Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

Kearny Mesa Chevrolet

4.7

333 Lifetime Reviews

7978 Balboa Ave, San Diego, California 92111 Directions
Call (858) 223-1699

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

333 Reviews of Kearny Mesa Chevrolet

Sort by Write a review
November 04, 2019

"Kearny Mesa Chevrolet is one of a kind. They listen to..."

- Karen

Kearny Mesa Chevrolet is one of a kind. They listen to your needs. They have great slections with lots of options. They are a people first and family style dealership. It was a pleasure working with Kearny Mesa Chevrolet!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
David everson, Michel
Nov 05, 2019 -

Kearny Mesa Chevrolet responded

Karen, Thank you for choosing Kearny Mesa Chevrolet! We pleased to hear you had a pleasant visit with us and how wonderful our staff treated you.

October 31, 2019

"We bought a car that we could not see and we were told..."

- Rothchild

We bought a car that we could not see and we were told that it was a non smoker, had a 240v level 2 charger, and no scratches, this was not true. We spend over 20k based on the sales persons word and he unfortunately was not telling us the truth. The car smells like smoke from the AC, scratches throughout and it takes 12 hours to charge which makes it as expensive as gas with SDGE with only a price break for 6 hours a night. Once you pay them it’s impossible to get a call back and they ignore you when you stop in. This was a horrible experience.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jesse Kennedy
1.0
Justin Ranciglio
1.0
Joe Virachack
5.0
October 25, 2019

"Horrible customer service. Service you vehicle elsewhere"

- MAC

Had my car dropped off a the dealer last Friday for transmission repair (under warranty). Have not heard a peep from their service department for a week letting me know what is the problem and when can I expect my car back. Called a couple of time to inquire the status and all they could tell me is that they need to take apart the transmission and evaluate it. The was exactly the same statement they gave me the day I dropped off the car. A week later I left the service manager several messages to call me and provide me with a status. Have not heard from him either. The only reason I took the car there is because the transmission is under warranty. I recommend if you have a choice for car service and repair, Kearny Mesa Chevrolet should not be you first choice.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Unkown
Nov 01, 2019 -

Kearny Mesa Chevrolet responded

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for the inconvenience. Please contact John Segal, our General Manager at jsegal@kmchevrolet.com to check on the status of your vehicle.

October 05, 2019

"Hmmm, how do I even start? If you want to have the..."

- Diego

Hmmm, how do I even start? If you want to have the experience we had here at “Jimmy Johnson Chevrolet” now “Kearny Mesa Chevrolet” don’t come here (see Photos)GO SOMEWHERE ELSE!!! Purchased a 2019 Silverado from these guys on September 21st. Sales man: Anthony Alvarez. After I made my purchase the very next morning the engine light turned on (Well there goes the buying a new car experience) and took it in right away. Manager said, “it might be the gas cap?” Wait, the Silverado doesn’t come with a gas cap. I was given a loaner car so they could do a diagnose on the truck and left it there. Drove the loaner truck to Murrieta. Got a call the next evening saying that there was a failure on the battery cable and it was sending the wrong codes, but they had fixed it. So I got off work early and drove down (from Murrieta) to pick up the truck. Mr. Alvarez asked if there was anything they can do for the inconvenience etc. I said, “Yes, I’ll Take the all weather floor liners,” because I didn’t want the cheap floor mats that truck came with.” Was informes that they will get shipped to my house in Murrieta. GUESS WHAT? I got sent the same EXACT ones that the truck already had. Now, trying to get them replaced for the ones I wanted etc has been a hassle. They want me to pay for the shipping or DRIVE BACK down (1 hour) and drop them off because the $27 to ship back is to “expensive” for them. Wow, I didn’t know Chevrolet was that poor! I called Anthony several times and he stated that he will call me back when they received the liners. It’s been 2 1/2 weeks and he hasn’t called back. I talked to his manager “joe” and he agreed to send me the floor liners etc. Still waiting. I then talked to Mr. Alvarez again and said that he can’t do anything yet because they’re now “Kearny Mesa Chevrolet” and not “Jimmy Johnson Chevrolet” and he can’t order parts that he promised. Called several times to get this fixed and they were always busy. I get it, they can be busy but I always left a message with the receptionist etc and I never got a call back from sales man Anthony Alvarez or Joe. Now, I wonder if GM John Segal knows about this? Or he might know about the promises his employees give and never come through. I should’ve looked at the Yelp and BBB reviews before I drove down here. I should’ve paid more for the vehicle in Temecula in order to avoid these hassle. Again, GO SOMEWHERE ELSE!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Anthony (Tony) Alvarez
1.0
August 27, 2019

"Best in Class Service! "

- DEE

I drove 365 miles to make my purchase at this store! Exceptional service and friendly atmosphere! Francisco and Ross were both flawless in their execution and very efficient. Special recognition to Ronald Roll for being a good sounding board and thorough with answering ALL my questions on my very first lease.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Francisco Frausto
5.0
Ross Murphy
5.0
Other Employees : Ronald Roll
Aug 30, 2019 -

