About Us
Copyright 2018 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Matthews-Hargreaves Chevrolet

4.0

165 Lifetime Reviews

2000 E 12 Mile Road, Royal Oak, Michigan 48067 Directions
Sales: (866) 928-7003

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

165 Reviews of Matthews-Hargreaves Chevrolet

Sort by Write a review
August 20, 2018

"The worst experience buying a car!!! "

- Alexa18

I have been leasing with this dealer for 4 years, and I never have a problem with then, the leasing staff are execellent persons but when I tried to buy an used car that was a nightmare, the pre-owned manager Tom Schneider was so rude, hetreated us very badly, No one has ever treated me like this in my life, I don't recommend this place to buy a used car.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Tom scheider
August 13, 2018

"Excellent customer service! "

- cariv

Bryan did a great job helping me get the vehicle I wanted. He offered excellent customer service skills and made the whole process smooth and easy versus overwhelming. Everyone involved was friendly and helpful.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Bryan N.
August 10, 2018

"Try to take advantage of younger/inexperienced buyers"

- CarGuy27

I spent 3+ hours in the dealership looking to buy a new Camaro (old model year, August, etc... figured they would love to have my business). Salesman and manager spent hours trying to sell me the vehicle they had on the lot (one I was not interested in), trying to convince me to lease instead of buy, and trying to pressure me into financing instead of buying with cash. Finally, we found a car at a dealership a few hours away that I was very interested in, so I called Matthews-Hargreaves the next morning asking them to make an offer on it, to which they said they'd get back to me in "a few minutes". Then they proceeded to play mind games with me for a day and a half, and called me back several times during the day only to say that they hadn't heard anything back on the car that I was interested in, but wanted to try to convince me yet again to buy the one that they had on the lot. Ended up contacting the dealership that had the car I wanted directly, at which point they told me they had not had any contact from Matthews-Hargreaves about the vehicle, but they worked with me on the price and within 15 minutes, we had a verbal agreement. I am driving out tomorrow to close the deal and take possession of the vehicle. When I informed Matthews-Hargreaves of the situation, the sales representative became agitated and proceeded to treat me resentfully and poorly, after playing games with me through the entire process and trying to pressure me into buying/leasing a vehicle that I did not want. Would not recommend going into Matthews-Hargreaves as a young buyer, as they will assume that you are inexperienced and try to pressure/force you into something that you don't want.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mike
August 02, 2018

"Satisfied Cuustomer"

- Chevismom

From the moment of walking in the front door to driving off the lot in my new vehicle, the process was smooth and professional and accomplished in a timely manner.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Bryan Nicholas
August 01, 2018

"Great service and caring attitudes"

- Jleman

Dealing with Walt Tutag is the best experience you’ll have with this dealership. He goes above and beyond giving you A1 service. He takes care of you as if you were his family. He’s the reason we keep going back year after year!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Walt Tutag
July 02, 2018

"Great Place to Get a New Car or for Service"

- Sally W.

I first when to Matthews-Hargreaves when my G6 was having problems It turned out that the catalytic converter had gone bad. I was facing a huge bill to have it replaces. The service rep did some research for me and discovered it was still under warranty - NO CHARGE. While I was doing my happy dance I was given a loaner for a couple of days - an Equinox. I discovered that I could rent the car for $20/day, so I made arrangements to rent one for a trip up north. I fell in love with the car. On a whim I contacted the sales people and was given Lydia and Jackie to work with. I wanted to lease a car. Jackie took me out in a Trax and then the Equinox. The people who evaluated the car gave me a more than fair price for an 11 year old G6 that had a lot of dings on the car from sitting in parking lots. Mechanically it was very sound. I was able to use that for my deposit. All along I thought that the treatment I received from everyone at Matthews-Hargreaves was red carpet. They are not a huge dealership, but they make you feel like you're very special. Plus they have some of the best looking doormen around. I would recommend asking for Jackie to help you with your purchase. She is very knowledgeable and is a lot of fun to work with.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jackie, Lydia and Erick
June 06, 2018

"Can’t figure out how to call back"

- Stang08

Has been over 6 months for a refund. No check. Can’t get ahold of anyone. 0 stars. Go anywhere else. Even out of the country. Outer space is better.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Lisa
May 26, 2018

"Watch out for hidden fees"

- Jeremy

I had gotten a quote for a certified pre-owned Cruze earlier in the week, and was ready to make the move and purchase it. I had one simple request, get rid of this unnecessary $299 fee for VIN etching. When I was there, ready to make a deal -- not only was I told that VIN etching was mandatory -- but the certified pre-owned portion wasn't included in the previous offer -- so it would be another $499. But they could cut the price slightly. The salesperson said they couldn't budge on the price because they were already losing $2,000 on the car (highly unlikely). And then 10 minutes later, the manager was explaining how they couldn't budge on the price because they were loosing $287 on the car already. None of it made sense. BTW: This is what Automotive News says about VIN etching: ... Better dealers sell VIN window etch for $149 to $199. But a few "rogue F&I agents," according to Duncan, charge up to $300. "It's easy prey because it's a low-cost product," he said. "A bad actor can exploit a product like etch." Still, price gouging on etch has become so notable that "Consumer Reports" listed etch as one of its "10 common car-buying mistakes" in 2012. "If you decide you want VIN etching, you can buy a kit to do it yourself" for $25, Consumer Reports told readers. Beware of hidden fees like these and them going back on their word. I found a different Chevy dealership that called it "criminal" that they would attempt that $299 charge and we made a deal very easily.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Rose, Rob
April 27, 2018

"As dishonest as they come"

