About Us
Copyright 2018 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Kia of Bowie

4.4

145 Lifetime Reviews

16620 Governor Bridge Rd, Bowie, Maryland 20716 Directions
Sales: (301) 820-7500

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

145 Reviews of Kia of Bowie

Sort by Write a review
September 14, 2018

"Engine recall...car given back and 3 days later it is broken"

- sharmidg

Such a small issue with a recall on my 2013's Kia Optima's engine is having a long term detrimental impact on my life and livelihood. This issue is causing a financial hardship and sending my life downhill fast. On June 11, 2018, I was headed to Ft. Meade to start my new position. My 2013 Kia Optima was acting/running weird and the oil light on the dashboard kept flickering. I assumed it needed an oil change so I headed to the closest Jiffy Lube and had it done. They charged me $114.90. I left the Jiffy Lube and the issue still persists. I could not drive faster than 40mph. It was struggling to change gears and pick up speed. Less than 24h's later the whole vehicle broke down. I paid to get it towed to the closest shop and they charged me $104 to diagnose the problem. They told me there were shreds of metal in my oil. I called Jiffy Lube and they said that since they do such quick oil changes they didn't even notice it. Huh??? Isnt that what they specialize in? Shouldn't they have let me know of their findings? I called Kia and found out that there was a recall on 2013-2015 engines due to metal in the oil. Kia of Bowie said that the earliest that I could bring the vehicle in was on Friday June, 15, 2018. For a week I had to inconvenience people or catch an Uber 1 hour to work and 1 hour back to get to work. Also I drive for Uber/Lyft 8 hours each day during the week and 12 hours each day on the weekends and this engine recall has dramatically stopped my income which is needed to maintain feeding my family and helping to take care of my elderly mother and getting back and forth to work. On Friday June 15, once again I paid to get the vehicle towed to the Kia dealership. They told me that I would be receiving a new engine and that I would have to wait for it to come in, and they would reimburse me for the rental car. Fast forward to Thursday Aug 30...over 2 and 1/2 months later. I got a phone call stating that the vehicle's engine had been put in, but there were 20 other issues totaling more than $4000 with the vehicle that they stated they could fix for me. So the car was not driveable. As well there was some electricity issues with it when it arrived back to me. My back up camera would not work and my radio and navigation would not work. The screen came on but no sound would come out. I made an appointment for Wed Sept, 12 to see why those items did not work, but the car broke down again before I got to take it back for those issues. Are you kidding me? How is it possible that I have to fix issues dealing with the vehicle that derived from engine failure and metal traveling to other parts of the vehicle. I had no issues with the vehicle and had just had an inspection and since I drive for Uber and Lyft I am always checking on the welfare of my vehicle. I was listening to the radio when the vehicle died. Now all of a sudden the whole car is messed up after they supposedly fixed the engine. They gave me paperwork stating that It had new belts and hoses. I have pictures showing that the belt was super worn. It seemed like the technician was trying to take short cuts and not do the job properly. What else did he short cut with? I got the vehicle back on Friday morning, got the alternator fuse from Kia and had the things fixed that Kia stated needed to be done to get the vehicle in running order...and it broke down on the side of the road with a Uber passenger in the car on Sunday Sept 9. Less than a 4 days later. I had it towed back to Kia of Bowie on Monday Sept 10, and the service manager Dan told me that he has 30 other Kia's that need the engines put in and that I would have to wait 3 more weeks just to get them to diagnose the issue. I asked him for a loaner since I had given my $1000 a month rental car back and he said they had no more to give. I was told that they were going to let me know their findings before the end of the business day on Monday but I heard nothing from them. I went up there this morning Tuesday 9/11. Dan stated that there was a line for diagnostic work and I would just have to wait a few weeks. I then saw him put another customer into a loaner vehicle. This is ridiculous. I am army veteran, who serve in the Iraqi war and am now working for the department of the Air Force, driving for Uber and Lyft and just trying to take care of my family. Why does Kia think that people had extra 1000's of dollars to keep me going with rentals and expenses until they fix the car right...which they told me they did...but clearly didn't. Now I am stuck without a vehicle and I have already shelled out over $3000 for stuff dealing with this recall, and it seems there is no light at the end of my tunnel. I am in Jeopardy of losing my new job because I have had so many days off or have been late dealing with this issue. I was on a probation period and since day one of that period my car has been in distress. I am late on paying bills because I was paying $250 a week for a rental car and this issue is affecting my well being and this financial hardship is starting to affect every area of my life. I cannot feed my children or assist with my elderly mother Update** On today Sept 14,2018 Dan the service department manager called me and told me that he replaced the alternator fuse and the car is running and the battery is charging. That is the exact same thing that I got done last week. And the fuse still blew again in 4 days. The point of taking it back to him was to see what exactly was making the fuse blow, also to get the new belts that the invoice states were put on...but were not put on the vehicle, and the radio and back up camera never came back on once I got it back from them. Dan says that all of those things are on me and have nothing to do with the engine. It has to be a 100% coincidence that these things that were working with no problem before the engine failure are all now not working. I was listening to my radio while the engine was cutting off. And had just used my back up camera and navigation that day. He is saying that he cannot test drive it because it is not safe. One of his technicians obviously did something wrong or did not put something back together properly and are now trying to make me responsible. This is ludacris. I have given Kia of Bowie almost 4 months of having my vehicle. My lawyer is telling me I should make a move. I have already spoken to Kia corporate in Irvine California who also says that Kia of Bowie is privately owned and that I should take legal action. sharmidg.sm@gmail.com

