Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Passport Nissan

Suitland, MD

2.7
42 Reviews

5000 Auth Way

Suitland, MD

20746

Directions

42 Reviews of Passport Nissan

Sort by
September 15, 2021

"I just moved to the area from Baltimore and almost..."

- Sam1982

I just moved to the area from Baltimore and almost immediately, I had to take my Nissan Quest in for service that I just purchased from CarMax October 2020. We moved to Temple Hills, MD April 2021 and my Nissan Quest has been in the shop at Passport Nissan almost every week since we moved here. It is now September 2021 and Passport Nissan sees my vehicle more than I do! I was hoping I could find a Nissan repair shop for my Nissan that I could trust and I would have been a loyal customer.. But Passport Nissan on Auth Rd. has lost my trust. My last straw happened over the last few weeks. I was taking my car in because the engine was shaking a lot when I slowed my car down at the light or just slowed it down. I knew the issue was probably my motor mounts because I had the exact issue before with one of my Honda Odysseys. I also Googled the issue to confirm my suspicions and Google source said if the shaking stops when I put my car in Neutral, it's the motor mounts. And that's exactly how my car responded when I placed my car in neutral. My background is Information Technology so I don't know cars but I know Technology and I know how to troubleshoot an issue. I tell you when I have seen my share of incompetent mechanics in the past few years, that's exactly what I mean. As a woman, I officially don't trust mechanics and I feel like all they are ever trying to do is get more money out of me. So once I took my van in again for what I was pretty sure was a motor mount issue, I told by Malcolm that the motor mounts probably weren't the issue and could be something else but that the mechanics at Passport Nissan would take a look at my issue. I was pretty sure it was the motor mounts but I just said OK and left my minivan with Passport Nissan AGAIN.. Then I got a call the next day basically saying that Passport Nissan couldn't fix my car if I didn't come back to ride with the mechanic so they could see what I felt the issue was because they supposedly test drove my Nissan Quest and felt no shaking. I didn't believe them and I felt I was being lied to. I felt that I was being inconvenienced for something that wasn't necessary. I didn't know how me riding in the car with the mechanic would ensure the issue would recreate itself either. And after being a loyal customer for 5 months even with my trust wavering of Passport Nissan, I felt like Passport Nissan should know my minivan by now to be able to look under the hood and find the issue without me riding in the minivan with the mechanic. I also felt uncomfortable because I had never heard of having to ride with the mechanic for them to know what is wrong with the car if I basically told them where to start looking since I had dealt with the issue about 2 years ago. And the fact that Passport Nissan has seen my vehicle so many times. The whole thing just didn't sit right with me or my ex-husband. I had told Malcolm I would come the next morning then I remembered Covid which added a whole other layer to my concerns. I texted Malcolm and told him that if they couldn't fix my minivan then I would take my Nissan Quest somewhere else. Malcolm didn't call me for 2 days so then I called Passport Nissan to see if my message had been received and what the status was of my vehicle? Did they fix it or not fix it? Suddenly my advisor, Malcolm, said they could fix my car without me riding with the mechanic and Malcolm said they even went ahead and contacted MaxCare and got approval to fix other parts that they said were about to break or go bad that were under my extended warranty. Which, honestly, Passport Nissan should have did this the last time my Nissan Quest was in their care (about 2-3 weeks prior to this abovementioned visit). So, Malcolm says my minivan is ready. I pick it up and not only is it not driving a lot better but the engine light is now on when it wasn't there before. Malcolm tells me that it's not something Passport Nissan caused when I return for the second time in the last week or so. I thought it was suspicious that my engine light wasn't on before. Passport Nissan replaced my motor mounts and supposedly did some other work and now my engine light is on when I drive off after just getting my minivan back from Passport Nissan (Camp Springs location). But it isn't Passport Nissan's fault is what Malcolm is telling me. I always make sure to contact Passpoet Nissan within 24 hours when I see an issue and I just got my vehicle back. So, Malcolm says he's going to just charge me a flat rate of $300 which is what he should charge anyway because that is my deductible for my extended warranty. And this is $300 on top of almost $500 I paid about a week ago for the motor mount issue. Apparently, it is now my solenoids that they didn't notice were bad and are suddenly needing to be replaced. But I feel that my deductible would have covered the visit if my solenoid was replaced when I brought in my minivan for the motor mounts. THEN, I get my minivan back today and my engine light is STILL on. My minivan isn't driving any smoother for all the parts that have allegedly been replaced. And I'm so sick of not having my minivan to drive my kids around, especially with school and their sports activities have started that I'm ready to dump my minivan back with CarMax. And I will tell you this. The issues with Passport Nissan started way before my motor mount issue but I don't have enough time and space to write all the bad service I have received since I started going to them just 5 months ago when I moved to the area. It's disappointing because I was hoping Passport Nissan would prove me wrong and be a repair shop I could trust. But once more, I feel I am being scammed and I'm planning to contact CarMax and the Nissan Manufacturer to see what my options are at this point. I'm a single Mother. I don't have money to be sucked away by some shady auto shop. I did contact MaxCare and they said they wouldn't charge me for taking my car into any shop for an issue (engine light on) that basically wasn't resolved in the last visit. That gives me some reassurance that the car industry isn't totally hopeless but I'm rethinking taking my car back to Passport Nissan Marlow Heights off Auth Rd. again.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Malcolm
Sep 21, 2021 -

