Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Mike Calvert Toyota

Houston, TX

4.4
1,261 Reviews

2333 South Loop W

Houston, TX

77054

Directions

1,261 Reviews of Mike Calvert Toyota

Sort by
July 20, 2021

"Classic bait and switch. I emailed the night before and..."

- BigBossThree

Classic bait and switch. I emailed the night before and called when I was on my way to the dealership. Christian Rojas assured me the vehicle was on the lot and they could likely knocked a couple hundred off and he would have the car pulled around to the front. At the time I was at another dealership and confirmed I would be there in less than two hours. A short time later, Alex - who said he was Christian's manager, called to confirm we would be there. We drove 40 minutes to the lot, arrived well within two hours and lo and behold the car had sold! By coincidence they had a similar car that was $2K more. Now maybe this is true. The thing is, I would have considered the more expensive car if they had just been transparent about it. They had no problem calling me several times before I arrived. But let's face it, the reality is it was the good ol' bait and switch from an unscrupulous dealer. Shame on them. For the record, I am female and this isn't the first time this has happened to me. When my husband bought his car at another dealership recently, he literally walked in, bought the car and was out in no time. Misogynist much?

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Christian Rojas, Alex (didn't give his last name)
July 16, 2021

"I noticed that Mike Calvert Toyota had my dream car in..."

- m_straughter

I noticed that Mike Calvert Toyota had my dream car in stock online, so I contacted my previous salesman, Chris Holyfield, about trading in my recent purchase. The process was very easy. Even though I was happy with the vehicle I purchased in April, I am overjoyed to be driving my dream car. Thank you Chris and Mike Calvert Toyota.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Chris Holyfield
June 29, 2021

"I'm a young woman purchasing a car alone. I would..."

- aisha

I'm a young woman purchasing a car alone. I would absolutely not recommend for young women to shop at this dealership alone unless youre ready to be belittled and badgered as if you can't possibly understand the car buying process and pressured to pay a ridiculous amount for a car. The desk manager rudely keep insisting I didn't understand how calculating the purchase price of a vehicle works since I thought $34k as the MSRP for a used 2019 Toyota RAV4 was way too high, which it is. He also suggested several times, when I mentioned a dealership nearby who has the same year and model of the car for less that i didn't understand how carfax plays into the vehicle's value. Despite me actually checking the carfax and listing out the car's very clean and problem free record. When I said that, he suddenly got even more disrespectful and then told me he was going to have to let me go and for me to go to a different dealership and drive off with their cars. I hung up, livid. I was very polite throughout the call so his attitude was fully uncalled for. I don't care if this is how he thinks it's acceptable to sell a car. Badgering and belittling me is fully out of line. If I could give less than 1 star I would. My salesman was very sweet, I wanted to keep working with him which is why I was returning to this dealership to purchase. I was ready to purchase the car fully today once we could come to a compromise on the price but the desk manager fully soured and ruined that experience. Shoutout to the desk manager for costing a nice salesman the loss of a costumer who was ready to pay in cash for the vehicle because he didn't know how to communicate respectfully. I don't doubt that if I was a man shopping alone, I would've had a fully different experience. I will never be coming back here. And as a young professional who has been seeing an intake of young professionals moving to Houston, I'll be sure to share this review with them when they're searching for a car.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Whoever the desk manager working 06/28/21 is
June 11, 2021

"I had a horrible experience at this dealership. Will..."

- Frank Rodriguez

I had a horrible experience at this dealership. Will never go back and ever recommend anyone to visit this place. >Adam Bates this is for you. Zero stars if i could

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Adam Bates
May 09, 2021

"I felt literally cheated by their service today. It took..."

- Vivek

I felt literally cheated by their service today. It took more than 2 weeks by them to repair my car for a recall. They provided a rental car but allowed to check their damaged rental car only for 5 minutes so that anyone may overlook the damage in that short span of time and when you return back they can easily charge you hefty amount for the repair (I am not sure if this was a game). I somehow missed the damaged side-mirror of their rental car and they charged me approx. $600 for the repair when I returned it. It was a big shock for me. They said why you haven't took pictures when you first noticed (be it any time)? I actually noticed it after 3-4 days, and I was pretty sure it’ll not change anything if now I take picture or not. If they wanted to provide any solution after the picture, why they didn’t do it now? They told me to return the rental car with same fuel level, which I did, but in return they emptied the fuel of my car. What a pathetic service!!! It was my first and last visit there..I shouldn’t have visited them for the service at very first place. Now I took the picture of that side-mirror that is damaged by someone and I was made to pay for the repair (>$500). I’ll never recommend any middle class hard-working person to go there, they may breach into your monthly household budgets!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Michael Parker
April 29, 2021

"Good Overall experience. I like how after I had my..."

