Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Karl Malone Toyota

Draper, UT

2.8
290 Reviews

11453 South Lone Peak Parkway

Draper, UT

84020

Directions

290 Reviews of Karl Malone Toyota

Sort by
September 01, 2021

"TL;DR - Go somewhere else if you want to be treated like..."

- Kaniho

TL;DR - Go somewhere else if you want to be treated like your business is valued. My sales rep was great, (Diego Urbenja) the manager (JD Larson) was aggressive and condescending, told me he didn't need me to sell the car and wouldn't work with me. Next day two dealerships matched his offer and they still haven't sold the car I went in to look at. 8/30/21 - I went in to test drive a Camry, my car is fine so I'm in no rush to switch vehicles. Turns out an old colleague from a previous job works there so I get paired with him (Diego Urbenja, if you ignore my advice and go here ask for him because he was great. Not pushy and listened to what I wanted and was patient in presenting options, overall great interaction.) After test driving, running some numbers etc. I was actually ready to buy the vehicle. Offer was sticker price + Toyota dealer rebate, tint comped, we were ready to go but because I wasn't planning to buy the day I walked in I had not done enough research to feel comfortable pulling the trigger same day and told them I would put down $1,000 to have them hold it until I had time to call around the next day and do my due diligence. At this point I get pulled into a room with JD Larson. I don't know if it was a bad day or had to do with the fact that I'm a tattooed gym rat (He was wearing BYU attire so it could be the stereotypical Utah judgement I frequently receive) regardless, he was immediately aggressive in tone asking why I wouldn't take the deal. I explained I've been in sales for a decade and I wouldn't make a decision without due diligence just the same as my clientele. He proceeds to tell me that he doesn't need me to sell the car, it will sell itself because of the current market and that they have everyone starting an hour early tomorrow (end of month) so they can't hold the car. Honestly if it was politely explained as too much of a business risk I would understand but he repeatedly told me that he didn't need me and the car would sell without me. Stating that if I ask around I MAY get $500 off but that was it and if it would make the difference he'd do that for me, then telling me that inevitably people who shop around call a few shops and then give up at the second place and take whatever deal that dealership is offering. At this point I tell him that I get it but I simply won't make a decision without calling a few places but I'm willing to up the downpayment and have a deadline of say noon or even 10 am to show that I'm serious but also to not impede their sales potential. Long story short, he was curt and abrasive the entire conversation, and effectively refused to work with me stating over and over that they will sell the car and that I can roll the dice but he won't work with me. I've called several dealerships, two of them offered to match the exact same offer and actually treated me like they wanted my business so they will be the ones getting my business for this Camry and the RX350 I'm planning to buy this fall. They also didn't sell any of the 3 Camry's they had on the lot even with an end of month rush.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
JD Larson
1.0
August 28, 2021

"Two months ago I took my car to this dealer for a tune-up..."

- don

Two months ago I took my car to this dealer for a tune-up and full service asking for all fluids to be checked and serviced, and I paid almost $1,000. My car broke down today and I was shocked to learn that the engine oil is practically gone. I called the dealer because my car normally needs an oil change every 10,000 miles, not 1,000 miles. Danial (service manager at Karl Malone Toyota) sought to blame the owner for not changing the oil in the last service. He became defensive, tried to shift the responsibility for their mistake by playing a blaming game. He knows darn well that I paid big money for his dealership to do the tuneup, change all the parts, and check my car thoroughly to extend the life of the car. Daniel asked me to tow my car to the dealership, and again, refused to pay for towing cost. They checked my car, and changed the oil, and charged me $82 to change the darn oil that only cost around $55 at Toyota Bountiful. The thing that made me angrier is the way I was treated by Daniel and Scott in the service department. I want to let all of you know, so you won't fall into their trap as I did. Go someplace else to buy your next car, go someplace else to get your car serviced. I don't care if I have to drive to Provo or Ogden to get my next Toyota even though I live 15 minutes away from this dealership. When I picked up my car, it's was not washed and very dirty. They did not sanitize my car either. This dealership is very bad and unprofessional. Also, the finance manager at this dealership is pretty mean and rude, and he will treat you like crap if you disagree with him.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Scott Sobczak
1.0
Other Employees : Daniel Service manager, Scott Sobczak, Ty
August 26, 2021

"Do not deal with this xxx toyota dealer. Scott lunged at..."

- nevdman

Do not deal with this xxx toyota dealer. Scott lunged at me to cause bodily harm because I wrote a non-satisfied review previously. Nathan Parker had to hold him back. It is sad because they all sided with this xxx Scott. He needs to be fired. I sure hope this gets back to Karl Malone. We will not step into this dealership ever again. So unprofessional. It is sad because I have dealt with Blenda and Nathan for years. I have bought so many vehicles there for my family. I now have sold my Toyota Tundra and have bought a Chevy. These people have no clue on how to be by your side in customer service. It is so sad. Even their PR chick turned out to be a total B?.':! DO NOT DEAL WITH THIS DEALERSHIP. THERE ARE OTHER TOYOTA DEALERSHIPS THAT CARE FOR YOU UNLIKE THIS ONE.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
SCOTT in SERVICE
June 11, 2021

"If you look at the reviews of this dealer, you will..."

