Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Gerald Subaru of Naperville

Naperville, IL

4.9
3,037 Reviews
Gerald Subaru Naperville is the only Subaru dealer in Chicagoland to offer an Exclusive Lifetime Warranty on All New Vehicles and Select Used. Unlimited Time Unlimited Miles Good Anywhere in the USA. See dealer for details. Our service center has only factory trained technicians who have years of experience working on Subaru's and Kia's. We have a Body Shop on the premises to restore your vehicle to its original factory finish after a major accident or take care of those annoying shopping cart dings. Visit us at Geraldsubarunaperville.com.

2379 Aurora Ave.

Naperville, IL

60540

Directions

By Type

Showing 3,037 reviews

June 27, 2021

"I did not like the 3 hour negation process:1) Based on..."

- Greenleejunk

I did not like the 3 hour negation process: 1) Based on the Subaru website, I was supposed to get a guaranteed trade-in of $18,750 for my 2018 Outback but I was low-balled at $14,000 for 3 hours 2) I was told by GM that APR was about 2% but ended up being 3.48% costing me $1200-$1300 more 3) I ended up paying a line item of $1000 (started at $1500) over MSRP 4) I overpaid paid $999 in a markup protection package for nitrogen gas and some door guards

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jul 01, 2021 -

Gerald Subaru of Naperville responded

I would like to speak with you directly in order to better understand the circumstances you’ve described and reach a satisfactory resolution together. Please contact me directly at your earliest convenience. Thank you, I look forward to speaking with you. Sincerely Nino McMorris General Manager Gerald Subaru of Naperville

Jul 01, 2021 -

Greenleejunk responded

Upon reflection, the 3 hour negotiation process and the four 100% true items I listed did not make for a positive experience for me. If you want to contact me I will be home from 2:30-4:30 on 7/2 Friday and Saturday morning.

Jul 02, 2021 -

Greenleejunk responded

Greenlee home phone: 630-462=0297

June 18, 2021

"Below is a text stream with Maria, one of the..."

- Read this first

Below is a text stream with Maria, one of the salespeople. She states there is NO cars in stock to text drive, but online inventory showed 38 Crosstreks and 18 Foresters. Apparently unless I provide an email address they have no cars to test drive. Maria Scott, Good Morning, Can you please provide me with your best email address so I can send you out all my contact info and info on this vehicle. The 2021 ForesterPremium is in transit. We have a very limited Inventory right now. If you want to come in and test drive one I will check and see if we have one in the dealership today?We are open by appointment preferably. In addition, we do have a one of a kind test track here. Thanks, Marie Me Would like to test drive a Forester Premium and Crosstrek Sport. Just doing test drives today. I have the vehicle info for the SUVs. Can we stop by between Noon and 1PM? Please just text your contact info to me. Maria Scott, I will put you in for 1:00pm today. What is your best email address so I can send you an appointment confirmation? We are located at 2379 Aurora Avenue in Naperville Ill 60540. . I am not sure if we have a New Forester however I am showing a couple Cross treks. We may have one in Service or a pre owned you can drive . We will see you soon. Thanks, Marie Me We really want to test drive both and do not want to spend all afternoon at the dealership. So if you do not have stock I will make alternative plans. I did not provide my email in either online test car requests and prefer not to do so. Maria Scott, give me a minute and I will make sure we have one of each like I said we do have the 2021 Cross treks and we may have one 2021 Premium if it didn't sell. I will be back shortly. Thanks, Marie Scott, We currently do not have either one. The Chip shortage is making it impossible on our Inventory as of now. The whole Auto Industry included. We are one of the biggest ones in the midwest so if we are out everyone else around us will follow suit. Thanks, Marie Me It's hard to say that you're one of the biggest Subaru dealers when you don't even have a car for a client to test drive.I find it interesting that your online inventory shows a different story. No need to contact me back I've already made alternative plans. Maria Scott, I am not quite sure why you're getting so negative. I was just simply trying to explain the situation. We have cars coming in transit just not here unfortunately. Thanks and have a great day Marie

Read More
Customer Service
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
May 27, 2021

"Abid made this a simple, unpressured buying experience...."

- cclarke926

Abid made this a simple, unpressured buying experience. He was well informed and helpful As a single woman, I was never talked down to or pressured in any way. This is the first dealership I walked into after deciding I wanted to by a Subaru for my next car. I walked out the next day with the keys in my hand. Jon Thong...was a delight. Who thought a management dude could be so smart AND funny!? I actually felt as if I'd made a friend rather than just buying a car. I know I can call with questions...thank makes me feel safe in this big transaction.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
May 28, 2021 -

Gerald Subaru of Naperville responded

We loved reading this review! Happy customers are our aim, and it appears Abid and Jon really hit the bullseye. We’ll make sure to share your experience with them, and if you have any further questions or worries, we’re always available to help. Sincerely Nino McMorris General Manager Gerald Subaru of Naperville

May 21, 2021

"Nick Gruic made our car buying experience so pleasant! If..."