- Sally Hoskins

From the beginning, Matthews-Hargreaves acted with dishonesty. We took our car in for a repair and the verbal estimate was $2500. The service guy, Tom Kaiser, said he was going to reach out to GM because they hadn't been diagnosing the root cause, they had only been fixing the symptoms...Because we had this SAME repair less than two years prior, we asked for our records. I was told they were given to us when they weren't and then the person that told me that blocked my email. It took a ridiculous number of phone calls and emails to get the records and when we did receive them, there were only three. I asked for the rest and we were told that they were purged from their system. When I explained that they weren't in compliance with the law if these records were indeed purged, suddenly they were able to give me the rest of the records. I compared the repair records to the reports on Carfax and they didn't match. Two were incorrect and one was missing completely. When I asked about it, I was told, by Matthews-Hargreaves, that the dealership isn't responsible for the accuracy of what is reported to Carfax. In addition, I was told that GM was providing the information, so it was their error. It bothered me, because I paid $2500 for a major repair that was listed as "checked system" on the Carfax report. So...did I pay for a repair that didn't happen? It seems so, since they wanted me to pay for that same repair again! Next, I wanted my estimate in writing. It took over a week from the verbal estimate, to get a complete written estimate from the service manager, Rob Morris. During that week, I was given a partial estimate with two dollar amounts for the repairs, but nothing broke down labor or the cost of the parts. Getting that information took several more days. Once I had the full estimate, I was verifying the parts online and discovered an incorrect part number. When the correct part number was finally given to me, it was at a markup of over 620% of what I could buy it for online. In addition, when I received the written estimate, it was given to me and I was told that if I wanted to complete the repair, I was required to give my driver's license number, the last 4 digits of my social security number and pay in advance for the parts. If I didn't want to move forward, which they highly recommended I go elsewhere, I needed to have my car off the premises by the end of the following business day or it would be removed. I was outraged at this. I contacted the EM, Lisa Austin. She pretended to be interested in working with us to resolve this issue, but it seemed her main motive was to sell us a car. When we met in person to discuss my concerns with the service department, her first question after the hellos and how are yous was to ask if I liked my car and if I was interested in something new. I explained then that I liked my car, wanted to keep it and wouldn't be going through this if I wanted a new car. At this meeting, the GM, Walt Tutak, acted as if he never heard of me, even though I emailed him multiple times. The point of this meeting was to discuss these issues. My car was supposed to have been repaired in June of 2016 - we paid $2500 for it. The following summer (September 2017), we had the same symptoms and this time Matthews-Hargreaves "cleaned" the injectors for $200. Then, six months later, the injectors along with the catalytic convertor needed to be replaced again!!! They blamed GM for the injector problems. It was a faulty design by GM, according to Matthews_Hargreaves. During this meeting, it was acknowledged that the bad injectors could cause a problem for the catalytic convertors...coincidentally, after Matthews-Hargreaves replacing my injectors and then claiming to "clean" them, my catalytic converter also went bad. We allowed them to look at my car again for a thorough diagnosis (even though I thought that was why we brought it in to begin with). They had my car for a week. They said the original estimate still stood, along with a list of all of the other problems. We wanted to discuss this further so we agreed to meet the following week. Lisa Austin decided not to come to that meeting and Walt met us with a new car salesman trying to sell us a car. I explained that we never said we were buying a car, that we said we were coming to discuss our options. Walt acted surprised (even though he was on the call, he said he didn't remember talking to us) and took us to his office. He admitted that the cleaning of the injectors for $200 shouldn't have happened and agreed to refund that, but couldn't agree to refund the original $2500 repair that was listed on Carfax as "checked system" He did say he would look for some service reports regarding the engine and get back to us. When he did, there was, of course, nothing that they could do (or would do). While they had my car, I used their estimate to contact their parts department to request pricing on the parts listed on the estimate. Would you believe that I could walk in off of the street and pay LESS than what the service guy wanted to charge me? How? Why? I asked Lisa and her excuse that it was GMs "pricing matrix" - it was GM's fault that Matthews-Hargreaves wanted to charge me $204 for the same part that I could buy for them for $79. IT WAS GM'S FAULT THAT THEY WERE CHARGING TWO DIFFERENT PRICES. Even after all of this, my husband agreed to come in and talk to them about a new vehicle. Walt and Lisa set him up with their BEST guy. Their best guy wanted to trade in our car, keep all of the money and still charge us more on payments than any other dealership in town. That was their idea of helping us out. He didn't ask about incentives, look for incentives, he just gave us a price that required more than 3X the advertised price down and more money in payments. No thank you. Lisa decided that because I kept asking questions that they wouldn't answer that I the customer that will never be happy and she said she quit responding to me because we I would never be happy no matter what she did for me. She said we came to several agreements and I kept turning them around. I asked what agreement I ever made and she couldn't answer. I went to another dealership and I explained the high pricing that we were getting from Matthews-Hargreaves and he said that it looked like they must have increased the MSRP on the vehicle in order for the monthly payments to be what they were, with a down payment as much as they were taking. So...not only did the service department try to raise the prices on us, so did the sales department. In addition, they blocked me from posting to their Facebook page. This is specific to me only. They didn't like the review I left or that I was commenting on other reviews. I recently noticed that they are using their own salespeople to inflate their ratings on Facebook...the last reviewer to give 5 stars works there. Just another example of their dishonesty.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Tom Kaiser, Rob Morris, Walt Tutak, Lisa Austin
March 28, 2018

"Very Nice service & easy process."

- equinox2018

I like very much friendly service. I strongly recommend Matthews-Hargreaves dealership. It was great experience for me. I got my car at my home. I got all paper ..even plate at my home. Great service Great dealer.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jared Diskin
1
...
1 - 10 of 165 results