Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Girard Toyota

New London, CT

2.2
203 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

543 Colman St

New London, CT

06320

Directions

203 Reviews of Girard Toyota

Sort by Write a review
September 03, 2020

"Car buying should not be stressful or regrettable. Here's..."

- Braden

Car buying should not be stressful or regrettable. Here's my story . I dealt with Syed, salesman, and Sean Wells, sales manager. In February I went to look at new truck. After some time I thought I came to an agreement for the sale and trade-in. NOPE. I went to the dealership after work to sign paperwork. I was told that the price was this amount and trade was this and finance was this amount. I was HAPPY. Then I got there, wife left work early also to accommodate them, had to sign paperwork. Syed had me sign the paperwork as to the amount of the sales price. Also he had me sign the paperwork as he put it was STATE LAW about meeting the Service Manager and touring the service department. I was then sent into the finance office to sign paperwork. I asked the finance amount of the sale. I was told a totally different price then settled upon with Syed. When I asked to see the paper I signed about the price it disappeare, never to be seen. Then Syed crossed his arms and said in a very smug way " I do very very well here and I'll give you the difference to make this deal happen ". Both Syed and Sean threw temper tantrums that would make a three year old in a candy shop told "no" look like a SAINT. When we arrived it was about 6pm at night in March, finally left about 9 at night. Both Sean and Syed were about 20 feet away when we started to leave. They YELLED turn your lights on. I was never given a walk around the vehicle or an overview of the controls. I could not inspect the car in dim light, nothing was done to it. They knew at 130 that afternoon that I would be picking up the car after 5:00. When I picked it up it was missing the owner manual, floor mats and all the plastic on the seats were still in place. NO DETAIL. I had to wait two weeks to go back and have the car detailed. I informed them that there was a chip in the paint on passenger side door. They said prove that- it was there when you picked it up. I was also bribed by Sean to give all 10s on the review because their bounus depends on my review. I got a call from the satisfaction manager, Ryan. I recounted the details of my experiences and expressed all of my concerns to him. He seems very honest and genuine. He said that he would pass this all on at the next managers meeting. I called him back three times in a two week period to get no response. The last call I stated I wanted to talk to the owner. This did get a response. Two days later I received a call from Marc, the person claiming to be the owner. Website says John is the owner. This Marc was no better then Syed and Sean. I was put on speakerphone and berated and yelled at by both Marc and Sean. I asked to be taken off speakerphone so I could have a decent one-on-one conversation with the owner. Marc refused and stated that this is the way he conducts all of his business. Marc called me a liar and threw a bigger temper tantrum than the other two. Very poor customer service and professionalism. In short buy in Rhode Island where you have protection with the Dealers Board at the DMV if things like this occur. What a poorly managed and operated dealership this place is. Be careful and forewarned.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
sean wells, syed
July 24, 2020

"Mike Needs to Take a Hike!! "

- Unhappycustomer

(I did send this review to the dealer and all of their top management and NO one even reached back out to me. Clearly, customer service is not a priority here - Stay AWAY!!!) My recent experience at Girard Toyota started out so well and then I had to deal with the Finance Manager, Mike. This is a gentleman that clearly did not want to be at work yesterday. Honestly, management should show this fellow the door or require him to attend some customer service training before he steps foot in that dealership again. While everyone is under stress with Covid-19, providing excellent customer service should be a top priority. . The car buying business model is changing and if you are not riding the wave of change you are under it. This was my first interaction with this dealership and not surprisingly my last. In what should have been a happy moment, I was yelled at and brought to tears. I wanted to tear the paperwork up and leave but could not face starting the process over again. I probably should have: why would I do business with a company that employs such a poor representative of their brand and now I have such a negative feeling toward that dealership. I have bought multiple cars and usually, the piece with the finance manager is the easiest. You sign the papers and leave happy. This interaction just left me angry and anxious to get out of there. The craziest thing is that he was yelling at me over something that the salesperson offered to do for me. We live about an hour away but, they had the car I wanted so I made the ride. The salesperson was nice and helpful. I knew what car I wanted so I did not need to be "sold' and they respected that. However, it ended up that I needed my husband to co-sign. My salesperson told me to bring his license down and then offered to have someone bring the papers up to my husband so he did not have to make the trip down. This was something that the sales manager offered, I am not some diva expecting them to drive up the paperwork. I was actually really impressed at that point with the level of service. The finance manager did not like that idea at all and said it would be weeks if we did it that way. He told me they have runners but, they are busy with other things. Again, another point where I should have left. Clearly they are too busy for my business. Then the finance manager goes out and argues with the salesman about the paperwork. I can hear them arguing and was just sitting there. The finance manager comes back and angrily tells me my husband has to come down today or I am not getting the car. Again, I should have walked out. I asked the Finance Manager why he was getting so angry at me when it was the salesperson he was mad at? Thankfully the general manager came in at that point to help diffuse the situation. He asked if I wanted to work with someone else and while choking back tears of anger and frustration I said yes. What I wanted was to leave. The worst part is that I could still hear the finance manager going on about how he was right. It was a totally bizarre situation. So I sat there for an hour waiting for my husband. They did give me a key chain so I guess I should be happy with that.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mike
February 10, 2020

