Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Kia of South Austin

Austin, TX

1.8
334 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

5306 S Interstate 35 Frontage Rd

Austin, TX

78745

Directions

334 Reviews of Kia of South Austin

Sort by Write a review
March 27, 2021

"This dealership sells lemons and is extremely..."

- Victor

This dealership sells lemons and is extremely unorganized. My partner made the mistake of buying a car here. Within a month, the windows were no longer working. They’ll set an appointment, we show up to drop the car off, and come back at the scheduled pick-up time just to hear that they did not have the part. We’ve made four visits for this same issue without it being resolved. This is just a terribly ran business. Wish we never bought here.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chury, Brian
Mar 31, 2021 -

Kia of South Austin responded

Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I apologize for your shopping experience. I would like an opportunity to fix this and to earn your business, please contact me at bchury@kiaofsouthaustin.com. I look forward to speaking with you. Brian Chury General Manager

February 02, 2021

"have never been as disgusted with a business’s practices..."

- GOTfan

have never been as disgusted with a business’s practices as I was (and am) with Kia of South Austin. My husband purchased a used vehicle from them with the understanding that, as they’d alleged on their website, each vehicle had been rigorously inspected and examined by their team of mechanics. Talk about false advertising! That very day, as he drove the vehicle home, he noticed it was rumbling a bit too strongly while idling. By the following day, the check engine light was on. Concerned, he reached out and made an appointment to have his vehicle checked out by their service team. Six hours later, they had yet to even look at his car. Once they did, they mentioned a sensor needed replacing and that, while they had promised his car had a 4-month warranty, this repair wasn’t included. How convenient, right? And they kept reiterating that the car was sold as-is. Now, their rationale would be fine in regards to the car being sold as-is had these issues arisen 6 months after the sake, but the very same day? Unacceptable. They clearly sold my husband a lemon knowingly, which shows extreme bad faith on their part. He might as well have purchased a car off of Craigslist for half the price! Their service team was rude, apathetic and downright deceitful. Here’s the kicker: they claimed they would fix the problem and only charge them for the part (waiving major fees), then quoted him $400 for the part. Guess how much the part actually costs? $50. Clearly, my husband declined the bogus offer. Whatever you do, never ever purchase a used car here. You may think this is a reputable dealership, but don’t be fooled!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Anthony
Feb 12, 2021 -

Kia of South Austin responded

Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I apologize for your husband's purchase experience. I would like an opportunity to fix this and to earn his and your business, please have him contact me at bchury@kiaofsouthaustin.com. I look forward to speaking with him. Brian Chury General Manager

January 13, 2021

"Do not believe the "AcceleRide" nonsense. They state on..."

- Frustrated potential customer

Do not believe the "AcceleRide" nonsense. They state on the site that "Buying a car online and getting it delivered has never been easier." When I actually *tried* to buy one of the vehicles they had listed, the process conveniently got to a point where I could no longer proceed at which point I was contacted by a sales rep telling me the *actual* price was many thousands more than stated on the site, even after going as far through the "purchase" process as it lets me. This rep tried to tell me "the website" says the prices don't include dealer adds, and proceeded to send a link as "proof" that said no such thing. I'll certainly never be revisiting a purchase here. Fortunately there are more transparent dealers out there to deal with.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Abraham
Jan 13, 2021 -

Kia of South Austin responded

Unfortunately, the Tellurides are selling over list price everywhere in America. Do you live in the South Austin area? If so, come and see me and I’ll work the deal. Best Regards, Brian Chury General Manager

Jan 13, 2021 -

Frustrated potential customer responded

Where in my post do you see anything complaining about free-market pricing of a popular vehicle? It’s a complaint about the (apparently fictional) claims of allowing fully online purchasing plastered all over your website and linked to in each car listing, and displaying a “purchase” that isn’t remotely close to the price you want to charge. I would never have put sensitive Personal Information into a website knowing that it was not (as claimed) a purchasing tool but just another sales lead generator. No wonder companies like Tesla are killing the dealer model by cutting out the middle man if this is how dealers do “e-commerce”. Fortunately not all dealers are so shady so I was able to get a vehicle at a marked up, but fair and transparent price elsewhere.

November 09, 2020

"Terrible dealership. Do not buy from them. I reached an..."

