Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Santa Cruz Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram Volkswagen

Santa Cruz, CA

1.0
41 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

1616 Soquel Avenue

Santa Cruz, CA

95062

Directions

41 Reviews of Santa Cruz Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram Volkswagen

Sort by Write a review
July 30, 2020

"Unprofessional and disrespectful - awful experience"

- MMoraes

My husband and I came to this dealership excited to find a new car and buy it locally. The Short Story: We did not buy a car here, and we had an awful experience with the sales manager, Charlie. He employed outdated and foolish sales tactics, jerking us around on price, but the worst part was his behavior during negotiations. He escalated from abrupt and dismissive to downright aggressive. All the while, he was condescending and disrespectful. I don't expect a salesman to agree with every ask or negotiation I make or be happy when a deal doesn’t work out. I do, however, expect to be treated with respect. I do not recommend this dealership at all. The Long Story: Tony was the salesman we worked with, and from the beginning he specifically stated that he would do his best to get us a deal even if there were no rebates on the car. As it turned out, there were no rebates on the model we wanted, so I asked about any discounts. He called over the sales manager Charlie. Charlie lectured us about the supply chain issues in the car industry and how there was absolutely no way for him to discount the cars he has on his lot now. While his tone made it clear he thought talking to us was a waste of his time, his explanation seemed reasonable enough. Unfortunately we wouldn't be able to purchase without a discount. We thanked them for their time and began to leave. Tony stopped us from leaving, went into a back room and came out with a discounted offer. This happened twice! Any trust we had in this sales team was gone. Charlie specifically said there was no way to give a discount then Tony comes back twice with increasing discounts? This sales tactic of jerking people around is foolish and outdated. Nonetheless, we made our final negotiation. Tony said he couldn't do it, so we thanked him yet again for his time and left. An hour before they were about to close, Tony texted my husband telling him again that we should really take the deal. After that Charlie called me on my cellphone; he attempted to intimidate and guilt me into a new deal. He accused my husband and I of disappearing during our deal, when in reality Tony *told us* that running our credit and putting together cost estimates could take a while and we should go get lunch. Next, Charlie told me that he "doesn't do paperwork for free" and how he "doesn't need the practice." He went on to offer a deal which was clearly a trick, offering me the discount I asked for but requiring that we buy something we had specifically stated we didn't want and was also so expensive that it almost entirely negated the discount. Perhaps Charlie didn't think I was capable of simple math. I declined the offer. In response, he offered a more reasonable deal. I needed to confer with my husband so I called him back a little later. The final call was the worst of it. My husband and I declined the offer; we decided to stand firm on our ask. I thanked Charlie for his offer, but told him we would pass on it. Charlie was clearly pissed off by this. He condescendingly offered to "educate" me about how I would never find an APR like the one he was able to get with the bank. (FYI - we did find that APR and better!) I think this was intended to sway me into taking the offer, but I stood firm on our ask. It was disappointing we couldn't reach an agreement, but business deals aren't always a happy ending, right? Charlie just couldn't stand our willingness to walk away. He kept me on the phone to say "some people look for problems in a deal and those people will never be able to make a deal." He was sure to clarify that he "wasn't talking about [me], just some people." This behavior was immature and it was just truly incorrect. The fact is, we very much wanted to make a deal, and I told him so. He didn't agree with our terms, so what are we to do but move on. Charlie just couldn't let it go. He went on and on about how I would never find this car with this offer. He challenged me to find a better offer, saying he would beat it. He added how he knew that would never happen and then HUNG UP ON ME. I wish Charlie had expressed his disappointment respectfully and encouraged us to come back another time. Instead he began with aggressive intimidation and ended in a rude tantrum. I do not recommend this dealer.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Charlie
December 23, 2019

"The service department is incompetent, dishonest and..."

- TammyC

The service department is incompetent, dishonest and unprofessional. After being a loyal VW owner for 28 years and 13 VWs, my experience with this dealership has convinced me to never buy a VW again. The service department does not value their customer. They will keep your car for ridiculous amounts of time, tell you your valid warranties are not valid, will not respond to calls if there is an issue after service and will not take responsibility for their failure to perform their job. I was told by Mark the service manager that it is my responsibility to maintain my car. I thought that’s why I brought it to them. The worst service I’ve ever encountered, rude, unprofessional, incompetent and dishonest.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Rick, Mark
November 01, 2019

"Dodging phone calls and lying"

