Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

McDaniels Subaru of Columbia

Columbia, SC

3.4
23 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

490 Killian Rd #2

Columbia, SC

29203

Directions

23 Reviews of McDaniels Subaru of Columbia

Sort by Write a review
April 12, 2021

"McDaniels Subaru provides excellent service. Estimated..."

- Judy

McDaniels Subaru provides excellent service. Estimated wait time was correct. Respectful, informative customer service. Covid protocols in place and enforced. Would strongly recommend to others.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Nik Laney
January 05, 2021

"They were amazing, went above and beyond in the sale of..."

- Majikgirl1968

They were amazing, went above and beyond in the sale of my WRX. Everything from transferring my car from Augusta to holding it for me a few days, they kept it inside for me and just made us feel so important to them. Truly are amazing employees. Our sales agent made us feel so comfortable and that we were important to him and the business also!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Daniel and Mike and can’t remember the sales person but he was awesome!
November 19, 2020

"We recently purchased a Subaru Forester and had a..."

- Gail

We recently purchased a Subaru Forester and had a fantastic experience! My salesman was Leo. He was great and very informative . I didn’t feel like I was pressured at all which made for a relaxing experience. The dealership really cares about their clients and you feel it.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Leo Lucatero
March 11, 2020

"Poor communication, they missed out on a sale."

- R Hott

My wife and I were looking to upgrade our vehicle with a baby on the way with a low-mileage used Subaru. My wife and MIL went to McDaniels around July 2019 and was shown several new and used models from a car salesman (I did not catch his name; will refer to as Salesman A). They had a great experience and left with a Forester in mind. I returned with my wife a few weeks later and when we asked for Salesman A we were told "he didn't last long" and were assigned James Harper instead. Mr. Harper was kind and very knowledgeable about the cars. However he kept insisting we try out features even though we were both familiar with them already. We had told him we were not interested in test driving, because again we had both driven one within the last 3 months, but he insisted. It was no harm, just aggravating. Since we were looking for a used Forester, to which they didn't have any on the lot that day, Mr. Harper took down both of our phone numbers and emails on the sheet of our photocopied licenses. He said he would call us as soon as something came in. Thus began 12 weeks of me actively trying to contact him about cars listed on their online inventory and getting little to no response. At least 15 attempts of me contacting him to inquire about a vehicle and 4-6 vehicles that fit our budget. One of the more frustrating "cars that got away" was one that exactly fit what we wanted. It was just listed online (I checked it daily) and I contacted him immediately. I left a message at 1:30pm. I left another message at 3:15pm. No call backs even though the person answering said he was walking around. I finally got a hold of him the next morning at 9am and he says "oh that car might be available or someone just got it". Confused, I said "please let me know immediately as I am very interested." I called him back at 5:30pm and he said "oh yeah, it had been on our lot for two weeks and someone just came in and grabbed it" I replied "if it was there for two weeks, why didn't you tell me?". Mr. Harper replied "oh oh I didn't mean that, it has not been available for that long or I would have definitely called you". After being led in circles for months, I reached out to the Subaru dealership in Spartanburg and drove up two days later to purchase a car in October of 2019. I never informed Mr. Harper that we had purchased and he still has not contacted me.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
James Harper
February 04, 2020

"Audio Unit Replaced"

- franklegare

The work was done very quickly and efficiently. It did not take as long as I though it would so I was very pleased! The dealership is first class and the waiting room very comfortable.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Can't remember but they were very professional and friendly!
January 24, 2020

"Showed a used Sabaru that was not detailed."

- yankee

How could you show a nasty Subaru with dog hair and etc., cash transaction would not talk wanted to put it on credit. Could not work with dealership. Went else where and purchased a new truck paid cash, your loss!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
N/A
January 09, 2020

"Unfriendly and overpriced"

- Bill

As a Subaru owner, I went in today to buy another. I was met with unfriendliness, high end pressure tactics, over pricing on vehicles versus other dealers, and lack of knowledge concerning inventory. I will buy another Subaru, but not from this dealer..

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
salesman
December 28, 2019

"too bad I don’t have the option of giving a negative 👎..."

- D

too bad I don’t have the option of giving a negative 👎 grade. I was a loyal customer until just recently when my check engine light came on. Immediately i called and Nik answered the phone at around 3/45pm he said that he is finishing his turner customer and then they close. I said i am a long term customer he doesn’t care and i have to come in tomorrow. About one hour later i complaint to Olivia and she said bring the car in. My luck I was greeted by Nik and again he had a nasty attitude against me again. I left the. At with Olivia and the next day she called to let me). Diagnosis was valve cover leaking timing belt leaking and at least two sensor one is a MAF sensor. I ask over and over again why didn’t No one notice that during my regular inspections. No one has given me a satisfactory answer. My gut feeling told me to get a second opinion I was recommended a garage o er in West Columbia and they said tMcDaniels inflated the hours and charged me for unnecessary work and replacements of parts. They run their diagnostic and found out the codes where incorrectly read. The valve cover leaked because the screws were loose. No leak was found on the timing bet cover and only one sensor had to be replaced which was the whole problem. The total repair cost with some additional work that I ask them to do was only $713.00 not $2,100. I never will go back to McDaniels Service Department. I was a loyal customer and I was taking for a ride. Oh by the way I forgot to mention they refused to allow the tow truck to pick up my car. Be very careful where you get your car maintained and repaired. Under NO circumstance would I recommend McDaniels Subaru.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Nik and Olivia Service Dept.
May 11, 2019

"Classy outfit"

- ITSallOK

I had already decided to buy a new Impreza, and the process was entirely painless with full disclosure by all employees from sales to finance all the way. The vehicle I wanted actually had to be shipped in from another dealer, but that went well, too, with plenty of feedback. The dealership facilities themselves are very pleasant. At first I thought the location was a bit far out of town, but being just off I-77 proved it to be no problem at all. The car turned out to have a weak AC unit (undercharged at the factory), so I had to bring it in for service only 6 weeks after purchase - when the weather started to warm - but the service was quick and friendly. I

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Abel Aguilar
April 17, 2019

"First car buying experience was a dream! "

- Macipow

I can’t say enough good things about this dealership. I’ve been looking for a Subaru Outback for a bit and as soon as I walked into McDaniels Subaru in Columbia and met Qiana I knew that I had come to the right place! She was transparent and honest throughout the whole experience and matched me with the PERFECT car. She’s is amazing and I can’t recommend her enough!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Qianna, Ray
1
1 - 10 of 23 results