About Us
Copyright 2018 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Hilltop Nissan

4.5

76 Lifetime Reviews

258 State Route 10, East Hanover, New Jersey 07936 Directions
Sales: (973) 887-5400

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

76 Reviews of Hilltop Nissan

Sort by Write a review
June 14, 2018

"Best service department"

- 3goldens

I cannot say enough good things about Bob Maggia and Hilltop's service department. They kept my 2008 Pathfinder running for 253,000 miles and were a major factor in my decision to stay with a Nissan product when I traded it in recently. Friendly, professional, honest; a winning combination!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Bob Maggia
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Al Cimirro
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
April 07, 2018

"Great experience "

- Lz42

I just bought a new rogue from Rocco and couldn’t be happier. It was my best experience ever buying a car. Thank you hilltop.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Rocco Cataldo
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
March 13, 2018

"Airbag Replacement"

- Mike

They took care of my problem quickly and were very polite. The representative, Tom Cardace, was excellent; he got the parts in extremely quick and was informative and knowledgeable.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tom Cardace
March 09, 2018

"Amazing service. Thanks Peter. "

- Nick56

Thank you Peter Surdi for being so outgoing and helping me get the exact car I wanted. Peter was so helpful in assisting me. Great and friendly atmosphere all around. Best dealership around. The service was excellent and the employees were caring. There is such a variety to choose from. I highly recommend everyone chooses this dealership!!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Peter Surdi
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
March 06, 2018

"Caveat Emptor"

- HarveyWB

Hmmm, I had read the 2 star reviews on several sites and was told by another Nissan sales rep to "be careful, they like to add things on". As I found out, they sure do! I really wanted to see and drive the "lightly used" (less than 3,100 miles), 2016 White Altima SV, so I went to the dealership and climbed into the car (it was unlocked) and I wasn't pestered by anybody, a few points to Hilltop for that. I went in, met Sammi, he took a copy of my license and said let's go. He seemed like a nice guy. No rush on the test drive, we drove a couple of miles, hooked a right, drove for another 1/2 mile or so took a couple of more rights and we were back at the dealership. The asking price was $15,995 and I figured another $1,800 for doc and sales tax; Sammy came in a bit high, went back to the offices, came back and it was $17,600, I signed and left a deposit, but since the car was for my wife, we had to come back Saturday. I was worried about the interest rate but we got right about what we qualified for through a local bank that they used, I gave them some points for that. We went to see the "Numbers Guy", who was polite, but I was expecting to get a slight to bad screwing and I wasn't disappointed. Final cost was $19,200 (with a double $295 charge for GAP Insurance, once on line 4D of the Retail Sales Agreement and again on the Motor Vehicle Retail order), based on my calculations, it should have been closer to $18,000 (including $189 License, $398 Doc Fees, $295 Gap Ins and Sales Tax); we took a $873 hit for a Nissan Ultimate Platinum Protection Plan that they "recommended" for damage coverage for wheels, tires, windshield patching, key replacement and paintless dent removal and the extra $295 Gap insurance. We had dickered for a while, I didn't consider it "high pressure" though, he made some adjustments here and there, but I knew that we weren't going to get out of there for much less than that. The car was certified to 4/4/2024 and 100,000 miles, only had 3,100 miles on it (leaving 32,900 and 25 months on the bumper to bumper warranty - I might buy an extension Nissan Plan from Santa Clara Nissan, they seem to have the best prices), and even though it was a "rental" (I think that they put 300 or so miles on it as a loaner, the balance of the mileage is listed as "personal lease" on Carfax), we were happy with the deal. Hilltop made their number and we made ours, so I'll give them 3 stars. The Gap Insurance at $295 was fair, at $590 it's a bit of a screw job but I've seen worse. My insurance company, NJM, doesn't offer it, but I'm glad they hit us with it, that $19,200 car is probably worth about $12,000 on a cash sale to a dealer today, maybe a bit more or a bit less. So, if you add the "double Gap" and the Platinum Plan to our $15,995, that would be $17,458 (plus tax, doc fees and license), that's probably what Car Gurus would consider a fair deal, right under their valuation of $17,669. So while I'm not disappointed, I'm not ecstatic either, but my wife is, she loves the car (so do I) and it fits within our budget. No regrets except for the double Gap, but that's life. Caveat Emptor (let the buyer beware).

