Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Motor Home Specialist

Alvarado, TX

3.2
171 Reviews

5411 South I-35W

Alvarado, TX

76009

Directions

171 Reviews of Motor Home Specialist

Sort by
June 16, 2021

"We came in from Florida and our front air conditioner..."

- Sheila pilato

We came in from Florida and our front air conditioner went out. Stephen, Matt, and service writer we’re all on top of it. They did not have an a/c in stock. They told us that it would be here first thing next morning. They were right, Matt came over with the new ac installed it and did an awesome job. We also inquired about having our roof resealed, they did an awesome job. Well while we were there we decided to hop over to parts department, there we found a very nice reclining sofa. Well we purchased it, and they came over and installed it. I want to say, this isn’t our first stop at motorhome specialist. Every time we come to Texas we come here for ALl warranty work or anything else that needs to be done to our rig. I highly highly recommend motor home specialist. They are all very hard workers and do get the job done. Thanks again to Stephen, Roy Matt, and John. You guys rock!!! See y’all on our next trip to Texas !!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Roy, Stephen, Matt and John
June 15, 2021

"Absolutely the worst service I have ever experienced...."

- BUYER BEWARE

Absolutely the worst service I have ever experienced. When we were buying this RV everyone was great. On the first service need no response. Every call has been initiated by us. We are now 1 year trying to get the arm rest put back on after it fell off. BUYER BEWARE. TAKE YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY SOMEWHERE ELSE.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Donny O'Banion
1.0
June 12, 2021

"We picked up our new RV and it is already being sent back..."

- Babeblus78

We picked up our new RV and it is already being sent back for many warranty items that MHS should have taken care of before we picked it up. The sales rep, David, told us they needed 5 days before pickup to make sure it was all set and dropped the ball. Nothing was done with it, not even a cleaning, and he won’t own any of his wrong doing. Not help with the travel costs because we bought it in a different city. Typical sales guy, sell promises, don’t deliver, and then point the finger at someone else. Unbelievable! And we aren’t the only ones, read other reviews, many have had the same experience!! Now stuck with dealing with warranty issues on a new RV. On another note, Abby has been very helpful!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
David Garza
June 11, 2021

"On May 14, 2021 I flew into Dallas to be met and driven..."

- dave.stokes

On May 14, 2021 I flew into Dallas to be met and driven by MHSRV to Alvarado to pick up the 2021 Mercedes Sprinter Camper that I purchased. When we arrived found 2 cushions for the back bed missing. Salesperson said they were back ordered. We left the next day on that word of faith since the salesperson spoke to the service department to have them shipped directly to my address. A week later I inquired again about them. The salesperson place a conference call with the service manager and I and we found they were not ordered. The salesperson asked the service manager to link me on the emails to keep me abreast of the order and shipping. A week later I called and emailed again and this time to all individuals of authority. They had not been ordered again. On 5/27, they claimed to be ordered but later on 6/4 needed pictures of seats. This past Monday 6/07/2021 they were shipped out only to find out on 6/10/2021 they were shipped to dealer instead of directly to me and UPS damaged them in shipping. Evidently they were not packaged properly. So now a month later no cushions to fully use the bed....These people are not detailed and do not follow through. Their service department needs revamping with new people who care and are highly responsible.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Elaine, J Sanders, Steve Evans
March 17, 2021

"After I took my RV back from MHSRV, I found that my new..."

- LukeChi

After I took my RV back from MHSRV, I found that my new spare was replaced by an old tire. Bought a 2020 Coachmen Leprechaun 300bh on 2/14/2020 from MHSRV. Brought my RV back to MHSRV for a couple of repairs on 11/24/2020. Got my RV back on 3/10/2021. The next day, I found that my new spare tire was already replaced by an old tire which is full of pebbles in the tire threads and the tire was wobbling. On 3/11/2021, contacted MHSRV asking for the investigation to get my new tire back. On 3/17/2021, Mr. Giff Akins, the MHSRV director customer relations, refused to return my new tire. Mr. Giff's investigation conclusion was that "no work orders would necessitate removing the spare and so no MHSRV technician took my new tire." And, he asked me to live with this old tire by bringing the old tire to a tire shop to have it inspected before I feel comfortable to use it.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Giff Akins, the MHSRV director customer relations
February 07, 2021

"The one star rating is because the salesman, Staven, was..."

