Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Lawrence Kia

Lawrence, KS

4.2
939 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

1225 E 23rd St

Lawrence, KS

66046

Directions

939 Reviews of Lawrence Kia

Sort by Write a review
June 12, 2020

"I sold a used car to this dealership dealing directly..."

- Joshem

I sold a used car to this dealership dealing directly with the owner/GM and then found out afterward that despite his insistence the car would have to be discounted for having been in an accident it is being resold for even more than I thought it would be. I feel mislead and cheated.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Sam Rajapakse
1.0
Chin Rajapaksha
1.0
Jun 16, 2020 -

Lawrence Kia responded

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. After reviewing your transaction, here are the facts. We offered you $3000 for your Prius. You wanted more for your vehicle because vehicles similar to yours are selling for around $6000 in the retail market. As discussed during the transaction, we cannot purchase a vehicle from customers closer to retail value. You insisted you wanted more for your car. As we explained to you before the transaction, since the vehicle shows an accident on the vehicle history report, it will be challenging to sell it for top dollar. So, therefore, we cannot pay top dollar. However, you negotiated with the owner and were able to sell the vehicle to us for $3500. You were very happy with the transaction. Also, you were pleased with how we made sure your vehicle was sanitized properly during the vehicle appraisal process. You were also satisfied with us regarding how we accommodated your request and safety requirements due to COVID-19. (IE. We sanitized all touchpoints of your vehicle during the appraisal process and completed the entire transaction on the parking lot because you did not want to set foot in the dealership). You were thrilled with the entire process, to where you wanted to buy your next car from the dealership. However, a few weeks later, you saw that your vehicle was priced for $6900 on our website. We understand that you felt that we should have paid you more for your car. Unfortunately, we have to price our vehicles according to current market demands. As all dealerships, we price "FRESH" inventory at the highest margin possible; this does NOT mean we will sell it for that. Most customers just like you would want to negotiate and get a better price. When pricing our cars, we have to consider things like reconditioning cost, carrying cost, marketing cost, employee commissions, dealership overhead, titling cost, insurance cost, and various other costs. We also have to disclose to our buyers the fact that your vehicle has an accident, which will reduce the vehicle's value. Therefore it would be challenging to sell the vehicle for the asking price. We sincerely apologize that you felt you were misled. Clearly, that is not our intention.

April 07, 2020

"After you walk off the lot with a car, they don't care."

- Topherk44

Car buying experience was great. They helped out very well and were super kind. HOWEVER, I got into an accident that totaled my car. Filed my GAP insurance claim at the end of December 2019 and cancelled my Extended Warranty. It took them until the middle of February to send in my GAP insurance check to my bank. As of today, April 7th, 2020, I have still NOT to receive my Extended Warranty check. I call my bank weekly, if not more often, to ask about it. Then, I call Lawrence Kia. Each time, someone new seems to "handle" the situation. I have been told on four different accounts the check has been mailed out, most recently on March 20th. They often say "We will call you back within 30 minutes" and after 2-3 days, I call back and start at square one with someone else, even though I have been taking employee's names down and ask for them. They're out of the office, a lot. I have offered to deliver the check myself, xxxx, I'll even to write the xxxx thing if someone would sign it. Due to the amount left of the loan that they have neglected to pay off, my credit has dropped 50+ points. I am using my tax return to pay it off today because after almost four months, they still have not paid off my loan in full. I hope nothing like this happens to anyone else. I highly recommend you look somewhere else for your car buying experience. Multiple dealerships I visited in town to get a car after my accident shared stories similar to mine from other customers. I heard "They're great to you until you walk off the lot with a car. Then, they couldn't care less." I am experiencing that hardcore. Please go somewhere else.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Too many
Apr 09, 2020 -

