Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Kocourek Nissan Kia

Wausau, WI

4.2
34 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

2700 North 20th Avenue

Wausau, WI

54403

Directions

Is this your dealership?

34 Reviews of Kocourek Nissan Kia

Sort by Write a review
March 26, 2020

"Lessons Learned the Hard Way"

- j.vraspir

Actual test driving of vehicles was a positive experience, but when it came time to purchase the used car we decided on, that’s when things started to go bad. I had expressed that I would like to have my mechanic do a quick inspection prior to final purchasing. We were told that Kocourek service department had done a thorough general condition inspection (with no problems reported), that Kocourek mechanics were “the best in the city”, and also that the car would likely be gone by the next day. We really liked the car and did not want to lose it so against our better judgement, we went ahead and purchased the car without a third party inspection. The next morning our newly purchased car would not start (dead battery). I took it into my mechanic and had them do the inspection that I wished I had done prior to purchasing. Besides the weak battery, there was also a leaking tire, a burnt out light, and oil leaking out of all four of the struts (recommended that we have all struts replaced – estimated this would be around $1,900). I took this report back to the Kocourek service department and the “best mechanics in the city”, and to their credit, Kocourek was willing to replace the battery, the light, and also to fix and reseal the leaking tire. However, when it came to the struts, I was told they were not willing to make any repairs, replacements, or reimbursements for the struts because it was ‘”not a safety issue”. I suppose that technically Kocourek’s inspection report just said the suspension system was “legal” and if they want to fall back on that, I guess that’s just how they do business. The only thing I have control over here is what I have learned for myself. The first thing is that the Kocourek service department is nowhere near the “best in the city”. Either they honestly missed all those things or else they knew about them and didn’t think it mattered. Not sure which is worse. My guess is that if my mechanic saw the struts leaking oil during a short fifteen minute inspection, then it was something that Kocourek knew about but did not advertise because they ‘legally’ did not have to. The second lesson learned is that a third party inspection is absolutely a necessity when buying a car, especially a used one that is purchased “as is” from a dealer that does not feel it is necessary to disclose what you are getting ‘as-is’. All things considered, I’m not overly disappointed in Kocourek. I look at the whole situation as a learning experience and hopefully I will learn from it.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Varies
January 04, 2020

"Everyone there is so friendly and helpful, especially..."

- rmcmillin56

Everyone there is so friendly and helpful, especially Gerald!!!!! Will keep buying Kias as long as their service department remains this great. Fast and easy.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Gerald
October 10, 2019

"They do a nice job taking care of you while your car is..."

- M. S.

They do a nice job taking care of you while your car is being serviced. Waiting area is nice and well stocked of snacks, drinks.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Erik
May 22, 2019

"Very satisfied!"

- MrsB

My service advisor was Melissa. Very courteous, met me at my vehicle when I drove in, explained all necessary service and anything that should be done in the near future.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Melissa
February 18, 2019

"Disappointed"

- Disappointed

Where to start, I took my Sorento up to be serviced because it wasn't starting. So I made the trip up to Wausau to have the suv looked at. They supposedly diagnosed the problem. Was told that they didn't have the part to fix it. So I had to wait for them to order it and bring it back to be serviced. Meanwhile sometimes it would start and sometimes it didn't. Not reliable at all, finally they have the part. Take it up on Friday morning. Mind you it's an hour and a half up to Wausau, an hour and a half back home plus the two and a half hours that I sat and waited for the service to be done. Take the vehicle home it starts on Saturday, and starts on Sunday to go to work, but when I come out Sunday night. It doesn't start. Have to call my husband to come and pick me up from work. We call on Monday morning and they say that they wii pay to have it towed up to the Kia dealership. Which they did. I asked if I could get a loaner vehicle and was told that they don't do that. So how was I supposed to get to work? They call two days later and say good news we found the problem, bad news, they once again dont have the parts. It takes a week and a half to get the parts. They fix it. But now I have other warning lights coming on. Turns out the cold has frozen the cluster and they need to send it out to be fixed, so it's another week and a half to get it back. The part comes in and they fix it. Three weeks later. Meanwhile I was never offered a loaner vehicle. Go to pick it up today and my windshield is cracked all the way across the entire windshield, and I was told that it originated from a sealed chip that had been fixed in the windshield. So there was nothing they could do for me. So when I say I'm disappointed, that is putting it mildly. Way too long to be without a vehicle, and no offer of a loaner.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mark
February 15, 2019

"Excellent service with a smile!"

- Jar1234

In the past at other dealerships I felt taken advantage of as a woman and pressured into buying things I really didn't need. It wasn't like that here. Upfront, honest workers in the service department. Very happy with them, felt like they treated me like family! Julie

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Eric Rajek
August 17, 2018

"Sales, communication, follow-up & service"

- Ms Jain

I am extremely happy with all of the service I have had (sales & regular maintenance). They always answer all my questions. I just had my oil changed & he was excellent in answering questions I had & checking on me & keeping me informed while I waited. ??????????

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Kou was my service advisor. Wade was the technician.
October 17, 2017

"Rude, sexist, non-compliant"

- unimpressed

Went to explore, just look around and test drive to get ideas of what I wanted. Talked with a salesperson who was very knowledgeable but very cliche/stereotype salesman and very pushy. Put money down to reserve a potential interest after being convinced that if I decided against the vehicle, that the refunding process would be simple and quick. This wasn't the case. It took several conversations over the course of about 8 business days to get my money back. What's the worst part for me, from the moment me and my fiancee started talking with this sales person, my (male) fiancee was the one being talked to about the fine details, the mechanical conversation, and I (the female) was ONLY talked to about how cute, how comfy, and the cliched 'girly things'. However, we stated SEVERAL times that the new vehicle was for me and the kicker...that my fiancee knows very little about cars and I know a fair deal about them. Overall, I hadn't heard good things of Kocourek but it was local, I like to form my own opinions, and each person is different. I am just saddened that what I heard was true. I will not be going back.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
rather not say
May 07, 2017

"Bad Dealer"

- Ben79

A one star is to high for this dealership. Just leased a new Kia suv.  Called with some questions talk to the sale manager  He was rude unhelpful told me I was wasting his time. I will not be a repeat buyer. I will let everyone I met know how are deal was handled.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Sales Manager
January 21, 2017

"Got the job done when no one else could!"

- Tim Stanton

I will make a long story short. My wife was stranded with transmission problems near Wisconsin Rapids. We had it towed to Stevens Point Nissan. They were very helpful in our time of need. However, after I left the lot I had to return to have an O2 sensor reconnected and several days later after we were home the car started to act in the same manner as before. High revs at slow speed, not wanting to speed up, no reverse. We knew what it was and took it to Kocourek since we have had great service in the past. They found some wires that were not properly connected. The car now runs great. We trust Kocourek Nissan and Kocourek Subaru with our vehicles.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Eric and Gerald(Service advisers)
1
...
1 - 10 of 34 results