Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Jack Taylor's Alexandria Toyota

Alexandria, VA

4.3
439 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

3750 Jefferson Davis Highway

Alexandria, VA

22305

Directions

439 Reviews of Jack Taylor's Alexandria Toyota

Sort by Write a review
September 21, 2007

"The check engine light on my Toyota Sienna came on. I..."

- mazmi

The check engine light on my Toyota Sienna came on. I took the van to a Sunoco gas station near my house. They checked the computer and diagnosed that the oxygen sensors were defective. I asked them to fix it. I left the van there overnight. They replaced the front sensors and told me that they could not get the other sensor out. They did not have the proper tools to do the job. I took the van to Fairfax Toyota and explained what happened (third day). The first thing I heard "big Money". I asked how big, the sales man said “big big big .” On top of all, they had to do their own diagnosis which was another $115.00, otherwise they would not accept the job. The salesman told me that it may not be the oxygen sensor, and could be other things..., and kept repeating "big money". I asked them to do the diagnosis and give me a repair estimate before fixing it. I left the van there overnight. The next day (4th day) I received a call from Fairfax Toyota. I was told that the exhust manifold was cracked, the oxygen sensor is damaged, and there may be other problems as well. I asked how much was the damage? I was told: “a minimum of $1,800.00 for replacing the one manifold, installing a new oxygen sensor and resetting the computer”. I called the first gas station and asked them if the manifold was cracked. I was told: “no way a cracked manifold makes a loud noise and your van did not make any noise”. The gas station mechanic told me that the dealer’s mechanic did not know what he was talking about.’ I asked the mechanic how much did it cost to replace the manifold. I was told by the mechanic around $100 to $200 for the manifold and $$20 to $50 for washers, other parts and $200 for replacement, $500 max. Since I did not trust the gas station and Fairfax Toyota, I started calling around. All other dealerships in the northen Virginia gave me a quote for doing the sane job between $700 to $900. Two dealerships service representatives, Alexandria and Arlington told me that they could salvage the manifold and it may cost less to fix the car. I called Fairfax Toyota and talked to the dealership service manager and asked him why it costed so much to replace a manifold. I asked for a break down of cost. He said the parts are around $300 and the repair costs $1,500. He said that it was a very tough job.” At any rate, I took my car in the evening from Fairfax and paid the $115 for diagnosis. I took the van to the Alexandria Toyota because it was close to my work (4th day). Elliot, the service representative took care of the problem. The next day (5th day) he said that they salvaged the manifold and I only paid around $530.00. I picked up the van and engine light is gone. I would like to urge all Toyota owners to check the rates at other dealerships before doing business with Ourisman Fairfax Toyota. Talk with Elliot too (703)778-3808. I was planning to buy a new car from Ourisman,in fact I had discussed it with one of their sales representatives. But now I have decided not to do business with them again even though they are only 1.5 miles from my house. In fact, I am planning to ask for reimbursement for their incorrect diagnosis of the problem with my van. The manifold was not cracked. My wife and I are planning to replace our cars with two new cars, most likely Toyota. First I will check with Alexandria Toyota (which is 25 miles from my house) and Arlington Toyota, because all cars need service some day and everyone expects to be treated professional and honestly.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Elliot Abascal
August 01, 2007

"For the second time in as many trips, I have broughy my 4..."

- geconkl

For the second time in as many trips, I have broughy my 4 Runner in for simple service and left with a flat tire which then causes me to have to call up and complain after the fact to get them to replace the tire for free. It is a real inconvenience to have to deal with this the day after I get home from having an oil change done. When I called this most recent time to complain, they were pretty certain of exactly how it got damaged and subsequently flat; driving them in the service bays and cutting corners too tightly...happen much?

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
July 11, 2007

"First thing is that since I purchased my Toyota Prius in..."

- eclmn

First thing is that since I purchased my Toyota Prius in 2004 and my daughter’s 2004 Corolla the feeling was GREAT, but a year later when I started taking my Prius in for server things got TERRIBLE. Just to mention my last five visits. Also excuse the writing, but I get very angry when I think about my experience at Alexandria Toyota Service and I will not use the word Service because it is not appropriate to use with this dealership. One visit left me with a blown computer system and they couldn’t give me another Prius to use while mine was being repaired due to their negligence. Another visit they scratched up my Prius on both driver and passenger doors. Another visit they tried to charge me for an oil change that they did now do, although they were supposed to do the oil change. Another visit they failed to rotate my tires even after I presented the coupon for the summer or winter tire service. Another visit I was at the dealership for over 4 hours, only to learn that they misplaced my car and I had to physically identify my car and still had to wait until they completed half-ass work on it. The most recent is, now understand, I’m particular with my Prius and I stupidly think that a Toyota dealership is the only place that can expertly service my car. WRONG! I get oil changes and all the 30,000; etc type services, but behold my car goes dead, no power. I called the service center for instructions on how to jump my car, only to find out later that I should not jump my car from under the hood for this situation. Luckily I did not blow out my Hybrid system. Anyway, my car is tolled to the dealership with my windows down slightly. My car was tolled about 10:00am and it rained like hell about 3:30pm. Well you know what happed, for two days I communicated with the dealership about my car being totally dead. Well they serviced my car knowing it was completely soaked inside and returned it to me like I should have rolled the windows up. Hello, for two days I told you my Prius was totally dead and I would be having it tolled to you. Be the supposedly top notch service dealership in the area, you would think it would have been inside or an attempt to at lease clean it up before I came to pick it up. Well to make a long story short, the manager indicates that people make mistakes, yes they do, but I’m a long standing customer and the LEASE they could have did was attempt to dry my car up a little. So the manger had me come in the next morning after a night of closed windows and who knows what. He indicates to me they have a machine that will sit in the car and dry out all the moisture. I come pick up my car and it is in the front of the dealership. I get in my car and the air conditioner come one; I don’t normally use my air due to the gas mileage. When I do us the gas I have it on 2 – 3 degrees lower that the car temperature. Well it’s sitting at 65 and my battery level is at 2 yellow bars. Do the math. You would think they would have the intelligence to at least attempt to put the temperature back to what I had it and turn the air off, I probably would not have noticed. Well I can go on and on, but why bother service sucks.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
W. C. Hazzard
May 13, 2007