Lawrence Kia responded

Christopher, we completely understand your frustration regarding this matter and would like to apologize for the inconvenience that may have caused you. Warranty Cancellations due to a total loss naturally have a longer than normal turnaround time due to verifications that are made by the warranty company, the lender, and the dealership. We sent the cancellation check to your Lender on March 19th of 2019, and we see that the check has not been cashed yet. Typically it takes about three weeks from the mailing date for us to see the funds being processed. However, we understand entirely from a customer standpoint how it can be very frustrating not having access to your money in one way or another. We are currently working daily with Christopher to resolve this issue. Due to the current state we are in, we are waiting 30-45 minutes on hold with the lender each day and not having any results. We will continue to have daily contact with Christopher until this matter has been resolved since we do not want to conduct business poorly after a sale has been made. We want our customers to feel comfortable making us their dealership for life. At the current moment, we are waiting on Christopher to provide us with proof of pay-off for the total loss vehicle so we can expedite the process and cut a check back directly to Christopher so he would not have to wait until US bank sends the money back to him. Christopher, we hope you understand that we are working as hard as we can to get this resolved for you and that you are welcome to call us anytime if you have any questions or concerns.

March 27, 2020

"Not what I expected"

- Smart car shopper

I just went there during the COVID-19 pandemic. I was told on the phone that all cars would be sterilized before and after each test drive. Plus, I was told to make an appointment so they could limit the number of people in the showroom. First, I saw NO signs of any car cleaning/sterilization going on at all. No wipes, no antibacterial sprays.....nothing! At the dealership, the showroom was packed and there was absolutely NO social distancing at all. The woman on the phone prior to my visit told me a whole bunch a lies relating to the dealership's COVID-19 plans or actions. As a side note, I was amazed how they would not let me wander in their used car lot to see some vehicles. Instead, they insisted on bringing a car up front for me to view. They pretty much sell their used cars as is, so there is no paint touch up, no dent removal or anything like that. I would stay away from this dealership!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chris Herring
4.0
Mar 31, 2020 -

Lawrence Kia responded

We want to apologize that your experience with us was not up to your expectations. We have been taking measures to keep everyone safe at our dealership. We have a sheet that is signed every hour showing that someone has sanitized the dealership, which is being done, we do not leave the items out for the public to see as not to make the lobby look cluttered. We also have been limiting people in the dealership at a time, but we, unfortunately, might have just gotten a little sidetracked with both service and sales customers in one spot. As with our used cars, we try to do our best to avoid imperfections as much as possible, but keep in mind that they are pre-owned vehicles so they will not be perfect. Our number priority is our customer's safety. We value your input, and we will take these concerns into serious consideration, and we will continue to further adapt during these challenging times. Again, we apologize for your less than stellar experience and wish you the best in the future with your car buying process.

December 14, 2019

"Horrible experience that resulted in over 4 hrs of drive..."

- Qualls59

Horrible experience that resulted in over 4 hrs of drive time and a wasted day off of work to go to this dealership to buy a car that they didn't even have on the lot! I was interested in a Ford Fusion I found online do I called the dealer to confirm they had it, while talking to one of the girls on the phone she told me it didn't have an option I was after so I said no big deal I'll just keep looking. Thirty minutes later another girl called me back and said they checked the vehicle and it did indeed have the remote start option I was after so i started my 2 hr drive to go buy my new car. When I got to the dealership they pulled the car out front, I inspected it and the salesman drove it off the lot and we switched places down the road. After being in the driver's seat for a minute I looked at the odometer and realized this was not the right milage. They did not even have the car I came to look at on the lot so they tried pulling a fast one by bringing out, letting me inspect, then test drive a car that was an exact replica except for the interior options and had more milage. Needless to say the test drive was over and I got to drive 2 hrs back home with no car. The manager of course got in contact and said he would do anything to make it right but that has not been see . I would take my business, valuable time, and money elsewhere.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Valerie Abarca
1.0
Chris Herring
1.0
Kevin Morrissy
1.0
Sam Rajapakse
1.0
Chin Rajapaksha
1.0
Dec 23, 2019 -

Lawrence Kia responded

Aaron, we want to apologize to you, we dropped the ball. The vehicle you came into see was one that another customer had placed a deposit on and was on an extended test drive. Moreover, we did not give you the correct information about the remote start option. Because the vehicle is a Hybrid, the remote start is not an option on that particular vehicle. We did offer to sell the Fusion to you at the online price and install the remote start at no charge. This is a teaching moment for our staff, and we have addressed this situation with the appropriate team members. We sell over 300 cars a month because of our customer service, aggressive pricing, and free Lifetime Warranty and try to provide outstanding service before and after the sale. In your case, we failed, and that is not the way we do business. Again we apologize and hope to earn your business in the future.