- Anonymous

If you look at the reviews of this dealer, you will notice that a lot of people saying they were deceived or tricked in one fashion or another. Dishonesty is a common theme. Being tricked into signing up for services people don't want is also common. This has been my experience as well. I am saddened by their lack of integrity and ethical business practices. If you are reading this, please look at the evidence presented by these reviews and ask yourself if you really want to work with a company that does this.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Tish Dyphibane
1.0
Jun 14, 2021 -

Karl Malone Toyota responded

Anonymous, we sure would love to know more about your experience. Can you please reach out to our Customer Relations Manager Amy Hind at 801-5535823. Thank you!

May 31, 2021

"If you buy from them they are great guys but get..."

- None

If you buy from them they are great guys but get EVERYTHING in writing. Read every word before you sign. Great guys doesn’t mean they do everything they say.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Aaron Clark
Jun 01, 2021 -

Karl Malone Toyota responded

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We would like to talk with you and get some more information to look into this. Can you please reach out to our Customer Relations Manager Amy Hind at 801-553-5823 or at ahind@gomalone.com. Thank you!

May 08, 2021

"Don't come here. Save yourself the trouble. The good..."

- kjon7814

Don't come here. Save yourself the trouble. The good reviews are coming from those who got better salesmen, likely ones who were better at lying and making customers feel like they were getting a deal. If you don't want to read this review just know that like many other car dealerships this one does not value honesty or taking care of their customers. Our salesman (who went by T, pretty sure his last name is Nguyen) blatantly misquoted the mileage on a used truck by nearly 15,000. When addressed he brushed this off as though it was no big deal. On top of that when we went to sign the paperwork the agreed trade-in price was about $200 off. Truck bed was severely scratched (was previously used as a work truck) and we had to talk him into giving us a bed liner - which of course had to be scheduled for a later date. The interior of the truck was a mess when it was shown to us (couldn't be detailed and picked up until the next day) and the detailing job was not adequate. There were still random items and crumbs behind and between the back seats of the truck. Some of the interior plastic pieces between the doors were very dirty with black handprints. The key fob to the truck does not work at all and despite buying it over one month ago this has yet to be resolved. We were also initially told that we'd have to pay thousands of dollars to get this fixed. Luckily someone else stepped in (NOT the salesman) to say we should not have to pay for this. Again this place does not care about their customers. They may comment on their bad reviews, apologizing and saying they'd like to discuss things, but the reality is they've already made the sale and nothing is actually going to be done. They've gotten what they want and will continue to be dishonest/negligent because they get away with it.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
T. Nguyen
April 23, 2021

"We have had a complicated situation in our car repairs...."

- rdahrens

We have had a complicated situation in our car repairs. The repair department and the body shop have been kind and helpful beyond measure. thanks

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Carl, Laef
Apr 28, 2021 -

Karl Malone Toyota responded

Thank you for your kind review! We appreciate you letting us know that our staff took great care of you. Please let us know if you should need anything else!

March 11, 2021

"This dealership has the worst customer service , I had..."

- Ahmad

This dealership has the worst customer service , I had appointment with the guy that his name Clark, I showed up at dealership and ask for the guy at front desk, he didn’t show up and we had to wait 10 minutes and ask for him again, they page him and another guy come out after 15 minutes and said he is busy and can not help you guys, the other didn’t even offer the help and I ask for their manager , nobody showed up and nobody even say sorry to us, i told them if he been busy he could at least call or text us, so we don’t go there for nothing.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Clark
Mar 15, 2021 -

Karl Malone Toyota responded

Ahmad, we apologize for the wait for Aaron while you were here. We sure wish we could have worked this out and could have taken great care of you on a purchase of a new vehicle. We would really love to help you if you are still in the market.

Mar 15, 2021 -

Karl Malone Toyota responded

Ahmad, we apologize for the wait for Aaron while you were here. We sure wish we could have worked this out and could have taken great care of you on a purchase of a new vehicle. We would really love to help you if you are still in the market.

March 10, 2021

"ATTN: KARL MALONE!!!!!!! I sold my Tundra. I bought a..."

- nevdman

ATTN: KARL MALONE!!!!!!! I sold my Tundra. I bought a Silverado. You have an employee named Chris in service that yelled at me, was very unprofessional, and he even lunged at me to cause bodily harm. Nathan had to hold him back. Me, my family, and all my friends will not step foot in your facility again until he is fired. You have some pretty bad employees working for you. Amy has even been a total B*&*(*(&%^& as well. I will make sure everyone knows what xxx employees you have working here like CHRIS & AMY!!!! I thought you should know. You even have proof of what Chris did to me on camera. Have a look. I am also talking to my father attorney about the incident.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
CHRIS & AMY NEED TO BE FIRED
February 20, 2021

"This dealership has the worst service/maintenance shop..."

- Jacob

This dealership has the worst service/maintenance shop I’ve ever been too. I brought my 2020 Tacoma in because my driver window fell off the track, that should be fully under warranty because my truck is only 8 months old!! The idiot “mechanic” told me that I pulled my door apart and bent the window regulator myself?!?! Why in the H**L would I break my own truck?? I’m guessing the part was bent when I tried to roll my window back up after it fell off the track driving down a highway!!! And then the SOB!! Told me he could order me the part for $480!!!! When I can get it at any part store or online for $45 to $65.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Tish Dyphibane
1.0
Ryan May
1.0
Joshua Scarbrough
1.0
Scott Sobczak
1.0
Feb 22, 2021 -

Karl Malone Toyota responded

Jacob, we see that you were not happy with your experience with us. We would like to look into this and need some more information. Can you please email our Customer Relations Manager Amy Hind at ahind@gomalone.com with your info and vehicle vin number please. We look forward to haring from you!

1
...
1 - 10 of 290 results