Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Shannon Motors

Johnston, RI

4.4
410 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

648 Killingly Street

Johnston, RI

02919

Directions

410 Reviews of Shannon Motors

Sort by Write a review
August 26, 2014

"Friendly & Professional"

- Joey52

In the past few years I have had some financial hardships, I purchased my first car from Shannon Motors in 2010 they were professional and non judgmental about my financial woes. The first car was a 2005 and recently I was able qualify for financing to up grade to a 2012 vehicle. Carmine was the sales associate that I dealt with on each purchase, he and the entire staff were friendly and professional. It was a pleasant experience dealing with Shannon Motors.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Sep 03, 2014 -

Shannon Motors responded

We truly appreciate you taking the time to share the experience you had at our dealership! We are pleased you were able to upgrade, Joey, and look forward to working with you in the future!

August 12, 2014

"DEATH TRAP"

- peaches1974

I WAS SOLD A DEATH TRAP A 2009 NISSAN ALTIMA WHICH WHEN I DROVE ON THE HIGHWAY IT WENT FROM 60 MPH TO 40, I HAD MY GRANDCHILD IN THE CAR WITH ME AND A TRUCK ALMOST HIT THE BACK OF MY CAR BECAUSE OF THIS. I TOOK IT TO SHANNON MOTORS AND TOLD THEM AND THEY TOLD ME NOTHING WAS WRONG WITH MY CAR. SEVEN TIMES I BROUGHT THIS CAR BACK WITH THE SAME PROBLEMS AND MORE ADDED ON THEY STILL TO ME THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH MY CAR. I THAN TOOK IT TO A NISSAN DEALER WHICH I MAY SAY THE BEST PLACE EVERY. THE TOOK MY CAR AND INFORMED ME IF MY TRANISMISSION WAS BAD AND THE MILES WAS UNDER 120,000 MILE, NISSIAN WILL COVER IT FOR FREE AND GAVE ME A RENTAL. WHICH SHANNON MOTOR TOLD ME BASICALLY TO DIED IN THE CAR WE ARE NOT GOING TO FIX IT. I HOPE THAT NOONE EVERY GET A CAR FROM THEM. IF YOU DO DECIDE TO GET A CAR FROM THEM PLEASE, PLEASE DO NOT TAKE THE CHANCES OF PUTTING YOUR CHILDREN, GRANDCHILDREN OR ANY CHILDREN IN THE VECHILE BEFORE GETTING IT INSPECTED BY A TRUE DEALERSHIP. THERE IS MORE TO THIS STORY BUT I FIQURE YOU CAN GET THE NATURE OF THE DEALERSHIP FROM THIS ONE STORY. IF YOU NEED MORE JUST ASK.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
TODD,
Sep 03, 2014 -

Shannon Motors responded

We understand your frustration and we want to see what we can do to help. Please feel free to contact Noelle Pereira at 401-865-6710. Thank you!

July 18, 2014

"Pleasantly surprised "

- Vangilly35

wanted to start by saying that I have horrible credit and didn’t know where to begin when my car broke down. I am like everyone else at one time I had perfect credit but life happens and I was unable to keep my credit in good standing. I knew I couldn’t go to a regular bank so I searched bad credit financing and Shannon popped up. I was very put off by the reviews but remembered hearing one time that if you have a good experience you may tell one person but If you have a bad experience you tell everybody. So I ignored the reviews and gave them a try. All I have to say is thank god I did. I met Paul Reis at the Johnston location. His knowledge of their programs and how to work the banks against each other to get the best approval was amazing. Within 1.5 hours I am driving my new car with a lifetime warranty and on the road to rebuilding my credit. He also went as far as to give info on additional on ways to improve my credit score even faster. Im telling you I am proof that everyones situation is different and unless you give them a try you will never know. Take my word this is the person you want to sit with when you buy your next car.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Paul Reis
July 17, 2014

"How buying a car SHOULD be"

- dendoslick

Everybody who has ever shopped and bought a car through a dealership knows it can be a nightmare...Shannon Motors completely changed my mind! Very smooth and efficient but id like to give the most credit to my salesman Paul Reis.He worked with me from the time i shook his hand hello til the time i shook his hand after i got the keys to my car.He was knowledgeable and went out of his way to get the best vehicle i could for my price range. I will be sending as much business i can to them and i will be telling to ask for Paul.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
July 16, 2014

"Great Experience"

