About Us
Copyright 2018 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Rick Hendrick BMW

4.2

57 Lifetime Reviews

1518 Savannah Highway, Charleston, South Carolina 29407 Directions
Sales: (843) 763-8403

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

57 Reviews of Rick Hendrick BMW

Sort by Write a review
August 11, 2018

"Bad Business precedes Bad Reputation"

- Unhappy

On 8/03/18 my husband and I drove to RHBMW in Charleston from Florence (2.5hrs). Got there just before 3 pm. J Simmons became our salesperson. We drove 2 vehicles. After we made our decision Mr Simmons sent the vehicle to be detailed and be fueled. At that point we had to wait about 3 hrs to see the finance person. We were told that on this day he was working alone because the other person had to leave early. By the time we finished it was well after 7 pm (closing time). The sales person left as soon as we exited the the finance office and thanking us for the purchase. The finance person left before we could walk to the car we have driven to the dealership. I knew we needed to put gas in this vehicle so I drove it to the nearest station. There my husband informed me that there was no gas in our purchase. By the time we grabbed something to eat and drove back to Flo it was around 11 pm. Tired from a long wk and a long ordeal of purchasing a car, we slept late. By the time we got around to drive our new CPO, we noticed a message on the Dash Panel: oil change due since 6/18 and the dealership was closed. My husband called early on Monday and spoke with the Sales Manager. The SM told him that as a CPO this vehicle had gone thru an extensive inspection including an oil change. That this message was most likely a “programming error”” and to stop by to have it looked at and to get a full tank of gas. My husband told him that stopping by was not an option since we live in Flo. The SM then told him that he would look into it and call him bk. By Wednesday we haven’t heard so my husband called him again. At that point the SM told him that the person in charge of that would not be bk until Fri 8/10. Today is Sat 8/11 and we have not heard. We are are waiting for a replacement for the glove compartment (I have a “we owe”, the Owner’s Manual” I was looking for when the compartment fell apart, tank of gas and an answer to what is the “error” on the message board if in fact the oil was changed. BTW my husband found trash on the doors pocket and dirty floor mats under the proctective papers. At this point we are dissatisfied to the response or lack of , willing to return the vehicle and receive a refund

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
J Simmons. The Sales Manager
April 13, 2018

"Story Tellers"

- carguy

Based on chat on this dealers page, the vehicle was present and that the webpage is kept up to date. I had sent an email inquiry and was told, Yes, we have the vehicle. I called the dealership for direction and speak to the saleswomen(who was not available). But was told, no we don't have the vehicle. Of course my response ... what? How is this possible. I was told may be someone put a deposit on the vehicle. We don't remove listings based on a deposit. Then I was put on hold, and subsequently told it sold earlier today. All of this took place within a hour. A whole lot of questionable behavior for a BMW dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
They know who they are. Not many car dealers have female associates.
February 21, 2018

"Buyer beware!"

- Caleb H

We ordered a M3 from Rick Hendrick BMW on 11/18. We were originally told it should be ready around mid January and we were fine with that. I inquired where we were in production on 1/8 and was told it went into production on 12/19. Then the salesman wouldn't answer me when I called and emailed about delivery. So I called BMW North America a week later, myself with our production number and was told it wasn't in production yet. I cancelled my build with Rick Hendrick because I was lied to. I asked for my deposit for weeks and never got a response. I went to Rick Hendrick to speak with the sales manager and he said he wouldn't give our deposit back until the car sells. We like to shop locally, but will never do business with any Rick Hendrick dealership. Buyer beware!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Alex
February 06, 2018

"Double the price of the "Book" cost"

- Ian Lister

I am writing this for posterity's sake, hopefully they can make this right. I dropped my 2000 M5 off at this dealership on Monday 2-5-2018 with a no start, no crank issue, after making an appointment online. My service adviser, Dustin, told me that I should have my car back that evening. Later that day I get a call stating that there was "good news" and that the issue was just a fuse. Thinking a fuse should be a 10 minute fix, they had to order a fuse, AT A CAR DEALERSHIP??? and hold my car an extra day??? (warning sign one, misdiagnosis 1) OK must have been a German fuse, so I waited until this morning only to get a call that the fuse keeps popping and that they need 3 additional hours (instead of the $45 diagnostic fee) to investigate a fuse issue. So I agree to that only to find out my that my EWS had a short in it and would need to be replaced and with the additional "diagnostic" work, the bill would be $1060. If the EWS module was defective the BMW INPA/ISTA diagnostic software wont even show the module indicating a fault and that it needs to be replaced, but I guess they went the old fashioned way of hand checking every connection under the dash instead of relying on the computer burning 3 hours at $145 an hour. Wow that escalated quickly. After this I called a buddy that works for another dealership out of town I was told an EWS replacement and diagnosis at book rate was around $500 dollars WITH a new key. So I called Dustin to get a break down of hours and was told that I had agreed to the additional diagnostic hours and I shouldn't be upset to pay double the cost of the repair and confirmed $500 is the correct price for the repair. WTH. They still have my car so I dont want to make waves until I get it back (fearing an even larger bill). Dustin then tells me they charge 1.5 TIMES THE STANDARD BOOK RATE for any repair not under warranty (warning sign 2) and that is standard in the industry. The final straw was when he added an additional hour onto the bill to put the pedal guard back that I had taken off even though the repair would require that it be removed anyways (warning sign 3) we settled on $760 for the repair but after mulling this over I feel like I should warn other folks about this. If I you don't know exactly what needs to be fixed, be ready to pay at LEAST 50% to DOUBLE the price to get it fixed at Rick Hendrick BMW service. My take aways are from Rick Hendrick BMW service are 1. You will pay 50% more than anywhere else to get the same repair (at least) unless they ding you for additional diagnostics then the price will go up, why even take to the dealership then? This came from the service adviser not me 2. If you dont know any better they will try and squeeze you for even more money. 3. You have to fight them to follow their own BOOK estimates for work, god help other less informed BMW owners. Read the other service reviews and you will see a pattern. I hate to use the word "stealership" but if you don't know your car or cant get a second opinion, you will be taken for a ride.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Dustin
November 28, 2017

