Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back

Kevin Powell Motorsports

Winston-Salem, NC

2.1
41 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

5599 University Parkway

Winston-Salem, NC

27105

Directions

Is this your dealership?

41 Reviews of Kevin Powell Motorsports

Sort by Write a review
December 02, 2019

"Total lack of interest "

- Travlr_45

I recently purchased a new Yamaha fjr 1300 from this dealership on 25 October 2019. To date i still cannot register this vehicle with my tag office because they haven’t received the paperwork from the dealership. It’s now been 40 days and no tag. Now I have a brand new machine sitting in my garage that can’t be ridden. Every time I call the dealership I purchased from it’s the same thing, “ we’ll look into it” and get back to you, which they never do. At this point I’m ready to get a lawyer involved. If I could have given “ zero stars” I would have.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jess Murphy, Lindsey fry, Kaitlyn, Dave.
October 10, 2019

"Poor Customer Service"

- JT

If I could give Foothills Ford a zero star review that would be more than they deserve. Let me preface my review with this information: I have contacted the State Attorney General’s Office, the Better Business Bureau, and my local new channels. I have also sought legal counsel regarding this issue. On August 17th 2019, I went to Foothills Ford to trade my car in. The sales rep was very nice and I was happy with the amount they offered me for my trade (pay off), and I left with a new Ford Escape. On August 26th, I was contacted by the lien holder for my trade because I had missed a payment (due August 23rd). I explained that I had traded in the car, and was informed that they had not received pay off for the car. I immediately contacted Foothills Ford and left messages for Cathy Frost, the sales manager and Cheryl Pjura, the office manager, to see if we could get this resolved. My call was never returned. I proceeded to call every day, multiple times a day, asking to speak to Cathy, Cheryl or the general manager and was always told that they were unavailable, with customers, or out of the office. Again, I left messages, and again my calls were never returned. Meanwhile, my previous lender is still calling me daily regarding the late payment and telling me that they will, unfortunately, have to report this to the credit agencies if payment is not received. To avoid damage to my credit, I made a car payment. During this time, I also received a letter from the NCDMV informing me that my license was going to be suspended because I had dropped the insurance coverage on my trade. I contacted the NCDMV, explained my situation, and was told there was a grace period, but I needed to get this resolved immediately. I then contacted Ford Corporate office to see if they could help me. The representative I spoke with attempted to contact the dealership, but was asked to leave a message as well. I was told by Ford to contact the State Attorney General’s office to file a complaint, which I immediately did. Over the next few days, I continued to call Foothills Ford multiple times a day and eventually spoke to Cheryl who told me that there was a check my file that had not been mailed out for the amount of my trade. Cheryl assured me this would be sent out right away via overnight delivery. I relay that information to my previous lender and was asked to call back the following day to confirm payment. On 9/23/19, I was informed that Foothills Ford did send in a check for my trade in, however, the check had not been signed. I again contacted Foothills Ford multiple times, left several messages, and again my phone calls were not returned. It had now been over 30 days since they had received my car as trade and my second car payment on that car was due. I had also made my first payment on the new Escape and could not afford to make a second car payment on my trade. My brother visited Foothills Ford on my behalf on 9/24/19. He explained to Robert Sutphin, the general manager, the entire situation. Robert wrote a check that day for my trade in, placed it in a FedEx overnight delivery envelope, and gave my brother a tracking number. He gave my brother his business card and wrote down his “personal cell phone number” and promised that he would be available to help with any further concerns or questions. On 9/26/19, my previous lender still had not received pay off for my trade. I called Robert’s personal cell phone, where I was sent to voicemail, and my call was never returned. I spent the next few days calling the dealership and Robert’s personal cell phone number, and my calls were ignored. I was informed by my previous lender on 9/30/19 that they have received payoff for my trade, but in the amount of the current payoff, not the agreed upon amount listed in my contact. I also received a reply from the Attorney General’s office with a copy of the written reply from Cheryl Pjura, which is not an accurate reflection of the events that transpired. I continue to call them nearly every day, but I have not received a return call as of today (10/9/19). To say I am angry is an understatement. I will never purchase another car from this dealership, or any other dealership owned by Kevin Powell as a result of the poor customer service and unethical business Foothills Ford has conducted.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Cathy Frost, Cheryl Pjura, Robert Sutphin
May 01, 2019

"$4400 bike became $8000"