- Cathy

Nick Gruic made our car buying experience so pleasant! If you want to buy a car with little hassle and pressure, I would definitely recommend Nick at Gerald Subaru. The process from selection to agreement on a price to meeting with the business department director went smoothly and efficiently. Nick was knowledgeable about every aspect of the Forester. We never felt pressured to make a decision; he went above and beyond to be sure we would feel comfortable and happy with our decision. Nick is a nice person and a trusted professional.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
May 24, 2021 -

Gerald Subaru of Naperville responded

Cathy, thank you and congratulations on your purchase! We are so pleased that we could make your visit easy and hassle-free, and we believe that's how every car buying experience should be. We are sincerely grateful for your business! Sincerely Nino McMorris General Manager Gerald Subaru of Naperville

April 19, 2021

"If you like sleazy car dealer games, this is the place..."

- JMB

If you like sleazy car dealer games, this is the place for you! The "Sales Manager" ruined a simple and sure sale with games and nonsense. Found a car on their site in their used inventory for one of our kids. The car was listed at $18,995. On the website listing was a "Get Today's Price" link, which after completing, received an email offer for $18,495. Based on KBB - that was a very fair price. Great! Easy so far! Headed to the dealership after work to test drive and with every intent of buying. The sales associate was friendly, helpful, and not at all pushy. The car had originally been purchased from this dealer, and all the maintenance had been performed there. Complete vehicle history, clean CarFax, balance of mfg warranty plus the Gerald lifetime warranty. Again - great so far! After the test drive, asked the sales person to begin putting the numbers together. No trade. Will consider financing or cash. Yes, planning to buy tonight - lets just keep it quick and simple. If you can do anything more on the price, would appreciate it, but ready to wrap things up. Very easy, and certainly not an aggressive negotiation on my part. Now the "manager" gets involved. I'm handed a sheet of paper inflating the vehicle sales price to over $20K, plus adding window etching/security, two (2!) sets of document fees, and something else for about $500 that wasn't listed in the line items (the total with tax was about $500 higher than it should have been). When I asked what I was being presented was told "Well, make us an offer. What do you think the price should be?" Wait a minute? I have to waste time with you to get the price that you have listed on the website? Have to waste time with you to get the price that you offered when I filled out a form on the website? Ok, how did you arrive at this total out the door price? There is $500 in the total that is not accounted for in the line items? "That's tax". No, it isn't. See - here is the calculation for tax. What else is being factored into the price that is not listed? "Well, I can talk to my manager" Ok, I'll come back to the price. Let's deal with all the documentation fees. Why are there two documentation fees? "Those are fee's we are MANDATED to charge by the state." Sorry, not true. The state places a cap ($303.60) on the maximum amount you can charge for the documentation fee, they don't mandate that you charge it. They certainly don't mandate that you charge for it twice. Had you not pulled the other nonsense and did a single doc fee like most other dealers, I would have just paid it without a word. Ok, lets leave the double documentation fees. I'm not interested in the $999 window etching/security. "Oh, we do that on every vehicle to keep it from being stolen." No, let's take that off, I won't need that. "We can't take it off, we've already done the work to complete it - it is a part of every car we sell." Ok, I don't feel like spending time on this...lets just keep it simple. Forget that I don't want it. Since you sold the car originally, you've already been paid for it, right? "Well, make us an offer." Ok, I already did that. I asked you to put the paperwork together for the ADVERTISED price. At this point, I thanked my sales rep and headed for the door. "Wait, just give me a minute to talk to my manager". No, but thanks. It's 2021. Do you really need to play these games? I didn't come to play negotiating games - I came to buy a car at the price you advertised. Love may be what makes a Subaru a Subaru. Sleaze seems to be what makes Gerald a dealership. Buyer beware....especially at this dealership.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
April 07, 2021

"Nothing but pure class from each employee present. Nick..."