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Adrienne, dan, jeremy
September 11, 2018

"Car still broken"

- sharmidg

Horrible. Super slow. My car was in the shop for 2 months needing an engine. I got it back and 8 other things were broken, Things that when i brought it in were working fine. Of course they are trying to tell me that it was not due to their work. I will be reporting to the better business bureau also and getting an attorney.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Dan service manager
August 11, 2018

"This Dealership is the winner! "

- Kia Shopper

After having experienced dealerships that tried to bait and then switch me into more expensive cars. After having salesman lie to me about pricing. After walking away from several deals thinking I was just not going to be able to find the car of my dreams for the price I could afford. I finally found it but it was far away. I put down a deposit said I would come in the next day. Then Kia of Bowie said, we are closer for you, we will find you your car, we will beat the deal of the other dealership. WOW this is cool 😎! They actually are fighting for my business. Thanks so much, Kia of Bowie! You got me the car 🚗 didn’t lie, gave me a good deal! I will recommend your dealership! I will service my car at your dealership and if I ever need to buy another car I will come back to you!!! Car buying was scary and made me nervous but you made it so worth it in the end. I am a very happy customer!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mansour 'Mike' Izadi
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Other Employees : Steven Jones, Anthony Vanchieri, Daniel Leeds
June 07, 2018

"Excellent Service"

- gmonster2

I had my Kia soul serviced on 6/6/2018 . My car was serviced and oil was changed. My car was cleaned. My expectation was exceeded by excellent customer service

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Adrienne
January 18, 2018

"Great Customer Service"

- butterfly

Thank you for providing professional customer service in the purchase of my KIA SOUL. I love it. Earl Ward was my sale person. I would like to thank the entire team for help in the purchase. Theressa

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mansour 'Mike' Izadi
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Earl Ward
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
November 11, 2017

"Amazing service "

- Cfriend

Anthony and Earl had great customer service! Would definitely recommend them!. Love my new Kia Optima that was recommended by Earl. Visit Kia of Bowie today!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Earl Ward
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Nov 13, 2017 -

Kia of Bowie responded

Thank you so much for your kind words. We truly appreciate it and hope you come back again soon to see us. Thanks again!

October 29, 2017

"Like Family"

- MichelynCierra

Brandon and Anthony from finance treated me like a little sister for whom they were looking out for. They both made the process so easy and as a first time buyer I never felt overwhelmed or overtaken. Brandon got the ball rolling and kept it rolling from start to finish. Both gentlemen were exceptionally personable as well!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brandon Stringfield
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Oct 30, 2017 -

Kia of Bowie responded

Thank you so much for your kind words. We truly appreciate your kind words and hope you come back to see us.

August 19, 2017

"Unprofessional customer service"

- BriNichele21

The general manager of this establishment is completely unprofessional. His customer service was terrible and the information he provided was not helpful. He denied customers a print out of information that would be helpful towards making a decision in purchasing a car. The attitude he had towards the customers were also discriminatory, and I plan on taking this complaint higher. I do not recommend anyone purchasing a car from this establishment.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Steve jones
June 23, 2017

"Bob Turner"

- Bob1234

I've been a customer of Bowie Kia for two years. My first Kia was a 2011. I have no complains about their service. It's been a good relationship. I have a lot of convidence in their service department. I'm very please with their product so I decide to buy a 2017 Sorento . Earl Ward was my salesman and a great one . He knew his products very well and was very patience . He never force anything on me. I would recommended him for individuals who are looking for a Kia to go and see him. I give him 5 stars.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Earl Ward
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Jun 27, 2017 -

Kia of Bowie responded

Thank you so kindly for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We will be sure to pass the kind words on to Earl and hope to have you back with us very soon! Drive Safe!

May 12, 2017

"Great Service "

- Tonie Doll

I been coming to Bowie Kia since July of 2016 because of great service. I mentioned that I wanted to try & trade my 2016 Kia Soul for a larger vehicle because of my family size. Mr Earl was a great salesman I got my 2017 Kia Sorento on May 4. I'm very pleased & would recommend Bowie Kia to anyone. Thank you for hiring great people. Mr Earl I will be sending people your way

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Earl Ward
May 16, 2017 -

Kia of Bowie responded

Tonie, We truly appreciate your awesome 5 star review and are thrilled your experience was so wonderful with Mr. Earl. We know he will appreciate your feedback!! We hope to see you again soon!

1
...
1 - 10 of 145 results