Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Gurley Leep Honda

Elkhart, IN

2.8
19 Reviews

2345 Cassopolis St

Elkhart, IN

46514

Directions

19 Reviews of Gurley Leep Honda

Sort by
May 28, 2021

"I WAS LOOKING FOR A 2013 HONDA ACCORD WITH THE 3.5L V6. I..."

- cd-james

I WAS LOOKING FOR A 2013 HONDA ACCORD WITH THE 3.5L V6. I DROVE 3.5HRS ONE WAY TO BUY ONE THAT GURLEY HAD. THOUGHT I ASKED ALL THE RIGHT QUESTIONS ON CONDITION, BUYING OUT OF MY STATE ECT.... TEST DROVE THE CAR AND IT DROVE FINE, LOOKED NICE AND THE INTERIOR WAS CLEAN. ALMOST BOUGHT IT BUT FELT LIKE I NEEDED TO TAKE A QUICK LOOK AT THE CAR ON A HOIST. AFTER WAITING 2HRS FINALLY GOT IT ON A HOIST AND I COULDN'T BELIEVE WHAT I SEEN. THIS CAR LOOKED LIKE IT WAS PARKED IN A SALT OCEAN ITS ENTIRE LIKE. I'VE NEVER SEEN RUST LIKE WHAT WAS ON THE BOTTOM SIDE OF THIS CAR. FOR A 2013 NONE FOR THE PAINTED STEEL CHASSIS HAD ANY SORT OF PAINT LEFT. ONLY A DEEP ENCRUSTED RUST. THERE WAS SEVERAL AREA'S THAT WAS ALMOST RUSTED THROUGH THE BOTTOM SIDE OF THE CAR. THEY WANTED ALMOST 17K FOR THIS CAR.I TOLD MY SALES PERSON THAT IT WOULD BE VERY IRRESPONSIBLE TO PUT IT BACK ON THE LOT FOR THAT PRICE. COUPLE DAY LATER IS WAS LISTED FOR A $1000 MORE THAN WHAT I WAS LOOKING AT IT FOR. I COULDN'T BELIEVE IT. THERE WAS NO WAY I COULD BUY THIS CAR. OF COARSE THEY HELD MY NON-REFUNDABLE $500 DEPOSIT OVER MY HEAD. NEXT THING I KNOW I'M LOOKING AT A MUCH MORE EXPENSIVE 2019 HONDA ACCORD THAT I WAS RUSHED TO BUY. NO TIME TO RESEARCH. RELIABILITY RATING AT 2.5 OUT OF 5.0 SO I FELT COMPELLED TO PURCHASE A EXTENDED WARRANTY TO THE TUNE OF $2700 AND A $299 ANTI THEFT CHARGE THAT I HAD NO CHOICE ON. I GET ALL DONE WITH THE PURCHASE AND I'M INFORMED THAT I WOULD HAVE TO RETURN IN PERSON TO THE DEALERSHIP TO BE ABLE TO RECEIVE MY TITLE AND REGISTRATION. IT'S A 7 HR ROUND TRIP. I WAS TOLD UP FRONT THAT IT WOULD BE NO ISSUE THAT I WAS FROM MICHIGAN. THEY SELL CARS TO OUT OF STATE PEOPLE ALL THE TIME. AFTER SOME PERSUASION THE FINANCE MANAGER AGREED TO OVER NIGHT IT TO ME. A COUPLE DAYS BEFORE MY TEMPORARY PLATE EXPIRED I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP TO SEE WHY I HADN'T RECEIVED MY TITLE OR REGISTRATION. I DID NOT RECEIVE A RETURN CALL. HAD TO CALL AGAIN THE NEXT DAY AND WAS TREATED VERY POORLY. I WAS TOLD THAT I WOULD HAVE TO COME IN TO THE DEALERSHIP IN PERSON. STATED MY CASE AGAIN. FINALLY THE NEXT DAY MY SALES PERSON INFORMED ME THAT THEY DIDN'T HAVE ANYTHING AND I WOULD HAVE TO GO TO THE DMV. KIND OF HARD TO GO TO THE DMV WITHOUT A TITLE. SO NOW MY PLATE IS EXPIRED SEVERAL DAYS AGO. IF I GET PULLED OVER IT'S A $200 FINE. I HAVEN'T BOUGHT A VEHICLE FROM A DEALERSHIP IS OVER 10YRS. I WORKED AT A COMPANY THAT MADE PARTS FOR HONDA FOR MANY YEARS AND I'VE ALWAYS DREAMED OF HAVING THE GREAT HONDA EXPERIENCE THAT I'VE ALWAYS HEARD ABOUT. WELL NEEDLESS TO SAY I'M VERY DISAPPOINTED. STILL TRYING TO FIGURE OUT A SOLUTION. LOOKS LIKE I WILL HAVE TO MEET SOMEONE PART WAY BECAUSE I AM A REASONABLE PERSON. ALSO WAS TOLD I WOULD GET 3 MONTHS OF SIRIUS RADIO BUT THEY FORGOT TO INITIATE IT. YOU GUESSED IT THEY CAN ONLY DO IT AT THE DEALERSHIP. ON A GOOD NOTE I DO LOVE MY 2019 ACCORD SPORT AND MY SALESMAN CHRISTIAN WAS PRETTY AWESOME. I DON'T BLAME HIM FOR ANY OF THIS.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
CHRISTIAN
Jun 01, 2021 -

