Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

South Austin Nissan

2.8

170 Lifetime Reviews

4914 S IH 35 Frontage Rd, Austin, Texas 78745 Directions
Call (512) 710-1100

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

170 Reviews of South Austin Nissan

Sort by Write a review
October 31, 2019

"Stole my car! Avoid these thieves!"

- Teresa

South Austin Pre-Owned Nissan tried to steal my daughter's car! Avoid these thieves!! She went to the Pre-Owned location on Saturday, 10/26/19, and found a 2018 Nissan Maxima she was interested in but told them up front she was shopping / comparing prices. They encouraged her to take the Maxima for the weekend and bring it back to them on Monday, so she left her little car at the dealership and drove their car. She went to a couple of other dealerships to compare prices and found another Maxima she preferred that was priced better and had 20K fewer miles, so she ended up purchasing from another dealership. The other Nissan dealership took the borrowed car back to South Austin Pre-Owned Nissan Monday morning 10/28/19 and planned to drive my daughter's little car back to their dealership for pick up. When “John” got there Monday morning, my daughter's car was not there!!! Turns out, South Austin Pre-Owned sent her car off to auction earlier that morning!!! They had NO title, NO signed documentation saying she was trading it in! They flat out LIED to “John” who was to pick up my daughter’s car, saying that they “lost the key” to her little car to buy themselves some time. “John” called his manager, who then called and spoke to the South Austin manager who LIED and told “John’s” manager that it had gone to auction because my daughter had agreed to purchase their car, which she had not. “John” walked the entire property of South Austin Nissan and her car was not on the property. South Austin Nissan contacted the auction driver & had him bring my daughter’s car back to the South Austin Nissan Pre-Owned lot. “John” had to get an Uber to get back to his own dealership! I went after work on Monday to pick up some documents that were accidentally left in the borrowed car’s glove box & to pick up my daughter’s car. The car was there, but with white markings on the windshield and driver’s side window, which were markings to the auction folks showing them which vehicles to TAKE to auction. The documents were not in the glove box & the South Austin Nissan Pre-Owned Manager Carlos Barrera lied to my face saying they just parked it and didn’t take anything out of the car. “John” was on the phone with one of my daughters saying it is Nissan policy to clean out / detail the cars when returned, so I repeated the statement to Carlos Barrera that it is policy & to find out who detailed the car now. He made a phone call or 2 and miraculously found someone who had the docs in his desk drawer! South Austin Pre-Owned manager Carlos Barrera LIED to me again saying he didn’t know WHO told me that the car had been sent to auction but that “simply was not true”. I asked to pick up the car and was LIED to again, saying they have “torn the office up” looking for her key & he wasn’t able to get a Locksmith here today to re-key it, that I’d have to come back tomorrow. I drove an hour to pick it up and wasn’t coming back the next day, so they need to pay to have it re-keyed and need to deliver the car to Round Rock where I can pick it up; he agreed that was fair. Fortunately, I did get the car back, but of course all of my phone & chat box messages asking GM Jimmy Stallings since Tuesday have gone un-returned. I’ve already written a review & filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau today as well as filed a complaint on the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles website. Filing a report with the District Attorney’s office next. Will be putting up poor reviews in Yelp & FB & any other place I can find. Ready to call the media in & put it all on the news next! Avoid these thieves!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Carlos Barrera
October 08, 2019

"Do yourself a favor, buy your Nissan ANYWHERE but here!"

- Lacey

I want to start by saying I love my new car, I just wish I had purchased it literally ANYWHERE else.In all fairness, we were closing on the car as the dealership was closing, so their were some open ended financing details I was told I would have to come back and sign on. No one ever called me to come back, so I reached out and was instructed to come in. When I came back the following day, a lot of my paper work had changed (for transparency, it was in my favor, so I wasn't annoyed with that, I just wish I would have seen that first red flag) I signed all the paperwork and left the dealership. About 4 weeks after purchasing my car and trading in my previous car, I got a call from the loan company on the car I traded in. They had charged me my car payment because the dealership hadn't paid the loan. I called South Austin Nissan and spoke to the General Sales Manager Rene Hernandez, and he was not very friendly about the matter and acted like this happens often and I should know that this is common. (For the record, we've bought 6 cars in the last 8 or so years and I've never paid a car payment on a car I no longer owned) He did apologize (for me not knowing that I might* have to pay a car payment on a car I traded in over 4 weeks ago) he did offer to detail my car when the plates came in for my troubles. My temporary plates expired on 10/02/19. I went to the tax office on 09/27/19 to get my Disabled Veterans plates registered and was informed that the dealership never registered my vehicle. I would need them to register this before I can do this. I have now owned the vehicle for more than 2 months and called South Austin Nissan 6 times and left voicemails for 3 days in an attempt to find out what was going on with my plates (also a step I have never had to take with any other dealership). I inquired about the detail service and was told to ask for Stephanie or Marcus upon arrival. I asked the front desk person (the only helpful individual in that building). She went and got Marcus. Marcus came out and seemed confused and asked me if I was buying a new car, when I said "No, I've already purchased one, I just need my plates on and a detail" he seemed shocked and in front of me argued with the front desk agent about how he was busy and not washing my car. The front desk agent then went to get Stephanie who was the rep who set up the detail. Stephanie got into it with the front desk agent as well because she was with a customer and more busy and the agent could tell Marcus' boss. The entire time mind you, I'm sitting there awkwardly aznd can hear every conversation being had. The front desk agent then went into a glass walled office with Marcus, where they continued to argue about how he wasn't helping me and refused to do it. The poor front desk agent then went into Rene Hernandez's office to explain to him what was going on. After speaking with him for a moment, she came out to tell me she was going to find someone named Alexis to take care of it. At this point I felt so awkward and couldn't imagine sitting there waiting for my car to be detailed. I asked the front desk agent to just hand me my plates and my husband and I would put them on ourselves. She asked if she could go back and get Rene, he would want to know about this. I explained to her that he did already know about it because he gave me the detail for my previous customer service issue and I watched her go talk to Rene personally, so if he genuinely wanted to talk to me, he would have come the 6 feet to speak with me. I then walked out of the dealership and gave them a couple days to call me. Rene never called me and he knew full well how upset I left. I dread getting my car serviced there and am so sad that I'm now connected to this dealership. Do yourself a favor and go somewhere else. It's not worth the headache of going to this location! You can get the same car elsewhere and have a MUCH better experience. I've never been treated this way by a dealership and I will never buy another vehicle from South Austin Nissan.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Marcus, Rene Hernandez, Stephanie Duran
Oct 21, 2019 -