Kearny Mesa Chevrolet responded

Dee, we're so glad that we were able to go above and beyond your expectations! Thank you so very much for allowing our dealership to earn your first Chevy lease from such a distance! We KNOW there are options considering the 365 miles travel to meet with teammates, Francisco, Ross and Ronald. We appreciate allowing our team the chance to be a part of your Chevy ownership and lease experience, this says so much about the commitment to excellence that Jimmie Johnson's Kearny Mesa Chevy provides to our guests. Chances are we may not get to see you when it comes time for routine maintenance but should you ever be in the area, please feel free to stop by! Congratulations on your new Chevy truck! Regards, Adam Toy Social Media Coordinator Jimmie Johnson's Kearny Mesa Chevy

August 23, 2019

"Excellence "

- ionmony

I want to thank Francisco Frausto, Jessie Kennedy and most importantly Jorge Bustamante for the exceptional manner in which they handle my purchase and ultimate finance. It was a pleasure working with them. They made the whole experience fantastic, something I am not used to when buying a car. Gentlemen you were fantastic and my thanks to you all. I will recommend you were I can and look forward to doing business again in the future. Anthony Black

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Francisco Frausto
5.0
Jesse Kennedy
5.0
Jorge Bustamante
5.0
Aug 30, 2019 -

Kearny Mesa Chevrolet responded

Congratulations Anthony on your recent new Chevy purchase and thank you for sharing of your experience with teammates Francisco Frausto, Jesse Kennedy and Jorge Bustamante. There are so many choices when searching for a vehicle and we appreciate allowing our dealership to earn your business. We know shopping for a car can be a tedious experience but it is our goal to make it as pleasant as possible. As your Chevy ownership partner, we stand behind every vehicle we deliver. We thank you again for letting us know how it went during your visit and recommendation here on DealerRater. Please feel free to let us know if there are ever any questions about your new Equinox! Regards, Adam Toy Social Media Coordinator Jimmie Johnson's Kearny Mesa Chev

June 28, 2019

"Awesome "

- Asaunders

Jorge and Jenni and Whitney are so awesome they helped me and my husband buy and fix our cars cant wait to back for yhe next car.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jorge Bustamante
5.0
Jenni Kendall
5.0
Other Employees : Whitney R
Jul 01, 2019 -

Kearny Mesa Chevrolet responded

Hello Ms. Saunders, we're happy you and your husband found our staff to be so supportive during your experience here at Jimmie Johnson's Kearny Mesa Chevrolet. We appreciate allowing Jenni Kendall, Jorge Bustamante and our dealership to be apart of your previous Chevy ownership and thank you for choosing us again when it came time for another Chevy. We're glad to hear we delivered such a great experience and if there's anything further we can do for your family, please let us know, we are happy to help! Regards, Adam Toy Social Media Coordinator Jimmie Johnson's Kearny Mesa Chevy

June 20, 2019

"Stellar service"

- NET

All personnel we dealt with were knowledgeable, informative, helpful beyond the norm, and very pleasant to deal with. Our sales rep, Ryan, was amazing. All staff seem to really enjoy helping customers find the right fit. I would highly recommend this dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ryan Schoeneweis
5.0
Ross Murphy
5.0
Jun 23, 2019 -

Kearny Mesa Chevrolet responded

Net, we are so happy to read such a great review about Jimmie Johnson's Kearny Mesa Chevrolet! Thank you very much for letting us know about your visit, we really appreciate your feedback and recommendation! We appreciate allowing teammates Ryan Schoeneweis, Ross Murphy and our dealership to earn your business and to be a part of your Chevy ownership journey. If there is ever any questions, please feel free to let us know if there is ever anything we can do to assist. Regards, Adam Toy Social Media Coordinator Jimmie Johnson's Kearny Mesa Chev

June 01, 2019

"Great staff"

- Wilbur5

Buying a car can take up to 4 hours, here they help you feel like family. I got to work with frank, he is awesome. This is my third car here and will be returning for my 4th

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Frank Torres
5.0
Jun 06, 2019 -

Kearny Mesa Chevrolet responded

Congratulations Wilbur on your recent new Chevy purchase and thank you for taking a moment to let us know about your experience with teammate Frank Torres while visiting our dealership. There are so many choices when it comes to which brand or dealership to work with, not to mention who to feel confident with. We appreciate the opportunity to earn your business once again from start to finish. We are excited to be a part of your vehicle ownership journey for the third time, so please feel free to let us know if there are any questions! Regards, Adam Toy Social Media Coordinator Jimmie Johnson Kearny Mesa Chevy

May 25, 2019

"Great dealership to buy from"

- EvansZR2

Thank you Jo and Ryan for taking really good care of me and making my purchasing experience nice. Best price for the ZR2 around and treated me better than a handful of other dealerships in the area. Really appreciate it!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Joe Brommer
5.0
Ryan Schoeneweis
5.0
May 27, 2019 -

Kearny Mesa Chevrolet responded

Congratulations Evan on your new Chevy truck and thank you for letting us know about of your experience with teammates Ryan Schoeneweis and Joe Brommer during your visit at our dealership. We appreciate allowing us to earn your business and as your Chevy ownership partner, we stand ready to be of service. Please feel free to let us know if there are ever any questions about your new truck! Regards, Adam Toy Social Media Coordinator Jimmie Johnson's Kearny Mesa Chevy

1
...
1 - 10 of 333 results