About Us
Copyright 2019 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Kia of Bowie

3.9

147 Lifetime Reviews

16620 Governor Bridge Rd, Bowie, Maryland 20716 Directions
Sales: (301) 820-7500

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

147 Reviews of Kia of Bowie

Sort by Write a review
January 25, 2014

"Kia of Bowie, you have officially guaranteed that we will..."

- Turk17

Kia of Bowie, you have officially guaranteed that we will never use your dealership for service or to purchase a new vehicle. We dropped our Sorento off on Dec 23rd because it had been stalling intermittently. We agreed to leave it overnight, to give you time to take a look and try to figure out what was going on. I also asked for the tire pressure to be checked, and was told this is standard procedure with every car that comes in. The next day, after telling us you hadn't been able to replicate the problem, we picked it up from the sales dept. They handed over the keys without ever even asking what name the car was under. I asked for my copies of our paperwork, and they managed to give me the originals, with the technician's checklist stapled to it. I happened to look at the paperwork more closely after getting home, and noticed that the technician's checklist was completely BLANK. Not only did he not check my tire pressure, he didn't even do the standard check to see if THAT might answer some of the questions about why the vehicle had been stalling. I called the service department about this, and Lamont was apologetic about this. He indicated the technician was an "older guy" and apparently that was my explanation about why he didn't bother to look at my car during the TWO days we left it with the service department. I returned to the dealership after the new year, as I agreed to give Lamont his copies of the paperwork from the week before. By this time, my tire pressure light had come on, and I was extremely frustrated with my experience up to that point. Lamont had a different technician look at the vehicle that evening, and a part was ordered. They stated this *could* be causing the issue, and we could give it a try. Lamont also recommended we replace the engine and cabin air filters, because they looked pretty bad. The funny thing is, we bring our vehicle to you for oil changes, and just did a routine maintenance in October. How had nobody seen this issue before?!? Lamont said the part should be there by Thursday, that the replacement should only take about 30 mins when we come back, and he said he would call. He called on Friday, and said the part was in. We told him we would leave it overnight and pick it up Saturday morning, since it was easier than waiting there for the part and air filter replacements. We dropped it off around 5:30pm on Friday, and ended up calling at 1pm on Saturday, because we still had not heard anything. Sadly, nobody in service answered the phone, despite several attempts. We tried calling again around 3:00, and spoke with Lamont. He said they had not even looked at our vehicle yet!!!! He said he would call us when it was ready, and we confirmed that service closes at 5:00PM on Saturdays. At 4:40, we tried calling and again could not get anyone to answer the phone. We decided to drive over and find out what was going on, because I needed the car to drive to work on Monday. When we arrived, the vehicle was backed into a spot and waiting for us... as though it had been ready all along. Lamont just never bothered to call us. Lamont saw me walking in, and told me my car was ready. I told him I was here to pick it up even though he did not bother to contact me. When prepping my paperwork to check me back out, he advised the air filter was not replaced because they had run out earlier in the day. Isn't that why I dropped my vehicle off YESTERDAY?!? I asked him if he expected me to come back a THIRD time, and he indicated we could just wait since we will need our 60k mile service in about 8k miles. I asked him why he thinks I would want to keep the car until then, if this is the kind of service department I have to use, and he had no response other than "I understand". I told him i needed to leave because we were now late for dinner plans. He agreed to mail me copies of my paperwork, since he decided not to charge me after that incident. I walked to my car, got in, and wouldn't ya know it STALLED before I could even get out of the parking spot. That was January 11th. I still have not received my paperwork in the mail. I called on the 13th to discuss this comedy of errors, and Lamont offered excuses and apologies, but showed no effort to keep my business. He stated he would be ordering air filters and that we could bring the vehicle back in. I told him to call me when he physically has one for my vehicle, and I will bring it over. Twelve days later, he has not bothered to call about that, either. I am sure you will also be shocked to hear that my tire pressure light is STILL coming on. At this point, I have no reason to believe your service department has done, or will ever do, anything I have paid them to do in the two years I have been bringing my vehicle in. Not only will I never purchase or service a vehicle at Kia of Bowie again, I will be sure to avoid Toyota of Bowie and any other dealership that is part of RRR Automotive Group.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Lamont Hylton
Mar 09, 2014 -

Turk17 responded

After posting this review, we ended up speaking with the VP, Randy Whalen, and received a follow-up email from an RRR Automotve representative. I will say Randy made sure our issues were re-checked and provided a loaner vehicle while ours was being serviced. It has been about a month since the vehicle was taken in with Randy overseeing everything, and it appears the stalling issue has been resolved. The computer ended up being replaced, which was covered under warranty. Lamont's friendliness was never a problem. It had more to do with the lack of communication and follow-through. I do think it's unfortunate that it had to come to this in order to get everything taken care of, but we will see what happens moving forward. Randy earned them another chance... what they do with that chance is still to be determined, since the vehicle has not needed to be serviced since then.

