About Us
Copyright 2018 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Marvin K. Brown Auto Center

3.5

23 Lifetime Reviews

1441 Camino Del Rio South, San Diego, California 92108 Directions
Sales: (888) 398-6352

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

23 Reviews of Marvin K. Brown Auto Center

Sort by Write a review
January 20, 2018

"Great Experience from out of state!"

- westjames45

I live in Colorado Springs and had been looking all over..." I live in Colorado Springs and had been looking all over the country for a great Honda Crosstour at a great price. Steve Long was great to work with, and an honest salesman. I bought this vehicle sight unseen and went solely off of the information Steve provided and pictures on their website. This is the CLEANEST, 1-owner, Crosstour I found anywhere in the US at an incredible price! I flew to San Diego one-way, Steve picked me up from the airport, completed all the paperwork, and was on the road driving back to Colorado in under around an hour (actually, I went to the beach for a couple hours first). All combined, the cost of the vehicle, one way flight, one night hotel (drive home), and gas back to CO all added up to far less than comparable Crosstour's with the miles and year I'd looked at. Thank you!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Steve Long
January 08, 2018

"Luxury Dealer Substandard Product"

- CCurrie

So I gave MKB a 1 star for a variety of reasons. I was borderline between whether a 1 or 2 was deserved and as you read my review you can decide whether you think it's a 1 or 2 but I'm sure most will agree it's definitely not worthy of being considered average or better. My experience begins with purchasing the vehicle. I bought a 2014 Terrain from them certified pre-owned (CPO) from their dealer. The sales people were nice and the process was no pressure. This is where the great experience stopped.....literally dead in the tracks. From there I've noticed a variety of challenges many of which were obviously arranged by service to not fail or cause challenges during test drive or non daily driving. The most serious was getting a code for a malfunctioned camshaft sensor during the first 30 days of ownership. This failure caused the car to stall under low speed, idle, and low speed/high load. Additionally the navigation screen is 60% non responsive. Other screens work okay. Additionally the bluetooth function only works clearly if I run the vehicle for 5 minutes then turn to bluetooth. When having them work on the sensor I asked them to check this out as well. When arriving my service advisor was friendly. I planned my visit to drop the car while I work as they do have shuttle service and I work maybe 10 minutes up the road. When initially arriving the place was packed and busy. I was advised initially that the shop was backed up and the car probably wouldn't get seen until the afternoon or tomorrow. Now I had booked an early morning appointment (9am) so I was obviously perturbed by this! After speaking with the service manager and the management member above him as well they did end up replacing the sensor and flashing the infotainment system and getting the car back by 3pm. The result....well it's not throwing a code anymore, but it doesn't run as smooth as during the test drive or the first week that I had the car. Since purchase I've put only about 5-7k miles on the car and the engine runs with an eternal hiccup on idle and low speeds. At highway speeds usually not there or not noticeable. Additionally until recently the TPMS sensors were being read in reverse order in the instrument cluster. My recent maintenance appointment I brought that up and it's now resolved. At the end of the day I've marked Marvin K Brown as a one star because: CPO vehicles cost more because they are supposed to be in better condition less issues and warranted to be fixed if there's an issue. On this vehicle that wasn't the case. For a 3 year old car with less than 50k miles it has an exorbatant amount of challenges. My Outback had 30k more miles on it same age and virtually no problems. Just needed new tires and replace a wheel bearing. Why this 'younger' car has 3x the issues no idea As a luxury dealer I'd expect they'd recognize and fix little issues like the TPMS sensors reading at the wrong location on their own. I don't fault them for the camshaft sensor malfunction because those things happen with little to no warning at times, but I do fault them for selling me a vehicle with a bad screen and also having it be shared with them and getting it back same issue. Also same sentiment for the bluetooth streaming problem. Lastly prepare yourself when dealing with service. They weren't honest with me during booking that they were busy. Also didn't tell me your 'scheduled time' is a booking with your service advisor not for actual service. And yeah you guessed it your service advisor may or may not be available at your scheduled time. While mine has gotten to me ASAP he's never been available when I arrived for my scheduled time. Now at the time I had my first appointment the appointment making was outsourced, I believe it's now in house so maybe better knowledge of business but be careful. Finally, I'd recommend anyone looking for a vehicle stay away from here at the moment. CPO or not it doesn't seem like they have the greatest quality vehicles available. When I purchased given my automotive experience I did several things to bring out the worst so I could get a true idea of the vehicle. On the lot everything seemed good, put normal daily driver miles on it not so much. Don't let the friendly faces fool you. There's a substandard product behind those smiles. CAVEAT EMPTOR!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Josh
Jan 12, 2018 -

Marvin K. Brown Auto Center responded

Mr. Currie, thank you for getting in contact. We are dismayed to hear that you had such an awful experience with your vehicle. Our service manager Greg White just left you a voicemail and is committed to working to solve your concerns. If you have a free moment please contact Greg directly at 619-725-2042.