South Austin Nissan responded

Lacey, we work hard to provide a fantastic experience to everyone. It's discouraging to see that you had a negative experience. Please reach out to me personally so I can make this right the best way that I can. AnnetteMarie Medina Owner Loyalty Manager 512-444-1400

September 23, 2019

"DO NOT USE THIS DEALERSHIP"

- rthames62

DO NOT use this dealership to purchase a vehicle. They did not disclose something that was wrong with the truck and are using the excuse that I test drove it so I "signed off" on it. Very unprofessional and would not even allow me to return the truck instead of fixing it.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Manager
Oct 04, 2019 -

South Austin Nissan responded

Rthames62, it's upsetting to hear that you did not receive the top-notch service we strive to provide. We would like to work towards a resolution, so if you are willing, please reach out to us at (512) 444-1400 to discuss this further. AnnetteMarie Medina Owner Loyalty Manager (512) 444-1400

July 26, 2019

"Service Department"

- Charlotte2014

My car needed an oil change, so I took it to the dealer. Patricia was absolutely wonderful. She greeted me like she was happy I was there. She explained the details completely. She checked on me in the beautiful waiting room a couple of times. It was suppose to take up to one and a half hours, but it was done in less than 1 hour. I actually look forward to going back for my next service visit.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Several employees offered me water and asked it I needed anything while I waited, but I don't know there names.
Aug 15, 2019 -

South Austin Nissan responded

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day! We are all here eager to serve our customers. AnnetteMarie Medina Owner Loyalty Manager (512) 444-1400

July 13, 2019

"Sneaky. Disappointing. "

- Kbelschner

All went well, so we thought! Our car salesman was very nice and did what he could to help us. Financially speaking, the guy spoke so fast and they decided to slip in about $6,500 between three different warranties and not even ask if we WANTED these extras(definitely didn’t). Now, we have been trying to get in contact with them for over a week and they never seem to try and make it a priority to help a customer since they’ve already gotten their money. So, here I am hoping to warn someone else from making our mistake.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Rocky
Jul 24, 2019 -

South Austin Nissan responded

Mrs. Belschner we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around. I have reached out to you by phone and would love a returned call so we can resolve this matter for you. AnnetteMarie Medina Owner Loyalty Manager (512)444-1400

Jul 24, 2019 -

Kbelschner responded

I have not received a call from you.

March 19, 2019

"Awful experience getting a simple oil change"

- SouthAustinCustomer

Stay away of getting any service here, they filled my radiator with wiper fluid for more than 2 times and had to replace it. Awful service and poor knowledge of their service people. Still waiting to hear from the manager about it.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Franchesca Novick
March 14, 2019

"State tag"

- Jaew

If you want to wait 5plus months for a tag. Here’s the perfect place to buy a car from. I called continually over a period of 5 months and still haven’t received a tag and no one seem to know what’s going on.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Miles Stewart
March 02, 2019

"Great service and a fantastic truck"

- Joshua

We came in to get a truck after getting not so great service and the usual run around at Covert Ford while checking out the F150. So glad we did, we ended up liking the Titan better than the F150 and the service we received from the salesman Chris Vantrease was fantastic. They gave us more for our trades than Ford and showed the utmost respect for our time and budget. No run around and no BS. Refreshing experience! We absolutely recommend Chris and South Austin Nissan. Additionally, the business manager Chris Robinson was very friendly and knowledgeable during signing. These guys know their stuff.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Chris Vantrease, Christopher Robinson
May 08, 2019 -

South Austin Nissan responded

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!

February 15, 2019

"More Than Satisfied!!!"

- jimmyjenkins1229

I was nervous about purchasing a new car because I thought my choices would be limited. I found the car of my dreams and my experience at South Austin Nissan was AMAZING!!! They went above and beyond to help me with my purchase. So HAPPY that I made the drive, it was well worth it!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Rodney Jones, Miles Stewart
Apr 30, 2019 -

South Austin Nissan responded

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!

January 12, 2019

"Would not recommend anyone to do business with these crooks"

- stan

Tried to purchase car from them. Was already approved for loan, got plane ticket to pickup car, I even had Bank work with them to complete the sale. They sold the vehicle at last minute and all I get was sorry....

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Adam North
1
...
1 - 10 of 170 results