About Us
Copyright 2018 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

L. T. Begnal Motor Company

2.7

16 Lifetime Reviews

515 Albany Ave, Kingston, New York 12401 Directions
Sales: (877) 556-6212

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

16 Reviews of L. T. Begnal Motor Company

Sort by Write a review
July 20, 2018

"Horrible"

- XNickx12

I bought a vehicle here In December . This was the worst car buying experience I have ever had. I test drove a Jeep Grand Cherokee and liked it. I later agreed to purchase the vehicle. While examining the vehicle I noticed that the tires looked pretty low on tread. I asked them to put tires on the vehicle before I spent over $28000 on it. They claimed that the vehicles tires had more than enough tread than the legal limit. Well less than a month after getting the vehicle I had to put new tires on it. The salesman, Dan Burns, is the worst salesman I have ever dealt with. You would think after someone hands you $28000 CASH that you would get the best customer service ever. That couldn't be further from the truth. It took them almost 2 months to get my registration and Plates. I am not from NY state. They claimed they have dealt with numerous customers from out of state and that they had it under control. I wanted to transfer my plates from my last vehicle to this vehicle and the first set of plates they got (a month after I purchased the vehicle) were not the same plates I had before but a new set and a registration that wasn't correct. They tried to get me to pay for it and luckily I didn't because I called Motor vehicle who said that it wasn't valid. It then took another 3 weeks for them to get the correct registration and plates. I got pulled over 4 times during this time because of the "in-transit" plate I had to use. Salesman Dan Burns never returned any of my calls or texts throughout the whole process and treated me like I was bothering him after I handed him $28000. The second I handed over my cash was the second this place stopped caring about me. I also later ran the car fax which I was never given and told they didn't have and found out the vehicle was in an accident previously. They also take the original floor mats out of the vehicles and replace them with cheap and ugly mats with the dealerships logo and name on them. They are the cheapest mats you can get and ugly. They don't even offer to give you the original mats which they probably throw out. Would never recommend someone buy a vehicle here.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Dan burns
July 13, 2018

"Poor Service and Unprofessional Behavior"

- Jgwhite85

DO NOT USE: Today I went in for an oil change. I got their at 7:15 AM for Express service. At 8:15 a service manager asked me to follow him. I was escorted to the office of Eugene Waterbury. Eugene asked me to have a seat and closed the door. Eugene then informed me he would not be servicing my vehicle because I have never been happy with the service from his establishment or my car. I explained that I had an oil change package for the car through Chrysler. Eugene then told me I could go to the dealership where I purchased the car to have that service completed. Eugene then had his service manager follow me to the waiting area to retrieve my belongings and had the service manager follow the to my vehicle. It was embarrassing and I felt like a criminal. I have always provided my feedback in the surveys provided via email. If I was unhappy with constantly being upsold like a Jiffy Lube I expressed it in that survey. Eugene never asked me why I was unhappy with the car or service. He decided to avoid another potential negative survey by refusing service instead of finding out why I was unhappy with the service and vehicle. I am appalled by his actions. I will never buy a Chrysler again.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Eugene Waterbury
July 05, 2018

"2013 JEEP COMPASS-LEMON! LEMON! LEMON!"

- joenamvet

I bought a pre-used 2013 Jeep Compass from Bengal Motors in Feb, 2017. So far, the transmission had overheated on 5 different occasions and the sales ppl, except for Josh, give me the biggest BS stories imaginable. It's been in for service 5 times already, + Bengal Service tells me there is NO PROBLEM because it doesn't show on the computer. That's a GOOD ONE! Now, I can't drive this car over 50 miles--because I and my wife and dog were almost KILLED when, on the NYS Thruway, the Tranny overheated and almost caused a pile-up. When the Compass tranny overheats, it stops the vehicle. I was doing 70 MPH @ the time. TWICE!! I bought this car with 43,000 miles--it now only has 57,000 BECAUSE I CAN'T DRIVE IT! It's a danger to me and anyone on the road. Now, I brought it in for Trans service, and they claim they fixed rear bearing. When I drive it now, once I hit 45 MPH it shimmies like the "LOVE SHACK" I personally want to thank Begnal motors for selling a lemon to a combat veteran--with 2 purple hearts and a Bronze Star. Money talks--and I took the walk--over a cliff. BUYERS, BEWARE OF BEGNAL SALES. They lie, cheat and stole over $15,000 from a retired couple. Thank you for your dis-honor. I am through negotiating w/ these thieves. Yours truly, Joseph OReilly SFC (RET), US Army.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Let's see--Brandon Bracco (Sales) Jeff (Service) Paul (Sales)-Paul wants us to pay more for another vehicle. LMAO
June 13, 2018