"Worst dealership in New London. Had a contract/down..."

- regandw

Worst dealership in New London. Had a contract/down payment to buy 2019 Camry. Day of the sale Mike Collins wanted $8k more, freakin rediculas.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mike Collins, Kerry Greaves
September 30, 2019

"Since moving to the area we’ve regularly brought our..."

- Anonymous

Since moving to the area we’ve regularly brought our vehicles to Girard for service. Rose and Caitlin are always very friendly and develop a personal relationship with each client, rather than treating them like just another service appointment on their schedules. Each time we’ve been greeted with a “good to see you again” or “how’s it going?” before even getting down to business. They take the time to find out why you’re bringing the vehicle in, take detailed notes of anything you’re concerned about, and will thoroughly discuss any issues found or upcoming service items without trying to push you into doing something or confusing you with complicated technical jargon. Rose and Caitlin are amazing to work with and we would definitely recommend them.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Rose, Caitlin
September 20, 2019

"Horrible Dealershsip"

- Fiona

Very clear fake reviews here…wow. I wish I could give zero stars. I am not impressed by the level of customer service that I received when working with this dealership. I specifically worked with Sean Wells and Ali. I’m not upset about the fact that they couldn’t find me a car that meets my criteria within my budget. I am however upset about the fact that they continuously showed me cars that didn’t have my requirements (AWD was my main requirement as I do a lot of driving through storms because of my job). Sean tried to convince me that all I needed was traction control (which my 13 year old car does have). To me, them showing me cars that didn’t meet my criteria was a waste of my time. They also called me in one night to “finalize the deal” on a car that supposedly fit my budget. After getting there, and waiting 45 mins- 1 hour for them to meet, they presented a car that didn’t meet my requirements, but also was $100 a month over my budget, as well as having to put more money down. This to me was also a waste of my time. They would say that they would call me the next day, then I wouldn’t hear back from them at all, until I called myself multiple times a day and left voicemails. To me that’s unacceptable. A lot of the time I wouldn’t hear back unless I actually went there in person, and then I was waiting for 45 minutes-2 hours for them to assist. Also, when we had “appointments”, I expect the salesman to block off a window of time that we have agreed upon to work with me, not make me wait for 2 hours while they help other people and do things in the back. Not impressed at all. They were also VERY pushy, when they knew from the get what my budget was. I would rather them tell me that they couldn’t help me rather than dragging me along with them for about a month. I also wasn’t impressed by the low key sexism that I experienced. A lot of the time, they were speaking directly to my boyfriend, only making eye contact with him… when I’m the one that is buying a new car. They also tried persuading him to cosign for me while I was in the restroom multiple times after I had made a big point of saying that I am doing this myself and that it is my car, so it should be my experience. I ended up parting ways with Sean and Ali after my experience earlier this week where they insisted that I should be grateful that they have worked so hard to find a vehicle that meets my criteria, and also the fact that they were willing to inflate the price of my trade-in without informing me that they were also inflating the price of the vehicle that was $3,000 over the Fair Market Value. At the end of the day, they failed to find a vehicle that met my criteria. I am working with other dealerships who can get my monthly payments to what I need them to be staying within my requirements for a new vehicle (about half as much as I was quoted at Girard Toyota). To me, they wanted to make more money on me, instead of working with me and meeting my needs. Just overall a bad stereotypical sleazy car dealership experience with poor customer service skills.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Ali, Sean Wells
June 21, 2019

