Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Gurley Leep Honda

Elkhart, IN

3.2
16 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

2345 Cassopolis St

Elkhart, IN

46514

Directions

16 Reviews of Gurley Leep Honda

Sort by Write a review
October 15, 2020

"Great experience from Christian, my salesman & Mike who..."

- jayfam2006

Great experience from Christian, my salesman & Mike who walked me though my paperwork. I also had a positive experience with Gary & the manager in the service department!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Christian, Mike, Gary, Service Manager
Oct 16, 2020 -

Gurley Leep Honda responded

This is great to hear! We're happy to know we made your car-buying experience a positive one.

August 08, 2020

"purchased a 2015 jeep patriot, drove 3 times, dead, been..."

- peggy.jensen

purchased a 2015 jeep patriot, drove 3 times, dead, been in repair almost 2 weeks, want my money back!! I am so hurt,, Don't deal with them! You will go broke! This car only had 32,000 miles. I want out of this deal! Indiana lemon law, and consumers right law!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
manager, and salesman
April 13, 2020

"$299 Theft Prevention scam"

- grandpapaul

I had been searching online for close to a year for an SUV for my retirement. I found a 2016 Honda Pilot that fit my needs and was priced right. I scheduled a test drive with Bobbie Russwurm for Friday February 28, 2020. I sat in her office and she asked me what color interested me. I think she forgot I was there to test drive a specific vehicle. We went for a short test drive and when we returned I lifted the hood to look at the engine. The sales manager called her to the front door. He told her someone had test driven it earlier and was coming with a check to buy it. It was chilly out and he told her just outside the front door about 30 feet from me. Back at her desk she explained what I had overheard but I had first chance to buy it. Even the sales manager said there was no pressure. Why let me overhear the conversation or tell me as it was sold either way. I put a down payment and drove it home. The more I thought about it being a sales tactic I contacted Bobbie and told her I would return it for a refund. Around noon the next day I told Bobbie I was going to keep it. She claimed the other person was there when they opened to buy it. On the purchase agreement was $299 for theft prevention. I, thinking it was on all Honda's, questioned it. This was added theft deterrent which only Gurley Leep provides. He talk me into a tire and wheel warranty from punctures and potholes. There is a tire with a nail in it and a bent wheel in his office. He implied it was from his vehicle. I also purchased an extended warranty. After reviewing all the paperwork at home , I found there were four levels of coverage. He never mentioned the lower coverage's and costs. The $299 Theft Prevention consists of a small 1" square sticker just above the VIN on the windshield and tiny numbers etched on the rear glass. No thief or police recovering the vehicle would ever look for it. The VIN does it all. I asked for a refund and have not heard back after 3 weeks. This is our third purchase here and our last. The thief here is the dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Bobbie Russwurm, Finance Mgr (cant read his signature )
January 15, 2020

"Gurley Leep Honda in Elkhart, new store so we gave it a..."

- Forist

Gurley Leep Honda in Elkhart, new store so we gave it a shot. Mileage was different then advertised, should have been my first sign. Our salesman was awesome, no problems there. Finance guy specifically told us there would be no deductible for our extended warranty we paid 2700 dollars for. First time using it they tried to deny the claim a couple times then when I pitched a fit to our salesman he helped out yet again. But they still charged a deductible. The part they replaced, a door handle it didn’t match the others and when we complained the xxx of a service rep, said that is what it takes. Come to find out it was the latest updated one that they ordered. I’m happy with the 2017 explorer, and the salesman. But seems like everyone else is being shady. Door window was having issues as soon as we bought it and the smart door handle didn’t work. They were acting like it just happened. We only owned the truck for 1 week when we discovered the issues. They better make it right or I’ll never be back and never recommend them to anyone.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Pat Kavenaugh
Jan 16, 2020 -

Gurley Leep Honda responded

We're very sorry to hear this. We take reviews like this very seriously so we do appreciate you reaching out and sharing your feedback.