- Randy B

This review is specific to the service department. On 7/2/19, my car was dropped off to Santa Cruz Nissan dealership by my son, with a complaint of losing coolant fluid. Their diagnosis was a water pump failure, and repair parts were ordered with an expected delay due to it being around the July 4th holiday. I attempted to contact both Service advisor Rick Torres and the Service Manager (Mark) on 7/8/19, but apparently neither individual works on Mondays. I contacted Torres the next day on 7/9/19, before repairs had begun on the car. During the 5-minute conversation held on speaker phone, I specifically asked Torres for the replaced part to be provided to me (the cooling system has just been flushed 2 weeks earlier when my son was home, and I wanted to check that part to see that work was not the cause of the damage), and my wife, who was seated next to me in my truck during the phone call, clearly recalls Torres saying that the part would be placed in a box in the truck. The vehicle was retrieved late in the day on 7/10/19, but the replaced water pump was not in the trunk. My son called Torres the next morning (7/11/19) and was advised that they would look for the part and return his call within twenty minutes. My son never received a phone call back. I then called Torres the morning of 7/12/19 and asked him to call me. I have never received a phone call back. I tried once again and left a message for Mark on 7/24/19, but have never received a call back. Ultimately I filed a complaint with Bureau of Automotive Repair and a dispute with the credit card company. The dealership response blatantly lied claiming that I did not request the part until 2 days after the work was complete, and tried to rely on the state auto repair act saying we should have requested the parts be returned at the time the order was placed, without even acknowledging their service advisor agreed to provide the part before the actual labor was commenced. I might have understood an honest error, but dodging my calls and blatantly lying is reprehensible. All this lying and dodging leads me to believe that the part did not need to be replaced, and the dealership was simply trying to take advantage of a college student by performing an expensive, unnecessary repair.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Rick, Mark
September 30, 2019

"Santa Cruz Volkswagen has the worst customer service. My..."

- Maria

Santa Cruz Volkswagen has the worst customer service. My Volkswagen vehicle was in the service department for over five months, no support with a loaner car. I had to pay for a rental car ... and the manager and Rick have the worst customer service. Worst experience of my like... never again will I be buying a Volkswagen vehicle, definitely this car will be returned to the dealership. I recommend you don’t get your car service here.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Rick
July 07, 2019

"Rude, inconsiderate and unprofessional General Manager!!"

- tiger

Went there on July 4th, got a quote on the price for a used WRX limted. Took a couple of days to think and went in to finalize the deal. The sales guy Joseph was kind and helpful, but the GM is an xxxxx! For a credit score of 801, he first quoted an interest rate of 4.49, which was ridiculous. When I checked with Joseph, he asked me to take it up now and re-finance in a week's time. Then I was made to wait for 2 hours before they could get the paper work ready. Once the paper work was ready, I was called into a room, forced to buy a bunch of ad-ons which I refused, they even tried to sell them saying we could bring the interest rate down if you bought etc. Then, finally when it came to down payment, he suddenly bumped my rate to 4.99, and told me I couldn't refinance for 4 months, when I refused the deal, the GM came in and started shouting at me for me no reason, when I didn't budge, he cancelled the deal. My entire was wasted! They have no concept of customer service, no ethics, don't stick to their words, all they care about is money.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Joseph Cunningham
January 27, 2019

"First Time Buyer Terror"

- Narmstrong

This is my wife and my first car from a dealership and it could not be more of a nightmare. We bought a certified used car (cw wahon with less than 50k on it) and had it less than three days before a fuel system malfunction that completely cut out power to the car occured. We limped it back to VW and they had it for four days... Four days. They replaced the fuel filter and gave it back and the same issue (which is a major safety issue as we live in the mountains and this was purchased as my wife's commuter vehicle) occured within 7 miles of driving. They took the car back and have had it for a week and told us it was the high pressure fuel pump and parts would be in Monday. An hour later they called and said the car is ready and it WASNT that fuel pump. We went in and come to find out from the service tech that they cannot tell us if safety equipment which would extend the warranty for the fuel pump (which is a common failure and needs to be upgraded to the newest revision part per VW anyway to prevent catastrophic failure) is installed or not. So the car is still with them. Needless to say I have tried to call the owner and several managers and they all seem to disappear when I call to have this remedied. When we stop in they try to upsell us into a new car (which is not comparable to the one we purchased) or a new lease, both of which we are not interested in. I still have not received a call back from anyone whom I called, they seem to have everyone BUT the person who can remedy this call me. My wife and I intended to buy a functional car which she can use to get to work, instead we have seemingly wound up with a boomerang to the dealership that we cannot even drive, numerous missed days off work for us both trying to fix this and severe stress for us both. Our savings and safety were put into this car and the dealership and owner could not care enough to even call us back. We are STILL awaiting a call. Needless to say we most confidently do not recommend this place to anyone looking for car, if you would like a coronary though you are at the right place.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jim Courtright
December 09, 2018

