Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Paul Miller Toyota of West Caldwell

West Caldwell, NJ

4.8
532 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

1155 Bloomfield Avenue

West Caldwell, NJ

07006

Directions

532 Reviews of Paul Miller Toyota of West Caldwell

Sort by Write a review
October 27, 2011

"I found this used 08 Acura MDX from this dealer,..."

- horserider88

I found this used 08 Acura MDX from this dealer, salesperson not even give you a warm welcome. after we discussed the price and agreed and put a deposit, then they treat you like cr*p. wasn't honest about the condition of the car, extra fees like "window etching, dealer fee, and frabication fee, which they won't tell you about until you do the purchasing contract with them. I will not consider going to this dealer again. AND BEAWARE, DO NOT PUT DEPOSIT IF YOU ARE NOT ASOLULATELY SURE TO PURCHASE THE CAR AND SEE THE FINAL CHARGES ON PAPER. IT IS VERY HARD TO GET IT BACK. I am still waiting for my refund for a week after they told me it will be done the next day after the deal broken.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Frad Hill
July 08, 2011

"This place is a ripoff. I feel like I was totally taken..."

- WS30

This place is a ripoff. I feel like I was totally taken advantage of for my recent brake service. I just reviewed my receipt in detail and I am dumbfounded. They charged me $159 per rotor. a quick google search of the OEM part# shows MSRP of $152, purchase price $110 at toyotapartszone.com. So obviously the dealer gets them for even less than $110. I can't believe they actually charged me higher than MSRP! Again, the brake pads kit MSRP $76, online price $55. They charged me $92!!!! I immediately complained at the counter when he quoted me the price because I had a gut feeling it shouldn't be nearly that expensive, but I unfortunately I didnt have this knowledge to back me up, and with my tight schedule I didnt have the luxury of driving off and shopping around elsewhere. The only good thing was I had a 10% off coupon from dealercoupons.com (which I just noticed they didn't even apply to the labor charge(!), they only applied it to the parts charge, and it barely covers the NJ state sales tax anyways). I'm thinking if they had no qualms about ripping me off with these parts prices, maybe I didn't even need new rotors after all, they probably could've been machined. Also, their waiting room is lousy. There are no vending machines and the water fountain was out of service. it was a painful 3.5+ hours. Bottom line, AVOID this dealership like the plague. At least I learned my lesson though; next time i go for any service (somewhere else), I will be sure to research the actual price for parts ahead of time. I only hope these online review sites gain popularity so the bad dealers lose enough business and are forced to improve their service & prices.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
cant recall
May 11, 2011

"First they sent me an email with a quote in all different..."

- countyingula

First they sent me an email with a quote in all different sized fonts. They said window etching was an absolute necessary fee even though i knew it wasn't and had things in fine print in the e-mail that showed signs of sleezyness. I go in to work out a deal on the vehicle i want and agree on a price.. I stressed the matter over and over and over and over. IS THIS THE ABSOLUTE FINAL PRICE? and after numerous gareentee's that it was, i sign the paperwork and wait for the call about financing rates. I call them the next day and mentioned that i didn't see the destination fee that they kept including on other quotes.. and i said are you sure this price i signed for is the final price? and they said yes. So after another day from not hearing word about the financing situation i go there. and they said they made a mistake and have to add an 800 dollar fee to my purchase... I was infuriated after stressing how much i wanted a final out the door cost before i signed anything and said no deal. they took my paper work and threw it out. I stormed out very disappointed.. My parents also went to this store and they said noone even talked to them or offered any service while they waited until they got fed up and left. So a week goes by and i notice a deposit charge pop up on my credit card from them. i send 3+ e-mails and called about 5 times requesting that they refund my deposit. They never replied back in the e-mails and each time i called they said they would call me back with an answer and never did. so a few days later i went to the store to demand my refund in the middle of my work day and they had 5-6 salesman trying to get me to settle on an offer. i repeatedly told them in was in a hurry and just want my deposit back. after 30-45 minutes of waiting and argueing that led to me screaming and cursing. finally a manager comes out and apoligizes and says he has the refund marked up right here but before i take it he wanted to know if he split the difference on the additional fee's they forgot about if i would take the vehicle. i was ready start throwing things at that point and screamed no in numerous ways until they finally agreed to give me my money back and i stormed out and rushed back to work very late. it was a horrible experience and i would advise to have absolutely nothing to do with them. they wasted my time, and they were very dishonest.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
george , ron, and 6 other scumbags
February 19, 2011

"Caldwell Toyota is a 5 Star Dealership and will treat you..."

