Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back

Mike Calvert Toyota

Houston, TX

4.8
1,245 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership
We are located at 2333 South Loop West, directly across from Reliant Stadium on the corner of 610 and Kirby. Mike Calvert Toyota in Houston, Texas is jointly owned by Mike Calvert and Jay Davis. The partners incorporated the business in 1983. At Mike Calvert Toyota, customer satisfaction is the highest priority. Our award winning Toyota Sales, Toyota Service, Toyota Parts, and Toyota Body Shop departments are ready to serve you. We have just remodeled our entire Service Department for your convenience, and have Express Service for your quick Maintenance needs. We offer FREE Shuttle service to the Houston Medical Center and surrounding areas. At Mike Calvert Toyota, we treat you like family and look forward to building a long relationship based on trust, appreciation, and service.

2333 South Loop W

Houston, TX

77054

Directions

1,245 Reviews of Mike Calvert Toyota

Sort by Write a review
August 07, 2020

"Patrick, my contact at Mike Calvert, made my buying..."

- fredabtx

Patrick, my contact at Mike Calvert, made my buying experience so easy and comfortable by sending videos to me of cars he felt would be of interest to me. By the time we met, my video choice was waiting for me right outside the door of the dealership. The paperwork was a breeze and handled very professionally, and off I went. I have purchased at least six cars at Mike Calvert and would do it again. I would ask for Patrick again too, if I have to buy another vehicle.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Patrick Jalbert
July 30, 2020

"Extortion and Liars"

- NS

Mike Calvert Toyota's service department are either liars either crooks. To make a long story short, they said they inspected the rear hatch of the vehicle that was the reason we brought it in. Come to find out they did not inspect it. They wanted to charge me almost $1,500 they said the part was $335 and it would take 4 hours of labor. We decided against it. Online I found Toyota OEM parts for $200, and a video that took about 15 minutes to make the change. I was going to just go pick up the vehicle, but they charge almost $100 just for looking at it (which they did not do) We figured we would change the brakes since I had to spend at least $100. Any here is the kicker, when we leave the rear hatch door was not looked at and I got it to close in about 10 minutes with minor tools. After watching a 5 minute youtube video. There is NO WAY they looked at it because when we brought it in the rear hatch was stuck in an inbetween area of not fully open and not fully closed. The service guy was nice enough, but I am not sure if he or the service technician is the liar.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Levar Woodard
July 29, 2020

"The purchase of my first car went amazing! Thanks to Greg..."

- yuli

The purchase of my first car went amazing! Thanks to Greg Wappler, I walked out that dealership excited and satisfied with my car. Greg was very patient with me and i am absolutely greatful for his service and guidance to my first car!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Greg Wappler
July 21, 2020

"A few issues I have with Mike Calvert are their high..."

- Camry20Buyer

A few issues I have with Mike Calvert are their high pressure sales tactics, pushy sales managers (who call you ‘boss’ and ‘bro’, neither of which am I) and their willingness to push customers off onto other sales representatives instead of having consistent follow thru when making a sale. Beyond that, I was displeased with miscommunication from the service department on the phone about service time which ended up being doubled when I arrived. While Toyota sells an objectively good product, their selection criteria of dealerships needs to be revisited.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Andres Hernandez
1.0
Donald Hubbard
1.0
Kenneth Lazard
1.0
Franklyn Odoemenam
2.0
July 03, 2020

"Great Service in buying a car : )"

- kavery1789

Just purchased my daughter her first car, the sales man Remington and the Assistant Manager Juan, really went to bat for us. They were able to get the price in our budget, I felt very comfortable with the whole process.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Remington Scroggins
April 28, 2020

"Alex was our guy willing to help us out with our needs..."

- Steve.strother

Alex was our guy willing to help us out with our needs and wants. Defiantly can't wait to get my fifth vehicle from Mike Calvert. Thanks for the help.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Alexander winstel
April 19, 2020

"i came in to Mike Cavert Toyota, i had great experience..."

- Silva sitrak

i came in to Mike Cavert Toyota, i had great experience with all staff dealership specilaty ( Gil Christ)/ sales consultant.hes great person, helpful, friendly, smile face, very patient and professional, very knowledgeable assist, i wasted a good part of my day.. million star for him, highly i recommend Mike Calvert Toyota to anyone to purchase next vehicle...Great staff and Great experience...

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Gil Christ Castillo
January 06, 2020

"Treated poorly during buying process"

- Tomtex

Found a 2019 used Avalon on line described as just what I wanted. Visited the dealership and found the car as advertised. The salesman was pleasant but not very knowledgeable of the car's features. I arranged to pay cash and pickup the car on Friday, December 27th. Due to holiday schedules (Christmas on Wednesday), I couldn't get funds into my checking account until Friday. I offered a $500 deposit to hold the car but was assured no deposit was needed and the car would be ready Friday. I arrived at the dealership at 9:30 AM Friday morning and found that paperwork was being finalized at that very minute selling the car to another customer. An insincere apology was offered, but I will not again get involved with a Mike Calvert Dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Touny Crowe
January 04, 2020

"Great service"

- Cummings9306

Great service As always, the level of professionalism shown by the service technicians at Mike Calvert Toyota are outstanding. Especially the service of Cheryl James.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Cheryl James
July 27, 2019

"BUYER BEWARE: SCAMS, FRAUD, AND LIES"

- 1394180

I came in to Mike Calvert Toyota to buy a used 2019 Toyota Corolla that I saw online. I asked about the condition of the car and was told that the car was a trade-in by a rich kid who changed his mind about the car after a few months. The car was in pretty good condition, but had a few stains and scratches here and there, of which they told me could easily be taken out. I specifically asked if the car had ever been in an accident and they said “no way”. AFTER I put my downpayment down they told me they could no longer take them out. I was in a rush to get a car, so I put that aside and continued the purchasing process. After everything was finalized I took my car to a friend of mine and he ran his hand across the car and right away he said that this car had been in an accident, and not only that but that it was a terrible paint job and that’s how I could tell. He went ahead and looked up the VIN and lo and behold it had been in an accident and was actually received from the auction, so their little trade in story was a lie. I went back to the dealer and the manager told me it was MY fault, because everyone who buys a used car signs a CarFax. I said regardless they should have been honest when I verbally asked, but they just continued saying it didn’t matter because the CarFax was signed. I did not recall signing a CarFax, so I asked to see it and that’s when they told me they "accidentally" forgot to present it with me. During this time, the general manager, Mike Grewenig, came out and instead of making the situation better he justified and defended what was going on. At one point he even rolled his eyes at me. Imagine a 60 year old man rolling his eyes at a 22 year old girl who just got cheated to and lied to by his employees. He then told me he was offering me to return the car and no other dealer in Texas would allow that.. That was another lie.. They are required to do so by law since not disclosing an accident is considered dealer fraud. Nonetheless, I ended up keeping the car, because I was moving soon and out of a car, and didn’t have time to spend another 4 days car shopping and going through the closing process. This happened about a month ago, and what motivated me to write a review was the fact that someone recently had a similar experience. The manager repeatedly told me this was an accident and that he would assure it would never happen again, but here it is happening again. This dealership needs to be shut down or at least barred from used car sales. All the bad reviews come from there.. The only reason they have any good reviews are because of their new car sales. You can't really scam someone with a new car, but look at all of their bad reviews and it either comes from their sketchy used car sales or their terrible service department. If you have a similar experience I highly encourage you to submit formal complaints to the appropriate department in Texas, so that other consumers do not fall victim to their predatory practices.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mike Grewenig
1
...
1 - 10 of 1,245 results