About Us
Copyright 2019 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Gene Langan Volkswagen

3.9

199 Lifetime Reviews

816 New London Turnpike, Glastonbury, Connecticut 06033 Directions
Sales: (860) 633-0261

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

199 Reviews of Gene Langan Volkswagen

Sort by Write a review
November 26, 2018

"if your not made of money you are treated very different"

- not made of money

we bought a 2014 used jetta at first everyone was very helpful and went out of there way and then the car surpassed a year of ownership three different times the car was brought in for the same problem with a different diagnostic each time and each time we were told it was fixed this time hoever went a bit far in oct of 2018 we had the car serviced when it was brought in with the same issue a very noticeable noise when excellerating even worse when its cold out this time however after having the car for a couple of hours we were told our car was ready and the problem was fixed we were told it was two quarts low on oil and there was to much transmission fluid in the car which had to have some draind out and oil added now they just serviced the car one month ago so we were told to pay $70.00 for fixing something they did oh they also said that my car burns 1 quart of oil every 1000 miles I nevar had these or any problems like it before with my other jetta ooooooooohhhhhhhhhhhhh and the car is still making the noise

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
amy
June 21, 2018

"Worst Dealer in The World"

- Shilong

The engine light of my tiguan was on. I got the code read at autoparts which showed the diagnosis code was P0299 related to the underboost of the turbocharger. On 06/13/2018, I decided to go the gene Langan VW since it seems this place has the good reputation, which may give me the confidence to solve the problem. The front desk, Marlon S George, was in charge of my case. When I left my car to the technician, it took about half hour (only half hour!!!, no any driving testing for the turbo underboost problem), and then I was told the whole turbocharger needed to be replaced. How can I believe the whole turbocharger is done and required to be replaced? I searched on the web before going to the dealer and found a lot of people encountered this same diagnosis code P0299. But, to solve the problem, they only replaced a tiny part of the turbocharger. As my car is out of warranty, the dealer quoted a price of $2126.04, in which the labor is 6.5 hours and $780, and part is $1346.04. I was definitely shocked!!! Some people on the vw forum shared their experience, saying you should call the vw of America to plead for the relief. So I told the dearship I would try to contact with the vw of American and asked if they knew the phone number I could use to contact with vw of America. They gave me the number:1800-222-8987 (a wrong number!! The correct one is: 1800-822-8987). As I thought this dealer was reliable, I told them I would come back to fix my car after some phone calls with vw of America. They charged me the diagnosis fee, but they promised me the diagnosis fee would be as my repair fee after I came back to fix my car. On 06/14/2018 and 06/15/2018, after I called the vw of America, they would like to cover the part, but I have to pay the labor. In order to know the average labor hours to replace turbocharger in Hartford area, I called several dealers. No place will take more than 6.5 hours, and Crowley VW even only takes 5 hours to finish this job. So I thought 6.5 hours labor would be reasonable. More importantly, the diagnosis fee could be refunded if I went to the gene VW for the repair as they promised me. On 06/19/2018, I decided to drop off my car on Tuesday so that they could have the whole day of Wednesday to replace the turbocharger. I arrived at there around 5pm and met with Marlon S George, and explained to him I was coming back to fix my car, and showed him the diagnosis fee they charged me several days ago. And he told me he would take care of that. The manager, Chris, came out and said the labor should be 7.3 hours because they gave the estimation of 7.3 hours labor to VW of America when the regional manager of VW of America contacted with them to confirm that VW of American would cover the turbocharger and I needed to pay the labor. How could the two times of quotes be different at the same dealer? The only explanation which can work is they tried their hard to rip me off and charge me more. After some argument, they agreed with the 6.5 hours labor. But when I asked for the loaner, they would not give the loaner. The simple reason Marlon S George told me was that my car was not bought there. What discrimination the dear has!!!! Anyway, this was not a big deal for me since my friend could give me a ride. The next day, 06/20/2018, when I was picking up may car at around 5:50pm because I should wait for the ride of my friend. I found the amount I would pay was not correct. they did not deduct the diagnosis fee from the amount unlike what they promised me before. I argued with Marlon S George. He told me they should have charged me 7.3 hours but right now only 6.5 hours. What the xxxx!!! We had the agreement of 6.5 hours before the repair. Right now, they told me the labor should 7.3 hours and would not refund the diagnosis fee after the repair. This guy had very bad attitude and even threw the paper documents of my car. What the xxxx!!! That was your problem, not the customer. He asked to talk this with service manager, but the manager was not there at that moment (left work before working hour). Because my home is far from the dealer and I do not want to give many troubles to my friend to give me the ride again, I paid the amount and picked up my car. Today, 06/21/2018, I called the service manager to discuss this issue. The attitude of the manager was very very bad, and said they should have charged me 7.3 hours labor, which was the estimation to the VW of America, and asked me to call VW of America. They would not refund the diagnosis fee. The manager rudely hung up my phone even if I was talking. VERY VERY RUDELY!!!!!! Then I called the customer service of VW of America to clarify the whole thing. The customer service told me the VW of America would only cover the part, turbocharger, and I should discuss the labor with the dealer. 7.3 hours labor is only the estimation given by the dealer when the regional manager of VW of America confirms the warranty to cover the part. In conclusion, there is nothing to do with VW of America. The dealer only wants to find some reasons to charge me more. Overall, Gene Langan Volkswagen always tries their snakiest and dirtiest ways to rip off the customers. Please open your eyes to see the truth!!! If there is a zero star, I will choose it, no doubt!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chris Osella and Marlon S George
February 15, 2018

