Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Hendrick Honda of Charleston

Charleston, SC

4.6
495 Reviews

1539 Savannah Highway

Charleston, SC

29407

Directions

495 Reviews of Hendrick Honda of Charleston

Sort by
June 02, 2021

"I bought a new Honda CRV and they were quick to work with..."

- AnnaRae

I bought a new Honda CRV and they were quick to work with another dealership to get the color I wanted. Also, the people I worked with at Honda were very accommodating and gave me plenty of information about the car, which was helpful! I would definitely buy a car from Honda again.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Sam Lattos
Jun 04, 2021 -

Hendrick Honda of Charleston responded

Annarae, we're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit.

April 28, 2021

"My brand new car 2021 HRV of 2 months broke down in the..."

- Sarah A

My brand new car 2021 HRV of 2 months broke down in the middle of HWY 17. Why did the car completely shut down? I would also love to know the answer. The service team never gave me a concrete explanation. As my car is coming to a stop on 17, I’m watching other cars in my rear view mirror getting closer, slamming on their brakes, & dodging my car to avoid a collision. Thank God, no one hit me or was hurt. But needless to say, I was extremely shaken up. All my trust with this car, is completely gone. I got my car to the shoulder & off the HWY. I had to wait for my fiancée to come help push the car off the shoulder & to a safer place while we waited for a tow truck. While waiting, I took pictures/videos of what the car was doing & the sounds it’s was making. This way I could provide hard evidence to Hendricks as to what was going on, instead of trying to explain it to them myself. The service tech called around 9AM (Weds) with Explanation # 1, The car is “perfectly fine” & drove it “no problem”. Me personally, having your car turn off on a HWY with less than 3,000 miles, is not “perfectly fine”. They said they had to run a few tests & would get back to me. I sent him the video & pictures as evidence. 11AM (Thurs), I got Explanation #2. I “put bad gas in the car”. If that is the case, be careful if you buy your gas at Costco. The tech said the service team ran the fuel pump & explained that my car has to have certain voltage. My car had high voltage which caused my car to suck air. The tech also said he would include a screen shot as to what was going on. They were almost certain this was the issue. I asked for a fuel sample but they were unable to get a gas sample because when my car was on the tow truck, the gas “mixed”, moved around, & was “contaminated”. Or I somehow water got in while I was washing my car. That made zero sense to me. They were willing to change the fuel pump; even though they believed mine was perfectly fine. I found recent articles stating that 2019 & 2020 HRVs are currently being recalled for bad fuel pump systems. 2PM (Thurs) with Explanation #3. Now, they think it was the gas reserve. They said my car was on empty when it arrived at the dealership. However, in my picture and video documentation I show my car had 3 bars of gas. The final explanation the service tech told me was, “Were not 100% sure what cause this. It’s all speculation.” This was not reassuring at all. In the end, I don’t have a definite answer as to why a brand new car stopped in the middle of the HWY. What really bothers me is that the car is a safety liability. Hendrick’s clearly demonstrated that they will not do the right thing to ensure the driver feels safe and confident in their vehicles. I work extremely hard to be able to have a reliable car. Every time I look at the car now, I am sickened knowing I have a hefty car payment for a vehicle I am not safe in, satisfied with, or confident driving. I toyed with the idea of trading for a new car. But if I did, my monthly payments would increase. Again, very disappointing since I have been a good customer. Earlier this year, I traded a car at Hendricks, bought a new car at Hendricks, and my Mom bought her new car last year. The right thing to do since the car was 2 months old, is to put me in a car of the same value & that I felt safe/confident in. As far as I am concerned, this car is a lemon & Hendrick’s doesn’t want to take the extra step to ensure the safety or satisfaction of their customers. It’s not justifiable that a “reputable” company’s solution (for loyal customers) is to pay more for a car, when their brand new vehicle shuts off with no explanation. All of this was completely out of my control. My last 3 cars were Hondas. It’s very clear the Hendricks does not value the safety of their customers. Their website states “they care about their customers” and they will “send you safely on your way”. These statements do not mirror my experience. Once my warranty expires, I highly doubt I will be back.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Not listed
Apr 29, 2021 -

Hendrick Honda of Charleston responded

Sarah A, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. At a time convenient for you, please contact Rick Feauve, Service Manager, 843-402-6434.

April 15, 2021

"We purchased a pre-owned car this week from Hendrick..."