- Kurt

Terrible dealership. Do not buy from them. I reached an agreement to purchase a vehicle. They asked me to fill our a credit application to take my deposit even though I was going to pay cash for the full sticker price. They then sold the vehicle to another customer even though I had asked them to put a sold sign on it. They sold the vehicle with a $10,000 markup over sticker price, so it is clear that as soon as they found a buyer willing to pay over sticker, they just ignored my purchase deal.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Sales Manager
Nov 13, 2020 -

Kia of South Austin responded

Kurt, I do not think this is a fair representation of what happened. This is why we do not hold cars. Holding vehicles causes too many problems, especially on the most popular Telluride package in the USA Besides, you inquired about a vehicle in October, then received a marketing email that was valid through the end of October. November 9, 2020, you inquired again after you had received an email from the General Manager asking if you had been assisted. Your reply was that a salesperson had not contacted you to purchase a vehicle we had in stock. After reviewing your emails to the dealership, All were specific saying that you wanted to order a Telluride and wanted a sales manager to reach out to you about it. There was no sale to "honor," as there was never a formal signed agreement to purchase a vehicle. Then you just inquired again, asking what your trade value is? We never agreed on numbers Brian Chury General Manager

October 12, 2020

"Shady. Don’t trust them. They added a $2,000 up charge to..."

- TJ.clement97

Shady. Don’t trust them. They added a $2,000 up charge to my Kia for I guess extended warranty! It was not explained to me as required by their own contract. I have spent months trying to get it fixed but only get the run around. I guess my next step is the Better Business Bureau. I’ll just keep going until they do the right thing. They also did not print or email me the contract like I asked for. I had to go thru Kia Motors finance which took 30 days to get. Shame on you Mr.Gill.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mr.Gill
Oct 16, 2020 -

Kia of South Austin responded

Tj We are a transparent company. We do not add a warranty until the customers sign the agreements. If you want it canceled, then let me know and I can send you a link so you can simply cancel The warranty. Best Regards, Brian Chury General Manager bchury@kiaofsouthaustin.com

Oct 16, 2020 -

TJ.clement97 responded

I have been in contact with Mr. Chury and I truly believe he will help me fix this issue. Thank you sir. I had clearly not reached the right person.

September 15, 2020

"I had a miserable experience. My 2017 Sportage had..."

- Nomadgrrl

I had a miserable experience. My 2017 Sportage had started falling apart. First there was warranty work they "fixed" (a/c that doesn't blow cold, a window switch that began malfunctioning on the driver side and an engine that would redline when I was holding a steady speed). None of that was fixed after the repair. The window never went up or down with one touch. And the engine would redline, however, so randomly I could never show anyone or replicate the issue. The a/c maybe it was fixed. Then my pax side door handle came off in my hands. That was a six day fix. I brought it in for repair, they kept it and upon my return I was told they were unable to get the part and were unable to fix it. So I brought it back the next week and guess what, despite knowing I was returning they had not ordered the part!! What?! They get me a rental car and after a week return my repaired car. All while applauding his foresight to get me a rental(?). Unfortunately there were black handprints all over the rear door panel. When I called to ask why it wasn't cleaned up my service guy was nowhere. I get the managers name, leave a voicemail and NEVER GOT A CALL BACK. Nothing was resolved, my warranty repairs were not fixed and by the time I unloaded this xxx the pax front window was not rolling up or down. The bonus: I called South Austin Kia to ask them to remove me from their call list and they sent me an invitation to review them. After writing this review, at their invitation, I get a call from Cody who proceeds to ask me why I would rate them like that since I had JUST been in for service. The last time I was in was more than a year ago. Then he asks why I would write a review a year later and I told him that I was sent an invitation to review them! And I wrote the review because they never responded to the multitude of calls I had made to them more than a year ago. Then I get a response from Brian Chury, Service Manager who went on about me buying a car from them which a) I never bought a car at this dealership and b) I never mentioned buying a car in my review!? He also informed me that I could not be removed from their list. This service department is nuts!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
It hardly matters
Sep 28, 2020 -

Kia of South Austin responded

Thank you for your feedback about your service experience because that should not have happened. I need to use your case as a learning opportunity, so we can fix the issue in the future. Could you please contact me so I can learn more? Brian Chury General Manager bchury@kiaofsouthaustin.com

September 09, 2020

"It was so humiliating and an unwelcome experience. I..."

