Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

McGovern Subaru

North Hampton, NH

4.2
411 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

203 Lafayette Rd

North Hampton, NH

03862

Directions

411 Reviews of McGovern Subaru

Sort by Write a review
February 08, 2020

"They were so good, I had to drive from NYC to buy a car "

- usernameinuse

Buying a car is stressful. Buying a car after an accident took me three weeks of searching the eastern seaboard having to put up with numerous shady dealerships and salespeople is more stressful. Just horrible experiences almost all around until I got to McGovern. It started with AP Theodore and his assistance in setting up a time that worked for me to come in for an appointment. Then I negotiated a small discount on their already fair price with Christian Morillo over text and phone (Christian was super chill and not pushy at all). After driving for 7 hours Friday night in rain and traffic and overnighting in Boston, I drove up to NH the next morning and besides the speeding ticket I deservingly got on the way, I had a great experience. Christian had the car detailed and ready to go in short order upon my arrival. There was absolutely no last-minute surprises or anything we hadn't already discussed. No hard sells, no negative anything. Only pleasant conversation, an offer of snacks and beverages and a test drive to make sure the car was as advertised. After that, I went into the finance office with Markus Perkins. Even if the salesman is good, the finance guy often tries to sell you lots of unnecessary add ons and turn a good experience bad. Not so here. Markus was as awesome as Christian. He went over the extended warranty with me but didn't try the hard sell or anything. He made sure all my documents were in order to ensure that my time in the NY DMV would go smoothly. After signing what I needed to we shook hands and I was on my way. In and out on a Saturday morning in under 1.5 hours. I wish all major purchases went so smoothly. Honest people and fair prices on quality vehicles. You could do a lot worse than shopping here. Thanks boys... keep up the good work.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Christian Morillo, Markus Perkins, A.P. Theodore
December 26, 2019

"A Much Better Experience at McGovern"

- Chip

The last time I bought a Subaru, it was at Exeter Subaru. I love Subarus and the car we bought there was no exception -- but the sales experience at Exeter was not a good one, and I told them so in my review. This time I went to McGovern -- and the difference was like "night and day." Kyle Soller treated me very well. He was knowledgeable, presented me with a fair deal, and I came away with a much more positive experience. Time will tell whether the service department lives up to the sales department's standards. Exeter Subaru's service department was no better than its sales department, so I am hoping for better this time around.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Kyle Soller
July 31, 2019

"Awful Customer Service"

- Christine M

If I could give this dealership zero stars I would. I bought my car in April of 2014, my salesman was Ben and he was wonderful knowledgeable and easy to work with. The zero comes from the customer service counter any time my car has ever had to go back to Subaru for anything. I purchased a warranty for the interior of my car just in case any of the seats got stains in them I couldn't get out. The first time I got my car detailed there was a spot that didn't budge, I asked Subaru about it and the service counter said if the detail person I had couldn't get the stain out there is nothing different they can do, with zero attempt or follow up after that. I mentioned that my car never really gets cold with the AC on high anywhere other than right in front of the vent and they said well its cold in front of the vent so that's the best it will do.. Fine I deal with a warm car because I do know I drive a great car safety and reliability wise and that is more important. When my car only had 30,000 miles on it they told me my tires were unsafe and I needed new ones and they told me about the ones they recommend there. I saved up and spent the $750 on brand new all season Yokohama tires that I was told were rated for 75,000 miles. I recently went back to have a safety recall fixed and was told I needed brand new $750 tires after my last ones had only gone 26,000 miles!!! Along with $854 for just my back break pads and rotors and one caliper that might be frozen. I was told my car is unsafe and the work is urgent but I passed on them doing it that day because that break price is ridiculous and the unsafe tires they sold me. The dealership told me I had to contact Subaru of America and gave me the number. I tried to call it and it was the wrong number I had to call back and get the correct number, I called Subaru of America and they told me I had to talk to Yokohama directly and transferred me over only for Yokohama to tell me they do not speak with consumers and I needed to go through the DEALERSHIP! I called the dealership again and they said they had never heard that and they couldn't help. I called back Subaru of America and the representative there told me he would start the case number for me and then transfer me back to Yokohama. Yokohama immediately said they had no case number or file for the clear defect in my tires and once again couldn't help me I had to use the dealership. I called the dealership back for the third time and was told if I could show every receipt of all work done on my tires since I bought them they MIGHT be able to help I called back Subaru of America about the case they had already started for me and I said I was never told I would have to keep a perfect paper trail of my tires being rotated when I bought them. I do have the papers for every time Subaru has worked on my car or the one time I had my windshield replaced but with minor things like breaks and tire rotations I choose to support local mechanics and also have a certified mechanic in my family that can do those things as a much more reasonable price (Compared to the $854 quote for rear breaks as example) so basically I was talked into buying $750 tires because they were supposed to last me so long. They made it 26,000 miles and oh well the joke is on me for trusting the service department that sold them to me. I love my car but the customer service I have been given every time the service department has had to look at it has been so awful that I am just going to save up for a cash down payment to go with my trade in Forrester with only 56,600 miles on it for a Toyota. I will never own a Subaru or Yokohama tires again it is has EVERYTHING to do with Subaru and Yokohama customer service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Ben
March 10, 2019

