About Us
Copyright 2018 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Harte Used Car Super Center

3.1

11 Lifetime Reviews

341 S Broad St, Meriden, Connecticut 06450 Directions
Sales: (203) 516-4350

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

11 Reviews of Harte Used Car Super Center

Sort by Write a review
October 17, 2018

"Horrible Experience- Buyer BEWARE"

- jonponti

Horrible experience to say the least. Let’s start by calling on a car on the website we were told was there and later in the day were told it was being loaned to a client. Fast forward 3+ days later and the sales rep advised the client still had the vehicle, but wasn’t able to purchase it because they weren’t approved for a loan and couldn’t get a co-signer. Red flag as to why you are loaning a vehicle to someone who isn’t even approved for financing and somehow can’t get the car back? They didn’t even allow us to take the vehicle for a test drive without the sales man at first, but you’re loaning a vehicle to someone for several days that isn’t even approved for the vehicle? Call back and sales rep was out for the day, so manager answered. Very nice guy, told us the car was at Mazda getting a recall fixed. Fine, honesty for once. When the car came back we were called to come take a look and test drive the vehicle. We arrived later that evening and were greeted nicely, and everyone apologized for the inconvenience. Sales rep advised us car came back and had to go to their body shop because it came back with a scratch on the door. Another lie as the mirror was also busted, and the trim had a scratch on it. Clearly the previous owner hit something. Carfax was clean, and seemed to be minor, but enough damage to the mirror it had to be taped on with black tape, and the door fixed. I didn’t notice the mirror until the test drive, so asked them to fix it. Which they agreed upon. We did some paperwork that night to get things prepped, car was listed at one price, which we wrote the initial paperwork up on. They low balled us on the trade, average at auction was $900 more than what they offered. We agreed because it was the car my wife wanted, and she wanted to get rid of her current car. So we took a little loss, no big deal. Fast forward a day or two, no call on the mirror. I called, sales man said “I was just about to call you” mind you this was his response every time we called. Advised “they” had to go to Bridgeport to pick up the mirror and would be ready once painted and installed. Latest the following day. Next day, no call from sales rep, (Manager did leave a message that morning, but we didn’t get the message) so we arrived that morning to see what was going on. Saturday morning. Were advised they got the wrong mirror, and were waiting on the new mirror to come in. Were told it would be done Monday morning and they were nice enough to say they would deliver it. However we did not want to do the paperwork that day because the car wasn’t finished. We were promised car would be done Monday by 4:30, and finally it was. We arrived before 5pm and finalized the paperwork. Unfortunately we didn’t review the paperwork as good as we should have, but with a name like Harte I was under the impression they weren’t there to get one over on people. Initially looking at the paperwork the trade was some reason priced $1,500 over what we had discussed. Which was more than fair, so we were excited and happy. Thought they had adjusted it due to the mess of a process and all of the inconveniences there were. First page had trade info, so again, were excited, and didn’t ask why. Why would we? Finished the paperwork, and drove home. The interest rate was HORRIBLE for a 707 credit score, I mean HORRIBLE, but we had planned to refinance with our credit union. Didn’t initially go to the credit union because they were running a special for a refinance. However due to the horrible financing received we would’ve been better off going to our credit union to start. Would’ve been cheaper for sure, and less of a hassle. In addition Harte probably wouldn’t have been able to up the price of the car BY $1500 from what we originally discussed and signed for. So the increase in the trade simply increased the price of the car. Interesting, everything ended up being the same as we originally discussed, BUT WHY increase the trade? Why increase the car price? Makes no sense unless you are trying to make it seem like you are doing something for the clients? I don’t understand how a listed car price on your website could be increased prior to closing? Our fault for not looking at the exact price of the vehicle on the paperwork, but we had already done initial paperwork on the price of the car, and was listed for one price on the website. We ended up paying OVER NADA because of this adjustment. Screw me on the trade, I was aware of that, But don’t act like you’re doing us a favor on the trade, and at the same time increase the car price by nearly 9%! Car was already high priced, and didn’t argue it because my wife wanted the vehicle. But you are a shady dealership, and I would never recommend anyone to come to your dealership. I will never be back to any Harte dealership. Very shady and sketchy company. Horrible experience, no idea how the reviews online are even close to as good as they are after what we went through. Credit union laughed when they saw the interest rate they gave on a 707 credit score, and laughed at the price of the vehicle. Lucky enough they are a great credit union and got us out of the interest rate mess, but still changing the price of a vehicle to over NADA, and 9% more than what was listed on the website? That’s not shady then what is. Another FUNNY thing, sales rep said due to the inconvenience and not returning calls, or calling us, that he would throw in a year of free oil changes to make up for it. COME To find out, Hartes website provides a year of free oil changes FOR ANY USED Car they sell. Waste of my time, money and will never go back to Harte. Sales rep said they don’t work on commission, maybe they should, maybe they would care more about their clients then they do.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
not disclosing, but should
Oct 24, 2018 -