Passport Nissan responded

We are terribly sorry we have not been able to duplicate your concerns and are trying our best to diagnose your vehicle. We appreciate your patience and your feedback.

August 17, 2021

"Horrible customer service.I was constantly harassed about..."

- K.Smith

Horrible customer service.I was constantly harassed about a title,Also I never received a call once my hard Tags arrived.This dealership lacks professionalism on every aspect.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chesney Hellmuth
1.0
Other Employees : Tracy
Aug 19, 2021 -

Passport Nissan responded

We are sorry to hear you were not pleased with your most recent experience and have forwarded your feedback to management for review.

June 14, 2021

"I had a horrible and shady business like practices with..."

- danrhvac

I had a horrible and shady business like practices with this dealership. I had inquired about a vehicle on their lot on June 12th at 8:34am and worked with Parul their internet Manager. I had inquired about the price, agreed to the price, but never heard back from the finance department to FINALIZE my purchase at the end of their business day on Saturday. I called on Monday June 14th at 9:45am in the morning...ONLY TO FIND THAT THE VAN HAD BEEN SOLD. I have no idea how a car dealership sells a vehicle after being opened for 45 minutes on a Monday morning. Confused and severely aggravated I asked my sales manager, Phil, to tell me what happened to my deal and all I was told was "First come first serve...", UHM SIR I WAS FIRST ON SATURDAY, or least I thought I was! There was no mentioning to me that any other party was interested in purchasing this vehicle. This was one of the worst customer service experience I've ever had with, completely left in the dark and a complete waste of my time.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Phil
Jun 25, 2021 -

Passport Nissan responded

We are sorry to hear of your recent experience with us, as we always try to be as upfront and communicative with our potential clients regarding our inventory and potential sales. Upon further investigation, we see you originate from out of state, and our team had tried to contact you via phone later in the day on Saturday to explain we had another buyer on-site at the dealership wanting to purchase the vehicle. Unfortunately, we were unable to connect with you and your voicemail inbox was full so we were unable to leave a message to explain this. We apologize, but we cannot hold vehicles for potential clients unless the deal has been completed, and due to no financial paperwork being filled out or applied for by you, the vehicle ended up being sold on Saturday to the client at the dealership. We apologize for this confusion and tried our best to get a hold of you, but do understand your frustrations. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will consider Passport Nissan for another purchase in the future.

February 04, 2021

"I continue to receive the absolute best customer service..."

- TMCCOY

I continue to receive the absolute best customer service from Mr. Damon Wells! Mr. Wells is a professional service consultant at Passport Nissan of Marlow Heights. I feel like Mr. Wells goes the extra mile for my wife and me, but he consistently tells us that “It's the standard operating procedure.” He takes the time to educate us, and he provides information that keeps both my wife and me safe in our Nissan vehicles. My goal is to remain a faithful customer at the Passport Nissan of Marlow Heights for life! Troy McCoy

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
E. Trejo
September 28, 2020

"My wife and I came to test drive a 2017 Pathfinder and..."

- rich.hart

My wife and I came to test drive a 2017 Pathfinder and Brandon Anderson was our point of contact. There were 2 very similar cars to choose from. He was super patient in answering our questions. When we came back the next day to make the deal, we changed our minds as to which one we wanted. We ended up flipping a coin on his phone with us going with what his call was. We did end up with the car we wanted. Brandon is a kind, gentle, patient salesman. He did not pressure us at any point to sell us something extra. We mentioned that I might be interested in a Leaf and a few minutes later a brochure was on the table. I would highly recommend him. Mark Peluzzo the Business manager was also very helpful and efficient. He made the paperwork less stresful.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mark Peluzzo
November 23, 2019

"Worst customer service/communication "

