Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Motor Home Specialist

Alvarado, TX

3.5
161 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

5411 South I-35W

Alvarado, TX

76009

Directions

161 Reviews of Motor Home Specialist

Sort by Write a review
October 19, 2020

"Purchased a new, 2016 Dynamax DX3 which cost over 200K...."

- tgor717

Purchased a new, 2016 Dynamax DX3 which cost over 200K. I opted for a 7 year extended warranty called RV CARE at a cost of over 4K. It's actually Phoenix American warranty Co. IT IS WORTHLESS - DO NOT PURCHASE RV CARE !! When you call for service, they will tell you "we can't help you", that it is my responsibility to get any issue fixed and then submit a claim. I should have read the reviews - HUGE MISTAKE . Of course MHSRV never explained the details re what I was buying/getting for my 4K. I would give them 0 stars if I could.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Donny O'Banion
1.0
October 16, 2020

"In the market for a new Heartland Road Warrior. Sent..."

- ken.schriner

In the market for a new Heartland Road Warrior. Sent them a contact email on what I was looking for (they have a few on the lot according to there web site). No response. Called them and asked for the sales department. Phone rang for almost 2 minutes, went to voice mail, left a message again on what i was looking for and additional options i wanted, and no call back. Guess they are not interested in my business.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Donny O'Banion
1.0
August 27, 2020

"Great service dept, thanks to Brian Dunn. He helped us..."

- Bs1505

Great service dept, thanks to Brian Dunn. He helped us understand the needed repairs and worked with the manufacturer to provide warranty on both the parts AND labor. Thank you

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Donny O'Banion
5.0
Other Employees : Brian Dunn
August 27, 2020

"Motor Home Specialist got me in in a timely manner at..."

- BMW

Motor Home Specialist got me in in a timely manner at Entegra’s request. They said it would be there 2-3 days; it was ready when promised.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brian Dunn
July 29, 2020

"10 hours to meet with a who cares about you salesman."

- rj2885

The main thing I have as a take away was that they are the largest in the world!!! Heard that at least 5 times. Maybe they are, because they have fairly good prices. Just no personal connection with the salesman I met. Even though we were both prior military. I was even planning on paying cash and no loan the following week. No interest really. No budging at all on price. Although the unit I was looking at was 4k less on their website than what was in window. They had already lowered some. Just won't do it if asked. Basically, buy it as is, or take a hike. That's pretty much what I got out of it. And from reading reviews here, it makes me even more Leary to buy from them. Service looks like it's just plain BAD. I mean, they are the number one VOLUME dealer. Not the #1 service dealer. Probably not even the #10 service dealer. As far as other reviews etc., I've also noticed that since COVID, the reviews have gotten even worse. Maybe they cared before. Doesn't seem so much anymore.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Daric S. Fail, a Proud Combat Veteran. And of course I'm a proud veteran too. Doesn't mean one veteran really necessarily treats another well. I felt like a nuisance.
July 29, 2020

"Seen a unit we liked. Made the deal over the phone,..."

- Chase Truesdail

Seen a unit we liked. Made the deal over the phone, arranged the time to be at dealership to finish the deal up, all financing done up front To this point the dealership was awesome. Made appointment to go over unit and sign final documentation. When we arrived they were cleaning the coach up and one the people Said lets go over coach walk around etc Had 3 issues. Fridge was not blowing cold air, i asked about that he said coach been sitting long time and it takes 24 hours to cool down Second was transfer switch had red lights saying needs service , was told same thing unit been sitting and house batteries are low Third.. missing remotes, the ladder to the roof , was told they would be dropped shipped to me Ok so here is the issue comes in, we took the dealerships word that these issues were self correcting, and we left with the motorhome, we live 450 miles away, drive home and hook up to shore power and waited, fridge not cool, transfer switch still red lights, so called the salesman on monday, he did say sorry and i will get service to call, 24 hours no call from service I called local dealer near little Rock, was told soonest appointment was 25 days out and even though a new unit, they would not warranty since not purchased there. I would have to pay them and wait for American Coach for repayment MHSRV service did call and confirm that could happen My issue with dealership is QUALITY CONTROL, they knew we were coming. They had 64k of My money already wired to Them. The sale was happening no excuse not to HAVE UNIT READY TO GO NOT TELLING CUSTOMERS that the units warranty may not be good at any other dealerships and you may have to wait weeks to use the NEW coach you bought Price is excellent. Ive learned prices may not be the only reason to purchase, customer service is really important also Charles Truesdail 2020 American Coach Revolution

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Brian in sales
July 27, 2020

"Rocky start, but I was very well taken care of"

- julisa921

I am very happy with my New 2021Thor A.C.E. Had a rocky start with the AC, but Abby in serve and my salesman Brandon, took really good care of me. Brandon went above and beyond. He spent at least 2 hours helping me with Winegard$ setup! Abby was great! She had a technician, Martin, with me lick-i-dy split. Martin helped me with everything he could so I could get home that day and start camping. I have to come back, but I know they will have what I need and get me in and out quick! I am very pleased. Purchased 7/13\20

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brandon Neal, Abby, Martin, Justin
June 15, 2020

"Good price but BAD service!"

