About Us
Copyright 2017 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Simpson Chevrolet of Irvine

2.6

24 Lifetime Reviews

21 Auto Center Drive, Irvine, California 92618 Directions
Sales: (949) 457-2000

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

24 Reviews of Simpson Chevrolet of Irvine

Sort by Write a review
August 31, 2017

"MUST READ!!! Steer clear from Simpson Chevrolet."

- JL

The worst dealer experience I've ever had. Bought the new volt from Raymond Whipp and was promised a full tank of gas and charge. Was sent home with empty tank, the next day and following week Raymond didn't return my calls and never got that full tank of gas I should have had when buying or leasing a brand new vehicle from a dealer. Then the car was rear ended, decided to use the same dealer I purchased from which turned out the be the worst nightmare, over 10 visits and body shop still cant get the repairs right, i was delayed 2.5 weeks where vehicle was not touch because the previous dealer was bought out by Simpson Chevrolet then the body shop went through 3 managers which delayed the repair even longer, by the time I got the car back 3mons later everything was mis-aligned, second and third visits were because they broke interior pieces and put them back on the car, 4-5 visits to replace the damage left taillight which was not touched in the accident, broken rocker panel and more interior panels that decided to fall off on its own due to broken clips from removing and replacing. 6th visit notice bumper paint was rubbing off and backing itself out, turns out again broken clips, new bumper cut and modified just to stay on and 7th visit turns out their frame machine was out of calibration which needed the oem to come in and re-calibrate. Many more visits due to rust caused by incorrect aligned tail light and trunk lid. The 1st three months they didn't even offer a rental car when they told me i will have the car back fixed in one month. 20k miles in the 2016 volt died on the freeway with 0 power, towed to same dealer to find a internally shorted voltage regulator, told it was close to $30k msrp part covered under warranty. Then turns out there is a bad squeaking noise in the rear of the vehicle, been to same dealer 5 times for this issue, 1st was told it is known issue and a bulletin was out and they can fix, 2nd visit right after the 1st for same reason was told axle needs drilled to put more grease in, again known issue. 3rd visit the right rear axle was to be replaced but sent home and told to come back because a set of bolts to hold the axle up was out of stock, 4th visit they replace the whole rear axle and still did not fix, 5th visit turns was told that its the actual body that is making the noise and that they have seen this same issue before and the body shop fixed due to some bad weld. Recently the vehicle has been at this shop for 3 weeks, was told the body is now fixed but I now have to bring it back next month to get the noise fixed AGAIN because they are too busy. I was told the car is ready and to pick up today, went on my lunch hour only to wait 25mins while others behind me was brought their vehicle. Asked the counter 3 times if they forgot my car to no avail, after 25mins I left Simpson Chevrolet without my Volt and still with the rental car going on one month without my Volt. Even the service manager and body shop manager shook their heads at the troubles I have gone through, one of the service manager even have gone out of his way to see if maybe they can compensate me somehow to no avail, got redirected to the same person that sold me the car whom never contacted me until after multiple interactions with this same service manager then didn't seem eager to help and didn't bother to call me to update me. The service manager calls me 3 times to ask me if anyone has reached out to me, answer was NO... only once after he pesters the sales guy to try to help me possibly trade this car in on another. Seems once they make the sale they forget who you are, typical. WORST DEALER EVER, DO NOT GO TO SIMPSON CHEVROLET IRVINE, YOU WILL REGRET IT. OTHER CUSTOMERS LEAVING THE DEALER ACTUAL TOLD ME TO TURN AWAY AND GO TO A DIFFERENT DEALER. And yes, i have all the invoices, documented all the times lost visiting, waiting and having to come back time after time, rental car invoices showing the same unresolved issues over and over. Will never buy a GM product again due to this experience! Update 11/1/2017, the car has been back 3 times more so far since my last review. The 1st visit since last review was to have the New body shop that they contract with fixed and realign the rear panel's because the right tail light was rubbing the body taking off paint and causing rust and to determine the root cause of the rear squeak and squeal coming out of the right rear as Simson Chevrolet now says its due to the accident. 1 - Get the car back, all the panels still out of alignment, the rust was touched up with paint which is now rubbing and paint is removed again in the exact same location as when I dropped it of to fix just this. - Now the body shop Simpson decides to use advises that the noise is not from the accident or the botchy repair but instead a defect manufacturer weld in which they have seen the same incident before and had to re-weld to fix in another customer vehicle. I then was called to come pick up the car because their newly acquired body shop is booked out a month before they can get to my car to fix the weld. I was advised to come and pick up my car until they are ready to fix it, I show up and the car had masking tape around parts of where they just painted, the headliner was creased and hanging out over the weather seals, the plastic trim panels were hanging, dome light was left under the headliner and the whole rear of the passenger area has muddy foot prints on the back of the front and rear seats and door panels, steering wheel has body filler stuck all over it, dust filled the whole car ..... and this was a good enough condition to have the customer