Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Modern Nissan of Winston-Salem

Winston Salem, NC

3.2
99 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

5795 University Parkway

Winston Salem, NC

27105

Directions

99 Reviews of Modern Nissan of Winston-Salem

Sort by Write a review
September 18, 2020

"They tried to get me to get extra unneeded service done...."

- vongreer

They tried to get me to get extra unneeded service done. They did not reset my maintenance notification after they changed my oil and filter. They also tried to get me to pay a significant amount of money for a minimal service procedure that I could perform myself. This only took 15 seconds for me to perform with no tools and I'm not a mechanic. I also had an issue with my tires that I didn't have before I took my vehicle. Hold on tight to your pocketbook if you decide to get service here. I will never return to this service department ever again if I can help it.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Modern N Winston
1.0
Sep 22, 2020 -

Modern Nissan of Winston-Salem responded

We appreciate you reaching out to us. Please know your review is taken very seriously by the team here at Modern Nissan of Winston-Salem. We always strive to improve and give our customers top-notch service. We invite you to contact us at your earliest convenience so we can learn more and help resolve this situation together. We hope to hear from you soon. Sincerely, The Modern Nissan of Winston Salem Team

April 29, 2020

"Great Service!"

- Bridgette Gomez

Derek Bordner, Nissan Certified Service Advisor who assisted me was Awesome! He addressed my service concerns for my Nissan Altima SL and took the time to answer all my questions. He was welcoming, professional, and extremely knowledgeable. In the midst of this COVID-19 pandemic, he made me feel safe by reassuring his office, the bathrooms & customer waiting areas had been cleaned/sanitized. I had a 0730 appt on Friday morning. My vehicle was serviced and ready in a timely manner. Mr. Bordner even saved me money by explaining/offering the Sunbit program! I will continue to bring my Nissan to Modern Nissan of Winston Salem for servicing! I will continue to recommend them for sales & service. Thank you Derek Bordner!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Modern N Winston
5.0
May 04, 2020 -

Modern Nissan of Winston-Salem responded

We appreciate you taking a moment to leave us this wonderful feedback! The safety and satisfaction of our customers is our highest priority, and we're happy to learn you felt comfortable during the entire transaction. Let us know if there's anything else we can do for you! The Modern Nissan of Winston Salem Team

April 04, 2020

"I wanted to thank everyone at Modern Nissan for once..."

- annice_crowder

I wanted to thank everyone at Modern Nissan for once again exceeding my expectations. I Love the no Pressure buying Experience. Everyone was very courteous!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ashley Hill
5.0
Modern N Winston
5.0
Other Employees : James Cowan
Apr 16, 2020 -

Modern Nissan of Winston-Salem responded

It is wonderful to hear that our team was able to provide you with a great experience! We really appreciate this feedback and we will share it with them. Thank you and if you have any questions about the work that was done please feel free to contact us. The Modern Nissan of Winston Salem Team

March 20, 2020

"Bait and switch, or honest mistake?"

