Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

James Chevrolet of Johnstown

4.0

206 Lifetime Reviews

108 South Comrie Avenue, Johnstown, New York 12095 Directions
Call (518) 762-5555

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

206 Reviews of James Chevrolet of Johnstown

Sort by Write a review
November 18, 2019

"Son's first vehicle"

- PZ

Went with my son to help him purchase his first vehicle. My wife and I have dealt with Toby in the past to purchase or lease 4 different vehicles and once again had a great experience with him and the General Manager, George. Toby is extremely knowledgeable and honest about all the vehicles. He provided my son with the right guidance to get him in the vehicle he wanted along with a tremendous price. In addition, he taught my son a number of things along the way that will be sure to help my son the next time he buys a vehicle. I am sure he will go back to Toby and James Chevrolet. We highly recommend Toby and this dealership to everyone we know.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Toby and George
August 20, 2019

"waiting for tail lights"

- kathykitty

It has been over 6 weeks now since I had 2 new tail lights ordered. They somehow mysteriously got cracked when my bumper was put on, but no one knows how!! All I have been told is that they are on backorder. Don't you think they could be ordered from a more reliable parts service!! I am getting the complete run around! I am also getting a little fed up!! I just want the taillights fixed, and I certainly am not going to fork over the money since it was the dealership that screwed up!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jeffrey Darrach, Mark Mancini
May 02, 2019

"best dealership ever"

- kathykitty

Today, I purchased a car from Jeffrey. I really wasn’t looking for another car, but I learned that my good friend had turned her car in as a trade-in. Jeffrey was the nicest salesman that I have ever met. He was not pushy like most salesman’s are and very easy to talk to. He tried his best to give me a good deal and succeeded. This is the second car that I have purchased from James Chevrolet, and I don’t plan on going to any other dealership. The service is great too.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jeffrey Darrach
February 17, 2019

"Best Dealer "

- Doughboy1263

I was so impressed and happy with the effort and kindness that Mr Jeffrey Darrach showed us he fought with every bone in his body to make this sale possible. Never have I met such a great and positive dealer in my life and I have bought 5 Vehicles in my lifetime. And very patient. Ty Jeffery Darrach.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jeffery Darrach.
February 07, 2019

"Great job for the new guy"

- Chevytruck

Very down to earth guy and so glad he rechecked the mileage on the truck. Very happy and would recommend him to everyone we know!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mike johnson
February 06, 2019

"Not satisfied "

- Chrys

Never received a owners manual requested numerous, they switched out the tires after purchase said gave me extended warrantee but tacked it into price plus found out they had me take care b4 approved to make a quota then changed my terms to longer & price of car, so total financed & doubled. Not trust worth, never again b their patsy

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
N/A
January 25, 2019

"Went above and beyond"

- Elizabeth69

I dealt with Mike Johnson. great person to deal with. They were honest, gave me a great deal...very happy with my 2018 Chevy Malibu....TY

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mike Johnson
October 18, 2018

"happy camper"

- happy camper

Had a great buying experience from this dealer. Would recommend Toby to anyone stopping in - he's a no bull crap guy that genuinely wants to get you what you're looking for. That being said, excellent service. You've got to remember when buying a car from any dealer- its a business... they have to make money as well. However, they are very willing to work with prices. Previously bought a car from Fuccillo, big mistake. Was way over priced and they left us in the dirt after selling. Learned a lot from the experience and was very pleasantly surprised with James Chevrolet letting you know the entire history of used cars, as well as recalls and all that good stuff. Great place, great staff.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Toby
October 16, 2018

"Great customer service! "

- Chevy girl

I had visited three or four dealerships before going to James and I wish I wouldn’t of wasted my time with the other dealerships! Rickie went out of her way to make sure I was happy and I received everything I was looking for and more!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Rickie
October 16, 2018

"ShadyBusinessPractices"

- ScrewJamesChevy

I would give negative stars if possible..... Funny how salesman see a woman come in by themselves and think they can pull one over on them (luckily she's an intelligent woman). How are you going to offer $13,000 on a trade and then try to sell a car that's worth maybe $18,000 for $27,000? So really you are only giving $4,000 for the trade, you think you're real slick don't you? Not this time!!! Better yet next offer was $13,000 for the trade and the bank wanted $10,000 down to finance a car that's only worth $18,000, that's funny, simple math, $18,000 - ($13,000 + $10,000) = $18,000 - $23,000 = $5,000 over the value of the car, so why would she be financing anything at all? Even with sales tax and a generous $500 for miscellaneous fees that's still only a total of $19,760 which STILL leaves over $3,000 over the total, so again what exactly would need to be financed? She should be walking out the door with NO payments with $13,000 for the trade and $10,000 down (not to mention she should be leaving in a "much nicer and newer vehicle"-James Chevrolet of Johnstown). Forget that, the fact that you're trying to doctor the price of the car you're selling to recoup the amount you're "offering" for the trade plus the fact that you're trying to sell a 4 year old car with 40,000 miles on it for $5,000 more than every other dealer is selling the BRAND NEW version with NO MILES on it guarantees we will never do business with you and will also guarantee everyone we know and everyone they know will never do business with you either. Very very BAD business James Chevrolet of Johnstown!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Justin
1
...
1 - 10 of 206 results