"pleasure of buying a car"

- Maxwell

we have just moved to Charleston from New York. by chance we stopped at BMW in Charleston to look at cars. we met a very friendly and sociable sales consultant Allen Glass. for number of days he took the time and effort to explain to us the cars, areas, and supporting matters. he never pushed any particular car or any specific brand if you are looking for a luxury car, I highly recommend for you to go and meet Allen. you will not regret it

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Allan Glass
October 15, 2017

"A relaxing experience "

- Lisa Filippetti

My husband & I popped into the dealership on a Saturday not expecting to leave with a car... Todd greeted us right before we were about to leave. We shared with him what we were looking for, our price point & he found a convertible that wasn’t even listed yet. Between the test drive, going over the cost, everything, Todd made it a wonderful experience. He waited until past closing until the car was cleaned up & ready for us to drive away. I will be back this week for him to go through how to use the car aka bells & whistles! Thank you Todd Taylor for finding my black beauty & making it a perfect buying experience!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Todd Taylor
August 21, 2017

"great buying experience"

- Lc1

Todd TAYLOR made this the smoothest car purchase I have ever had. Fair negotiations, quick to communicated I got my ideal 2015 silver Toyota Land Cruiser within 5 days of initial contact. Great service Just wonderful

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Todd TAYLOR
August 14, 2017

"Dishonest, deceitful, and unwilling to help customers"

- usedcarbuyer12

My husband & I went to look at a SUV for sale the Rick Hendrick BMW dealership. We met with salesman Brandon Jamison. We were told the price was so low on the car (dropped $5,000 from original asking price) due to the fact that it had been on the lot for 90 days & that they “like to move cars along." We test drove the car & then discussed buying options with Brandon. He gave us options to put a deposit down which would give us a night to think about the decision. Upon saying we wanted to leave a deposit, Brandon went to check on that. While he was gone, another salesman came into his office to tell us another customer had shown up & was interested in the car & another one was on the phone wanting it. Brandon came back & said because of “other interested people,” his boss wanted us to not leave a deposit, but commit to buy the car. We made the decision to purchase the SUV. Since my husband & I had driven separately, there was no way for us to get the SUV home with us that evening. They offered to drive it to us that night after cleaning it but “couldn’t work it out.” We gave permission for the SUV to be delivered the next morning. On Wednesday at 10am, as Brandon was dropping the car off, I noticed a crack in the passenger’s side windshield that had been covered up at the dealership by the for sale/information papers. I immediately asked Brandon about the crack, to which he denied any knowledge of the crack, saying “it could have happened on the way over” (but he drove the car over & would have heard it happen). He told me he would return to the dealership, talk to his boss, & be in touch. He called later & informed me that his manager, Strom Altman, had known about the crack & chosen to not disclose the information, even though there was NO way for us to see the crack as it was hidden by the for sale papers on the front passenger’s side windshield. He said Rick Hendrick BMW would do nothing to fix the windshield, but we could return the car. I asked how I could trust they were not hiding other things. Brandon was defensive & said the car was priced low because of the crack (although he told us earlier it was priced low because it had been on the lot 90 days). I asked Brandon to send me the 34-point inspection they completed on the car. He said he would text me a picture when we hung up. One hour later, I still had not received the requested paper work. I texted Brandon, who then did send me a picture of a piece of paperwork, but not the requested one. I immediately texted back to which he never replied. Wednesday evening, we called Brandon from my cell phone, & my husband’s cell & left messages. He never returned our calls. Thursday morning, my husband went to drive the SUV, BUT it would not start! I texted Brandon at 11:14am for the inspection report so that we could better make a decision if we wanted to keep this car or not. We had written a check for it that was due to clear on Friday. He never responded. Thursday afternoon after work, my husband jump started the car & took it to a Pepboy's to have the battery checked. The Pepboy's employees who work with batteries informed my husband that the battery was over its lifespan & needed to be replaced. After leaving Pepboy's, my husband called Brandon & said he would like a copy of the 34-point inspection. Brandon said he was off work, but could get it to us on Friday. My husband told Brandon that he was near the dealership & would go by & get it from another employee. Twenty minutes later, my husband shows up at the dealership & finds Brandon who said he had "just arrived" & could give him the 34-point inspection. My husband confronted him about the battery, & Brandon offered no help. After looking at the 34-point inspection, all other checkpoints seemed to be okay, therefore we decided to keep the car, but we are over-all very disappointed with the process of buying from Rick Hendrick Pre-owned cars due to lack of response of employees, dishonesty & deceitfulness of employees, & lack of willingness to help customers or correct errors on their end.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Brandon Jamison, Strom Altman
May 20, 2017

"Experience with Justin Washington"

- Country surgeon

Mr Washington was a knowledgeable, honest salesperson. We had an intensive negotiation, Justin was always patient and polite. He is a real stand up person, with whom it was a real pleasant experience to deal with. Mr Altman, the CPO manager, came and thank me personally to drive up to Charleston from Daytona Beach to buy my car. He is a real "southern gentleman".

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Justin Washington, Strom Altman
May 17, 2017

"Rick Hendrick BMW"

- Douglas5150

Great experience with Just and the Rick Hendrick team in Charleston. Very easy process in purchasing a vehicle. I would definitely recommend Justin and the dealer.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Justin Washington
1
...
1 - 10 of 57 results