pick up. Needless to say, I left with the rental and they had to bring in an outside detailer to go over the car before I came back to get it. (See my photos) ON YELP The day after I pick up my car I now noticed that my lane departure and collision assist is now malfunctioning, again, see my photos. Called and was told they will fix it when i bring back to get the noise fixed by new body shop. 2 - A month goes by I bring the vehicle back to get the lane assist and noise/bad weld fixed only to find out that Simpson Chevrolet has now stopped using the same body shop mentioned above and have contracted to a 2nd newly acquired body shop, oh and again i have to wait another month because they still have to work out negotiations with this new shop before I can get my car fixed. However, I left the car this time only to have the lane assist and collision prep malfunction fixed. I was told there is a bulletin on this exact same issue and that bulletin will fix it. (DID NOT FIX IT) 3 - Couple weeks go by brought the car back this time to actually have that new body shop rip the car apart to fix that weld and to also recheck and fix the collision prep and lane assist. Just received a call from Simpson Chevrolet and was told that they did more research and determined that the noise is actually coming from a bad Shock which I now AGAIN have to come get the car and bring it back AGAIN once that shock is back in stock to have it replaced. PEOPLE, this is a legit issue as even the advisor and his mechanics reduplicated this noise but have yet to fix it correctly. As for the lane assist, also reproduced by the advisor, for this he might have to reach out to GM themselves for help on this. But I will still need to return the rental, pick up my UNFIXED Volt and bring it back AGAIN when they are ready to try and fix it again. To recap, the car was involved in a minor rear end collision in which Simpson Chevrolet initially took my car, promised me it fixed in a month but turned out to be 4 months before I had to fight to even take possession of it, was not ever offered a rental even though they stopped all work on it during the transition of ownership and delay in parts, incorrect parts ordered, etc. Fast forward 2yrs later the collision repair is still not complete, multiple issues experienced after this, the main voltage regulator failed and left me stranded at less than 20k miles, rear axle was drilled, filled, replaced, body still misaligned, land departure and collision prep fails, i have bad noise that they cant fix, miles getting put on it from test drives to replicate issues by them and countless amount of unnecessary time lost. Now if you are having or experienced issues with Simpson Chevrolet, just goto the car rental location they use and ask them what the percentage of customers get sent to them to whom have complained numerous times about their bad experiences with this dealership to back your claim and complaint. Another update 11/3/2017 - Read previous posts following up to this latest update. The Volt was brought in almost 2wks ago to have the right rear noise checked out and repaired "again". Now am told that the right rear Shock is the culprit, this after it was a 1. axle lubrication issue 2. Complete axle replacement 3. botched body repair job (Which their own repair division did the work) 4. The body shopped inspects and blames bad factory body weld that failed 5. New body shop states some of the body trim and moldings could be the cause, replaced.... (Failed, not fixed) 6. Yesterday was called by service advisor states the mechanics checked out and now turns out the culprit is the right rear shock absorber which is on back order and do not have an ETA. Had to pick the car up until the part comes in, mind you this will be at least my 30th + visit regarding issues and not that the customers time matters. Showed up to the dealer today at 3:12pm to pick up my vehicle and you guessed it, found new issues that was over seen on prior visits. Today Angel and I inspect the car before I drive off to make sure everything gets documented again and we find: 1. Right passenger door hinge bolt is completely missing. 2. Hood hinge is missing 2 nuts. Presumably from when the car internally shorted out its voltage regulator while I was driving in the carpool lane during rush hour and the dealer had to replace it but forgot to reinstall those nuts. 3. Driver side rear passenger entry trim is loose for the 3rd time as it was already replaced for a broken clip previously. All this can be viewed under my images. So again today I leave with the car but initial issue brought in for many times prior still not fixed but instead find new issues.... missing bolt on right rear passenger door and hood, and completely forgot to ask them today to make sure ALL door and hood bolts and nuts are torqued down when they replaced them. After all said and done I spend 2hrs today, another 2hrs lost with no compensation at all. Angel is and have done his best to reach out to management only to come back to me and say "sorry, have to go through debugging steps until exhausted and well go from there". 2yrs, countless loss hours, headaches, stress, anger, etc.... Simpson Chevrolet manager still have not reached out to me ever until today Roger was pulled out to assess the missing bolts and screws from my car. Over 2yrs of issues and countless shop hours and costs loss by the company, it would have been more beneficial for the dealer to have either terminated my lease contract, offer me a decent trade in on another GM vehicle which for countless times I have tried but they were not willing to work with me, at the time the 2016 volt had less than 7,000miles and was already $8,000 negative... bad depreciation on Chevy volts. At this point I will never be a GM owner again. This have now become my outlet for documenting all the issues I have been having, with this many issues, easy to forget and loose track of things.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Raymond, Auto Body, Service
November 14, 2016