July 23, 2019

"Extended Warranty refund"

- milkbonemom

We all hear about how bad car dealerships are with customers. My story is different, in dealing with Gurley Leep Honda’s Ryan Glover, GM, it was outstanding. That is why I am writing this... In 2017, I purchased a 2012 CRV with 35,000 miles from Elkhart Honda and purchased the extended warranty for $1400. I was told the warranty was for 100,000 miles. Since I put 20-24,000 miles per year in my travels, I thought that was acceptable. Earlier in 2019 in I traded that CRV in and requested a refund of my warranty. When I received my check, it was for $250. I only had the vehicle for 20 months and had 68,000 miles on it. I asked for an explanation on how they determined keeping $1150 since I had NO claim on the warranty. I was informed that the extended warranty was UP TO 100,000 miles. I told them that no, I was told for 100,000 miles from my purchase…135,000 miles. When I returned to Elkhart in the spring, I visited the dealership and ultimately spoke with Mr. Glover. He researched the issue, found several mistakes, and that the contract was valid until 2022 - the five years 100,000 miles. He informed me the dealership will make up some of the difference the insurance company refused and issued me a check, so I received half of my payment back. Mr. Glover did right by me. I will continue to have my vehicles serviced at Gurley Leep and if in the area when I need another vehicle, I will go to this dealership. Lou Cynda Putnam

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ryan Glover
Jul 25, 2019 -

Gurley Leep Honda responded

We wanted to take a moment to thank you for telling us more about your experience with us. Our staff is constantly hard at work finding ways to exceed customer's expectations and provide seamless service. Reading your review was of great encouragement reminding us why we do what we do. Thank you

April 04, 2019

"Thank you "

- Marxee

Abe Aranda, thank you for listening and being willing to learn the real issue!! Your patience is awesome.. Good learning experience for all of us!! The free car washes are nice too!! 😊

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Finance Manager
Apr 06, 2019 -

Gurley Leep Honda responded

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so happy that Abe was able to provide a 5-Star experience! Hope to see you again.

July 14, 2017

"Salesman lied to try to get me to come to the store."

- Hondabuyer2016

Salesman lied on the phone to try to get me to come to the store. He said he would quote me a price when I called back. He wouldn't so I went to Basney. I bought a car that night. Not from Gurley Leap. Not when you have a shady salesman telling you anything to get you to come in. I could tell in his voice he was a faceman. There was more to it than this but I can't recall every detail. It was bad enough that I needed to write up the review.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
unknown
June 13, 2017

"Faulty car"

- Jannie mullins

We purchased a 2006 Honda pilot from Gurley peep in "AS IS" condition. we put less than 50 miles on the vehicle before the 'service engine' light came on would not run right. We took the vehicle back to Gurley leep, and demanded our money back. They refused and put new spark plugs in the vehicle. Within another 50 miles, the problem occured again. A reputable local machine inspected the vehicle and advised us the #4 cylinder did not have proper compression and was "fouling the plug" . According to the mechanic the motor needed to be overhauled. Gurley leep refused to fix the vehicle or return our money because the vehicle was purchased "AS IS." We believe Gurley leep knew the car had a faulty motor, and sold it too us without informing us of the issue. We encourage anyone who wishes to purchase a used vehical from Gurley peep to have it thoroughly inspected by an independent mechanic before completing the purchase

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Phil
February 25, 2017

"Great service "

- ShaninB

I had the best salesman help me pick my great car thank you guys I'm really loving my car it's been really good to me

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Philip Hamood
January 22, 2017

"Service department likes to scam women "

- Nator419

My girlfriend went to get a spare key for her car and battery replaced in current key. Was told battery would cost $600 but the spare key $150. She took a battery with her. They inspected car and said control arm, all brakes and rotors need to be replaced. We had the front brakes and rotors replaces few months ago and are perfectly fine. Back brakes are about due but rotors are fine. They are paid on commission, so watch yourself.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
NA
1
1 - 10 of 16 results