"Worst sales experience I’ve ever had "

- Tom

Bought a 2018 Ram Power Wagon from here. Had a few issues during the trade in, tailgate fell (which is a known problem for rams) and was damaged the sales manager Charlie called me about 2 weeks later (first I had heard from them) and was pretty much yelling at me saying that I was not a man of my word and that they were going to take legal action against me to pay to repair the tailgate and that I wasn’t standing by my end of the deal. The day they took the trade I replaced the front hub because the bearing went out, $500. I paid them for half $750 (what they asked for) to repair the tailgate. Although their estimate was way over priced, dealership can get the tailgate for under $200 and a tailgate paint job is around $500. Add maybe an hour to transfer parts that’s now $800 total. Part of the deal was they would provide me with everything I needed to title the vehicle in Ohio (I’m active military). As of today 38 days later I still don’t have what I need. They sent me the proper sales contract with no signatures from the dealer on it. I’ve been told by Charlie the Sales manager that he would call me back probably 20 times and he has only called me back maybe 2 of those 20 times. The sales service the day of purchasing was good, but it seems like once they have their money they don’t really care about standing by their end of the deal. I will never go back and I will let everyone I know to not go here. If you’re thinking about buying from out of state stay away. They’re clueless about how to do anything outside of California, their title person actually told me that people title vehicles in one state and register them in other states all the time.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Roger, Charlie, Jessica,
November 11, 2018

"Kept my car for almost two months"

- DaveDee408

I am currently having the worst experience at Santa Cruz Volkswagen Dodge I bought a Srt8 from them lest than 5 months ago I have had to have the mounter mounts replaced the rack and pinion the alignment and now the transmission bearings brakes I mean the list goes on and still no vehicle this dealership gives u the run around slow plays every situation ignores me as the customer I’m hoping that I can give some kind of a good review soon but right now this place is horrible customer service is terrible.Update dealing with Charlie sales manager is helping out with my vehicle great customer service very helpful.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Gregg Dave service manger Rich (The Worst Salesman-Liar)
October 10, 2018

"Update to previous review"

- Kidrokr2005

Got a call today saying they now need me to go in to verify the VIN number on my vehicle. Verify the VIN??? This should have been done ages ago, and how was it smogged, sold etc. without the VIN verified? Why now as I bought it on Labor Day? Still no tags, title, plate in my name. Our neighborhood requires parking stickers to park, and now the temporary one has been on and I need the permanent one. Considering talking further with my attorney about this. Really tired of this run around. Notified Better Business Bureau. Again, salesman Cris is awesome, Rudy in finance, is not. Crisis would get this dealership 5 stars, Rudy, 0. Had I received my tags, title and plates in my name by now, I would've left the 3 star due to Rudy, with Crisis bringing his from a 0 to 5 star. The 2 is due to the continued hassle and still no title.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Cris, great!!! Rudy, finance, beware!!!
October 01, 2018

"Poor Service Damaged vehicle"

- Gunrunner62

My wife and I purchased a new 2018 Challenger. A week later we brought it to the service department to have factory fog lamps installed. I was told it would take approximately 1.5 hours to install. I arrived at 10:45 for my 11 a.m. appointment. I returned at 2 p.m. to pick up my car. I was told it would be another 20 mins. 40 mins. later i found a service guy and asked about my car. He came back about ten minutes later and told me it would be another 20 mins. This process repeated several times. Each time i was told it would be another 20 mins. When I asked to speak with the service manager, the tech refused. I asked three times. Each time he refused to go get his manager. I then went and found the sales manager who went back to find him. They returned about 10 minutes later. The service manager told me I should not have been quoted an hour and a half. He asked who had told me that amount of time. I told him his service tech. he said "Oh." They then offered me a hoopty rental. At this point we are several hours in to the project, I tell them to go ahead and uninstall everything and return my vehicle. He says he will go check on the time remaining. He returns and tells me, wait for it.... about 20 minutes. This time it is ready. The roll the new car out. Guess what? There is a noticeable ding in the body line on the right hand side near the tire. Initially, the service manager says that I probably got that in a parking lot. I point out that those type of dings happen around the door area. I also point out that when I dropped the vehicle off we did a walk around. No dent. The service manager agreed to not charge for the labor, but to date no satisfaction on the dent issue. AVOID THIS DEALERSHIP!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service Manager
1
...
1 - 10 of 41 results