- Creepycoon1

I got wrapped up in all their double talk. Drove an hour to buy a bike from them. 2015 Ninja 300. Their price, $4200. With their fees, $4800. Had to wait on my money to come in, then went to pay $2000 down, and finance the remaining $2800. They neglected to tell me until this point that it was a lease to own. So after putting down $2000, then financing the rest, at $205.00 a month, for 24 months, the total would be over $5000. Then I would have the option to buy the bike for and additional $1000. So that's $2000 down, $5000 in payments, and and extra $1000 to purchase a 4 year old motorcycle that's worth $4400 in great condition according to KBB and NADA. Over $8000 for a used Ninja 300!!!! It started out at $4200. I do not recommend them at all and will tell everyone I can about this so they wont go to them either. Needless to say I did not waste my money. Buyer seriously beware.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
David
April 12, 2019

"Bought a bike with dead mice and nest... good price tho"

- Chev

My wife and I purchased a 2016 R3 a week ago from you guys. We actually went to look at a Ninja 300 but you gave us a good deal on the other bike, but we now know why. There are 2 big issues that we had with the purchase and process, this is very odd and we have been debating bringing it up as we don’t want anything or to cause any issues. First off we bought the bike and was told they would wash and detail it, so it’d be about an hour or 2 before it was ready. No big deal as my wife took her lunch break to look at it and I was free all day to pick it up. We noticed the bike had an expired Virginia inspection on the swing arm (we knew it was a trade in), and wheels were dirty from sitting. So we get the call to come pick it up and I see the bike had been moved but wheels were still dusty and bike was all dry, etc. I didn’t want to wait and it took a while just for someone to even let me know it was ok to take it. So I leave, I get a mile or so and notice a smell. I think its a dead animal on the side of the road so I just shrug it off. I come to another stop about 10+ miles down the road and think its either the same dead animal or another one I passed. Thinking nothing of it I get home and pull the bike into the garage, this is when I notice not just that smell but also the smell of something bad cooking on the grill. I leave the door open so I can look over the bike again and so my wife can see her new toy when she pulls up. Our daughter comes out and immediately comments on the smell, I also notice there are a lot of flies congregating on the tail of the bike. This is when it hits me that there is something dead in the bike, I tell me daughter to go inside and I proceed to open the rear seat where the storage and tool pouch is kept. This is where I see a nest and lots of fecal matter from mice or rats. The nest had babies in it and they have all perished and between that, the rat fecal matter, urine, and other stuff the smell was, well you can imagine. So I grab some rubber gloves and start removing the nest, that’s when my wife pulled up and started bawling. I was trying to clean out the nest before she got home, I knew she would freak out when she saw there was something wrong with her new bike. I calmed her down and we proceeded to clean out the nest and disinfect everything the best we could. We have a shop vac and that got a lot of the pee and poop, but its not perfect and that stuff leaves a smell that doesn’t go away. We also shoved the tail with fabric softeners to help mask the smell, and sprayed it with the wife’s perfume. So with the flies now gone and tail section cleaned up there is still the smell of rotting corpse and the nasty burnt flesh grill smell. That’s when we start smelling around the muffler area, and isolate the smell to the muffler. We detach the muffler as we hear a mass (couple actually) shaking when we move the bike. We turn the muffler upside down and proceed to shake, that’s when the charred mouse or rat remains started to come out. Small pieces at first as the big once won’t fit thru the opening easily, we grab a flashlight and shine it in when the muffler is upside down and we see large remains of some small rodent. We then proceed to get a wire hanger and straighten it so we can stick it in the detached muffler to mash the larger pieces into smaller ones that will be easier to get into the muffler hole so it’ll fall out. This took hours, as you can imagine and we have not been 100% successful in getting them all out as the bike still smells while running. Honestly it still smells when not running but that’s more of a stale xxxx and xxxx smell then a burning carcass so I guess its somehow better. Anyway, this has been our experience with purchasing a bike from you guys at Kevin Powell Motorsports. I don’t think I have to tell you we will just be driving out to Greensboro next time to the other Yamaha dealer instead. My issues are that the bike was never washed or detailed like we were told and the obvious condition of the bike. Now the reason we never brought it up was the deal they gave us on the bike, it was so good we knew something was wrong but just didn’t know what. We just wish that they would have been upright and honest with it as we suspect that there is no way they would not have know, bikes are inspected and look at in detail when they are traded in, the detail and wash person would have smelled the bike, that rear seat would have been lifted up at some point and the rats nest exposed. Now my R1 has to get inspected and service down and you guys are the closest Yamaha dealership, now you can understand my apprehension in taking it to you guys. I will just take the 30+ minute drive out to Greensboro to the Yamaha dealer there as I have no faith that the job would even be done at Keven Powell Motorsports.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
N/A
March 25, 2019

"Shady Business (Greensboro)"

- KevinPowellMotorsportsSucks!