- newarmada

I dealt with Modern Nissan over the phone for a couple of weeks on a very specific vehicle (a 4WD Armada). During our first call we haggled on price a bit but the dealer would not move on price because the SUV had only been on the lot for 2 weeks. Understandable. They offered an alternative which was 2WD, and I declined. I clearly stated that I was not interested in a 2WD because I was replacing a 4WD. I needed a 4WD. Fast-forward 2 weeks, and I’d secured a deal with a competitor for a 4WD Armada at a price in my comfort zone. I called Modern Nissan back to see if they wanted to sell their 4WD Armada to me (e.g. reduce their price), or whether I should proceed with my purchase from their competitor (I had a slight preference for their Armada, mainly because of color, otherwise I would not have called). After a few back and forth calls in the same day, I was pleasantly surprised by the sales associate (who seemed unusually sheepish this particular time on the phone) when she gave me a price that was close enough to the competition to get me to switch to their offer and drive over 1.5 hours to get my new car. I had back-to-back meetings scheduled for the rest of the day, so I quickly accepted her offer, told her I'd be there around 7:00 PM, rushed to the bank to get a certified check, and proceeded to my afternoon meetings. I arrived at the dealership at 7:15 PM, excited to see that they'd washed my new SUV and it was ready to go. I was immediately greeted (by a different sales associate), so I had an expectation that I'd be back on the road with my new Armada in under 30 minutes ...until... I realized they'd prepped the 2WD. I told the new salesperson that they prepped the wrong SUV, and that I was there for the 4WD. She went back into the showroom for at least 20 minutes (waiting game), and (long story short) she came out and said I'd need to discuss the price difference between the 2WD and the 4WD with the sales manager. I was livid. I walked into the showroom and demanded that they honor the offer they'd made earlier in the day, but they refused, saying it was an "honest mistake" (hmm, how can this happen? Don’t they deal in cars all day every day, how do they keep it all straight? At this point it was apparent that they’d quoted the MSRP from the lower price vehicle just to get me into their showroom). The manager offered me a price within a few hundred dollars of the price he'd quoted 2 weeks earlier and told me he was willing to "lose money" because of the misunderstanding (lose money, as if). He even showed me a computer screen that showed how much he'd be losing. I told him that I was a Computer Engineer and that my son could write a program like that in 15 minutes, possibly in his sleep (computers don't lie right?). He backed away from the “computer” deception pretty very quickly after that. But I was still at a disadvantage. I had driven over 1.5 hours (look-up: Sunk Cost Fallacy) with family in tow (more sunk cost, I needed another driver) and "new car" on my brain, -and- they had successfully reset the negotiation back their favor. I should have walked out right away, but against my better judgement we haggled at the dealership (again: sunk cost fallacy - it is more powerful than I realized). I ended up paying more than I'd resolved to pay for that specific vehicle the night before - I would not have driven to Winston Salem had they given me this price over the phone...Modern Nissan won. Shames: Shame on me for not getting the offer in writing, complete with VIN number and out-the-door price - I was in a hurry because of my hectic schedule. Cost me a few hundred at least. Shame on Modern Nissan for switching cars on me (or "honest mistake"?). I learned a new trick that car dealers can use...again: cost me a few hundred dollars. I hope this does not happen to you. Shame on Modern Nissan for using a bogus computer program to try to convince naive customers how much they "lose" on each car sale (poor guys, it is amazing they are still in business after selling so many cars at a loss, gosh) Advice: Finally, if you are a savvy negotiator, be aware there are at least 3 levels at Modern Nissan -- If you ask for a manager, you’ll get someone with “manager” in their title, but they have little to no negotiating power. Ask for their manager...I think the title is “Director of Sales” - don’t quote me on that one though. The “manager” was not able to budge from the “almost MSRP” price (I would have walked), but the director was able to shave a little more off.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Modern N Winston
Mar 22, 2020 -

Modern Nissan of Winston-Salem responded

Your feedback has been forwarded on to our team and we are currently looking into this matter.

March 01, 2020

"Very good, very professional:This is the 2nd vehicle..."

- rickhaas66

Very good, very professional:This is the 2nd vehicle purchased in the last 6 mo, Joe Shaw and the guys were helpful with every step of the process

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Modern N Winston
4.0
Mar 03, 2020 -

Modern Nissan of Winston-Salem responded

Thank you so much for your feedback as well as your loyalty. We appreciate building long term customer relationships and we truly value your business. The Modern Nissan of Winston Salem Team

January 13, 2020

"After looking at a truck and not getting the price we..."

- Rebecca

After looking at a truck and not getting the price we wanted, we left. That evening, the salesman called and had offered the truck at $5,000 less, and told my dad to come the next day. He said he would have it washed and ready to go. My elderly parents rearranged their schedule to drive 45 minutes in the rain, stop at a bank to take out cash, and went to get the truck. Not only did they not honor the $5,000 less, they went UP another $1,000. I am very upset with the entire situation. I’m guessing Nissan thought since they drove that far, they would end up buying it anyway. I did call to speak with a manager. He was very polite, but said “sorry”. I would not take a free car from them now. There’s no need for the company to ask I call for further help. To me, to lie is a terrible flaw. Please DO NOT go to their business! In fact, I will make sure that every time someone mentions needing a new car that I tell them about this incident to beware them if they plan to go there.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Modern N Winston
1.0
Jan 15, 2020 -

Modern Nissan of Winston-Salem responded

We appreciate you taking time to let us know about your experience. It appears that the nature of your experience does not reflect our dedication to customer satisfaction. Your concerns are very important to us and we would like to learn more. Please contact us so we can address and remedy your concerns. The Modern Nissan of Winston Salem Team

November 17, 2019

"My husband and I returned to Modern Nissan in W-S to..."

- suehall350

My husband and I returned to Modern Nissan in W-S to purchase another car. In fact we went once again to deal with David Hamilton, salesman. David was so kind and helpful to our family. We appreciate his fine customer service. Once again we are very pleased.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Modern N Winston
5.0
Other Employees : David Hamilton
Nov 18, 2019 -

Modern Nissan of Winston-Salem responded

Sue, thank you for your loyalty to our dealership and for taking the time to write this review. David’s sales excellence is always consistent, and we're glad your experience with him supports that. We aim to turn every person that visits us into a repeat customer. Best, The Modern Nissan of Winston Salem Team

November 04, 2019

"Very efficient and courteous staff. Provided all..."