- Willtweaver88

Good Overall experience. I like how after I had my reservations. The Highest ranking person at the building took time out of his busy day to speak with me and my wife. THAT IS THE DIFFERENCE Between doing just enough and making the difference.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ronny Haring
March 23, 2021

"This was the worst experience I've ever had with a car..."

- aracelyvallejo0928

This was the worst experience I've ever had with a car dealership! It all started with them hassling me to put down half of the money to fix my vehicle. Daniel at the body shop was helping me at first he gave my fiance and i an "extremely accurate estimate on how much the repairs would be" he called me every other day wanting to know when I would be coming in to make the payment. I finally got the money to make the payment on Saturday, 2/20/21 i RUSHED! to make the payment since Daniel told me he would be leaving at noon that day and if I was to bring the money that day before he was gone for the day they would start working on my vehicle on Monday and it would only be two weeks for my vehicle to be repaired... so I did. Two weeks go by and I hadn't heard anything from Daniel or the dealership so of course im thinking my truck would be ready by then and I would be able to pick it up that day or the next day so instead of waiting I decided to call them myself and get an update. I spoke to Joe at the body shop and he stated my vehicle was in fact not ready and it hadn't been worked on because I hadn't came in to make half of the payment to start the process of the repairs. I was shocked and extremely upset to hear this because two weeks prior I had walked in the body shop and made the payment TO DANIEL! They eventually see that i infact did make the payment and Daniel had not updated his notes in their system nor started the process whatsoever, this is when Alex (the manager for the body shop) comes into the picture. I spoke to Alex from then on he apologized for Daniel and stated he was in the hospital and hadn't been in since the day I made the payment.... so Alex goes to tell me they are going to start on my vehicle right away and it would be ready on Friday, its Monday! I tell Alex thats fine ill give them till this Friday... Friday rolls around and I hadn't heard from Alex since Monday, so once again i called them I spoke to Alex again.. this time he told me my vehicle was not ready and they needed till Tuesday because they were missing a part for my vehicle and they had just ordered it and it would be in on Tuesday. It was very hard for me to just accept the fact that they've had it for 3 weeks and a couple days by then but I gave them till Tuesday. Tuesday rolls around and no call once again so I CALL AGAIN!! this time Alex tells me the wheel was not in and they would need a couple more days to receive the part...he stated he wasn't aware of the estimated amount Daniel had discussed with me but he would give me a discount for the inconvenience this has caused me... so I give him till Friday and I didn't hear from Alex that Friday AGAIN! So I called Alex this time and he tells me and my mother in law a whole spill about the part still not being there and he couldnt do anything about it "his hands were tied and couldn't control the fact the part wasn't there" so my mother in law asked Alex when WILL the part be in and if he can find out somehow when the part will be there by this time it had been a week since they supposedly made the order on the missing part.. he stated he would ask his colleague and call us back.. 2 minutes went by and finally Alex tells us the part will be in on Monday and I would be able to pick up my vehicle Monday and he would call me at noon to let me know if the part made it in and to confirm me picking up my vehicle.. Monday (Yesterday, March 22, 2021) comes around and no call from Alex once AGAIN!! So I call up there, asked for Alex and spoke to someone that told me Alex had called in and if he can help me with anything, I said yes can you please let me know if my vehicle was ready to be picked up and he put me on hold and comes back to tell me he had another adjuster check and my vehicle would not be ready till Wednesday!!! Wednesday??? So I tell him Alex had told me it would be ready Today! Not Wednesday I told him I would be coming to the dealership in person to see the vehicle for myself. My fiance called to the body shop and spoke to Andrea she told him my vehicle was in fact ready to be picked up that day by 6pm she told my fiance the price had gone up almost 2,000 from the original price we were shocked but what can you expect from a dealership who strings people along with lies he tells her Alex was giving us a discount for the inconvenience and she stated she was going by what was on the paperwork and if we wanted to speak to Alex we would have to go in tomorrow because he would be in. So we waited for today 3/23 this time I didn't call me and my fiance just showed up at the dealership and asked for Alex, he wasn't there... so we spoke to Andrea she did confirm my vehicle was FINALLY ready! After over a month I get to take my vehicle she tells us the amount stands because Alex had gave us a discount already. So at this point we are ready to just pay and leave, we go look at my vehicle and I noticed 3-5 dings I told Andrea about this and she stated she needed to speak to the manager.. she comes back and tells us we can either leave my truck or bring it back. Ofcourse we did NOT leave my vehicle again. We paid and left .. finally the nightmare was over!!! I wouldn't recommend this dealership to anyone! They are so unorganized, they dont know how to communicate with eachother at all!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Daniel, Alex
March 19, 2021

"This will be my 4th purchase from Mike Calvert n they..."