- Philip Mamlic

Nothing but pure class from each employee present. Nick was ESPECIALLY helpful and easy to work. I tried test driving a 2021 WRX since I was interested in purchasing. Couldn't do so the first day as promised, due to the car not yet passing PDI (Pre Delivery Inspection). Lenny had previously assured me that it would be ready for me to drive at our 7:15pm appointment I had scheduled (I scheduled it at noon). He had 7 hours to put the request in to ensure the WRX would pass the PDI, yet he failed to do so. When I came back THE VERY NEXT day after creating an appointment, Ubaldo (who I had yet to meet) told me that they were still not past PDI. After visually displaying frustration towards the management, Nick had come out of nowhere and stated that he is pulling up a 2021 WRX Base Model for me to test drive. Simply no questions asked from his end, just there doing good business with his customers. From that moment forward, I knew I wanted to solely work with Nick Gruic in purchasing this car. I ultimately bought a 2021 WRX Premium for a solid price thanks to Nick and his dedication to his career. I highly recommend his business if you're interested in buying a Subaru from this dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Apr 12, 2021 -

Gerald Subaru of Naperville responded

Philip, thank you for taking the time to leave us such a truly exceptional review! We appreciate every hard-working member of our sales team, and we are thrilled to know Nick went above and beyond to help you find a vehicle that was right for you. If you have any additional comments and/or questions, please feel free to contact us directly! Sincerely Nino McMorris General Manager Gerald Subaru of Naperville

March 31, 2021

"I wanted to thank Ricardo Rodriguez who sold me a car 3..."

- MAS

I wanted to thank Ricardo Rodriguez who sold me a car 3 years ago because he still contacts me to see if I’m doing well with my vehicle and recently directed me with getting help to change a flat tire. I called him because he always said he could help. I feel like I am a part of the Gerald Subaru family.

Read More
Customer Service
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
March 23, 2021

"My wife and I purchased a 2014 Kia Sportage from Gerald..."

- mhammerstone604

My wife and I purchased a 2014 Kia Sportage from Gerald Subaru a couple of months ago. While purchasing the vehicle Ehab showed us this thing showing that the vehicle had a thorough look over, like 75-100 different things were supposed to have been checked and everything was supposed to be good. Immediately when we got it the low tire pressure sensor light was on. I thought it was no big deal, just a tire that needs some air, although I also wondered why they wouldn’t just air the tire up and give it to us with the light on. All the tires were low on air, as I found out when I when I went to get air. Even with the correct amount in each tire the light was still on. I took it to Discount Tires, they said the tires were not the issue. Meanwhile I’ve discovered that not only are the license plate lights out, but the covers were smashed too. Also, the windshield washer doesn’t work, but I assumed that because it was constantly below freezing the lines might be frozen. So I figured I’d wait till the weather broke and give it a chance to thaw out. The weather got warmer and the windshield washer still didn’t work. I contacted Ehab about the issues at this point and was told they wouldn’t help me in any way. Somehow all of this was missed in their “thorough” check over of the vehicle and they refuse to make it right. This is the first and last vehicle we’ll buy from Gerald if that’s how they do business.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
March 18, 2021

"Had a great buying experience with Lenny and Kim. He..."

- Debra

Had a great buying experience with Lenny and Kim. He knows the cars and technology. So does Kim. I would recommend them both for sales.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : Kim helped out when Lenny was busy. She is very patient and knowledgable
Mar 23, 2021 -

Gerald Subaru of Naperville responded

Debra, thank you for taking the time to provide us such truly exceptional feedback! We are always excited to hear of yet another customer leaving happy in an awesome car! If you have any questions about your new vehicle you can reach out to any of us and we will help out. Thank you for choosing Gerald Subaru of Naperville! Sincerely Nino McMorris General Manager Gerald Subaru of Naperville

March 08, 2021

"Purchased a hood protector for my new Subaru and had it..."

- Liposcak

Purchased a hood protector for my new Subaru and had it installed on Saturday. Everyone was great! I had an appointment and was taken immediately in - on time - was told it would take an hour - it did - everyone I saw, Trish, the Advisor I worked with, my Salesman, Ehab, who saw my waiting and came over to say hello, Nino their General Manager who sits in the main lobby (never saw that at the Honda dealerships I used) and is very approachable all the way down to the person who keeps the service reception area clean (who offered to check on my Forester while I was waiting) - all friendly and helpful. The only negative, that I noted below, was the price. It was just over $150.00 to install the part (the part itself was just over $100.00 which I thought was very reasonable) - which seems a bit pricey and there was a $16.00 shop charge - it was 6 clips and 6 screws to attach the hood protector. I understand the importance of Subaru parts and quality trained staff, but the installation and shop charges seemed excessive. I still love this dealership and am looking forward to having my vehicle serviced in the future (I purchased the pre-paid maintenance plan and got a great deal for the first 36,000 miles). Mike

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mar 11, 2021 -

Gerald Subaru of Naperville responded

We are so glad to read that you had such a truly exceptional experience at our dealership! We can't wait to see you again soon. Sincerely Nino McMorris General Manager Gerald Subaru of Naperville

1
...
1 - 10 of 3,037 results