"Best dealership experience"

- billybrownr

[B]First Impression[B] - Gene Langan Volkswagen is exactly what a car dealer should be. They have competitive pricing, excellent FRIENDLY staff, and an amazing facility. I found my 2015 Tornado Red Golf TDI in December and called them up right away, Roger Saldi set me up to come down and see the car that week. It was a bit of a drive and we got there in the evening close to closing time but that didn’t matter. Roger greeted us and made us feel as comfortable as possible offering drinks, snacks, etc. We then went for a test drive and conversed about cars since we are both enthusiasts, Roger then took us to the museum/showroom so that we could see the car under bright lights to address any concerns. The car was flawless and we were extremely happy so we placed a deposit. We had to wait for the title to come in from VW which was ok since these are the last of the TDI’s being sold in the U.S. This part of the experience is the most important because I didn’t feel pressured or annoyed which is why people hate buying cars. [B]Delivery[B] – I took delivery of the car shortly after the title was received, this was an AMAZING experience. After signing for the car which was smooth, easy, and welcoming as usual. Roger took us back up to the museum/showroom which is where you take delivery of your new vehicle. Roger introduced us to the owner’s son who gave us a fresh local beverage from the tap! Then they teach you about the car you just purchase, being enthusiasts there wasn’t much to learn for us but it was still a new take on buying a car and was a great experience because I did learn a few things. After everything we finished up our beverages and enjoyed the amazing museum full of antique Volkswagens, Porsches, and Karmann Ghia’s. THE BEST PART – The smallest yet my favorite part was the fact that they filled the tank for my drive home. This is something dealers used to do, it’s sad because people spend so much money on cars what’s $30? The car was literally on empty when I saw it the first time, wow what a surprise, it’s the little things. [B]30 Day Review[B] – Our purchase was nothing short of spectacular, being a TDI that sat for a long time before being resold due to Diesel Gate we ran into a couple minor problems. I gave Gene Langan a call and they told me “We stand behind our cars, bring it down and we will take care of it”, that they did, without question, an amazing experience overall and I will recommend this dealer to anyone. Thanks for everything guys, hope you have a Porsche location because that’s next in my future. Cheers

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Roger Saldi , Brandon (Manager)
January 31, 2018

"Fun and professional folks"

