serviced. (4 new break and rotors, new tires, wheel alignment, spark plugs. etc). i declined the service, went to a local repair shop and had him look over the recommended service by Gateway Kia. he said i didn't need any of it, he said the breaks can last me at least another 10 to 12k miles or lot longer. (He was correct I didn't need new brake pads until 58K miles and still have original rotors on the car at (110k). 2nd time brought my car in for DRS error I was getting on the car, they were not able to figure out my issue 3 times and tried to charge me $1,800 for things they didn't do and was part of the warranty repair. 3rd is an ongoing issue and they have my car right now for service, i will update this review after i get my car back.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Scammers
June 18, 2020

"Gateway Kia is a terrible buying experience!"

- rssromeo

STAY AWAY FROM THIS DEALERSHIP! They are extremely difficult to work with, employ frustrating sales tactics, to get you into their building. They keep changing your salespeople (often with very junior people) while working with you. It took me 48 hours to get return phone call, and they didn't even have the correct information, from my visit in the showroom. They give multiple excuses on why they cant give you a price or discuss negotiations. Everyday the story changes... all part of the old-school "high-pressure sales tactics" at Gateway Kia, North Brunswick NJ. In short, if you intend to comparison shop or even try and get a fair deal for your new car purchase/lease... Gateway Kia is a terrible buying experience! You may have better luck with nearby Raceway Kia or Sanasone Kia, or other dealers near you... it can't be worse.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jeff
February 24, 2020

"I recently leased a 2020 sportage sx-turbo from gateway..."

- Turk

I recently leased a 2020 sportage sx-turbo from gateway kia. While making the deal I asked both the salesman Florel and floor manager Anthony if the car was equipped with a remote start. They both said no, but it could be installed before I take it. I of course trusted them and say sure. It was over $625 to install but that what fine with me. Days later, I find out that the car was already equipped with UVO which is Kia’s phone app that starts the car and you can set the temperature and defroster setting. I called the dealership and Florel and Anthony refused to give me my money back even though they admitted they knew the car could remotely start from UVO. They claim it is a service that you have to pay for after the first year. It is $225/yr so a 3 year lease would cost me only $450 not over $625. Oh thats right, $625 is the money gateway makes by lying to the consumer, as opposed to 0 dollars they would make from UVO. I also reached out to the general manager Sal by email and left 2 measages also. This was the suggestion that Kia consumer affairs told me to do since they agreed with me. Guess what, Sal has not even returned my call! I also reached out to Freehold Kia and Sansone Kia and asked if they could install the remote starter in a sportage if I wanted it and they both said it was not necessary at all because of UVO! I would be wasting my money! DO NOT GO TO GATEWAY KIA! I made a mistake. They lie, are dishonest and are not professional at all. I would recommend either Freehold or Sansone as they were both honest with me.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Florel, Anthony, Sal
August 12, 2019

"How I got Screwed Over by Gateway Kia"

- Nothappywithmykia

January 31, 2019 My wife and I leased a Kia Sorento from Gateway Kia After making a deal for $450,00 a month to lease the Sorento. When it was time to make our first payment we noticed the payment was for $477.41 After finding out that the dealer applied a wear and tear insurance on our lease with out letting us know. To this day it hasn't been rectified. Empty promises by the dealer. Kia Finance just threw their hands up and said its not there problem. We have been Kia owners since 2009 this will be our last Kia. I hate underhanded dealers.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Sal
July 21, 2019

"Two bad experiences in a row"

