Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Gettel Hyundai of Sarasota

Sarasota, FL

3.1
802 Reviews

3500 Bee Ridge Rd.

Sarasota, FL

34239

Directions

Filter Reviews By Type

Showing 802 reviews

October 11, 2021

"Responded the next morning with availability. When we..."

- bjwelch67

Responded the next morning with availability. When we arrived they were helpful and fairly indulgent (I wanted to sit in various types of smaller SUVs.) Afterward, they were persistent but polite about it. Would totally stop in to this dealership first when I buy again.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Robert
September 14, 2021

"If I could give this dealership zero stars, I would. For..."

- maswinnerton

If I could give this dealership zero stars, I would. For context, we have purchased or leased five Hyundai vehicles in the past ten years - four of them from Gettel - but that will never happen again. Our 2019 Santa Fe Ultimate is coming off lease shortly, and we were considering a Palisade Calligraphy or a top of the line Santa Fe Hybrid. Took a Gettel Palisade home two weeks ago on a Saturday (5 miles each way) so my wife could drive it without a salesman hovering (no problem at all). However, their Santa Fe Hybrid was out on an appointment, so I called a couple of days later to schedule an appointment to drive it (to compare/contrast them). Nobody called back. Sent an email to the salesman, David. No response. Yesterday I called the internet department and Amanda scheduled an appointment for 3pm today (Wednesday). I took the day off from work, figuring there wouldn't be a crush of people mid-week (the dealership was empty when I got there). Sales rep Simas had the car ready to go at 3, but said he had to go with me. That wasn't the plan, so he went to talk to Amanda. 10 minutes later some "Sales Manager" came in and said they had to keep the car nearby "for appointments". I told him I HAD an appointment, and asked what had changed from 2 weeks ago when I took a more expensive SUV home on a Saturday afternoon. He put his hands behind his head, sat back like every shady used car dealer you've ever met, and said "Well, things change daily." He was as smug and condescending as one could be. I told him he'd lost our business, and I WILL NEVER DEAL WITH GETTEL AGAIN, AND WILL BADMOUTH THEM AT EVERY OPPORTUNITY TO ANYONE WHO WILL LISTEN. FYI, be aware that Gettel is marking up their vehicles with a ton of nonsense "add-ons", "market adjustments", and the highest dealer fee around. Do yourself a favor - test drive their cars, burn their gas, waste their time, figure out the car/SUV you like, then take a short drive up to one of the Tampa Hyundai dealers. You'll get a much better deal. This was a horrible experience.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jay Hoffman
1.0
Sep 15, 2021 -

Gettel Hyundai of Sarasota responded

Mr. Swinnerton, I appreciate your business and the feedback about this recent visit. Just to be fair, two weeks prior when you took our Palisade we had fifteen available. When you came in to take the Santa Fe it was the last one available to show. We were okay with you test driving to make sure you like it, however we could not let it go for hours to be fair to other customers that wanted to drive the vehicle. We do have valuable additions to our vehicles that are of a benefit to our customers. We invite everyone to come down, test drive our cars, use our gas, spend time with knowledgeable salespeople and leave with a great price in hand. No matter where you purchase! I understand your frustration and hopefully this inventory crisis will end soon. Best Regards - Mark Bedell, General Manager

Sep 15, 2021 -

maswinnerton responded

Still no excuse for turning away a supposedly "valued customer" who had a pre-scheduled appointment to drive it at that time. If somebody absolutely had to have THAT SPECIFIC SUV IMMEDIATELY, I'd have been back in 30-45 minutes - tops. You couldn't have done the paperwork in that time. Poor customer service loses sales, and it's very apparent you don't want or need my business. BTW, in 2016 I gave Jonathan Klein and Gettel a stellar review. Your standing has fallen tremendously since that time.

May 27, 2021

"I was there for a recall from hyundai. When I notified my..."