August 26, 2017

"Customer Service Non-existent"

- JT

This dealership is something out of a 1970s used car lot. The people and the attitude are extremely disappointing and dates. This is my first GM vehicle, a Buick Verano, and I really like it, but the experience in purchasing the vehicle and my recent service experience has been completely discouraging. If you plan to purchase a GM vehicle, purchase it elsewhere, and get ready for absolutely no customer service or support. Greg White, the service manager, actually lectured me, instead of helping me. They are worried more about their bottomline then interested in supporting their customers.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Greg White, Service Manager
Sep 06, 2017 -

Marvin K. Brown Auto Center responded

Jamie, thank you for reaching out. We wanted to reach out to you personally to address what we know has been a frustrating experience. When you last visited our store I understand that you worked with our team to contact the dealership in Anaheim that you purchased your used vehicle from. Unfortunately the labor that was required to your braking system was ultimately considered wear and tear and even after a lengthy discussion between our team and the original dealership they were unable to budge on their estimate. We did try to offer you a discount on the cost of service as a good will gesture but ultimately the decision to assist in covering the cost of service for your brakes has to come from the original dealership. Each dealership operates independently as a franchise from the original manufacturer and even though we know this is frustrating we did at least want to try our best for you. If there’s any way we can be of service going forward please do not hesitate to get in touch. Sincerely, Marvin K. Brown Auto Center.

August 18, 2017

"Top Notch"

- Julie Oleary

I had the easiest car buying experience that I have ever had. No pressure, really friendly, and I love my new car! It can be a little intimidating for a woman to buy a car alone, but I need not have worried. Thank you MKB!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Troy and Jake
August 17, 2017

"Service manager stands up for client! "

- Steve d 34

MKB had applied a protective product in my vehicle when purchased new. The product didn't do what it guaranteed to do, so paint was damaged. Greg has his paint guy and a detailed all look at it and concluded that yea the paint was damaged. When Greg contacted the manufacturer, they tried to dispute the claim and had truck sent to a 3rd detailed, who agreed with all previous parties that paint was damaged. After numerous calls and taking a stand on behalf of client, Greg got the manufacturer to authorize and pay for truck to be repainted. I have been dealing w "car business" guys my entire life, and I can honestly say Greg did what others would not. So MKB is going to be my dealer every time I purchase a vehicle for my family, and I recommend everyone does the same!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Greg white
March 25, 2017

"Service"

- james melvin

I made an appointment and arrived 30 mins early. I waited two hoursr for an oil change/tire rotation. I actually had to ask the service writer the status of my car at the 1.5 hour mark. They hadn't even touched it

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jesus
October 15, 2016

"Worst Seevice advisor ever!"

- Saab

Larry is not helpful and lacks on customer service skills. I've been coming here quite a good times to service my Saab because MKB is the only dealer that's still servicing these vehicles, however I noticed the condesensy attitude on this guy since the first time but I just didn't care since I just wanted my vehicle serviced, but this LAST time was so irritable. I dropped my car for regular maintenance and I also told this guy to check on a squeaky noise on the front tire. I went home and waited 5 hours for Larry to call me and tell me how things were going with my car , instead I got a call from the shuttle driver telling me that I was about to be picked up. I called my "advisor' to know what was the deal with the fix and why I was never called earlier. Anyways, this guy didn't pick up and I gently and patiently left a voicemail. Well I got to the dealer and walked straight to his cubicle to ask him about the details and recommendations on my car and I saw him looking at me and just pretended to be busy and doing the "just a moment" signal with his index and thumb fingers. Ok, I waited on the sidewalk in front of his little see through glass office and he kept ignoring me, seriously! What was his deal? He doesn't need to like me or my car, I'm paying full price and he is there to do his job. At one point I just went to the cashier and asked for my car keys, he saw me leaving and did nothing to talk to me or even acknowledge me. I can't go back to a place where I feel like I'm begging when I'm paying for a service. My car still has the squeaky noise for the inability or neglection of Larry the advisor. Sorry my car is not a 2016 but I still like to care for it, but this guy has made look for a different vendor for a service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Larry Ramos
January 26, 2016