"After being slimed by the sales staff at Ourisman Toyota..."

- timbutka9

After being slimed by the sales staff at Ourisman Toyota in Chantilly, I call the internet sales department at Alexandria and went from a straight, no BS call in the afternoon to driving out a new car that night - about as painless as a transaction could get.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
February 25, 2007

"I went to this dealer to fix rough idle. They told me..."

- Rexmager

I went to this dealer to fix rough idle. They told me that repairs will cost $3000. I told them to wait; after all, putting 3K into a car that costs now about $1,500 is senseless. I said I'd consider an option to buy a car from them and ask them not to repair the car. They said, but we have already opened the motor. Their solution: they put the motor back together and keep the car; they will roll over the cost of repair into the new car loan; they will also sell me a car with their "incredibly low" 8% financing. THEY HAD ME PINNED DOWN GOOD... practically helpless. This is called "integrity."

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Bob Smith
September 05, 2006

"After more than 20 years as Ourisman Toyota customers, we..."

- OrangeBlossom

After more than 20 years as Ourisman Toyota customers, we switched...and we're happy we did. We were in the market for a 2007 Camry XLE. Our first stop was Ourisman. While the salesman we have used in the past was generally friendly, the overall buying experience was awful...willingness to locate vehicles, price, general assistance. Therefore, we ended up buying from Alexandria Toyota. The price was $2000-2500 less than Ourisman and the trade-in allowance Alexandria Toyota gave us was better. Jim Brotherton (their Internet guy) was very nice to work with. There was no quibbling about price...the price I was quoted on the phone for a newly arrived vehicle identical to one just purchased out from under us via the Internet, was the price we paid...just a few hundred dollars over invoice (and I did my homework before we bought the car, so I know the price we got was a great price). Jim attended to every detail (including questions and added requests) quickly and pleasantly. While I can't speak to after-purchase care and service, I really think that whole experience of buying at Alexandria Toyota was truly wonderful!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jim Brotherton, Frank, Oliver
June 26, 2006

"Went through this website to buy my car from Jim. But now..."

- NK03

Went through this website to buy my car from Jim. But now I realize the earlier feedbacks were posted by himself. Though he is internet sales manager but never replied back to my emails. I had to get in touch with the general sales manager to receive reply from him. The general sales manager was kind enough to reply first time but didn't hear back from him second time. During sales process, Jim was an okay sales man. But what I did not expect was below average post sales customer service which tells that you'll be forgotten as soon as you buy your car from them. I had a vehicle from Pohanka earlier. They were much much better in their customer service...Alexandria Toyota could probably take few tips from them...

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jim Brotherton
March 31, 2006

"I would echo the comments of the other reviewer about Jim..."

- adriennepratt

I would echo the comments of the other reviewer about Jim Brotherton. I can't say enough good things about him. Finance guys didn't seem quite so friendly but one of them we kept there late at night, so it was only to be expected! We went to see the Scion XA, which is about as low cost a car as you can find, yet he spent a lot of time with us driving around and there was no pressure at all (first car, we were terrified of high pressure techniques). We never felt like "cheap clients". After a lot of humming and hawing, and no prompting from him whatsoever, we ended up buying a Prius off the lot. I hate to think how much time he spent with us in that car (well past closing time on one day), and like the other guy said, he gave us the best price he possibly could (bearing in mind there is just not much flexibility on the Prius at the moment). Really great, genial, honest guy, an asset to the dealership, and I would recommend him to anyone.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jim Brotherton
January 27, 2006

"I bought a Scion XA from this dealership. The day walked..."

- olra

I bought a Scion XA from this dealership. The day walked into the dealership they didn't have the color (silver) of the vehicle I wanted. Left a deposit and gave the salesman (Eric) two weeks to find me one. He was very friendly and professional. A few days later he called me back to tell me about the progress he was making in tracing the vehicle I wanted. Long before the deadline was over, he called me again to let me know that he finally was able to locate and obtain the car. The rest was quick and easy. Spent 15-20 minutes at the finance department and about 30 minutes with Eric who explained to me the various features of the vehicle. No high-pressure sales. Professional and friendly service. A top-notch dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Eric Chilutyan
...
44
431 - 439 of 439 results