December 11, 2019

"New car"

- jenniferthorstenberg

This was the first time I have purchased any vehicle on my own and the experience was great, everyone was super nice, Nick Williams was the absolute best and when the time comes again to buy a car I will definitely go back. Thank you Jennifer

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Nick Williams
5.0
Dec 12, 2019 -

Lawrence Kia responded

Thank you for the wonderful review! We understand that buying a car can be stressful and we want to make sure that your purchase is as stress free as possible! Nick is fantastic to work with and will make the entire process easy and fun! Welcome to the family!

November 22, 2019

"Kelly Engler was professional in all aspects of my..."

- edwhamil

Kelly Engler was professional in all aspects of my purchase of my new Nero. I was referred to him by his customer Todd and Brenda Mueller who highly recommended him to me. (They were not even aware of referral bonus) so it speaks volumes for him!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jelly Engler
Nov 29, 2019 -

Lawrence Kia responded

Thank you for the wonderful review! Welcome to the family!!

September 23, 2019

"Lawrence KIA evaluation "

- Robert K. Nelson

Kelly Engler was recommended by a family member. During our first meeting, we let Kelly know we were shopping but not buying right away. He was very professional, provided details, options and answers to our questions. We contact Kelly via email over the weekend, asking additional questions and let him know we would be back to the dealership for further discussions. Kelly was well prepared and we left the dealership with new Optima. We have owned KIA products since 2006 but this is our first time dealing with Lawrence KIA. They have a large selection vehicles, with various options and are pleased with courteous, knowledgeable staff members. Although informative, I think the interview with the insurance personnel could be made optional and let the buyer decide if they would like to evaluate the different products and their personal needs.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Kelly Engler
5.0
Sep 26, 2019 -

Lawrence Kia responded

Thank you for the fantastic review! We are happy to hear that Kelly was able to take care of you throughout your car buying process. We have given your feedback to our managers about the interviews with the insurance personnel and will work to make this easier in the future. Thank you again for the great review and feedback!

August 26, 2019

"Very professional and did every to make purchase possible fo"

- Dgauthier

Great sales team they made car buying easy. They worked with us to get the payments right and highest trade in value for our mini van

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Kelly Engler
5.0
Other Employees : Samuel Balbuena
Aug 29, 2019 -

Lawrence Kia responded

Thank you for the awesome review! We are happy to hear that our team was able to find you a vehicle that fit your needs at a payment that suited you! Welcome to the family!

August 01, 2019

"Exceptional service by Scott Essex!"

- Amy Taylor

My husband and I purchased a used car that needed some work done on it. Scott provided fast and timely repairs with a great attitude! He never showed any frustrations working with us and always had a great and helpful attitude! I would highly recommend you see Scott Essex for any of your service needs!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Scott Essex
Aug 01, 2019 -

Lawrence Kia responded

Thank you for the great review! We are happy to hear that Scott was able to help you out!

July 29, 2019

"Amazing customer service and pricing!"

- JohnnyPee

Hunter Venables gave me the VIP treatment from the minute I walked in the door to Lawrence Kia/Mitsubishi. He made the buying process as smooth and painless as I've ever had. It took literally minutes to get a deal done and I drove away with my new 2020 Kia Sportage LX. Hunter was very professional, funny, and great to work with. I can't thank Hunter enough for making me the deal I asked for and getting me into the vehicle I wanted with the options I wanted. If you ever get tired of the usual dealerships and salesman, you gotta come see Hunter Venables at Lawrence Kia/Mitsubishi, and he will definitely change your mind about the car buying experience in a great and positive way. They will meet and beat any price on a new vehicle, plus their selection of inventory is second to none!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Hunter Venables
Aug 01, 2019 -

Lawrence Kia responded

Thank you for the great review! Hunter is fantastic to work with and will go above and beyond to make sure you are taken care of from the moment you walk in the door. We work as a team to make sure that you leave feeling confident with your purchase. Welcome to the Lawrence Kia Mitsubishi family!

1
...
1 - 10 of 939 results