- Dr. Flotte

It was so humiliating and an unwelcome experience. I found a vehicle listed on their site and I contacted the online costumer service person. He told me to set up a time to test drive the car but never checked whether the car was there. I assumed it was so I set up a meeting time. I get there and the car had been sold since a few days ago. A waste of my time. To make matters worse, I was taken to the floor manager to get introduced to him but he did not even acknowledged my presence or care to even say hello or smile, or anything really. He kept looking at his papers as if he was doing me a favor. Horrible experience. Will never be back.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mason Anders
Sep 28, 2020 -

Kia of South Austin responded

Thank you for your feedback about your shopping experience with us, because that should not have happened. I need to use your case as a learning opportunity, so we can fix the issue in the future. Could you please contact me so I can learn more? Brian Chury General Manager bchury@kiaofsouthaustin.com

July 08, 2020

"One of the best dealerships I've ever found"

- NancyD

I can't express what a positive experience I had at Kia of South Austin. The sales consultant was incredibly patient and knowledgable, the sales manager and finance manager both went out of their way to make a deal work for me and there was no hard sell at all -- just terrific information. I moved to Austin from DC not long ago and feel so lucky to have found this amazing group. Kia of South Austin is the gold standard of auto dealerships.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Sarah George
Sep 04, 2020 -

Kia of South Austin responded

We are very happy to hear that we were able to provide you with an enjoyable experience. We thank you for your business and look forward to your next visit!

July 07, 2020

"Went back to dealership for repeated problem. Never fixed"

- Tiweipp1

This dealership really has a terrible track record with service. We have been to them 4 separate times. They are unprofessional and have poor service. The first time we went it was to fix the third row seat frame and some buttons that fell of the steering wheel. We came to pick up the car and they forgot and I mean FORGOT, to fix the third row seat. Then the door on our kia sedona was brought in because it wouldn't close completely and there was a recall on the door. They said the fixed it the first time. Took it home and it wasn't fixed. Brought it back. Told them it wasn't fixed. Then they said it was the motor. What should have taken a day took a week. And still wasn't fixed. I ended up going 45minutes out of my way to Southwest Kia a much better dealership. The first time we took our car to Southwest Kia they were very communicative and helpful from start to finish. WIth, Kia of South Austin, we had to call them to get updates and ask when our car would be finished. We call the Manager for two weeks and he never returned outcalls. It's like no one really cares about their customers. There was one wonderful woman who worked there who was very helpful during our last visit. She seemed courteous and concerned about the problems we were having. I wish I remembered her name. Overall we were sooo disappointed.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Cody Kemmerling and Ivon Gomez
Sep 04, 2020 -

Kia of South Austin responded

Thank you for your feedback about your recent experience because that should not have happened. I need to use your case as a learning opportunity, so we can fix the issue in the future. Could you please contact me? Brian Chury General Manager bchury@kiaofsouthaustin.com

March 28, 2020

"I bought a 2007 Jeep grand Cherokee in August for my..."

- n.groleau

I bought a 2007 Jeep grand Cherokee in August for my 17-year-old daughter. Rishi was my salesman, after warranty the price of the vehicle was $7200 which after speaking with multiple car dealers is about 3000 over the value of the vehicle. Within four months I had complete engine failure( The vehicle died with my daughter driving it on the middle of Highway 290 and started going backwards) and after the Engine went out I had the car picked up in the same day brought in because the transmission went out as well. Kia of South Austin in no way offered me a vehicle for the time that my car spent in the shop or any help with fixing the vehicle. I asked them if I could please trade the car back in to get my money back and they said no. It was only after about three weeks of yelling and calling the general managers that they decided to help with the transmission. These are untrustworthy people who do not care about your safety, DO NOT purchase a vehicle from Kia of South Austin.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Rishi
Mar 30, 2020 -

Kia of South Austin responded

Thank you for your feedback about this. Unfortunately the techs cannot predict the future of a transmission. With that being said, we provided you with a free warranty for 4 months when you purchased the Jeep As/Is and you also decided to purchase an additional extended warranty. The transmission did in fact go bad and we towed it to our dealership from another shop to fix it. Please contact me if you have any questions. Best, Brian Chury General Manager bchury@kiaofsouthaustin.com

1
...
1 - 10 of 334 results