Harte Used Car Super Center responded

Hello Jonathan, my name is Nate and I am the General Manager here at Harte Used Car Super Center. I appreciate you taking the time to share about your recent experience and am disappointed to hear about the events you've described. Regardless of accuracy, your perception is what matters. I've researched these points and would be happy to discuss each in greater detail if you'd like to give me a call at (203) 794-7097. In closing, I am hoping you and your wife are enjoying the new vehicle. I want you to come here and use your maintenance and feel comfortable, at ease, and happy. I hope we can make amends in order to move forward happily.

March 04, 2018

"Best oil change experience"

- NotaJeepGirl

Went here for a free oil change. The representative Frank (chuck norris) was so friendly and funny that our hour wait felt like 20 minutes. He was honest and real and had us laughing our butts off the whole time. Should start mentioning him as a perk to getting your car serviced here. Great guy

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Frank
January 27, 2018

"Warranty repairs done right "

- Gryzbyx

I recently purchased a 2007 Cadillac CTS from Harte Used Car Super Center and was very happy with the experience. Due to the age of the car and the low price there was no warranty per se. After driving the car for a couple weeks I noticed a problem with the headlights. The high beams would come on at random and the right side headlights chose when they wanted to work. I reported this to Paul, the general manager and he assured me they would help. I spoke with Frank in service and he had me bring the car in. They replaced the headlight switch and re-aimed the headlights as well. Didn't cost me anything! Very pleased with the service provided by this dealership. I would definitely recommend checking with Harte Used Car Super Center if you are in the market for a good used car.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Paul, Frank
September 12, 2017

"Do not buy here, highly recommend buying at another dealer!!"

- Kev B

Extremely disappointed in my experience with Harte. I purchased a car and it's been nothing but problems ever since. I brought it back less than 2 weeks after purchase to have ABS issues inspected- was told everything was fine. Each time I go in for an oil change I tell them it's not running right/ lights are popping up. Today I bring it in for a diagnostic test and what do you know! Things they told me were "fine" 2 weeks in, now need to be repaired. They also tell me the underneath is totally rusted- maybe the service guy didn't realize I bought the car from them! Will be trading this piece of crap in and will not recommend them to anyone. It's places like this that gives used car centers a bad name.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jose and Iseia
November 11, 2016

"Excellent car buying experience "

- Frank P

Purchasing our '13 Nissan Altima from Harte family motors was an enjoyable experience. Staff was honest and friendly. Working with Jose Huertas was a true pleasure, he came through for us in every way and then some. Will highly recommend this dealer to anyone I know. A+.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jose Huertas
February 01, 2016

"Satisfied customer...."

- Montana021

I went to Harte Family Motors of Meriden, Ct and I walked in thinking the same old song. I've already been to a few dealerships with no true luck at all. As I strolled in, I was greeted by Jose Huertas, who, in my personal opinion was by far the most welcoming and down to earth salesman I've met thus far. As he showed me their cars in the price range I was looking for I was immediately interested. I drove out of the lot with much more than I expected. I would gladly recommend this dealership and most importantly the salesman to anyone looking for a reliable car. Thank me later...

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jose Huertas
January 19, 2016

"Best dealership around!!"

- Ashv87

I give Harte Family Motors 5 stars. I went to go look for a car to buy and so glad I came here! They have great cars at amazing prices, and the people who work there are awesome! I love my car and I would recommend this place to everyone!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jose
December 29, 2014

"excellent service!"