- Disappointed citizen

I was there for a recall from hyundai. When I notified my battery just died two the day before, so I needed a new battery too. Also, I asked them to fix my windshield sprinkles which do not work either. Also , I was offered a complimentary car wash . I came back, I was told the battery "only needed a charge and was then tested and was all good" . The next day, I was i had to call a tow truck after I got out if the grocery. Also, nobody checked my windshield sprinklers . And the carbcertainly had not received any form of carwash. I see the ratings are already pretty low on the Gettel Dialer at 3500 Beeridgee, sarasota. Keep going , you are doing well

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
I don't recognize any of those but that's alright
May 28, 2021 -

Gettel Hyundai of Sarasota responded

On behalf of Gettel Hyundai of Sarasota, please accept our sincere apology. It is disappointing to know that your service visit was unsatisfactory. Please reach out to our Service Director, Mr. Charley Rahe as soon as possible – 941-923-1411. Your satisfaction is our top priority!

April 25, 2021

"The worst place we’re you can buy a car . Don’t go there..."

- marsiliozappaterreno

The worst place we’re you can buy a car . Don’t go there please , very bad service I have several bad experience I want to sell my hunday to don’t meet anymore this people .

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
John Beckwith
1.0
May 28, 2021 -

Gettel Hyundai of Sarasota responded

We take customer complaints very seriously so please reach out to our Customer Relations Manager, Melissa Bonner 941-923-1411. Our goal is a pleasant experience for all of our guests, in Sales or Service.

April 09, 2021

"I have been going to Hyundai service for 15 years. I..."

- NOT HAPPY

I have been going to Hyundai service for 15 years. I brought my car in for service and it took them 7 days to return. What is going on! I will think twice before I buy another Hyundai from Gettlel because of the service dept.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Ashley McCarrick
3.0
Apr 09, 2021 -

Gettel Hyundai of Sarasota responded

We are so sorry to hear your visit with us was not up to your expectations or our commitment to providing exceptional customer service. Your comments regarding this service visit have been sent to our upper management. We apologize for the inconvenience.

March 24, 2021

"Engine light went on so I took my Hyundai directly to the..."

- km4040

Engine light went on so I took my Hyundai directly to the service department. No appointment but Benjamin assisted me. Wonderful service always provided. Courteous

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Benjamin
March 11, 2021

"Took our car in the morning because it made a weird..."

- Mecstorm

Took our car in the morning because it made a weird noise, they called us in the afternoon telling us they were so busy that nobody even looked at the car and told us it they will try to fix it on the next day and so we believed. The next day, they never answered our calls and never called us back even if we left a voicemail. We need the car, we need it to go to work and if they can’t fix it then they could have told us so we can go somewhere else. And it is under warranty so they could have at least give us a rental car if it will take time to repair. We will NEVER buy a car from this dealership again. Full of BS!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
John Beckwith
1.0
Ashley McCarrick
1.0
Patrick Minton
1.0
Bob Wood
1.0
Steve Connolly
1.0
Apr 09, 2021 -

Gettel Hyundai of Sarasota responded

We thank you for your business and taking the time to review your recent experience. We are sorry to hear that you won't be returning. If you would like to provide specifics so that we might address them, please email customer relations at mbonner@gettel.com.

August 27, 2020

"I own a 2009 Hyundai Santa Fe. The stop lamp switch and..."

- ConcernedForSafety

I own a 2009 Hyundai Santa Fe. The stop lamp switch and wiring harness melted in my Santa Fe and made an overwhelmingly strong chlorine smell in my vehicle. Upon researching this issue myself, I discovered there is a recall (NHTSA Campaign Number 13V113000, Hyundai Campaign Number 110) for this issue. Not only does it stop my brake lights from working, it also is a fire hazard, and affects my cruise control to where it will not disengage with the brake pedal. After taking my car to Gettel Hyundai Bee Ridge Rd, Sarasota FL with all the appropriate documentation and Hyundai Case Number, they refused to repair or even look at the stop lamp switch (they will claim they have, but anyone can look quickly under the bottom of the dash and see the melted wires easily). Took the car to our trusted local ASE mechanic who told us right away the issue we were seeing with the melted wires and stop lamp switch. He gave us the recall paperwork with the melted stop lamp switch piece and took pictures of the melted wires inside my vehicle. Sadly my trusted mechanic cannot fix the issue himself as this is a Hyundai recall and must be addressed by Hyundai directly. When we went back to the dealership to show Alan, the service manager who refused to honor the recall previously, the melted part and melted wire picture, after calling us into his office to help us, he then yelled at us to leave and told us the police would be called upon us. All I want is for Hyundai to honor their policy of keeping customers safe with safe vehicles. This service center is content with me leaving in my car with the potential of my car catching fire and my cruise control staying stuck on. I have lost all faith in Hyundai and their dedication to customers. Please do not trust your car to go here-I do not want anyone to get hurt and left with an unsafe vehicle.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Alan
Sep 02, 2020 -