- aadb

We purchased a pre-owned car this week from Hendrick Honda of Charleston. Our purchasing experience went fairly easily. The gentleman handling our paperwork was exceptionally thorough and friendly. Our sales person said all the right things at the time. There were some minor repairs to be made and one larger one. All of this was discussed during the negotiations. There was a hole in the leather seat which we were promised would be repaired. I asked what would happen if we were unsatisfied with the way any of the work was done as we had a prior purchase with a negative outcome from asking for repairs. We were told they would make it right if we were not completely satisfied and they did not half a—repairs(per our sales person.) To our surprise the car was ready far earlier than we were expecting. When my husband and son went to pick up the car ( which was for our son) the car looked great minus the seat repair. A leather patch was glued over the hole in the leather seat. At one point before we left the evening of purchasing/ final settlement- there had been discussion of redoing the whole bench seat. So, needless to say, I was shocked to see that the dealership would consider a patch a proper “repair.” I contacted our sales person immediately. He let me know that his sales manager said that we could return the car if we wanted because many others wanted the car as it was. They weren’t willing to put any more money into the car. When people agree to fix something or do other work- I expect that work to be completed honestly and completely. I could have glued a leather patch myself. However, because our son wanted the car badly enough, we came back offering 500.00 (of his own money) more than we did initially purely because it was so important to him. We could have taken the car and had the seat actually repaired elsewhere for the same cost. My son learned a valuable lesson about car purchases and we learned a lot about Hendrick’s integrity as a dealership. While we will utilize their service department because we prepaid for maintenance, we will not purchase another vehicle from them. We expect to be able to take people for their word and unfortunately, we were promised a repair and given a cheap fix. Sadly disappointed.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Name is not listed.
Apr 20, 2021 -

Hendrick Honda of Charleston responded

Aadb, thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one. Your feedback helps us improve, so thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did. If you are willing, please give our Used Car Manager, Andrew Plemmons, a call at (843) 571-6910 so we can discuss your experience further. We look forward to hearing from you.

April 12, 2021

"My daughter had been taking her CRV here for service..."

- bill

My daughter had been taking her CRV here for service warranty and non-warranty although the vehicle was purchased elsewhere. We are very pleased with the way they took care of her with a substantial computer warranty problem. Lo and behold, six months later, she was the unfortunate victim of a head on by a truck and due to the great safety design of the CRV she is alive to tell the tale. That brings us to the next chapter. She needed a car. Since the insurance companies leave you far short of replacement value, we had to car shop, this time for a late model, low mileage, well equipped CRV. Hendrick had a 2018 with low mileage. Matt Bateman our salesman did an excellent job and this car fits the bill. Bottom line, we could have gone elsewhere, even closer to the house but chose Hendrick because of the great treatment and service etc received on the original CRV. Ownerships and Managements commitment to the customer is evident and shows in their salespersons attitude toward the customer. I would recommend this dealership without reservation. .

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Matt Agosto
5.0
Apr 14, 2021 -

Hendrick Honda of Charleston responded

Bill, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Hendrick Honda of Charleston!

March 29, 2021

"Can’t say enough good things about Daniel (Aldrich) in..."

- nicoleapardini

Can’t say enough good things about Daniel (Aldrich) in sales! I stopped by the dealership a week ago not knowing I’d leave with a new car and lease, but Daniel made it happen for me! He got me in exactly what I wanted and I couldn’t be happier! It’s been a really great experience being with Honda for the past three years, honestly don’t know if I can ever see myself driving anything else! Service is always 100% so very happy! Thanks again Daniel and Honda of Charleston!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Daniel Aldrich
Mar 30, 2021 -

Hendrick Honda of Charleston responded

Nicoleapardini, thank you for the high star rating!

February 01, 2021

"Hendrick Honda and Glenn Waldroup went above and beyond..."

- Bwhitmore

Hendrick Honda and Glenn Waldroup went above and beyond to get me exactly what I wanted. Glenn wasn’t pushy at all and made buying the new car so painless I bought a second vehicle while I was there.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Sam Patel
5.0
Other Employees : Glenn Waldroup
Feb 02, 2021 -

Hendrick Honda of Charleston responded

Bwhitmore, thank you for sharing your positive experience with Glenn and Hendrick Honda of Charleston!

February 01, 2021

"Very pleased with the customer service and work performed..."

- Geebo

Very pleased with the customer service and work performed each and every time I visit. Best choice in my book for service repair in the Charleston area.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Gary Hamilton
5.0
Feb 02, 2021 -

Hendrick Honda of Charleston responded

Geebo, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Hendrick Honda of Charleston's Service Dept!

January 31, 2021

"We worked with Michelle Wise to purchase a 2019 Pilot...."

- JML

We worked with Michelle Wise to purchase a 2019 Pilot. She was helpful, professional, knowledgeable, and patient. She was also very attentive... even drying off the water drips leftover from detailing. If you’re in the market for a Honda, we definitely recommend making an appointment with Michelle!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Michelle Wise
Feb 01, 2021 -

Hendrick Honda of Charleston responded

Hello Jml, thank you; we appreciate your feedback!

January 29, 2021

"It was so easy to take my car in for an oil change. This..."

- fisherfjj

It was so easy to take my car in for an oil change. This service was done in a timely manner and the waiting room was clean and comfortable. Joe Luciano was very friendly and helpful.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Joe Luciano
Jan 31, 2021 -

Hendrick Honda of Charleston responded

Fisherfjj, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit with Joe and Hendrick Honda of Charleston's Service Dept! Have a great weekend!!

January 26, 2021

"My experience with any service through Hendrick Honda is..."

- carrva

My experience with any service through Hendrick Honda is always great! It's always quick and seamless! Great service and very friendly staff! Highly Recommend!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Marc Mounts
5.0
Jan 27, 2021 -

Hendrick Honda of Charleston responded

Carrva, we're glad you had such a wonderful experience with us!

1
...
1 - 10 of 495 results