"Update"

- bradpetty

I have deleted my initial post, and updating it with this one. While I did not receive good service in getting my car repaired, I am pleased with the immediate and sincere response from the service manager who was able to make me whole. While I prefer it would not have had to happen this way, in the interest of good will I have revised my initial review.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Len, Roger, David
October 06, 2016

"Helpful staff and a great deal"

- Volt2017

I've purchased a lot of cars in my life and have to say this was by far the best experience I have ever had with a car dealership. As a first time lessee I wanted to understand the process, costs and of course get the best deal I could- got all three! Clear, straightforward help form the internet sales manager (Raymond) and ended up driving off with a 2017 Volt lease that was pretty much everything I wanted. No pressure, no tap dance- very helpful, courteous and professional staff!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Raymond Whipp
January 22, 2016

"Had to replace the instrument cluster panel within 1 month"

- Chevy Irvine service dept.are CROOKS

Took 07 avalanche in to replace instrument cluster panel. Upon completion of the repair, took the car home and within 2 days the car battery died. Took vehicle back and service technician stated the door latch on the diver side is bad causing the drainage on the battery. AT no time the cluster was tested. Had new latch replaced, took the car home and within 1 day, the battery died again. THIS IS A BRAND NEW BATTERY. Took the car back and this time insist on the testing of the cluster. Suddenly it is now determined that the cluster is bad. Had a new one replaced. Within a week, had to return to the dealer because the cluster is giving faulty warning on the dashboard. Had another one replaced. Within a week, had to return to the dealer because the cluster is now missing programming function. Finally have a fourth cluster replaced. To summarize the issue, had 4 clusters replaced, 3 jump starts from AAA at my cost, missing time due to multiple trip to the dealership, over $1000 out of pocket and when the issue is brought up to the management, their response is NOT OUR PROBLEM IF WE PUT IN FAULTY PARTS, JUST BE GLAD WE REPLACE THOSE 3 CLUSTERS FOR FREE. NEVER ACKNOWLEDGE ANY WRONGDOING AND WILL NOT COMPENSATE FOR THE INCOVENIENCE

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Roger in Service
November 10, 2015

"Chevy Volt battery broken "

- Vahid

Great service abd taking care of my car in short time and great communication for follow up Thanks dealership I will recommand this dealership to friends

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Erwin
August 30, 2015

"Do not speak to Rula in the finance department!"