"RESPECTFUL"

- mahenry

I have never been to a dealer that was SO accommodating as McGovern Subaru. As a single mature (73) year young woman no one tried to talk or treat me as a lesser human. That was a first! It obviously wasn't my first time buying a car, but my second time doing it alone. I will admit I went in expecting crap, but did not get any of that. My salesman Kyle Soller was great and a gentleman, as was the manager Bill. Everyone I dealt with was great. Brought a friend with me when I picked up my car, and she was extremely impressed and told her husband their next car would be from McGovern!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Kyle Soller
December 06, 2018

"Great experience in Sales and service and parts"

- Regis

I purchased a Certified Used Impreza and the process was smooth and without games. Cheryl Pierro was great to deal with and was recommended to me. She is pretty low key as is the dealership in general. Everyone I had to deal with there was good and were responsive. The service department is excellent as well. Loaner was ready to go, no surprises, no hard sell on services. Will definitely be coming back to get a remote started installed. Parts department was good as well and quick turnaround on accessories. Pricing was good too.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Cheryl Pierro
February 04, 2017

"Don't go here"

- Carfan1

Everyone is new who is working st this dealership. My husband went about a year ago and none of the same people are working there (he had a bad experience as well). I had what is possibly the worst customer service experience I've ever had purchasing something. This is a long review but it was a horrible and frustrating experience working with this dealership. I test drove a used vehicle and decided to purchase it. The salesman explained the car had to be sent to Honda to get serviced because the airbag light was on. I trusted the issue would be fixed, and he assured us it would only be a few days. Also, while test driving, my husband and I asked if it would be detailed before I took it home as the inside was pretty dirty. I was assured that it would definitely be cleaned. So, we signed the paperwork on a Saturday, and were told they'd be in touch about pickup. Three days later I didn't receive a call, so I checked in and was told the car was still with Honda and they'd let me know. Two more days still NO call, so I call again, and they tell me it should be ready by Friday. I say not to worry and that I'd be gone for the weekend and will pick up Monday. I call Monday and am told again it's still not ready. (At this point I am only frustrated at the terrible lack of communication and that I am the one having to constantly call to receive any information, not that my car isn't ready as it wasn't their fault). They also never gave me the title agreement when I purchased the car so while waiting for it, I couldn't even register it. No call for a few more days, so I call again on a Thursday and am told it would be ready Friday. So I go to pick it up, they finally give me the title agreement, I take the keys and get in. Not only was the car still absolutely filthy, but it was missing floor mats. I went back in and told them the car was still dirty and the mats were gone. However, they apologized and told me "things don't usually happen like this," and gave me a loaner since I had to wait another day for the car. They said they'd get me new mats from Honda (which they did follow through with), and that they'd bring the car to my home for the inconvenience. The only nice things that occurred throughout this entire transaction. But should not have had to occur in the first place. But wait! There is more! They said the car would be brought to me in the morning and it didn't arrive until 2:00, and I wasted a day waiting around because they kept calling me, saying a time, and then calling again pushing it back a couple hours. Ultimately, I like the car. But it was a nightmare purchasing from this dealership and I would never recommend it to anyone. Ever.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Kyle Soller, Steve Girtatos, Chris Thompson, Tony Tripari
February 01, 2017

"First Car Buying Experience"

- Odette

Cheryl made my daughter's first car buying experience a complete breeze! I would recommend Cheryl and the Ocean Subaru team to anyone. She is so knowledgeable about the Crosstrek and was very flexible and accommodating. We never felt pressured to purchase and she listened and responded to our questions and concerns. She went over all the features and made sure my daughter was comfortable with the car!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Cheryl Pierro
January 10, 2017

"Couldn't be happier with our expeirence"

- Seacoast purchaser

The team at Ocean Subaru was a real pleasure to work with. We have now purchased two Outbacks from Cheryl Pierro and would recommend her again in a heartbeat. She knows the vehicles, is flexible and accommodating, and communicated with us consistently throughout the sales process! We never felt pressure to purchase and Cheryl really listened and responded to our questions and concerns. Brian made the purchase process easy and reduce administrative burden of our purchase.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brian, Cheryl Pierro
January 10, 2017

"Ocean Subaru"

- CAL9000

Ocean Subaru did a good job helping me lease a new car. They gave me the lowest price in the area and stepped up to the plate to help me when I had issues with registering my car in another state. I would recommend them to friends.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Management - Brian, Cheryl Pierro
January 04, 2017

"worst Subaru dealership I ever have visited for service !!!"

- Sam

For 12 years owning multiple Subaru's in my family, being active member of several Subaru online communities and participating in Subaru events , I can say with clean conscience Ocean Subaru is the worst Subaru dealership I ever have visited for service !!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Steve Girtatos
1
...
1 - 10 of 411 results