- michele.flynn96

I found a Grand Design Reflection 28BH online. Definitely not one of their higher priced units, but an upgrade for us. It looked good online so I called and got salesman Jason Borden. I was nervous about driving so far (12 hours) to get a camper if it wasn't in excellent shape. Jason assured me that it was practically brand new and he doesn't think anyone even slept in it. True, there were parts of the camper that don't appear to have been used much, if any at all. My husband and I decided to drive down to check it out in our car since we didn't have a 5th wheel hitch installed yet. They wanted a $1000 deposit to hold it for us to come that weekend to look at it. I asked him to find out what a hitch would cost to install and if they could put one in while we were there. He kept promising me he would check in to it, but I could never get any real information from him about whether they even sell them. You would think that a camper place would also sell and install the parts needed to use them. I understand they deal more with motorhomes, but still......Jason then informed me that it would take 2-3 days for them to prepare the camper if we decided to buy it so instead of just coming to look at it, they would prepare it for us to buy. This meant that if we decided it was not to our liking, we lost the $1000 because they would spend all that time getting it ready for us. We drove the 12 hours and showed up to check it all out. Jason happened to be out that day, so we were pushed off on another salesman that didn't seem too interested in helping us. To be fair, he was probably very busy if he was having to take over Jason's customers. For sure, they did not spend 2-3 days preparing it for us as it was filthy inside and out. When I cleaned it later, there were bugs, dirt and a filthy sock under the couch. It got a quick power wash, but it was still not clean. The technician took us through and showed us the checklist that he had gone over everything and it was all in good working order. Jason assured us before that they make sure everything is in good working order before they sell it. The caps for the tanks were missing/broken, so they said they would find us some replacements. It seemed good, so we went to do the financing. One good part was they had a free lunch at the cafe. We were a little unhappy with the cleanliness of the camper, but everything else seemed on the up and up. After our lunch, the salesman took us back to the camper. He dropped us off and he and the technician both went to leave. Mind you, we have never had a fifth wheel and didn't know how to hook it up or how anything worked. It kind of blew our mind that they just dropped us off and said "see ya!". We convinced the technician to help us hook up. He said they filled all the tanks to make sure everything worked. This is February and we were going back to Nebraska where it was still winter, so we asked if everything had been drained. The technician hesitated, and then said it was all good! When we got home, we realized that there was still some water in the tanks as well as the hot water heater was full! It would have frozen and caused many problems if we had taken his word that it was all drained and ready. When we prepared our camper the first of May, we filled the tanks. Immediately we found a leak dripping out the bottom of the camper at the low point drain. As we opened it up to figure out where it was coming from, we found there were actually 3 leaks. If they really had checked out the camper, they would have found them as it was dripping out the bottom. I tried calling the Jason but during this COVID, he was temporarily off work. I left a message with the service department but their answer was to give me the number to Grand Design. When I left a bad review on Google, their PR guy reached out to us to find out what they could do. We took our camper in to a Bish's dealership and they fixed all the leaks to a cost of almost $400. We asked MHSRV to either comp us for the bill or at the least, pay half. We couldn't take it in to them as we are so far away, but it sounds like that wouldn't have been helpful anyway from all the other bad service reviews. The PR guy (Gifford?) was helpful, but told us that they were declining to pay for the repairs. I figured that would be their decision, but I was disappointed, nonetheless. They promise the moon to you over the phone, but as soon as they have their money, they are done. Service after the sale is severely lacking. I wish I had done more looking at reviews before I bought, or I would not have bought from them. I would have gladly given them a great review if they had done the right thing and tried to make right the repairs that should have been caught in the inspection. I guess $200-400 is not worth keeping customers and good word of mouth.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jason Borden,
June 01, 2020

"Bummer of a day. Drove 7 hours round trip to pickup a..."

- Spdbydesign

Bummer of a day. Drove 7 hours round trip to pickup a “pristine” $45,000....2020 Forest River Sand Piper RV, which it was unfortunately not. Before I got there the sales rep told me the former owner had only used it 2-3 times & turned it back in for a Super C shortly after purchase. After I arrived today, 2 days later, he had forgotten his story apparently & told me it was used as a rental RV & has been sitting on their lot for over two months for sale. The inside condition was fairly good, only some lose trim, wall paper & a few knicks & scratches. There was wall paper & trim loose beneath the living room A/C, which worried me there could be/ have been a leak being concealed. The microwave & inside fireplace did not work, the sales rep said they were not considered part of their normal internal PPI inspection, so they did not disclose to me in advance. When we did the outside inspection, the ladder was bent at the top, someone had clearly backed it into a tree/object. The rear stairs were bent in the frame, xxxx eyed to one side, as you could tell someone had ran into them & warped the frame. It was difficult to pull out & rubbed, showing rust in that area. The rear grill was disgusting & the handle was broken. The top was warped. Before I got there they took a $1000 deposit by phone to “hold” it & after I notified them of my decision to pass on the unit & drive back, they told me a sales manager would call me to discuss returning my deposit. So far, that has not occurred. 3.5 hours back home I go tonight, disheartening. Frustrating to say the least, I had heard good things about this dealership, supposedly the highest volume RV Dealer in the USA.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Nolan O’Bannon
April 30, 2020

"We bought a 2019 holiday rambler close out model, new, in..."

- Rjmunozwax

We bought a 2019 holiday rambler close out model, new, in January. We took it in to the service department for walk through issues that couldn’t be fixed without new parts. We also discovered one of the hydraulic jacks is leaking. I cannot get call backs to find out the status of the repair work and the hydraulic jack has been deemed “normal oil passing by the o’ring”, all two quarts of it and the claim has been denied. This entire service experience is unacceptable.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Abby
1
...
1 - 10 of 161 results