- Mommyof2

Denni, Michael, and Brian are AWESOME! They worked with me to get the best deal, but when it was time to sign the papers, Rula in the financial department was unbelievably rude. I cannot believe how I was treated by her! She told one of her co workers, "It doesn't matter, the car will be back i two weeks anyway." Referring to me, and my credit. There is so much more that was said, and I'm just astonished about how stuck up Rula was. It was as if I was some person off the street, not a customer. I complained to the manager David, and he did NOTHING expect tell me he would handle it later. Do not deal with anyone in the actual dealership. If you want a good price and someone who's really looking to work with you, I reccomend going to the collision center and speaking with Denni or Brian. They are AMAZING!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Michael, Denni, Brian STAY AWAY FROM RULA!
August 22, 2015

"Fast, Honest and No hidden fees"

- brittanyb1

I dont have the best credit so I went on line. I found Chevy of Irvine. I had been there before and didnt have to worry about getting bumb rushed driving thru because the first time no one was anywhere. I applied on line and got a call from a Kevin. I had a lot of detailed questions and as soon as he didnt know the answer he promptly put his boss on the phone. She was cheerful, nice and got to the point. She told me to come on in and she would beat the Toyota store on price. I pulled up and shevwas outside waiting. Thus was much better t than before when I drove thru. I told her what she had to do. She showed me the screen and even though I have bad credit she got me done and better than the competition. There was no haggling.No back and forth I sat in the managers office with Kevin and her Husband Brian. I was there about 20min. test drove,got my monthly payment, changed my insurance and I was ready to sign. It was the experience I ever had and I came after work. I did wait for the Finance girl to get help. I believe she was new. They must be under new management because it seemed like the paper lady took the longest and didnt know how to do everything yet. But what do you do when someone is new. The sales team kept me busy and laughing. Its a VIP entrance that they are doing for internet customers that gets you in and out. They said they are working on making the building more presentable and labled better. I loved the service and I sale insurance. Denni even asked me about my product and seemed genuine about keeping business local and gave me her email. I believe she will by my services. The VIP entrance made me feel better about my situation and they were fast and didnt judge me and everything she told me on the phone they did and then some. I felt comfortable and its like a quicky lube entrance for car buying. I will go back and my sister said she would come next week (and she doesnt like anyone) she likes to deal with ladies. Ask for Denni and the VIP team. Other than the learning curve signing my papers with the new finance girl and the fact she could speak a little better it was perfect. I love these guys I love my Hyundai Sonata and the VIP entrance for Internet buyers who dont have time to be there all night will keep me coming back. Thanks Guys!! You did what you promised and my sister is looking forward to talking to you Denni and Kevin about giving her the same fast experience except she is the one with good credit. Thank you all. Im glad I found you.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Kevin, Denni and Brian Hasbeck
July 07, 2015

"Service dept"

- Jason

Took my car in for a quick oil change and warranty repair which was only supposed to take @ 15 mins. Service said @ 3-4 cars in front of me and I'd have to wait 2-3 hrs. Had shuttle drop me off and waited 5 hrs. Finally called them and they said vehicle was just about ready and they'd sebd shuttle. Waited an hour still no shuttle. Called them back and they took my name and number and would find out where shuttle was and would call..guess what.. Another hour and I'm still waiting.. So far, 7 hrs fo something that should have taken @ 30 mins.. TERRIBLE SERVICE!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Sean
June 23, 2015

"Chev. of Irvine"

- LoriT

Thank you for the fabulous service at Chevrolet of Irvine. I received excellent service the minute I arrived. I was greeted by a Service Rep with a smile. I had my car detailed inside and out. With kids it needed it. They guys did a fantastic job. My car looked like new! I would defiantly recommend the dealership. Wait .... I always do. Thank you, Lori PS They do a great job on Oil changes too!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Sean and Jeff
May 20, 2015

"I am very happy!"

- Carman

Great experience and I am not trying to over sell! This is my second time buying a car here an both times I am happy.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Kim
1
1 - 10 of 24 results