Gurley Leep Honda responded

We are truly saddened that your experience was not as great as we would have liked. Our General Manager has already been in contact with you, but we are happy to discuss any other concerns you may have. Please contact our General Manager, Ryan Glover at (574) 522-2000 or rglover@gurleyleep.com

May 25, 2021

"Brought our CR-V in for service and was taken care of in..."

- phouser2198

Brought our CR-V in for service and was taken care of in a very professional manner. Service was timely, employees courteous, and helpful with questions. Highly recommend their service department.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Andrew Rodecki
May 27, 2021 -

Gurley Leep Honda responded

Thank you for the recommendation and positive feedback!

February 20, 2021

"Had a horrible experience with having our car repaired..."

- 321Randysucks123

Had a horrible experience with having our car repaired after being hit by a drunk driver. I tried to work with their manager Randy at Gurley Leep Honda in Elkhart that did the terrible work. Seeing as they still haven't rectified the issue and don't seem to care they put my wife and toddlers in an unsafe vehicle...TWICE...I decided it was time to go ahead and give these idiots the public recognition they deserve. ZERO STARS! We were hit by a drunk driver and made the mistake of using Gurley Leep body shop for the repair. Twice these idiots put my wife and toddlers in a vehicle which was unsafe for public roads. The following list is merely the cosmetic issues which wouldn't have been so much an issue were it not for the fact that the vehicle is all over the road, wanders sideways, and is difficult to impossible to control ever since these guys ruined the suspension. Randy the body shop manager is one of the shadiest people I've ever met which says a lot in the used car industry... Don't use these fools unless you want to deal with the following: 1) sanding mark on driver front fender 2) weather stripping on driver door (back side) is incomplete 3) clear coat driver rear door damage 4) weather stripping/ gaping at rear passenger door driver side 5) driver door wrong color - it’s blue, not black. 6)3rd row window driver side leaks 7) rear fender well drivers side missing nut 8) rear fender well drivers side unsecured trim tabs 9) wheel well trim driver side misaligned with bumper cover 10) real quarter panel (driver side) is blue- should be black! 11) clear coat damage to rear hatch spoiler 12) rear lift gate is painted blue, not black 13) back emblem is hybrid emblem not regular emblem. 14) alignment and gaping on left rear gate (not equal on both sides) 15) passenger side outer taillight housing misaligned and not secured 16) color of driver side rear quarter is blue! Passenger side rear quarter is black! 17) rear headliner gapes at rear hatch 18) rear lift gate speaker/subwoofer rattles and intermittently functional 19) unsecured left rear tray (interior) 20) missing retainer clip on rear lift gate 21) unsecured passenger rear trim tabs 22) we need a list of all suspension parts replaced. 23) drivers side was rear trailing arm replace? not mentioned in invoice. 24) frame member welding 25) rear reverse/parking sensors are intermittently functional

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Randy Armstrong, many others...
October 15, 2020

"Great experience from Christian, my salesman & Mike who..."

- jayfam2006

Great experience from Christian, my salesman & Mike who walked me though my paperwork. I also had a positive experience with Gary & the manager in the service department!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Christian, Mike, Gary, Service Manager
Oct 16, 2020 -

Gurley Leep Honda responded

This is great to hear! We're happy to know we made your car-buying experience a positive one.

August 08, 2020

"purchased a 2015 jeep patriot, drove 3 times, dead, been..."

- peggy.jensen

purchased a 2015 jeep patriot, drove 3 times, dead, been in repair almost 2 weeks, want my money back!! I am so hurt,, Don't deal with them! You will go broke! This car only had 32,000 miles. I want out of this deal! Indiana lemon law, and consumers right law!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
manager, and salesman
April 13, 2020

"$299 Theft Prevention scam"