- jenni.trombley@gmail.com

Tucker and Paul were amazing.They worked so hard for me so I was able to get the car I needed. I will never shop anywhere else for a car and will refer them to anyone shopping around! Thanks again!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tucker and Paul
Jan 02, 2015 -

Harte Used Car Super Center responded

We're glad to hear that you were pleased with your experience at Harte Family Motors, Jenni! Customer satisfaction is very important to us, and it's great that Tucker and Paul were able to work with you and put you into the right car for your needs. Thanks for your recommendation! We look forward to working with you again in the future!

December 02, 2014

"Emissions repair"

- terminya

I came to this dealership for emissions testing which my car failed... A short few days later i returned to make an appointment... was told they charge to diagnose the problem & determine what steps would be needed to repair... When i arrived with my car i was told it could be 1 to 2 hrs to diagnose @ $ 125 per hr... The appointment time was 8 am of which i was there at least 20 min's early.. After having to sign for a 2 hr diagnostic, i was told they would call when they had figured out the problem or problems & got me a ride home... Just before 3 pm the service manager called me telling me that they might need another 4 hrs of diagnostic time again @ $ 125 per.. Tho my car is a 1997 Buick with less than 100,000 miles, i was told that with the cost of the diagnostics & unknown cost of the possible repairs ( i should figure to be spending any where between $ 1500 to maybe over $ 2000) just to pass the emissions... HE THEN TOLD ME " i HAVE A BEAUTIFUL 2006 BUICK LUCERN" for $ 6995 ( which on their website was listed for $ 6495 ) BUT he would talk to the dealership manager to see if he could get me a better deal than the $ 6995 BUT the manager wasn't there at the moment so he would call me back in about 1 hr... After thinking for about 10 min's,, I called back telling them to send their driver to come pick me up... When i arrived the service manager showed me the comments the mechanic had made which was nothing more than the same 2 error codes that the emmions test had already stated.... BUT again the service manager sugguested i talk to the Used car manager to run the numbers to get me into the said 2006 Buick.. Thats when the light in my head went off THAT ALL THEY WANTED was to sell me a used car ( which i could NOT afford) .. I then paid the $200 plus dollars for their lame diagnostics, took the paperwork they had & left... 3 days later i had an appointment at another State Approved Emissions test & repair shop & in less than 4 hrs and less than $ 400 they replace a bad EGR valve and air flow senser... They then re-tested the emissions which passed with flying colors... I now suggest that anyone that goes to the Harte Family motor's in Meriden, Ct. .. Be very VERY causious of what they want to charge you OR WHAT THEY WANT TO SELL YOU INSTEAD... p.s. Harte motors has jacked up the price of that Lucern back to $ 6995 again, as of this morning i seen it on their website... CAUTION CAUTION CAUTION !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service Manager
Dec 17, 2014 -

Harte Used Car Super Center responded

We're sorry to hear that you are dissatisfied with your experience of Harte Family Motors. Customer service is our top priority, and we would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your concerns with you in more detail. Please contact us at (203) 237-5561 at your convenience so that we can begin to investigate this matter. Thank you.

April 18, 2014

"The guys at Harte Family Motors are great!"

- abrinaschaaf

Working with Rafael M. and Joe G. at Harte Family Motors was an exceptional experience!! They couldn't be more friendly or helpful. They were very accommodating to our needs with what we were looking for! They answered every question we had and worked with us to get the best pricing available! The experience was worry free and they couldn't be more efficient with the services they offered. We bought a used car there, a 2010 Kia Forte Koup SX which we absolutely love!!!! The car was astonishingly spotless and in impressive condition! We would, without a doubt, definitely buy another vehicle from them and also refer them to our friends and family and anyone else looking to buy a car!!! John & Abrina Capobianco

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Joe Greco & Rafael Moochi
Apr 22, 2014 -

Harte Used Car Super Center responded

Providing an exceptional experience for you is very important to us at Harte Family Motors, Abrina and John. Our goal is to help you find exactly what you want in a vehicle at the best possible price. We’re glad you were satisfied with your purchasing experience with Rafael and Joe, and we look forward to working with you again. Thank you for your recommendation and positive feedback. Please let us know how we can help again in the future.

1
1 - 10 of 11 results