- angrybuyer

I recently purchased a vehicle from this dealership, and I am EXTREMELY UNSATISFIED with their lack of customer service and communication! I never received any updates after Ricky and Mark Peluzzo asked me to send them documents at the end of September. I continuously tried to reach out for updates regarding the status of the registration process and on how to extend my temporary license plates and/or when they would be extended. Every time I called, I got NOTHING BUT SENT TO VOICEMAIL! If I got a text response, it was always unhelpful responses like "yes" or "it's fine for now" or "I'll check", but there was NEVER ANY FOLLOW UP. I had also filled out the feedback form (who knows how many times). After MANY unsuccessful attempts of reaching a live and working person, I filed a complaint with Nissan Consumer Affairs. I got tired of waiting for a response that would never come so I visited the dealer on a Saturday, just to be told by Donna Porter that they couldn’t help me because the Accounting Department was “closed” on the weekends, and I’d have to come back Monday or call back. I lost it! I told her I couldn’t come back because I have to work and I WAS NOT calling BECAUSE I am NEVER able to reach a real person! I only ever get sent to voicemail! I had spoken to Ricky about my plate extension, but he never got back to me. She told me that he NO LONGER works there. You couldn’t have told me that information when I called?? Or that I would have to talk to the Accounting Department and that they’re not open on the weekends!?! I even reached out to Mark 2 days prior and got no response! (Surprise!) AND I had called to speak to a manager but only got sent to a VOICEMAIL! She tried to assure me that she would have an answer for me Monday after 11 am. I also asked if they could send me my extended plate and registration but she told me no because I had to sign the temporary registration IN PERSON. So I called Donna Monday. She got Tracey Wolley from Accounting to call me, who let me know she’d extend my plate and registration. I went to the dealer to get my updated temporary tags and registration to find out I DID NOT have to go to the dealership in person, BUT I’m glad I did because who knows when I would have received them! I asked her if they could extend my temporary plates for 2 months but she refused and said they weren’t “allowed to because it’s a different process” than when I first purchased my car. Mikael called and told me he would get me the tracking number, but I never received it. After Consumer Affairs contacted the dealership, Brianna Rose called me to tell me that my documents had been sent to the DMV, but they couldn’t provide me with the tracking number because “it would give away other customers’ information.” How does a tracking number give away other customers’ information? Beats me! Even the DMV couldn’t figure that one out! I told her Mikael was able to get it and was going to give it to me but I hadn’t heard back from him. She said she was going to talk to him, so of course, he doesn’t answer OR return my call. As a customer and AFTER X UNSUCCESSFUL ATTEMPTS OF REACHING A LIVE PERSON, how was I supposed to be sure that they even sent my documents to the DMV!?! Their lack of communication and customer service already had me not trusting them! My car is FINALLY registered after 2.5 months!!! Not only were they UNRESPONSIVE! BUT, they DID NOT change the oil when I bought my car! I had to change the oil a week or so after I bought the car! I doubt they even checked the brakes and other stuff before handing the car off to me! I hope I no longer have to deal with this dealership! I DEFINITELY DO NOT RECOMMEND PASSPORT NISSAN MARLOW HEIGHTS! DO NOT BUY YOUR CAR FROM HERE!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Ricky (don't know his last name, but he apparently no longer works there), Mark Peluzzo, Christopher Johnson, Donna Porter, Tracey Wolley, Brianna Rose, Mikael (don't know his last name)
September 24, 2019

"DON'T BUT FROM THIS DEALER"

- Tim

**DON'T BUT FROM THIS DEALER** Purchased 2 vehicles cash remotely for our business. Advised all paperwork was complete and vehicles ready for pickup. Arrived, no paperwork was ready, their 100 point inspection was laughable as neither vehicle was road legal on numerous counts. Edgar the Finance Director refused to print of temporary tags without undertaking a 2nd credit check. His excuse 'you could be a terrorist'...The Sales Manager said he'd call me to apologize about everything the next day that was last Wednesday. It's now Tuesday with no call. Also put a call in asking for GM to call me on the Friday, still no response. Very poorly organized company, Edgar was very aggressive and demeaning. You do not need to run 1 credit check let alone 2 for a cash purchase. The fact that the cars hadn't been checked and inspected to the degree they were both unsafe to drive away was appalling. They charge $800 for 'administration' fees and nothing on their side was undertaken!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Edgar - FInance Manager
June 28, 2019

"Buy your LEAF from Brandon Anderson"

- M Flowers

We highly recommend buying your Nissan Leaf from Brandon Anderson. He knows a lot about them and he helps you understand and set up the systems in the car. I also like that they are very straightforward. I didn't feel like they were pushing things on me that I didn't want.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brandon Anderson
June 27, 2019

"My experience "

- Gilesvd

I had the pleasure of meeting Ronnie Hughes at Passport Nissan and was amazed at her professionalism and knowledge. I would definitely be recommending my family and friends to visit the dealership and meet with her. Congratulations Passport Nissan on hiring a winner!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ronnie Hughes
June 18, 2019

"Best Customer Service"

- MizzTaz

Out of all of my dealer experiences, I can honestly say that Customer Service is Ms. Ronnie ALL day. She is AMAZING and very knowledgeable!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Chesney Hellmuth
3.0
Other Employees : Ronnie
1
...
1 - 10 of 42 results