- Mom

Very efficient and courteous staff. Provided all estimates before service. Coffee and snacks po rovided while waiting for service to be performed. Highly recommended them.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Modern N Winston
5.0
Other Employees : Ralph Lusk
Nov 06, 2019 -

Modern Nissan of Winston-Salem responded

Thank you for visiting our service department and for leaving the kind words. We plan to continue giving great customer service and a comfortable place for all our guests during their visit at our dealership. Best, The Modern Nissan of Winston Salem Team

June 14, 2019

"Great car buying experience!"

- jp

Modern Nissan had more new Frontiers in their inventory than any other local dealership. Really appreciated being able to see all of the different options and trim levels in the photographs on their website. Salesperson Marina was friendly, personable, attentive, and helpful. She cheerfully answered all of my questions, and if she didn’t know the answer, she quickly obtained the answer for me. She took a personal interest in meeting all of my needs for a new truck, and she went above and beyond to make sure that each need was met. Sales Manager Sam was congenial, polite, and professional. He made me feel as if I was a valued customer, and he seemed truly interested in helping me obtain the vehicle that I wanted at a price that worked for me. Finance Manager Reggie was affable and courteous, while also demonstrating non-stop patience and good humor. Reggie spent an extensive amount of time going over every aspect of the purchasing process with me in order to make sure that I was fully informed and comfortable with “the numbers.” Reggie and other members of the sales and service staff were very receptive to my desire for additional information with regard to the powertrain and extended warranty coverages. Truly appreciate the free “first two maintenance visits” and lifetime state vehicle inspections. Following the manufacturer-recommended service recommendations is something that I take seriously, and I look forward to utilizing Modern Nissan’s service department in order to maintain my truck.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Marina, Sam, Reggie
Jun 17, 2019 -

Modern Nissan of Winston-Salem responded

We’re delighted to hear of your positive experience at our dealership! We always strive to provide the utmost in customer service and quality, and it makes us happy to know that you feel you experienced these values first hand. We hope you continue to choose us for all of your future automotive needs, and we hope to see you again soon. Until next time, have a great day! Best, The Modern Nissan of Winston Salem Team

June 05, 2019

"Delayed Service & Poor Communication"

- Customer336

So I initially took a chance on Nissan (since I was already a loyal and satisfied driver of Honda & Toyota) and decided that my first car that I had to spend my hard-earned money on would be a Nissan. The new CVT transmission was supposed to be elite compared to others. Well, fast forward, I’ve only had the car for 4 years and the transmission went out around 103,000 mi. Well, due to my last experience at this dealership (which was awful), I figured, “hey, that must have just been poor communication and a mistake on their mechanics end (which I had to pay for out of pocket...of course).” I’ll chalk that 1st bad experience up to a random luck of the draw. So they have had my car over a week and the service hasn’t gotten any better not have they filed paperwork. Even after filing a formal complaint to 1-800-Nissan1 in regards to how the service advisor (Sean) and the manager (Tony) have intentionally delayed submitting my information to the PowerTrain division so that I can move on getting my repairs authorized, still nothing has been done. I ended up with a case manager (who has been wonderful) and was notified that Nissan would cover 60% of the repair costs. Well once the learned that, they actually decided to move slower and allow my car to remain down (or send it to another Nissan...which I’ll have to cover the towing costs & start this entire process over again) instead of submitting the proper documents so that I can move forward with my repairs. I hate that I referred others to purchase cars from this dealership, which they did. I personally wouldn’t recommend anyone to go get their car serviced from there, especially if you want good communication in a timely manner. And because it seems as if they can’t handle criticism or complaints in the service department, it’s a good chance that if you complain or file a formal complaint against them, they will delay or deny your car to be fixed by them and recommend going to another Nissan dealership. Therefore...allowing your car to sit until you give up on their service improving for you. So outside of the fact that I’ll still have to pay for services, I’m continually losing money each day (I.e., car rentals, Lyft, and Uber rides) due to them purposely being petty and delaying my car to be fixed because they are mad that I complained about their lack of service and communication. They’ve even lied about communicating with my case manager throughout this process.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Modern N Winston
1.0
Other Employees : Sean (service advisor), Tony (service manager)
1
...
1 - 10 of 99 results