Gettel Hyundai of Sarasota responded

Gettel Hyundai of Sarasota only does business in an honest and transparent manner. Campaign 110 – Stop Lamp Switch Replacement was performed on your 2009 Hyundai Santa Fe at Boucher Hyundai on 6/12/2013, per Hyundai records. On 8/13/20 your male friend brought the vehicle in and we diagnosed your vehicle as having a disintegrated brake stopper and he declined the repair. The brake switch was functioning as designed. This diagnosis was completed free of charge. He was advised that he could purchase the replacement part from our Parts Department. Upon returning to our establishment on 8/28/20 your friend interrupted a private meeting in the service manager’s office and demanded immediate service in an aggressive manner. When advised we would call to discuss any concerns, he declined to provide his phone number and left. During this entire time, you have been in communication and created a case with Hyundai. The Hyundai Case Manager has informed you that your vehicle is outside warranty coverage 2nd owner 5/60. You informed the Case Manager that you will take vehicle elsewhere for repairs to be completed. We consider this matter closed and wish you well.

Sep 05, 2020 -

ConcernedForSafety responded

Update: Even though the brake stopper was not broken when the car was brought in, we still replaced it ourselves at our own cost since we found it in pieces on the floorboard when we picked up our vehicle. Problem still existed with new brake stopper in. Not surprising to us as the original problem we were trying to get fixed was not addressed. Unfortunately this website will not allow pictures to be attached as I have a picture of the 2 defective items removed from my vehicle.To no surprise to us, the picture shows a burned up stop lamp switch and the connecting wiring harness clip (the items covered under the recall). The smell from these items is incredible-overwhelming strong chlorine like scent (what I smelled in my car when the problem began). My car is finally back in working order, with no assistance from Hyundai. Was my fiance upset when he went back to the dealership to show pictures to the manager of these parts? Yes! Aggressive, no. But wouldn't you be upset too if your loved one's car has the potential of randomly catching fire and/or not disengaging the cruise control while driving and what was promised by the Hyundai Corporation Customer Service was not being honored and fulfilled to make the car safe again? Stop and think to be in someone else's shoes for a moment. Viewpoints are always different when your own family's safety is involved. Multiple people that I've discussed the facts of this situation with have agreed it should have been honored by Hyundai and now question Hyundai's commitment to service themselves as well.

January 26, 2020

"I bought a Certified used Sonata 3 years ago and it has..."

- clearcool

I bought a Certified used Sonata 3 years ago and it has been nothing but the feeling of just being bent over a barrel since I walked out the door with it. I purchased the Warranty with all of the bells and whistles and thank God I did or I would have averaged of about $1000 per year in repairs from the car just falling apart. However, they failed to let me know that the services that I quite heftily prepaid for aren't covered if I don't pay for the "recommendations" that are made for my car each time I bring it in. Hmmm..my car didn't come with an owners manual so they "threw one in for $200". I opted for the 7 year loan so that I could afford the platinum protection plan on the Certified 2014 Sonata that has had a cigarette/vinegar smell that they promised to get rid of which they never have..until I rented an ozone machine myself. Basically, I will never again buy a substandard car thinking I am getting a deal when I have paid far more in my time, heartbreak and money in the long run. If I had bought a Toyota or Honda for a hundred bucks more a month I wouldn't have had such a horrible experience. Every time I go to the service department they basically look at me like I'm crazy to expect anything different. None of the people on this website even work here anymore.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
No one is listed
Jan 27, 2020 -

Gettel Hyundai of Sarasota responded

It is disappointing to know that you are not satisfied with your Sonata. Our service team will work hard to make sure your vehicle is running well. Your satisfaction is important and you may contact our Service Manager to discuss any recommendations that are made in greater depth with him.