- GApril

Everyone at this dealership were kind, patient, and full of answers. Everyone that I met seemed to love their jobs, and were truly working to give the customers a positive experience. They seem to want to make us a part of the business-not just a fleeting sale. The dealership showcases their pride in being part of the Volkswagen legacy of well-made, reliable, fun vehicles. This was my first vehicle purchase in 20 years. I was not familiar with new buying procedures. The Gene Langan staff answered every question and made me feel comfortable with such a large decision. The culture of the dealership led to my ultimate decision to purchase a vehicle from them. I look forward to a long relationship with Gene Langan and his very competent staff.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Roger Saldi, Gene Langan, Steve, Frank
October 09, 2017

"Big Gene Langan fan"

- David from Hadlyme

I came to Gene Langan and they took care of me as they always do. Dan A. was terrific as we're the rest of the guys. I purchased a Jetta with a stick shift. It has beautiful white seats and its color on the outside is a slightly reddish brown. The color shines differently in all kinds of lights. Sometimes I look at it and say, "Brown, how gross!" But other times, in sun for example, I say, "It looks almost copper. How cool." I leased a previous car from Dan A. This time I got to know him much better, and I found out he has a weakness for donuts.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Dan A,, Steve, and another person whose name I forgot who helped put together the deal.
May 11, 2017

"Great experience ! "

- Knightme

My husband and I just bought a new 2017 Tiguan Wolfsburg and we absolutely love it! Bob went above and beyond to make sure that we had a great experience and got the perfect car. We will definitely be back again!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Bob & Chris
April 11, 2017

"Excellent Service Department"

- Gtiguy1

Top notch service department. I received warranty work on my 2017 GTI and previously had snow tires put on my 2016 GTI at this location. Both occasions I was taken in same day and the work was performed quickly and in a professional manner. A+ in customer service!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Service Department
December 01, 2016

"Bad Customer Service and Horrible Management "

- K & R Shields

Our experience at this dealership was so bad that we decided to write about it. The most shocking words we have ever heard from a dealership were uttered here. We were told that they didn't care if we bought a car there. What kind of salesmanship is that? And that was the sales manager, Chris. He demanded a deposit even though we informed him that we were responding to a TV commercial that said "zero down." After a very interesting, yet puzzling conversation with the staff at Langan, we decided to go to West Springfield and buy a car from Fathers & Sons Volkswagen. We got a better deal and the advertised "zero down." I would buy any car from anywhere before I would buy anything from any Langan dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chris, the sales manager
October 24, 2016

"Outstanding buying experience"

- Bob & Greta

We were looking to replace our tired 2003 Passat 4Motion with a newer Tiguan 4Motion. I contacted Langan VW about three we were interested in and sales associate Miguel Rodriquez was ready with the 3 vehicles when I arrived. It was a real pleasure to test drive the Tiguans and discuss their individual attributes with someone as knowledgeable and comfortable to deal with as Miguel. The price on the one we selected was market correct and Miguel offered us a very fair trade-in allowance. Miguel and service manager Troy Gilbert were very helpful and reassuring in answering several recall questions I had. They had reports detailing that the recall work had been done. Once we agreed on the deal everything was smooth as could be - no pressure to buy extra stuff and the paperwork took probably 5 minutes at the most to complete - Steve Pasqualini was excellent. When we picked up the Tiguan it looked like a new vehicle, not one with 49K miles on it. It was absolutely the best pickup experience we've ever had. Miguel knew how to operate everything on the Tiguan and made the learning experience easy and enjoyable. Everyone we worked with at Langan VW was friendly and professional. Based on all aspects of this purchase, this was truly an outstanding buying experience for us.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Miguel Rodriquez, Troy Gilbert, Steve Pasqualini
August 03, 2016

"Hassle free experience "

- R.Espana1104

My sales rep was Miguel. Easiest, most hassle free experience. I came in with a set budget and Miguel guided me the whole way through. Got me into a great car quick for an amazing price! Would definitely recommend to others

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Miguel
1
...
1 - 10 of 199 results