Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

New Country MINI

Hartford, CT

4.8
58 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

236 Reverend Moody Overpass

Hartford, CT

06120

Directions

58 Reviews of New Country MINI

Sort by Write a review
November 21, 2011

"I leased a "top of the line" mini cooper..."

- GilesBeale

I leased a "top of the line" mini cooper clubman from this dealer. When I turned the vehicle in [to the BMW offices across the street], I was informed that there was "wear and tear", specifically bald run-flat tires, a nicked windshield and some cracked trim. Good thing I was talked into buying their "safe-lease wear and tear insurance" at the start of the lease, right? Wrong. When I presented the proof of this insurance information to the gentleman that appraised this "wear and tear" at turn-in, he said, "I don't need to see that. You send a copy of that to the mini financing company when you receive the invoice." Hey, call me naive, but that's what I did. Now the financing company says I need to bring this information to the dealer to remove those costs! Is one hand talking to the other at this place? This guy was lazy and didn't want to do the work, especially since I wasn't going to lease or purchase another vehicle from them (a $350 "disposition fee" by the way). Now I'm stuck doing their job. Do yourself a favor and go elsewhere to get a mini or a BMW. I never had any problems with the service department though. It's not their fault that the POS car has plastic accessories that cannot handle a New England winter.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
bryan hallihan and the leased vehicle turn-in guy
October 08, 2011

"I had a great experience buying a new vehicle at New..."

- kellymazz82

I had a great experience buying a new vehicle at New Country MINI. Joe was a very down to earth, easy to talk to guy and he is very knowlegeable and helpful. Rick was great, too. I have nothing but great things to say about my entire experience at New Country MINI.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Joe Sajda, Rick Miller
September 21, 2011

"Lip service not actual service. I purchased my Mini,..."

- bigdog32

Lip service not actual service. I purchased my Mini, which I love, from New Country. However, the service at New Country has been poor at best. When I picked up my new car my first experience was to almost get killed. No exaggeration! The car went into reduced speed safe operating mode just off the on-ramp entering I-84 near the dealership. I limped back to New Country and was assured they had inspected it properly. A loose battery cable was the problem…..Hmmm. I think if they had properly inspected it I would have not been nearly creamed by an eighteen wheeler. <P> Next, when I arrived home, I removed the roof racks and storage box only to find that when opening the box for the first time the lock failed -- the key could not be removed and the box could not be locked or securely closed. Obviously the box had never been unlocked/opened/inspected or this defect would have been easily found. All of this I could get let go of. After all, who knows -- perhaps they were having an off day when my car came in. <P> I made an appointment to have the lock fixed and deal with some other small issues. They called to tell me the lock was broken and a replacement would have to be ordered. I said OK, I will pick the car up. Just remove the box, hang on to it, fix the lock, and call me when the job is done. I was quite surprised to be told no, “we can't do that.” I would have to return with the car and wait while they fixed the defective item they sold me -- very inconvenient for me. <P> I allowed as that did not work for me but they were quite insistent that there was no room to store the box. Hmmm. No room in a car dealership for a surfboard sized box ???? Then I was told they couldn't remove the box as there was no one there qualified to do it. ????? Hmmm. I did it myself at home. ???? Bottom line -- inconvenient for them is no good, but inconvenient for me, just fine. <P> When I picked up my car I asked to return the defective item and was told I would have to speak with a manager that was not there. However, I could wait if I wanted to. I guess this manager did not have a mobile phone. I asked that he call me when he returned so we could discuss the matter. Needless to say, there was no call.<P> End game -- 3+ weeks later, no call to say the part is in (they said one week) and no call from the manager to discuss a return/exchange. So when at New Country they ask you if they can help you, remember what they really mean is, “can we do anything for you we were going to do anyway.”<P> I paid $46,000.00 cash for a fully tricked out Mini so I do not think I am a bad customer to have. I am about to buy another car. This one a BMW as I have been a BMW owner off and on for many years. My current BMW is really just a toy, a $30,000 motorcycle. I will not be buying at New Country BMW and cannot recommend that you do either. (Originally posted September 12th 2011 but somehow removed.)<P> 9/21/11 Updated We are now well over 30 days waiting for my lock. When queried today I was told it took an extra 6 to 10 days as it had to come from Germany. But it did show as having been ordered. Just another 6 to 10 days I was told.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Brandon Small
September 14, 2011

"I was at the dealership at 1pm. Nobody from the staff was..."

- mininfarina

I was at the dealership at 1pm. Nobody from the staff was visible. I made a few circles until I bumped into a service guy who was friendly enough to guide me to Mr Eckart, who was on the phone. My conversation with Mr Eckart left a somewhat absurd feeling - it was me who led the conversation and I tried to buy a car very much. But I was met with such unwillingness to sell me the car that I left and bought it in a different location. Truth to be told I was a bit afraid to meet a too assertive salesman, but that was a complete opposite scenario - a salesperson totally uninterested in selling a car.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Craig Eckart
September 08, 2011

"brand new mini - broke down within a few weeks -..."