- grandpapaul

I had been searching online for close to a year for an SUV for my retirement. I found a 2016 Honda Pilot that fit my needs and was priced right. I scheduled a test drive with Bobbie Russwurm for Friday February 28, 2020. I sat in her office and she asked me what color interested me. I think she forgot I was there to test drive a specific vehicle. We went for a short test drive and when we returned I lifted the hood to look at the engine. The sales manager called her to the front door. He told her someone had test driven it earlier and was coming with a check to buy it. It was chilly out and he told her just outside the front door about 30 feet from me. Back at her desk she explained what I had overheard but I had first chance to buy it. Even the sales manager said there was no pressure. Why let me overhear the conversation or tell me as it was sold either way. I put a down payment and drove it home. The more I thought about it being a sales tactic I contacted Bobbie and told her I would return it for a refund. Around noon the next day I told Bobbie I was going to keep it. She claimed the other person was there when they opened to buy it. On the purchase agreement was $299 for theft prevention. I, thinking it was on all Honda's, questioned it. This was added theft deterrent which only Gurley Leep provides. He talk me into a tire and wheel warranty from punctures and potholes. There is a tire with a nail in it and a bent wheel in his office. He implied it was from his vehicle. I also purchased an extended warranty. After reviewing all the paperwork at home , I found there were four levels of coverage. He never mentioned the lower coverage's and costs. The $299 Theft Prevention consists of a small 1" square sticker just above the VIN on the windshield and tiny numbers etched on the rear glass. No thief or police recovering the vehicle would ever look for it. The VIN does it all. I asked for a refund and have not heard back after 3 weeks. This is our third purchase here and our last. The thief here is the dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Bobbie Russwurm, Finance Mgr (cant read his signature )
January 15, 2020

"Gurley Leep Honda in Elkhart, new store so we gave it a..."

- Forist

Gurley Leep Honda in Elkhart, new store so we gave it a shot. Mileage was different then advertised, should have been my first sign. Our salesman was awesome, no problems there. Finance guy specifically told us there would be no deductible for our extended warranty we paid 2700 dollars for. First time using it they tried to deny the claim a couple times then when I pitched a fit to our salesman he helped out yet again. But they still charged a deductible. The part they replaced, a door handle it didn’t match the others and when we complained the xxx of a service rep, said that is what it takes. Come to find out it was the latest updated one that they ordered. I’m happy with the 2017 explorer, and the salesman. But seems like everyone else is being shady. Door window was having issues as soon as we bought it and the smart door handle didn’t work. They were acting like it just happened. We only owned the truck for 1 week when we discovered the issues. They better make it right or I’ll never be back and never recommend them to anyone.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Pat Kavenaugh
Jan 16, 2020 -

Gurley Leep Honda responded

We're very sorry to hear this. We take reviews like this very seriously so we do appreciate you reaching out and sharing your feedback.

July 23, 2019

"Extended Warranty refund"

- milkbonemom

We all hear about how bad car dealerships are with customers. My story is different, in dealing with Gurley Leep Honda’s Ryan Glover, GM, it was outstanding. That is why I am writing this... In 2017, I purchased a 2012 CRV with 35,000 miles from Elkhart Honda and purchased the extended warranty for $1400. I was told the warranty was for 100,000 miles. Since I put 20-24,000 miles per year in my travels, I thought that was acceptable. Earlier in 2019 in I traded that CRV in and requested a refund of my warranty. When I received my check, it was for $250. I only had the vehicle for 20 months and had 68,000 miles on it. I asked for an explanation on how they determined keeping $1150 since I had NO claim on the warranty. I was informed that the extended warranty was UP TO 100,000 miles. I told them that no, I was told for 100,000 miles from my purchase…135,000 miles. When I returned to Elkhart in the spring, I visited the dealership and ultimately spoke with Mr. Glover. He researched the issue, found several mistakes, and that the contract was valid until 2022 - the five years 100,000 miles. He informed me the dealership will make up some of the difference the insurance company refused and issued me a check, so I received half of my payment back. Mr. Glover did right by me. I will continue to have my vehicles serviced at Gurley Leep and if in the area when I need another vehicle, I will go to this dealership. Lou Cynda Putnam

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ryan Glover
Jul 25, 2019 -

Gurley Leep Honda responded

We wanted to take a moment to thank you for telling us more about your experience with us. Our staff is constantly hard at work finding ways to exceed customer's expectations and provide seamless service. Reading your review was of great encouragement reminding us why we do what we do. Thank you

April 04, 2019

"Thank you "

- Marxee

Abe Aranda, thank you for listening and being willing to learn the real issue!! Your patience is awesome.. Good learning experience for all of us!! The free car washes are nice too!! 😊

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Finance Manager
Apr 06, 2019 -

Gurley Leep Honda responded

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so happy that Abe was able to provide a 5-Star experience! Hope to see you again.

July 14, 2017

"Salesman lied to try to get me to come to the store."

- Hondabuyer2016

Salesman lied on the phone to try to get me to come to the store. He said he would quote me a price when I called back. He wouldn't so I went to Basney. I bought a car that night. Not from Gurley Leap. Not when you have a shady salesman telling you anything to get you to come in. I could tell in his voice he was a faceman. There was more to it than this but I can't recall every detail. It was bad enough that I needed to write up the review.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
unknown
1
1 - 10 of 19 results