Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Hanlees Hilltop Toyota

Richmond, CA

3.1
146 Reviews

3233 Auto Plaza

Richmond, CA

94806

Directions

146 Reviews of Hanlees Hilltop Toyota

Sort by
August 01, 2012

"Just bought a 2012 Toyota Camry going through the price..."

- Emoshe

Just bought a 2012 Toyota Camry going through the price search process of Consumer Reports. Nickolay Mak, the Internet Sales Manager at Hanlee's Hilltop, offered an excellent price and a pleasant shopping experience. He has also been very responsive to questions we had after purchasing the car.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Nikolay Mak
April 30, 2012

"The WORST customer service you can imagine! Avoid!! ..."

- SCBerk

The WORST customer service you can imagine! Avoid!! David Ruiter - the Sales Manager - is one of the most pompous, arrogant "customer service" reps I have ever encountered. I ordered a Prius online from Toyota in September 2011. When it finally arrived at Hanlees Toyota in late April 2012, I received messages insisting that I come in "right away" to pick up the car - even though I had informed them (in writing) that I would be in New York that week. They then called to say I should contact them immediately because "this type of car is in high demand" - even though this was a car I had special ordered and paid a deposit for - not one just sitting on the lot and available for public sale. A different Hanlees salesman, Hamilton Maldonado, told me I would need to supply them with "three credit references" to get the car. When I informed Ruiter that I had pre-approved credit (and an electronic check) through USAA so I would not need financing through Hanlees, he insisted that I would not be able to pick up the car until they had run a separate credit check on me. He then threatened that: “we will sell your car to someone else.” This type of coercive, high, pressure sales tactics – attempting to force me to go through their credit department – is both unethical and a likely violation of California’s statutes prohibiting unfair and deceptive sales practices. I have owned a Toyota Prius for over the decade, and love the car and was looking forward to owning a second one, but I received unbelievably rude and unprofessional treatment at Hanlees Toyota and would NEVER recommend them to anyone.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
David Ruiter, Hamilton Maldonado
August 05, 2011

"I'm glad I didn't read these reviews before I walked into..."

- emwong

I'm glad I didn't read these reviews before I walked into the dealership! Because I just bought my new car from Hanlees, and I can't rave about their sales department enough! A+ customer service! From the moment I walked in I was taken care of! Will do business again!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Too many to list!
August 03, 2011

"The manager asked the sale person to attend to someone..."

- nickyboy88n

The manager asked the sale person to attend to someone else and left us standing with no one to assist us. We walk away and went to another dealer.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Too upset to remember
August 14, 2006

"My name is Courtney Burt and I am having a problem with..."

- NeNe

My name is Courtney Burt and I am having a problem with Hanlees Hilltop Toyota in Richmond. I purchased a 2000 Honda Accord in 04/05. When I purchsed the car the SRS (airbag) light was on. The agreement was that the light would be fixed or I would not purchase the car. They reset the light and I was satified. Not too long after the light came back on! Toyota then replaced the SRS module. A few months later the light came on again, and they sent the car to Honda. I believe the module was replaced again and the light was reset. Now the SRS light is on again and Toyota is doing nothing to help me. I purchased the Extended Warranty from Toyota in which my car is still covered under. On top of that, when I purchased the car, there was dull paint marks all around. The deal was also that they fixed it or no deal. The repainted sections of the car and left dried drips of clear coat! I had them repaint and now the paint is cracked and chipping on the front bumper. Please Help!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chuck
July 29, 2006

"One three seperate visits I was confronted with..."

- wmnashco

One three seperate visits I was confronted with aggressive sales people who had zero knowledge of Yaris stock or knowledge of this car and its features. I was actually followed throught the lot by a sales woman who was shouting questions at me but was totally unable to answer any of my questions. Training, training, training. The sales manager needs to spend less time on the golf course and more time educating the sales staff. On two of my visits both sales persons immediately told me that they were new there. Should that mean that they don't know thier product? So why would I want to do business with them?

Read More
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
...
15
141 - 146 of 146 results