Mar 13, 2014 -

Kia of Bowie responded

Thank you for making us aware of the issues you had and for giving us another chance to make things right. We are very sorry for the lack of follow up. We have dealt with process issues internally. We do hope to see you again in the future. Best, Heather

October 22, 2013

"Kia of Bowie is near my home. I stopped by simply to test..."

- Dgrogan

Kia of Bowie is near my home. I stopped by simply to test drive a Kia Sorento. I was undecided between Kia Sorento or Ford Explorer. But after speaking to Saleman Marcus Thomas I decided to purchases the Kia that day. Marcus was very energectic, motivated, and knowleable about all the Kia products. I truly value attention to detail and exceptional customer service. Marcus was overall very impressive and the primary reason why i made the purchase. I think Marcus is a tremendous asset to Kia of Bowie. Please extend my sincere thanks!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Dec 02, 2013 -

Kia of Bowie responded

Congratulations on your new Sorento! Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your experience. Cheers, Heather

October 22, 2013

"Marcus and the Kia of Bowie team was very pleasant. They..."

- kcbnyc

Marcus and the Kia of Bowie team was very pleasant. They provided the best price and service to get my business. I appreciate the extra assistance to make my buying experience a smooth and stress-free one.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Dec 02, 2013 -

Kia of Bowie responded

Thank you for posting a review regarding your experience here at the dealership, we really appreciate it. Hope you're enjoying that new Kia! Heather

June 03, 2013

"I definitely had a great car buying experience at Kia of..."

- ypeters

I definitely had a great car buying experience at Kia of Bowie! The service was exceptional, and Marcus was extremely informative, helpful and friendly. He made what could have been a long and tedious process a very smooth and efficient one! Very pleased with my purchase.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Jun 19, 2013 -

Kia of Bowie responded

Congratulations on your new Kia! Thank you for posting about your sales experience. We really appreciate it. Enjoy! Heather

May 21, 2013

"On a single day, I emailed Jim Omeara, the manager,..."

- teolis

On a single day, I emailed Jim Omeara, the manager, several times regarding a specific car listed of their website. I explicitly stated that I would buy the car at a price close to that listed on the website. I asked that he not waste each other's time by confirming that my offer was in the realm of an acceptable one. Admittedly, his response did not address the specific price but he did encourage me to come into the dealership and that we could do a deal on this car. I showed up that night and asked for Jim expecting to be dealing with him directly. After a small wait Jim came out and told me that Marcus would be taking care of us. OK, Marcus was great and we found the car to be exactly as advertised and exactly what we wanted. When it was time to talk numbers I was surprised to find that I didn't "qualify" for any incentives and that my price was actually about 5K higher. My counter was the price I had given Jim in the emails. Of course Marcus was flummoxed by this and needed to get Jim. This in itself was disappointing but not entirely unexpected. What I was mortified to discover was the reaction I got when I reminded Jim of my emails. His and the entire dealership's attitude became extremely adversarial and unwelcoming. There was no counter offer. And I was told that. "not everyone can be a KIA Bowie customer" and this was followed by a hench man saying "especially not you". I found this to be an extremely customer hostile dealership and I would encourage NO ONE to be a KIA Bowie customer.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jim Omeara
Jun 19, 2013 -

Kia of Bowie responded

We did contact this reviewer privately to apologize. We have handled issues internally. We thank this poster for bringing this to our attention and wish them well with their new Kia! Best, Heather

Jul 24, 2013 -

Kia of Bowie responded

we did respond to this reviewer privately and apologized for bad treatment. Changes have been made internally as a result. Best, Heather

April 14, 2013

"Mr. Marcus Thomas was very professional, prompt and..."

- Roastacia

Mr. Marcus Thomas was very professional, prompt and precise... Thank you Kia of Bowie. I highly recommend them. Professional, clean and wonderful customer service skills. I love my new 2013 Kia Soul.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Marcus Thomas
Apr 15, 2013 -

Kia of Bowie responded

Congratulations on your new Kia! Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your experience at Kia of Bowie! We really appreciate it! Cheers, Heather

April 02, 2013

"We had excellent experience at Kia of Bowie. Marcus..."

- tdillard61

We had excellent experience at Kia of Bowie. Marcus Thomas is a very professional and down to earth sales representative. He has a very kind spirit. We were very impressed with the entire management. I strongly recommend this dealership to friends and family.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Marcus Thomas
Apr 10, 2013 -

Kia of Bowie responded

Thank you for posting our very first review! We really appreciate the time you took to write about your experience with us. Enjoy your new Kia! Cheers, Heather

...
15
141 - 147 of 147 results