- Jerry Pernice

We got exceptional service! We worked with Paul Reis and Bill Hinckley and they answered all our questions perfectly! They made me feel welcome and we got a great deal on our 2008 Maxima. This is our 2nd vehicle from Shannon Motors and we would highly recommend to anyone who needs to rebuild your credit!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Bill Hinckley
July 12, 2014

"great experience"

- dablkqueen1

I needed a new car and I have bad credit, so I saw an advertisement of Shannon Motors and they said they guaranteed financing. I thought I'd give them a try...I called and spoke with David Bruscini and he told me to come right in and he would let me know what they could do for me. Everyone there was very friendly. I had a little problem with a down payment and insureance but they worked very hard to get me financed...I drove away the very next morning with a newer car and a good outlook for the coming years...I would definitely recommend Shannon motors to my friends and family...

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
David Bruscini Paul Reis Jr.
May 29, 2014

"Good Experience "

- Manon1957

I was not sure what I would qualify for since my credit was not the best. I saw their commercials frequently, and decided to stop in and see. I read some reviews, but often not, you can't always count on reviews, so I decided to stop by for myself. I looked at several cars, the salesman was patient with me, and practically did a backflip to get me financed for a vehicle. Thank You, Paul and the staff for your assistance.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Paul Reis
May 25, 2013

"This dealership is an utter nightmare and I highly..."

- Kathryn76

This dealership is an utter nightmare and I highly recommend passing them by. If you need a buy here pay here there are many other options in the state that function much better than this...My husband and I went in to look at a minivan we saw online. First off, the website is almost impossible to navigate. Funny thing is, is that even their own staff don't know how to use their site nor do they have a separate inventory page that lets them know which lot their cars are on. So be warned. You may show up at one lot and the vehicle you may want to see may be at another lot. BUT, of course in the mean time they have their lovely salesmen ready to try to suck you into their spiel of how they guarantee financing So while we decided to see what this dealership could offer, suddenly we couldn't qualify for any "out of house" financing. Then the great salesman asked if we would take a car. So I made clear up front, no car. Minivan not negotiable. I have a child in a 250 lb power wheelchair...where do you put that in a car?? So not only did the salesman not listen, he was rude. He told us "with our credit profile we were not gonna qualify for what we wanted". Ok, so then he throws this "in house financing" at us.Then the financing person calls and says she may have a bank and suddenly we don't qualify for in house financing. Then he tells us the bank denied the loan, so back to the in house finance crap again, but now he wants a $4000 deposit. At this point I want to spit on this guy. He then told me that obviously I haven't bought a car w/ my "bad" credit before and I needed to go around other dealerships and get a wake up. We left basically told him to take his "deal" and shove it. We went to another regular Honda Dealership (Colonial in Dartmouth, Mass). The salesman treated us w/ total respect. The finance manager got us a normal loan w/ regular terms for a 2010 Odyssey. Shannon told us we couldn't qualify even for a 2004 Odyssey. BUT here is the huge warning!!! A month after we left Shannon Motors they kept running my husband and my credit files looking for financing (3 weeks after we bought the 2010). Doing that they keep leaving "hard credit requests" which stay on our files for 2 years and damage our credit scores!!! Am very angry and plan on filing a complaint against them thru BBB and possibly RI Attorney General's Office. BE WARNED AND RUN FAR FAR AWAY!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Peter
November 01, 2012

"Look, lets be realistic. This is pretty much a predatory..."

- Bewareof Shannon

Look, lets be realistic. This is pretty much a predatory car lot that throws out loans to people that have very poor credit that are considered extremely high risk to loan to. The reason they are so effective is because this is the LAST resort for people with very bad credit. At this point most people in that situation dont care about what the car is, what the price is, or how kind the salesmen are. They just need a car and need one now. They wont budge on prices because if you dont buy it, they will find someone that will in the long run. Its Rent A Center but instead they sell cars. Walking into this place you smell the stench of desperation from people that need a car. Just remember that they are not there to sell cars to people with great credit that can go to a real dealership. They are there to deal with the desperate. Their rudeness shows this 100% they dont care because if someone is purchasing a car through Shannon, this shows they have no where else to go. I purchased a car through them and of course I was desperate at the time and knew I was paying top dollar for a bottom of the barrel car, but I had no other choice. It kills me inside every time I make a payments for a car that is worthless (I once tried to trade it in and thats the response I got). But for the time being it fills a need I have. To make a long story short, Use this Place ONLY if you CANNOT get a car loan from ANYWHERE else. But expect to take the embarassment and abuse of using a buy here pay here place.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Entire Staff
October 14, 2011

"Run Away Screaming Before It's Too Late! I have never,..."

