Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

Sunwest Honda

N/A

12 Lifetime Reviews

1030 N Coast Hwy, Newport, Oregon 97365 Directions
Sales: (541) 265-8547

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

13 Reviews of Sunwest Honda

Sort by Write a review
October 20, 2019

"Sloppy, Dangerous Service"

- none

Oil change was botched, unbeknown to me. Driving to valley, ran out of oil. Had to stop in a Jiffy Lube in Philomath for repairs. Techs gave me the damaged oil filter, cracked on both sides, stripped screw. Brand new brakes, several warning lights came on. took vehicle to University Honda in Corvallis for repairs. Calipers hoses and main hose not installed correctly. and incompletely. Absolutely no brake fluid. STAY AWAY FROM THIS DEALERASHIP

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Unknown, but receptionist was coutious
June 13, 2017

"Two bad oil-changes"

- down with bad mechanics

"it's unfortunate when a customer comes in for a simple oil change and ends up walking out of the dealership with a bill for over $200." This happened to us twice at Sun west.(First time with a Honda Civic and second, a Benz. Of course we were stupid to give them a second chance. It really is costing us more than the $200.00 because we had a mechanic friend who offered to change the oil and transmission fluid for just the cost of materials, but he found the bolt stripped ...courtesy of sun west and since he was moving to Texas in a few days and couldn't fit it in anymore, we now have to pay around $500 to get the transmission fluid changed and another $60 for the oil change on top of the cost of getting the stripped bolt fixed.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
mechanic???
April 26, 2017

"They have my TRUST---4/25/2017"

- Heidi the Hondagrl

I rarely leave reviews with all 5-star ratings, but I have purchased two new Honda cars from Sunwest Honda and always have them serviced there. Trust them. You won't be sorry. There is also a new Service Manager I love. Roy Putman is his name and he has worked there for six years as a mechanic and now the manager of the department. He will bend over backward to assist you with expertise and a very friendly smile. No stress. He is a happy person with a gentle nature. The owner, Mike Schulz is a great listener and a professional, laid-back person and the main reason my loyalties are with this business, and the reason his all-thoroughbred sales force and employees love working there.They tell me that. :)

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Roy Putman
June 11, 2016

"The (not so customer service) Service Department is awful "

- pdevoy

went in with a dead battery. they checked the electrical system and charged the battery. they found nothing and sent me on my way. I paid $49.00. next day my battery was dead in my driveway. My neighbor gave me a jump and followed me to the Sunwest service department once again. this time they told me my battery post was too small for the terminal. they put a sleeve on and charged me 29.00 and sent me on my way. I parked the car in my drive way for 2 days and found the battery dead once again. I called the service once again and asked them so send someone over to jump start my car. 1 and 1/2 hour later a kid shows up and gets my car started. I drove it to the Honda dealer in Hillsboro Oregon 116 miles away. they found a bad fan motor relay that was discharging my battery. the Hillsboro dealer not only found the root cause...they fixed it and now everything is working and my battery is not dead every day. I feel the Sunset service department wouldn't try and actually fix the issue, they took the easy out each time and didn't help me with the actual root cause. I wont go back.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
service department scheduler and one of the mechnics
April 25, 2016

"No help with a nation wide recall "

- Rachel123

We were sent nation wide recall information from Honda. The information was to contact the local dealership that will help us with repairs and a replacement vehicle until the repairs can be made. When we contacted the local dealership we bought the car from twice, both times the service manager was irritated, rude, and not helpful. He told us there where no replacement vehicles and if there were we would have to pay for the replacement out of our pocket. He also informed us that the recall wasn't a problem for cars in our area and acted like we were just worrying for no reason. We contacted the Honda corporation who informed us that the dealerships were supposed to be paying for the replacement vehicles and a nationwide recall is serious for all areas. The corporation got us in contact with another Honda dealership outside of town. They were able to get us in the next day to pick a replacement car. I have been driving my children around for weeks ( a lot) because I was told by this dealership that there is very little risk. I will never go back to this dealership and I will be finding another place to do all my future repairs.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service Manager
August 27, 2015