- Prideaucarter

This will be my 4th purchase from Mike Calvert n they haven’t failed me yet! Just purchased. 2021 Corolla on yesterday n I luv it! Kudos to Dora Vega an awesome Salesperson👍🏽👍🏽

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Dora Vega
February 24, 2021

"A shady dealer, willing to lie to get you in the store...."

- Glisch

A shady dealer, willing to lie to get you in the store. Called with interest in a truck they show as in stock, but the price required calling a sales person to get. I called in and the first thing I asked was, what is the price, and are there dealer installed options that increase the price? I was given a price ($49200). I repeated my question about dealer installed options, and the same price was repeated back to me ($49200). The sales woman said she would get me a video of the truck, so I started driving that way. About 20 minutes later, I got the video, which at the very end it showed a sticker with dealer installed options and the price was ($50882) $1700 higher than the price I was quoted twice on the phone. I was lied to twice in the first 5 minutes of even contacting them. This is a popular truck. Markups happen, paying MSRP is fine. But lying to get someone to come in is not acceptable. This dealership will not get my business.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Rona
January 30, 2021

"For two months I have held off on writing this review,..."

- JuliaDeeNoble

For two months I have held off on writing this review, waiting to see how this situation could be resolved and giving them the opportunity to make it right. Apologies for the length, but it has been quite the saga. In November I purchased a 2005 Honda CR-V from Mike Calvert Toyota. Within 24 hours of the purchase I was nauseatingly regretful, as it was apparent that this car was a lemon. I then had the car assessed by three different shops, in order to gain a clear picture of everything going on with it. The independent diagnoses have all been in agreement; This car that I purchased for $4,800 needs thousands of dollars worth of repairs - anywhere from $5k to $7k. That is hard to even comprehend. With my financial limitations, I was in no way expecting a car in perfect condition; I purchased a 15 year old vehicle. What I did expect was a car that was in fair working condition. Given the Toyota brand, I assumed this to be a reputable and honorable dealership that would not sell me a car that was a total disaster. I was wrong. I fully understand that I purchased a used car “as is”, but I could never have fathomed that they would sell me a car with repair costs that outnumbered not only what I paid for the vehicle, but the original asking price. I had hoped that they would be willing to acknowledge that this is not the standard that Toyota holds them to and that we would have been able to come to a resolution that could restore my outlook. Unfortunately that did not happen. I have written and called several times, reaching out to every department, including the General Manager. I’ve sent copies of the three repair estimates I've received, more or less proving the subpar condition of the vehicle. I’ve given them ample time. Only once were my efforts to communicate ever acknowledged. I was able to speak to a manager and his best offer was to take the car as a trade-in for another used vehicle. Given that his argument was that the dealership does not do a full inspection of the cars in their used inventory and that the condition of mine was typical for their used cars in this price range, why would I want to gamble again? I’d be no better off. (Although, I'm not sure how they determine pricing and which cars to offer Pre-Certified without first fully inspecting all of them...) Upon first impression, their sales people were professional and amiable. The purchase process was swift. However, I would assume that to be the case for anyone who doesn’t find themselves in my position afterward. Unfortunately, I feel that they've wrapped up the sale and washed their hands of me. Most importantly, I now cannot trust or recommend their product and would not feel comfortable doing any further business with the company. I don’t know a ton about cars. That’s not my line of work. However, I have to assume (and trust) that the technicians employed at a Toyota Dealership are more than competent. You’d have a hard time convincing me that the myriad issues with this car were missed by their team. If so, then they need to let go of the head technician due to gross oversight. Unfortunately, I don’t believe I have any recourse here. I understand what I signed in the contract, but I had hoped that they would work with me to make it right. Even if within their legal bounds, selling a car in this condition is highly unethical. In conclusion, if you're purchasing a new vehicle you'll likely have a great experience with them. However, if your budget doesn't allow for that and you aren't mechanically savvy, steer clear; When it comes to Mike Calvert's dealership, you cannot put your trust in the company or in the Toyota branding.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Victor Garrett, Pat Reed, Mike Gorbet
1
...
1 - 10 of 1,261 results