- pat merrill

The one star rating is because the salesman, Staven, was great and has helped us after the sale. We bought a new 2020 Palazzo by Thor on 5 August 2020, spent the night at MHSRV and discovered that the washing machine door wouldn't close, the front step didn't retract, a living area bulkhead wall was stained, soft and bulged. We had reservations at a resort in Red River soon so took the coach home on 6 August with an appointment to return it on 24 August for Whirlpool to fix the washer and MHSRV technicians to fix the wall. While on our first trip we noticed other areas that needed attention. Including vehicle dash A/C didn't work; slide out made loud noises while driving; entry door molding came loose; water level sensors had incorrect levels; debris inside furnace grates was blowing around coach; dash molding broken. When we took it in on 24 August we added those items to our list of things to be checked/corrected. While it was in service we ordered a rock guard from the retail store to be installed while it was there. We rarely heard from MHSRV and emails went unanswered. When we did hear, the washer still was not fixed. We finally decided to bring it home on 11 December and wait for another appointment for the washer to be fixed. When we were ready to take it home on 11 December (recall that we took it there on 24 August) the slide out didn't work, the rock guard was not installed. They installed a new slide out motor and installed the rock guard while we waited. We made an appointment to return the coach to MHSRV service on 30 December so the washer could be fixed on 31 December. Before we took it in the slide out did not work again so I asked for them to fix that problem. On 21 January, three weeks later, we were notified that they tried to move the coach into a bay to research the slide out problem but the transmission would not go into gear. The coach was towed to Freightliner to research the transmission problems. on 28 January we were notified that Freightliner had to order a part. With that history, there are a few issues that are evident: -There was not good QC at MHSRV or Thor -Thor products may not be the quality we expected -MHSRV service department is very slow, inefficient and does not communicate well with customers -Is out Palazzo a lemon -Is MHSRV service a lemon -Is there an avenue to rectify the problems we have had -If we got another motorhome at MHSRV would we continue to have to deal with poor service We had one trip for ten days and have had the coach in our possession for about three weeks since we bought it on 5 August 2020. We totally missed the beautiful fall traveling season. I sent letters to the manager, service manager and sales manager and am waiting for a reply.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Staven Cory was excellent.
February 05, 2021

"I recently purchased a new Nexus Ghost from Motor Home..."

- Mike M.

I recently purchased a new Nexus Ghost from Motor Home Specialists. This coach is my second time buying “New”. My experience was very positive in an industry that is known for poor service, shady sales people, and difficulty with warranty issues after the sale. Like most consumers, I was searching for the best price on the units I was interested in. I did the research, and you’re not going to beat MHSRV’s pricing due to their large volume of sales and huge inventory. Knowing the industry’s reputation, I was concerned until got to know the company and their personnel. You’re not going to find more professional sales associate, than “Buck” Buckner. He listens to your needs and works to find you the best RV for your budget and coordinates the entire process from start to finish. I decided to finance my coach through MHSRV because their rates were the best. Mark Henry, walked us through the process and made it simple. His follow up on issues was extremely helpful. So far, all my legitimate warranty issue have been taking care of with curtesy and expertise by technician, Ray C. When buying an RV it’s important to realize that every one is going to need service and warranty work. None of them come out of their factories in perfect condition. I was pleasantly surprised on how few issues there was with my new Nexus Ghost. That being said, you need to align yourself with a good dealership, and I highly recommend Motorhome Specialists in Alvarado Texas.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Buck, Mark, Ray, Ryan
February 01, 2021

"The awful reviews I see on the web make sense. We..."

- used car buying sucks!

The awful reviews I see on the web make sense. We inquired 4 different times about an RV we were very serious about and didn't receive a single response. We emailed and messaged to request a carfax and service details. We found a random email address via google and the service manager did respond but forwarded it to sales. No response 24 hours later. This place is awful. If your shopping there, be prepared to do all the work and hunt them down like your digging for gold! 👎🏽

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Donny O'Banion
1.0
January 29, 2021

"12/15/2020I purchased a brand new 2021 Forest River..."

- Andrew

12/15/2020 I purchased a brand new 2021 Forest River Georgetown GT7 from MHSRV, I live in *********, so I had to drive a vehicle down to Texas to pick it up. I had paid for a tow bar, baseplate, and solar along with a WIFI/Cell booster, which were supposed to be installed prior to my arrival. Upon arrival, the parts department stated they did not know anything about these items which were purchased on a credit card weeks before the arrival/pickup of the motorhome. I then got a full refund, as they were not prepared to install these items while I would have had to wait. They agreed to pay for a tow dolly rental, which I had to not only pay for, but go to a local U-haul to procure, at my out of pocket cost. I still have not been reimbursed for this expense that the OWNER, ***** ********* PROMISED would be taken care of. Upon walkthrough of the "brand new" Motorhome, several defects were identified as not acceptable, and again, I was PROMISED by THE OWNER and Sales Rep that they would do a "We Owe" one was the table between the 2 front seats. It was cracked in 3 places on the finished top. 2nd was the outside stereo head unit had damage to the clear panel screen. I.again was told that this would be taken care of under the new vehicle warranty. Fast forward 3 months, and I have never hear a thing from MHSRV, and after emailing the Sales Rep, David Garza, was told he would pass this along and it would get taken care of. A week later, no contact, no check for Tow Dolly, No replacement Table top. and no replacement Jensen MS3 Head Unit. This was my second and last purchase from this dealer, they outright lied to me and did not follow up at all to ensure my cash purchase was satisfactory. I have also had numerous build quality issues I have had to fix myself, as service for this unit is not available. I have an already deteriorating slide topper that will need to be replaced due to very poor build and assembly process.I spoke to the Factory who manufactures it, and was told 3 months minimum for Factory Service. I ended up fixing multiple electrical and build quality issues myself. This was a $160,000 purchase that I have regretted ever since dealing with this dealership. If promises are not resolved immediately, I will seek legal remediation. DO NOT PURCHASE A MOTOR HOME FROM THIS HORRIBLE DEALER!!!!!! Side Note: This was my SECOND purchase from them. TERRIBLE FOLLOW UP AND CuSTOMER SERVICE. Pending Lawsuit.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Donny O'Banion
1.0
Other Employees : David Garza
January 10, 2021

"Thank you for an exceptional job, from finding the..."

- Lori C

Thank you for an exceptional job, from finding the perfect 5th Wheel to financing. You Guys Rock in every department. Thank you Daric Fail And Billy Fussell!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Daric Fail
1
...
1 - 10 of 171 results