I drove over an hour to purchase a 2018 Suzuki GSX S750 ABS(Blue), upon arriving I noticed that the motorcycle was not at the dealership. Also the quoted OTD price was now +$500, I was willing to work with them and have the motorcycle delivered (For Free). After agreeing to the price and the free delivery some how the final price jumped another $500. Needless to say, I didn't purchase the motorcycle from them and will never do business at any Kevin Powell Dealership. I also reported this shady business to the BBB and to the North American Suzuki headquarters.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jessica
December 17, 2018

"Great Customer Service!!"

- rmccol

I purchased my first side by side at Kevin Powerll Motorsports in Greensboro this past weekend. The sales "friend" Carmine Sicca was exceptional. I say friend because he made me feel so comfortable with my purchase and walked me thru all the options available that I truly felt like I was dealing with someone I knew for years versus someone I just met as I walked thru the door. The entire team down to the service technicians who helped Carmine secure my side by side on my trailer were very friendly and helpful. They even waited with me past closing time on a Saturday so I could rush home and bring my trailer back to get my side by side that night. I'm truly appreciative of the dealership's support and kindness. I am now a loyal Kevin Powell customer!! Thank you all!! Robin - Reidsville, NC

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Carmine Sicca
June 25, 2018

"Don't care about their customers"

- Nothappyterri1

We bought a 2016 Ford escape, paid cash for it. I noticed the day we looked at it it was on the lot dirty inside and out. We had been car hunting for awhile and other dealers always made sure their inventory was clean. We were giving a price but because there was things about the vehicle that was suppose to be fixed they would not go lower. There was scratchas and the head liner was very dirty. They said they would call in 30 days. We called 4 times trying to set up appt. Finally we had to go to dealership. Never have they called o see if we were satisfy. I bought a car from the Hyundai dealership . The difference has been night and day.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Darrel
March 06, 2018

"They are a rip-off and they will do anything to try to take "

- Tmt123

My dad went down there to try to get a motorcycle no telling him that he couldn't get it because it was credit score come to find out his credit score was the best at everything and you know what they're the worst service ever and here they need to go on with that and come to find out they only for their money stay away from them and everything

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
The main owner
February 05, 2018

" Tommy and Biscuit " AWESOME". "

- Ford F-150

Our experience was the best because of Tommy and Biscuit. Very caring and respectful. They listened to what We wanted and needed. We actually got more of a Truck than expected. We were able to buy a AWESOME 2017 FORD F 150. They made the buying process enjoyable and stress free. Go see Tommy and Biscuit if you want an AWESOME buying experience. If it is God's will they will provide. As Biscuit said "Good things will come to those who trust and wait." All the staff there was Great but Tommy and Biscuit was the BEST! THANK YOU 🤗

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Biscuit , Tommy
December 11, 2017

"What a joke"

- Maverick

I went to this dealer for a new vehicle, not only was the sales department a joke but the general manager was a completely incompetent individual. After purchasing the vehicle I have had to call the dealer multiple times for different problems that I have realized we’re only caused by a lack of competence on the sales department. When I asked to speak to corporate, the general manager “biscuit“ told me that he was corporate and I could not talk to anybody higher than him. I should have read the reviews before going here. When I picked up the Motorcycle it had 0.0 miles which is the only reason I bought the motorcycle from the dealer. Thinking back, it upsets me that they did not ride the motorcycle to ensure it was safe and ready for sale. There were multiple problems with the motorcycle that I have already had to get fixed at a local dealer closer to my home. I have had to contact the dealer directly multiple times while trying to register the vehicle that I bought. Every time there seems to be more and more hassle. Keep in mind that I drove six hours to buy this motorcycle I’m not local to this dealership. If I ever return to this dealership it will strictly be because I am broke down and it is the only dealership close, and then it will be to use their phone to call another dealer to come get me. On a positive note, the service manager who I believe is named Kevin, was very helpful and knowledgeable about the motorcycle I was purchasing. I truly hate that I will not be able to interact with him again based on the pisspoor dealership he works for.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Kayla, Kevin, biscuit
1
...
1 - 10 of 41 results