- amandabongiovi

A few years ago I looked here and the car I wanted was out of my price range. The salesman was very pleasant, knowledgeable, and overall gave a wonderful experience. His sales manager was not. I told him my budget and pretty much got laughed at. He kept asking what he needed to do for me to sign a lease immediately, to which I responded multiple times that I wanted to think things over and compare against the other cars I saw before I signed anything. It was my first time leasing. Eventually the manager said “would you sign tonight if I gave you the car for free?” We both knew that was NOT going to ever happen and I already stated I wasn’t signing. At this point, I turned to my parents and said we were done here, and the 3 of us walked out. Fast forward to now, I’m interested in the Niro. Same experience, different people. Good salesman, bad manager. I made it clear I wanted a small suv or crossover. When the Niro was out of budget, they offered the Forte. I mentioned there was a different car at a different dealership that came in significantly below budget, and I even gave them the paper stating what it was. This manager had the nerve to tell me the other dealership was lying and there was no way I’d ever get that car for that price (I did. I left Kia and got the other car) this manager kept pushing the forte, and tried to push the Soul even though I openly said I didn’t like them. My dad asked “before we waste anyone else’s time, is it possible for the Niro to get into budget?” The answer was no and more ”you can’t get the other car at that price” . We left. Two terrible experiences in a row and I will not go back to Kia.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Anthony
July 02, 2019

"New car"

- Helen222

Was having a bad experience with my Kia Niro Touring.. really didnt want to deal with it getting fixed and still no idea what the problem is. Was able to make up a deal to turn the lease in early. Got a brand new Kia Sorento. Bit the bullet, but was able to make a deal.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Danny Girolamo
June 05, 2019

"Thank Goodness I didn't buy from these scumbags"

- ProceedsWithCaution

Alright, our story begins when I came in to look at a new Kia Stinger, get an idea for prices/rebates/whether or not I liked the car. I wanted a base model, they didn't have any, so I drove a GT, it had better rebates on it and all that, so why not? Maybe I'll like it. Short test drive later, I like the car, we starting talking numbers, and the sales guy puts on a laughable act, every time the manager drops the price, he's saying things like "Oh man, I've never seen him drop it like that before!" or "I would do that right now!" All the while, the manager is bragging about having killed people while in the military.... I appreciate his service to our country, but not the overly-pushy nature of "If I do this, you're gonna sign the paperwork, right?" We can't come to an agreement on the GT, I ask if they have a 2018 base at another location, sure enough, they do, we get close to a deal, but I walk away to think about it. Minor haggling, a little annoying, but no harm, no foul so far. Then comes the call from the general manager to talk prices on the base model further. We talk about increasing the amount on my trade, and him coming down a bit, to the point we're not far off, decide we can always talk it over in person on Monday, when I'll be in the area, made an appointment. I got there, and waited over an hour for them to approach me, tell me that they sold the car about 6 hours before I arrived. They ONCE AGAIN, start directing me towards a GT, a different one than I drove the first time I was in, I drove a red car, now they're showing me a black car with red seats (Which, granted, I liked better) BUT insisted that it was definitely the same car I drove, that I MUST have remembered wrong, and oh yeah, the sticker price on that one was over $3000 cheaper, BUT they started at the price of the more expensive car, and acted shocked that I made a lower offer on a cheaper car, telling me that it "Wasn't worth their time to make a counteroffer". Oh, and the extra money I was promised by the gm on my trade? I was told "Oh, we have no record of that, he wouldn't have made an offer like that" I was treated like a liar and an ATM, not a customer they wanted to do real business with. These guys are SCUM, avoid at ALL COSTS.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Matt, Marc, Sal
March 23, 2019

"Worst Dealership. Don’t Buy Here"

- Whitbeck5

Called in the am to confirm they had a car. Told them I would be there between 1&2 pm to see it. Drove 2 hours. And they sold the car before we got there. Horrible customer service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Gus & Joy
January 07, 2019

"Horrible dealer"

- Kia owner

Bought my 2018 optima sxl from these guys and was screwed from the start. The car i was trading in i had to fight to get a fairly decent price, but low and behold the next day when i passed by the dealership there was my car marked up over 7 thousand dollars over what they gave me, i know theyre in business to make money but really 7 thousand more!!!! Next lets move on to the service dept, two weeks to schedule an oil change!!! Ridiculous!!!!! No concern for customer satisfaction ,a real bunch of crooks and liars.I wouldnt go back there for a license plate screw,stay away!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Sales mgr
December 27, 2018

"Great service "

- Kia lover

Was expecting a nightmare from history I had in sansone . But was great James is so polite and knowledgeable I will get be buying my next to you here

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
JAMES
1
...
1 - 10 of 167 results