"Car burned down after service!"

- ksmith7511

6 weeks after getting an oil leak fixed at there service department, my car burns down from what the fire investigator said was oil related....called the service manager and he takes NO responsibility at all. a 2014 Fiat 500 should not burn down.. now im out the money I put down to buy the car AND my insurance deductible... Thank you for your great work......! Don't go here!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Eugene Waterbury
February 20, 2018

"Very Easy Purchase "

- topcat

After dealing with the dealerships in the NYC NJ area, i decided to give Begnal a call as they had a truck that fit my needs in stock. Living 120 miles away, I did most of the paperwork via email and phone, making it very convenient. Nick my Sales consultant, was great - knowledgeable, professional, and courteous. They treated me with respect, and make it a one person stop, with Nick handling all the paperwork. While it was out of my way, it was well worth the visit. The price was fair, and the transparency was appreciated. As with any business, there needs to be a profit, so my expectations were that the price would align with available quotes. I would recommend this dealership to others.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Nick Warren
February 16, 2018

"Sales New Car Purchase"

- Greg in Westchester County

Third Jeep Wrangler purchased from this dealership. Went to many others to shop around. Always came back to Begnal. Drove 90 miles to do the deal here. Not your typical high pressure sales dealership. The best to work with. Ask for Nick Warren

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Nick Warren
August 16, 2017

"Unproffesional"

- Pjd822

I had a recurring issue with my Jeep Cherokee Latitude which I purchased from Sawyer Motors. At the suggestion of a Chrysler/Jeep customer service representative, I took it to Begnal to see if they could help diagnose the problem. I took a Begnal tech for a ride and he said he knew what was causing the issue with the car. I made an appointment to have it fixed only to have the service manager call me to cancel the appointment and say "he didn't want to get involved." I asked him if he could at least tell me what the problem with the car was, and his response was to repeat his unwillingness to "get involved." I have never had an issue with Sawyer Motors; they have always been personable and professional; I can't say the same for Begnal.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service Manager
July 30, 2017

"Scam artists"

- Disappointed

My fuel pump died in Catskill and had to get towed to the nearest dodge dealership which was begnal. They fixed my pup and track bar before the end of the next day which was nice. Later going over the itemized list of parts and labor, I noticed they charged me literally twice the cost of a bolt than what dutchess dodge sells it for. All mopar parts but I was told that different dealerships have different mark ups( in other words, b.s.) they also charged me for 2 lock nuts (twice the cost) 3 days later felt a knocking in my steering, when I checked to see what it was I noticed one bolt in my track bar out of the hole 1/4" I could spin it with my hand and to top it off the old lock nut was still there! They never changed it out but charged me for it anyway! I believe in honest good quality work that I am willing to pay for. But I will never give these guys another dime!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service and parts
March 12, 2017

"Great experience "

- FranCaprotti

Dealership worked with me on what I needed done, they really went above and beyond. The salesman Dean Liu was more than helpful and the finance staff handled everything smoothly.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Dean Liu
December 22, 2016

"Our Go-to Dealer"

- Hsehorn31

We have owned 5 Jeeps over the years, between my husband and myself. We have and always will return to Begnal Motors. Dean has worked with us on every vehicle we've purchased. He knows what our preferences are for our Jeeps and even the amount we like to keep our payments at. If I need something tended to by the Services Dept, it's a simple matter of me dropping it off in the morning and receiving a status report in the afternoon. I highly recommend Bengal Motors to anyone.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Dean
1
1 - 10 of 16 results