- jondavis

Caldwell Toyota is a 5 Star Dealership and will treat you right! The Dealership is a Green Business, and a top notch place, the Salesman and Finance Team are smart, experienced, and fair. This is the Best Dealership we have ever bought a vehicle from. On top of the extremely nice dealership, the staff make it truly an enjoyable experience to purchase a vehicle. We just purchased a used 2008 Sequoia, and Chip Hunley was our salesman and he was Great, he was especially helpful in helping my wife find what vehicle she wanted and would need as we have a baby on the way. I have been trying to get her to decide on a vehicle for the last year and Chip helped her weigh her choices and had a vehicle picked in 30min. We could tell that he really cared and was a Dad and Grandfather himself, on top of knowing anything and everything about each vehicle, the dealership, and Toyota. He told us about the Caldwell Cares program which offers free loaner, shuttle, and oil changes for cost, which we couldnt believe was free and even helped us setup a complimentary detail and service visit within 30 days of our purchase. Jonathan Webber was also great at laying out our warranty options and made the process simple. J Caldwell and his team truly know how to Treat Customers right.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Chip Hunley
May 26, 2010

"Steve was friendly to deal with and we appreciated his..."

- JKidd1

Steve was friendly to deal with and we appreciated his time. We test drove a Venza, a RAV4 and a Scion xB. He called us loony for asking about if we could get a manual transmission. He was very personable and patient and seemed like a guy we could work with. We thought the cars were too grown up for us - mushy and boring - otherwise we might have done business.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Steve Gordon
May 02, 2010

"I went to buy a new Toyota Prius. I drove from..."

- awesomedean

I went to buy a new Toyota Prius. I drove from Selinsgrove, PA to West Caldwell, NJ (3.5 hrs) to buy this vehicle that I had done hours of research. The reason to go to this specific dealership was that they had the only color (Red) with advanced technology option in the North East region. I got to the dealership at 9am test drove the prius and loved it. Neil gave me the pricing of the car and financing options. Although prius was on financing options (2.9%) APR as I found out from their dealership in harrisburg, PA. He mentioned that I had to financee it 5-6% range. He didn't know he was dealing with a finance major! After I negotiated with him, he agreed to finance the car to 2.9% APR. he made me wait until about 2pm and finally told me that I can't get the car that day. the reason was that he couldn't rip me off as he (might?) have done others in financing. I strongly suggest that you do not waste your time in this dealership because you will get treated like crap. Neil was really rude and was not professional.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Neil Chelnik
May 02, 2010 -

awesomedean responded

The "recommend this dealer is "NO"

May 02, 2010 -

awesomedean responded

After visiting Caldwell Toyota, I have decided not to buy a toyota at all because the way they treated me at the deaelership. I am looking into honda and audi

March 08, 2010

"MADE DEAL ON THE INTERNET. I LET THE DEALER COMPETE WITH..."

- CHRIS K

MADE DEAL ON THE INTERNET. I LET THE DEALER COMPETE WITH OTHER DEALERS FOR THE PRICE. WHEN CALDWELL TOYOTA GAVE ME THE BEST PRICE, I WENT UP THERE TO RUN MY CREDIT. SINCE IT WAS EVENING AND I HAD ANOTHER ENGAGEMENT, I TOLD THEM I WILL BE BACK MONDAY NIGHT FOR THE 2010 V-6 VENZA. MONDAY NIGHT CAME, I WENT TO DEALER AND IN LESS THEN A HOUR I WAS OUT THE DOOR WITH THE VEHICLE. ALL THE SALESMEN AND STAFF WHERE ALL FRIENDLY, HAPPY AND COURTEOUS. THEY EVEN GAVE ME AND MY NEIGHBOR FREE COFFEE. SO TO BRIEF IT UP HERE'S HOW IT WENT, WENDESDAY AND THURSDAY SPENT MINIMAL TIME ON COMPUTER GETTING QOUTES ON THE VEHICLE PRICE.(LEASE) FRIDAY GOT THE BEST QUOTE.(LEASE PRICE) FRIDAY NIGHT WENT THERE AND LEFT SMALL DEPOSIT. "GENO C" WAS VERY HELPFUL. MONDAY EVENING PICKED UP VEHICLE. NOT ENOUGH TIME AT DEALER TO LET MY COFFEE GET COLD. WILL I GO BACK ? -------------- Y E S ------------------ CHRIS K.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
GENO C
January 21, 2010

"I had been using a chain service center for previous..."