"Bad experience turned good "

- Meanh2

I had gave a bad review before everything was said and done . Now I'm recanting my bad review it turned out positive as I was able to get my car fixed at no charge which I think was fair due to the fact that I bought the car with a bad hybrid battery to begin with and not even know it and at 6 months already stressed out with the purchase due to the problems it was having but luckily MARVIN K BROWN came through and proved to me why I chose them and not a sketchy no name used car dealer. I am a gmc guy I have a hummer and an escalade for sure my next gmc purchase will be here as long as they keep up the positive and honest work ethic

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Merrill porter , Gary Hewitt
April 21, 2015

"Bad experience"

- jlajr2483

I recently purchased a truck on 4/10/15. I originally came in on Thursday the 9th to look at the GMC Canyon which I bought the next day. I test drove with Tico and talked with Tony (who stated he was the Costco pricing manager). In talking with them Tony said that the price of the truck would be $500 over invoice for the Costco pricing. After Tico and Tony came out of GM Bill Cooper’s office, I was offered a fair trade in price and was told that if I traded in my car, they would also throw in the rear pass through window. When I returned the next day to purchase the truck, there were several discrepancies from the previous conversations. I was told the Costco price given to me originally was incorrect that I was being overcharged $250. I was also told that the rear pass through window would not be included (there goes an additional 700 dollars out of my pocket). Another issue is that J.Tyler and I went out and picked a set of side steps as an option for the truck so that my wife who was having trouble getting in and out with my newborn wouldn't have as much trouble. We went out together and he picked a set off of another vehicle on the lot. At this point, I had to leave the dealership to take my wife and baby home. When I returned to do the paperwork only a couple hours later, I looked at the added options and the side steps were not listed but the price I had agreed upon earlier in front of my wife had included them. Needless to say I did not get the side steps. Once again the dealership made false promises. The next issue I had was that I was told before I agreed to pay for the accessories from J.Tyler that I could have all the options installed this week while I was out of town. I bought the truck on Friday the 10th and dropped it back off on Monday 4/13/15. On Tuesday 4/14/15, I received a call from Meryl in the service department, asking what needs to be installed on the truck because he has no idea why my truck was there. After I told him the parts to be installed he said that nobody had ordered those parts (that I had already paid for) and it would take a few days to receive them. Additionally, the rear pass through window would not be available until next month or so. So they are quick to take your money and once they have your money, they are done with you. I am frustrated and not happy with the service I have received from this dealership. I was told many things and made promises but the amount of inconsistency among the employees is unsatisfactory. I was told my ordered parts would be there in a few days but it has been over a week and I have only had my bed liner installed and it was not installed properly as there are 2 big bulges where it is lifted up from the truck. Salesman J. Tyler told me after making my purchase that if I had any issues to let him know so he could do his best to make things right. I called and emailed him and haven't heard back from him since Sunday 4/12. Again, more people talking but not following through on what they say. It seems to be the trend I'm noticing. I also called and left 2 voicemails for the GM Bill Cooper. I emailed him on 4/15/15, but have received no response. I picked this dealership because of the high 4.6 review ratings online I saw with google. My experience with the false promises and bait and switch tactics leave me feeling taken advantage of on this purchase that was over $42K. Now, if it was just one of these things I could chalk it up to a mistake but when you add all these little things they add up to a terrible 1 star experience that I don’t think anyone would want. They were quick to take my 42k but when the deal was closed I was no longer an important customer that even warranted a call back or email. So save yourself the time and headache of the typical dealership and avoid this one.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
J.Tyler,Bill Cooper
September 24, 2012

"Service, customer service, and price is great, but when I..."

- ashley.coronaboone

Service, customer service, and price is great, but when I make an appointment I wait at least an hour for an oil change but I go since I have a brand new dealership and I know they can handle my car and check every part

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Service Dept
1
1 - 10 of 23 results