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Sammi
October 23, 2017

"People aren't People Here"

- David Campanile

If I could give 0 stars I would. My father leased close to 10 cars from this dealership over 15 years. He loved them, but when my father passed away one month ago to the day, Nissan Corporate and Hilltop Nissan did not want to work with me at all.. My father passed away with 2 leased vehicles in his name. When I contacted corporate they asked me to supply documentation, a copy of the death certificate, in order to speak to me. I faxed it over and gave them 3 days before I called back to see if someone would speak with me. I contacted Nissan Corporate on Saturday 10/21/17 and I was told that they needed not only the death certificate, but also needed the will. They told me they never received the death certificate and to fax it again and the will was at the Surrogate's Court being probated. I told Nissan that I will be going to the dealership to see if someone would speak to me. When I got to the dealership, with both cars, I asked for the dealership's GM to see if he could help. I was told to speak to a person (would say gentleman here, but he was far from one) named Billy. I walked around the showroom for 5 minutes with a copy of my documentation (death certificate, account numbers, bills for the lease, power of attorney) and I stumbled into an office where a man was sitting. I asked if BIlly was there and he goes "I'm Billy what do you need." I explained my situation and just wanted to speak to someone about making this right. I wanted to give the cars back. I actually wanted to keep one of the cars or lease a new vehicle from them because they always treated my father with respect. Billy had an air about him that he was better than everyone else in the world and he could do no wrong. He told me that he was "Not Nissan" and that he was "Hilltop Nissan." They have no affiliation. I thought he would understand that a 28 year old just lost his father suddenly and unexpected and would try to help. I was completely wrong, because he decided to continue to yell at me in the middle of the showroom that there was nothing he could do. All I got was attitude from this person. It was obvious he was more concerned with selling cars and being a metal pusher than having a heart and treating people like a person. Eventually, after a 10 minute argument in front of customers he took the cars back. I will never recommend this dealership to anyone ever. If you are comfortable being treated as a number and a dollar sign this is the place for you. If you want to be treated as a person and develop a relationship I am warning you now, go somewhere else. I will never go to this dealership again. They need to go to a customer service class and maybe need to do some sort of training on how to treat customers.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Billy (General Manager)
June 26, 2017

"Excellent service & work, very helpful."

- Eagles Fan

They make it easier for me & my wife to work , we both work in NYC, knowledgeable on the product, very friendly, and always ready to work with my family. We have bought three vehicles from Hiltop Nissan.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Bob Maggia
Anthony Molinari
June 06, 2017

"Good Experience "

- Skott31

Just bought my 4rth Nissan from this dealer.......Tony gave me an excellent experience......no haggling no back and forth......I told him what I can afford a month and I was walking out with a car in 2.5 hours start to finish.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tony Rose
April 03, 2017

"Wonderful dealer. "

- James S

Just bought a new Rogue from Hilltop Nissan. Tony Rose the salesman was awesome. He was very knowledgable and so friendly. Buying a car was never so easy and so much fun. I would recommend Hilltop Nissan to anyone looking to buy a Nissan.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tony Rose
November 03, 2016

"Peter Surdi an excellent consultant!!!!!!"

- Kathy C

Our experience was exceptionally good. All the people we met there was nice and professional, it was a pleasant experience for us to be there. We bough the right car for my mother in law - she is extremely happy with her 2015 Nissan Rogue. Mr. Peter you are polite, patient, professional and an excellent consultant!!!! Thank you so much for everything! When the 1st baby come...We will be back to buy the newest Nissan pathfinder!!!!! Thank you again!!!! Kathy C

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Peter Surdi
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
1
...
1 - 10 of 76 results