- TPLG

Run Away Screaming Before It's Too Late! I have never, in my entire lifetime, encountered such an unprofessional, dishonest, crude, abhorrent, immoral group of individuals at once in a single place of business (if you can call it that)! As long as this review is, I do not even have the time or room to explain how infuriating those people are or all of the incidents that have occured since I walked through their doors in Warwick! They prey on those who feel they don't have many choices due to poor credit or in my case, being unemployed. There are a lot of desperate people in this economy. To the ones in the market for buying a vehicle, please, for your own sake DO NOT GO TO SHANNON MOTORS!! IF I HAVE TO TELL EVERYONE I MEET and go to more "regulatory measures", I will. It has been hell since 9/23/2011 when I signed the loan agreement. I have taken the vehicle back to be repaired 3 times, already (twice for the same thing) in Johnston! One of the times I left my vehicle with service, I called for the first time three hours after I left it. The person in charge of the shop said I was "a pain in the ass", and hung up on me! I called back three times and he picked up the phone and slammed it down. He was extremely rude to begin with. He and all the other employees I had interactions with made my anxiety level go through the roof just with their attitudes alone! I spent a lot of money on a car with 108k miles on it! I should never had to have gone through what they put me through! I regretted giving them the down payment directly after the transaction (which was not refundable). They are the WORST... from the GM, to the salesmen to the God-awful person they have in charge of service. I, mistakenly, wrote a complimentary letter about the finance person to the owner, since, he seemed to be the only person who knew what he was doing when I purchased the car. He turned out to be a letch, as well. He promised my plates and registration would be ready on a certain day and time and they were not until 5 days later after he made such a big deal about getting the sales tax money. They also put GPS's on all of the cars that are loaned. I heard that was illegal. Incidentally, the sale took from 10:30 am until 5pm. I won't get into that day except that I was lied to, ridiculously, by the salesman. I agree that they need to be investigated by every agency that is eligible to do so. I am sure they are breaking laws left and right and just not getting caught. They take advantage of those who are uninformed, as well. I do blame myself for not going to a site such as this or ALL of the other sites that have customers telling the truth about them. I should have investigated further and I would have never gotten myself into this mess. Too late. I just don't want anyone else to make the same mistake. To those who had good experiences with them, I will tell you how lucky you are. If they haven't screwed you over yet, they will in some way, shape or form. I honestly believe their employees write good reviews about them! In any other "normal" business- all of those workers would have been terminated! Even the people in the billing office are extremely abrasive. Clearly, the owner doesn't care how his customers are treated. From the Warwick dealership to Johnston they are all lowlifes. Their iniquitous behavior should be outlawed. Their doors should be closed forever. I knew that I was signing a loan for way too much money to begin with after paying a very sizeable down payment. I felt that was my plight due to my situation. I know people are not perfect. I know that dealerships like them are disreputable. I never expect anything to be 100% perfect. I am realistic about things in general. However, to be dealt with, as a consumer, in such a disrespectful, appalling manner is ABUSIVE. There is no excuse! The GM pretended to be nice for a day because he HAD to or I would have gone to great extremes. Then he finally showed his true colors and acted as though I was "putting him out" when he was merely doing his job to get me a loaner while the vehicle was being fixed (which they apparantly, never do). He told me he would meet me at 8:30am on the day I was to get the loaner. He showed an hour late and pawned me off on another employee who proceeded to stick up for the creep who called me a name and hung up on me! I was there for two hours when I had a class to get to! They do not seem to realize that customers have lives, as well. It is insanity. The GM had the audacity to act like a psycho over the phone when I had my dad call him after they devalued my vehicle in "fixing"it! He must have known he wouldn't have any repercussions for doing so. His threshold for being "nice" was obviously extremely low. One of the reasons I chose that particular vehicle was because it had an automatic starter that the previous owner had installed. Without notifying me first, they took it out of the car because they said that was the reason I was having mechanical problems with it. They flat out refused to put in another one. That says a lot right there. To top it all off, what I have written is not even everything they have done! Purchasing a vehicle is supposed to be a positive, exciting experience. This couldn't be further from the case. Apparantly they are too ignorant to know one key thing in life... KARMA IS A BITCH.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
S, J, K, K, T, BO, G
...
41
401 - 410 of 410 results