"unhappy customer"

- civicdriver

Went in for an oil change, security code for the radio and the speedometer wasn't working. Charged $49.95 for "maintenance and discovery" to plug in the speed sensor after I told them we had the clutch replaced about a year ago and it may have come unplugged. Good thing I didn't need to have any fuses replaced because I would guess it would cost $49.95 to plug in each new fuse. I'm surprised they don't charge you $49.95 to plug the key into the ignition.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
josh
June 26, 2015

"Great service at a fair price"

- Lovin' Oregon

We were visiting Florence from out of town when our transmission would not come out of "park". We called Sunwest Honda and they told us to come right in even though they were booked. After 45 minutes the service manager told us that the problem was a blown fuse which had been fixed and an extra given to us. Everyone we dealt with from the salesman who greeted us at the door to the gentleman who washed our car was courteous and professional and made us feel that we had been well taken care of. If Sunwest can provide this type of service to people whom they have never met and whom they know they will probably never see again, then perhaps we should consider moving to Newport! Lynne and Jim Brady, Camarillo, CA

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
The Sunwest Team
August 30, 2013

"The service department in this dealership is the best. ..."

- drsmiller

The service department in this dealership is the best. Brent, Norman and the gang--you always great service and treatment. I would recommend them without hesitation and I like them very much as people as well. They go the extra mile every time. The Sales Department is the worst I have ever experienced. They appear to listen, but do not care about anything you are saying. They will agree to everything and do the opposite. No matter what I said, I always got a yes and then no delivery. The sales manager promised that when I next came in (after looking into a new care) he would give me the best deal ever. That was not the case. I had sent a colleague last year to purchase a car with an employee named Ron who was wonderful, but he didn't last there. I felt that I was going to buy from "friends" and be treated as such. Basically I had to spend hours and hours with the usual back and forth and there was never an intention to do anything that we discussed. I deeply regret buying my car from them and advise you not to buy from them unless you are prepared to go to war. I met briefly with the owner and he was worse than the sales department, adding insult to injury. What a shame in a small town to be treated so poorly. Shame on them.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
two Dannys - salesperson and sales manager
February 01, 2013

"Typical salesman. Got the keys, and we couldn't get them..."

- Bobdp

Typical salesman. Got the keys, and we couldn't get them back. Refused to quote a price on the used cars, other than so much a month. No prices on the used cars, so we were working completely in the dark. Not only no discounts on the new cars, but they all included $899 in "Coastal Weatherproofing" despite the manufacturer's rust and body guarantees. Then we are patiently waiting in the lobby, and waiting, and waiting, when I find the salesman just sitting in with the manager BSing. Turns out the manager had the keys all the time, after the salesman told us the service department had them. All in all, a very unpleasant experience. This is after we had previously purchased two new cars through this dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Bernie?
August 18, 2011

"I went in for an oil leak. Mike VanCleve the service..."

- bonnie5555

I went in for an oil leak. Mike VanCleve the service manager told me too have a seat and he got my car looked at right away. It didn't take long for them too let me know what the problem was. But the most impressive part was Mike did not just tell me what was wrong, he took me out into the shop and showed me my problem. It made me feel safe. To know he was hiding nothing "a feeling I have not had at a repair shop in many years." My oil Pan was leaking pretty bad. He assured me that the cost of the repair was cheaper than any other local dealer. How was I too know that was true? He gave me there price and assured me he would beat any quote by ten percent. I called Golds and Power. Mike's quote was already 15% cheaper. My car has been leak free for months. I can honestly say I am looking forward to my next visit to SunWest. I would recommend them too anyone in the area in need of service work. The new management they have there now truly understand customer service and it shows. Thanks Mike.. and your team of mechanics for taking care of me. Bonnie Miles Lincoln city, Oregon

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
michael vancleve
1
1 - 10 of 13 results