- smilinkate

brand new mini - broke down within a few weeks - miserable service coordinator!! basically - my problem.... what happened to customer service??? speaks volumes about dealer that they would allow this kind customer interaction... this was an expensive car - there are obvious bugs with this car and they cant get parts because its "too new"?! Really? Then act like its your problem and not MINE just because I made the mistake of buying the car at this dealership! Things better improve or management needs to change

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Marissa - repair service
August 27, 2011

"It is a shame that such a good car could be sold by such..."

- mommabear06790

It is a shame that such a good car could be sold by such an awful dealer. Service? They don't know what that is. They blame all the problems of the car on you personally. I had my vehicle in service for 9 days. My car needed to be towed (at my expense), I had to rent a car for 9 days (at my expense). My car STILL has problems. They are upset because I put new tires on my car...who knew that the tires need to have sensors in them or at least tht is what they told me. The sensor is in the vehicle not the tires. My keys both of them do not work. This vehicle is over computerized and it has complete control of the vehicle. I am not a happy camper and the dealer does NOT care. They have yelled at me on the phone, called me names and treated me with total disrespect. I have been driving for 40 years and this has to be the worst service EVER. I would never recommend New Country Mini to anyone. Their reputation preceeds them. Even the car rental place expressed that the terrible service keeps them in business. I had to fight to get things done and they blew me off when I took my vehicle in to them to have a broken sunroof looked at...this caused the sunroof to be covered by my extended warrenty. They are guilty of insurance fraud. They knew that I had a problem and they did not take care of it, they passed it off to somebody else. Again I question service??? All they know how to do is make an appointment, but they do not know what to do when you get there or know how to fix the problem. Now I want to sell my car and I can't because it is still not fixed. This dealer costs me too much money. The Mini is a great dream car, but New Country Mini dealer has made this whole experience a nightmare.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Tim Parker, Rick Miller
August 10, 2011

"The timing chain tensioner broke on my 2009 Mini Cooper S..."

- Paulf10

The timing chain tensioner broke on my 2009 Mini Cooper S back in April 2011 which also caused the timing chain/belt to break. They (New Country Mini) had it for about a week and told me it was fixed. When I went to pick the car up, it was very hard starting, idling very hard, had no power ( it was like trying to take off in 4th gear) AND the engine light was on. I only made it 1/4 miles from the dealer before turning around and giving it back to them. The car obviously was never road tested after repair. New Country Mini then kept the car for an additional 3 weeks and claimed the problem/problems were fixed. My guess is that the mechanic had the timing chain off by a tooth or two. In any case, it should not take a month to fix a timing chain issue. Sadly enough my 2009 Mini is back at New Country Mini (went in on July 14, 2011), with the engine light on and idling rough. Since my Mini was returned in May I had not driven it much due to being away from home, plus the fact I ride a 2009 Goldwing most of the time in the summer. New Country Mini has had the car for over a week now, and claim they have opened a PUMA case and are waiting for a response from Mini. I am now going on six weeks that my 2009 Mini Cooper S has been out of service. I paid cash for my Mini and right now its looking like the 30K bought me nothing but a huge headache. I hope not. I really love my mini! Update July 29, 2011: As a result of the PUMA case the engine was torn down completely. The engine was found to have two bent valves on one cylinder.I assume they mean either the valve stems or push rods. The engine is now being reassembled with new valves. Update Aug 1, 2011: I was told my Mini was ready to be picked up. They replaced only the bent valve rod. They removed and inspected the pistons. The pistons were found to have uneven wear, but were not replace with new ones. When I tried to drive my Mini away from the dealership, I found that the car had no power (again it was like taking off in 4th gear) and the engine light came on almost immediately. I turned around and returned the car to the dealer was it is now being fixed. AGAIN! At this point my car has been out of service for 20 consecutive days and counting. the prior repair visit which is related to this visit, was for over 30 consecutive days. Simply put , in the last four months my 2009 Mini Cooper, which is still under warranty has been in the repair shop for over 50 days, all for the same problem. Update Aug 8, 2011: (final & sadly last update) New Country Mini called and said my car was ready and had been extensively road test. I took possesion of the car and twas told that a vacuum line was bent and a gasket on the exhaust manifold was cracked and replaced. When I went to pick it up it had no gas in it. I mean the computer read dashes for miles left and the fuel bar had zero lights. The service concierge went with me of a quick test ride. First I had to buy gas or we would not make it back to the dealer. The car ran okay, but on the highway ocassionaly it would hesitate when you stepped on the gas. Regardless of that I took my car because I fealt confident that without a fault light going on they would not fix it. This is the last update on this problem as I intend to unload this lemon as soon as possible. The CT Lemon laws can not be used because the car is over 2 years old and has over 24k miles on it. Regardless of the fact that it is still under warranty and only 2 1/2 years old with a little over 40k miles, the lemon law does not apply. The CT Division of Consumer Affairs New Car Lemon Law supervisor even suggested I trade the car in.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Kevin, and various managers
May 10, 2011

"I recently purchased a 2011 Countryman from New Country..."

- Countrymandave

I recently purchased a 2011 Countryman from New Country MINI. It was an incredible experience that surpassed my expectations. My sales advisor, Chris Thurston, was extremely knowledgable, friendly and truly interested in getting to know me and my driving needs. He also took the time to follow through after the sale to see how I was doing with my new Countryman. I love my new MINI and highly recommend New Country MINI.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Chris Thurston, Rick Miller
...
6
51 - 58 of 58 results