January 21, 2020

"Refusing to Fix Our Car "

- mkiwacz

So apparently I have to pick a rating, so it will get one star for this dealership and star goes to the three employee's that have helped us out, Rodney Ryans going above and beyond to make sure our children were taken care of when buying their cars. And to Ben and Melanie in service for their caring and understanding throughout this ordeal we have been through. In 2019 my family has come to this dealership and bought 4 cars. Thank you Rodney for making sure they received a good experience. Let's move on to Service Department Manager which could learn some customer service skills, Alan Moss.....we bought a 2015 Hyundai Genesis and since day one we have had nothing but issues. Windshield wiper blades that didn't work and squeaked when used. Not even a week and half after buying the car I was told by Alan that I would have to purchase new ones as they are not required to do an inspection on them when a customer buys a car. After several attempts and going to a higher up they replaced them. Continuing on with the Service Department....let's move forward a bit, the car was vibrating bad when driven and can only be felt in the driver's seat. They had our car for 5 days and they could not find anything wrong. When I went to pick it up they informed me that the car was fine. We then took it to our mechanic that we use for our other cars and it took him no more than 5 minutes after driving it that the back left rim was bent and causing all the vibration when driving it. So back we went to the dealership so they could fix what our mechanic found. How pathetic is that. Not to mention that front end of the car underneath the fender is scratched bad and paint missing and looks awful and that is how they sold a car to us. What kind of inspection do they do on a car they sell people, obviously not a good one. Continuing on with the Service Department yet again...let's move forward some more....after picking up the car yet again, not even 20 minutes on my way home the display started going out. Blinking off and on making the steering wheel unable to use. So once again we brought the car back. They had my car yet another 6 days and all they did is reset the display stating the radio was not working properly. THE RADIO. Seriously! The display houses everything in the car, not just the radio. And yet again when I picked up the car, not even half way home, the display went out again. Driving to and from this dealership is about 40 minutes for us in traffic from where we live so it is NOT convenient for us multiple times. So I complained to corporate which is a complete joke. No help at all, instead the GM Sandeep Singh had nothing but an attitude with me. Telling me he sat with the technicians and watched them fix our display. And that is was working fine when I picked it up. He has ZERO customer skills, an attitude and he is rude, right along with Alan Moss. Fast forward to January 20, 2020.....I finally brought the car back in because we work 6 days a week and taking time off is not easy, Alan Moss and Sandeep Singh refused to fix our car and give us a rental car stating that the "RADIO" is not part of the service agreement for our warranty and rentals. IT IS NOT JUST THE RADIO BUT THE WHOLE DISPLAY THAT IS NOT WORKING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! So I reached out to a Fred Bartholomew, Director of Operations who was of NO HELP AT ALL. Telling me they would give me a rental for ONE DAY just to diagnosis the problem WHEN THEY HAVE HAD THE CAR QUITE A FEW TIMES BEFORE TO DO THE SAME THING. And I have provided video multiple times proving it does not work. The service advisors felt so bad for me when I was there and I understand there hands are tied which is SAD! I have left SEVERAL messages for Rodney Ryans and they keep telling me is off or not available 3 weeks now. I wonder if he even knows I have called seeing has how he has been the ONLY manager to care. I will be calling the BBB and the news channel to expose this dealership. How a dealership treats a customer is important but not to them. We still have a broken display monitor!!!!

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Sandeep Singh, Alan Moss
Jan 24, 2020 -

Gettel Hyundai of Sarasota responded

Thank you for your feedback and bringing this matter to our attention with your multiple responses to our management team. As we have been trying to assist you, we have thoroughly explained our policy and procedure for the repair process. As with any potential warranty repair, we follow the guidelines and processes defined by warranty procedures. Your comments have been discussed at length with our management team and we welcome you to set an appointment to have your car serviced utilizing the guidelines that have been discussed.

1
...
1 - 10 of 802 results