- rsniedz

I had been using a chain service center for previous normal auto maintenance.I wanted to try a local Toyota dealer so I brought my 2003 Corolla for a mechanical inspection to Caldwell Toyota. Their service said I needed repairs. They replaced front brake rotors, pads, disc brake, resurfaced rear drums, and replaced serpintine belt and v belt. After Toyota's service, brakes squealed in reverse. After 3 attempts by Toyota,rear brake replacement by Toyota and total cost of $1051.66, brakes still squeal. I'll see them in court.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Tom in Service
Feb 03, 2010 -

rsniedz responded

The reason the Corolla was brought to Caldwell Toyota was to test their service. They failed miserably. rsniedz

April 27, 2008

"I went to the Caldwell Toyota dealership in West..."

- Carguy10

I went to the Caldwell Toyota dealership in West Caldwell, NJ to test drive a 2009 Corolla XRS (VIN: 2T1BE40EX9C011930) on April 24, 2008 and was greeted by a shady salesman named Larry. I was told that since it was after 7:30PM I could not test drive the car. Therefore, I returned the next day and was greeted by a nice helpful young man named Mario. We went for a test drive and he was very helpful. After our test drive we were forced to deal with Larry as we were his "up" as Mario explained, since Larry had greeted us the prior day. After some negotiation he returns and tells us that he "accidentally" gave us a lower cost ($22600) and monthly payment of $289-310/month. The new price was about $50 off the $25323 MSRP (an increase of over $2000). Then our monthly payment was changed to $489-540/month up from $289-310 with $3000 down payment. This was even before a credit check was ever made!! Next a sales manager name Ralph Mosely, a rather large man (6'3") with one white eye, came over and in a angry and nasty tone told Larry to get up from the desk and he would "handle this." He proceeded to give a false apology and was very rude with me. He told me that he could never give me the car for the original price as it would have amounted to $17000 for the car. However, this was incorrect as Larry had already shown me earlier that the original offer price with the "allegedly wrong" pricing was $22600. Calling Ralph out on this lie infuriated him and he became very aggressive- to the point that I thought he was going to hit me! He snapped at me and told me to tell him what I wanted to pay. I offered $21500- a fair mark up from my original offer of $19500- mind you this was negotiation- I knew very well that it was a low price and expected him to lower merely his price a little (less than $1000). He told me that the price was way too low and I told him that it was well over his "mistaken calculation" of $17000- if that was what he honestly thought I was naive enough to believe. I told him that I am a numbers guy and he would have to do better with the "correct price" and not try to tell me that the numbers which both I and Larry knew had added up to $22600, were actually adding up to $17000. At this point he exploded in anger and shot up out of his seat saying "you know what- I will do you a favor" and reached out his hand to me. I expected him to grab me as he reached for my arm, instead he grabbed my hand and forced me to give him a handshake- saying "negotiation over, there's the door." I stared at him in disbelief as he stared angrily at me, chest pushed out and hands clenched. I then turned and shook hands with the nice young salesman who originally helped me, Mario, and thanked him for his help and left. As I walked to my car, which was parked right outside the large plate glass window were the desk was located, Ralph, the sales manager, began shouting at this staff and pointing at me menacingly through the window. And why? At no point during my time at the dealership did I act aggressively or inappropriately, I merely acted as a professional and how I would treat a fellow professional in a business transaction. And in return I was not only rudely treated by this dealership, which has the audacity to claim in ads that it is ranked #1 in customer satisfaction and then try not only to raise the price on me, but also kicked me out of the show room when I questioned the sales manager's incorrect calculations. I expect more from a Toyota dealership and am now considering purchasing my vehicle from a Honda or Mazda dealership, as their dealerships treated me fairly and in a friendly manner And the best part of this? Well I had visited this local dealership because it claims in ads that it is ranked #1 in customer satisfaction! Good luck if you decide to purchase here, and Caveat emptor (buyer beware)!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Ralph Mosely
September 03, 2007

"I had a great experience at this dealer. I found it was..."

- poonie

I had a great experience at this dealer. I found it was not a high pressure dealer. The salesperson was a great guy (Jim) , I enjoyed my stay there. I normally hate buying cars. Once I made the deal here I was in and out. The finance guy was fast and efficient. The service department has to be one of the best around in customer service. The truth is, I was so happy that I bought another car there. I would recommend this dealership to anyone.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
4
521 - 530 of 532 results