"Poor dealership "

- Braden

Thursday, June 20, 2019 6:45 PM Car buying should not be stressful or regrettable. Here's my story .  I dealt with Syed, salesman, and Sean Wells, sales manager. In February I went to look at new truck. After some time I thought I came to an agreement for the sale and trade-in. NOPE. I went to the dealership after work to sign paperwork. I was told that the price was this amount and trade was this and finance was this amount. I was HAPPY. Then I got there, wife left work early also to accommodate them, had to sign paperwork.  Syed had me sign the paperwork as to the amount of the sales price. Also he had me sign the paperwork as he put it was STATE LAW about meeting the Service Manager and touring the service department. I was then sent into the finance office to sign paperwork.  I asked the finance amount of the sale. I was told a totally different price then settled upon with Syed. When I asked to see the paper I signed about the price it disappeare, never to be seen. Then Syed crossed his arms and said in a very smug way " I do very very well here and I'll give you the difference to make this deal happen ".  Both Syed and Sean threw temper tantrums that would make a three year old in a candy shop told  "no" look like a SAINT. When we arrived it was about 6pm at night in March, finally left about 9 at night. Both Sean and Syed were about 20 feet away when we started to leave. They YELLED turn your lights on. I was never given a walk around the vehicle or an overview of the controls.  I could not inspect the car in dim light, nothing was done to it. They knew at 130 that afternoon that I would be picking up the car after 5:00. When I picked it up it was missing the owner manual, floor mats and all the plastic on the seats were still in place. NO DETAIL.  I had to wait two weeks to go back and have the car detailed. I informed them that there was a chip in the paint on passenger side door. They said prove that- it was there when you picked it up. I was also bribed by Sean to give all 10s on the review because their bounus depends on my review. I got a call from the satisfaction manager, Ryan. I recounted the details of my experiences and expressed all of my concerns to him. He seems very honest and genuine. He said that he would pass this all on at the next managers meeting. I called him back three times in a two week period to get no response.  The last call I stated I wanted to talk to the owner. This did get a response. Two days later I received a call from Marc, the person claiming to be the owner. Website says John is the owner.  This Marc was no better then Syed and Sean. I was put on speakerphone and berated and yelled at by both Marc and Sean. I asked to be taken off speakerphone so I could have a decent one-on-one conversation with the owner. Marc refused and stated that this is the way he conducts all of his business. Marc called me a liar and threw a bigger temper tantrum than the other two. Very poor customer service and professionalism. In short buy in Rhode Island where you have protection with the Dealers Board at the DMV if things like this occur. What a poorly managed and operated dealership this place is. Be careful and forewarned.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Syed and sean
April 29, 2019

"Outstanding Service"

- Toyota Fan

We received great service from Mike and Kerry in the purchase of our new car. Both were very friendly and very professional. I recommend them and this dealership to everyone.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mike and Kerry
September 04, 2018

"Toyota "

- Panda1111

Do not buy a car here! I got ripped off and two weeks later my engine light came on and they didn't want to do anything about it. And the price to get it fixed is over 1,200! I am very displeased with Toyota.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Can't remember
June 30, 2018

"Best car buying experience in my life"

- tammy

I was in a tough spot. My old car needed far more repairs than the car was worth and wasn't safe to drive without them. The service team at Girard Toyota in New London gave me a rental car, regardless of whether I bought a car from them or not. They cared about my safety. I looked at multiple places for several days. The sales team kept me in mind for used cars that came in to them. In the end they came up with a 2010 Toyota Matrix that was perfect for me. The buying process took a long time, but they were kind, considerate, and professional. They listened, met my needs, and gave me a good deal. Buying a car is always hard, but they made it as painless as possible. I can honestly say I had fun talking to everyone I met there and I have the peace of mind that I now have a solid, reliable car.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Caitlin, Bryan, Wayne, Sean, Mike, and services manager
May 10, 2018

"Preparing car to pass emissions"

- kraemer

My 2006 Toyota came for service to pass emissions. I asked many questions about service and they were answered. I even brought a friend and all his questions were answered. The service was excellent! The vehicle passed emission testing after the repairs were made.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Catlin Auwae and Hillary Drexler
1
...
1 - 10 of 203 results