Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

Tate Chrysler Jeep Dodge Frederick

2.5

44 Lifetime Reviews

5629 Buckeystown Pike, Frederick, Maryland 21704 Directions
Call (301) 663-6126

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

44 Reviews of Tate Chrysler Jeep Dodge Frederick

Sort by Write a review
December 06, 2019

"Faulty Repairs"

- manuel2063

I only take my vehicle here for Oil Changes and recalls. I never had a bad experience until recently. 1st recall was for gas tank replacement, after this was done gas would spill out after filling up, Tate took care of the problem without issue. Next was a passenger airbag module replacement, since this was done passenger airbag is constantly on, I spoke with the service Manager Joe who insist I pay a diagnostic fee. I disagree as the issue have always started after they "repair" my vehicle. Our gas cap was replaced recently at their request and now I the gas cap light is always on, yet they want to charge a diagnostic fee. Do yourself a favor and find a honest repair shop that will stand behind the work and warranty. I'm very particular on who works on my vehicles, Tate seems to always find something they want replace to make a quick buck. Ladies, be aware they will also add extra fees to your bill, I've had to call them several times for mother as they add extra fees that are credit back later.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Joe.
September 24, 2019

"Go anywhere else if you value your car."

- OilChange Scammers

Took my car for its first oil change here and the work didn’t get performed. I brought it in at 5000mi and used my comp oil/filter change. Get home inspect it and the oil filter is stamped “factory installed” and oil is still dark brown. I lost it on Shane and he tells me well you really aren’t due for an oil change until 10k miles so it doesn’t matter. I completely lost it then, best part is the sticker they put in the window was to come back in 5k increments. Bunch of shady people. They said they would investigate it and confirmed the work wasn’t performed. Gifted me more oil changes (what’s the point if you don’t do the work). Oh and I had to wait about an hour in the waiting room for them to do absolutely nothing. Go anywhere else if you value your car.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Shane, Keith, some tech behind the scenes that’s lazy
July 17, 2019

"Fraud and Cheaters"

- Judd/CFO

I brought my 2016 Ram 1500 in on July 9th on my way home as it was acting up and I knew it would not make it home. Shane in the service department was kind enough to arrange a rental car. The next day Shane informed me that the diagnostic test showed cylinder 6 & 7 were not firing. They explained that without taking the engine apart they could not determine the cause and suggested the cheapest options would be to replace the engine with either a new for $8,350 or used for $5,500. I also had the option of letting them buy it and getting a new one. I asked them what they would give me for the truck as is and was told about $12,000. After much deliberation and weighting all the options I called and decided to just take the $12K and already picked out a new truck on their lot and asked that they give me the best prices as I was already taking a $10,000 loss on my truck as I still owed $22,000. They called me back and decided that they would only give me $9,000 for the truck because it had a blown motor (Which they already knew as they were the ones to tell me this). Then to top it off they would not budget on the price of the new truck. The conversation got very frustrating so finally I just paid for the diagnostic test they ran ($135.00) and had my truck towed to Criswell. Criswell had the truck one day ran the same diagnostic test and called me to let me know it was just a valve spring and the total repair would but just over $600 dollars. So I stood to lose $13,000 if I had trusted the staff at Tate. This is blatant fraud and I'm so glad I followed my gut feeling on this one. Could not be more happy with end result. ($135.00 to Tate) ($202.00 to tow it to Criswell) and ($646.00 to Criswell to replace a bad spring on the valve) Does anyone else see the egregious and blatant error in this!!! I would stay clear of this dealer at all cost. Could end up saving you a lot of money and frustration. I can't even begin to describe how stressful this whole situation was. I was a wreck for 3-4 days thinking I was going to be out $13,000 to $5,500 no matter which option I was told I have by the Tate staff. P.S. the most alarming RED FLAG was when the service manager personally offered to buy my truck for $7,000

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Shane, Shawn, Mike Flinn, Twain
June 21, 2019

"Worst service I’ve ever received "

- Chrisc1972

Had my 2012 RAM 3500 at Tate to have the key fob programmed. Received a call from Jesse in service saying they couldn’t program the fob because the truck had no power. I wasn’t sure why the truck had no power since it had power when it was dropped off. After almost two weeks Jesse calls and says they do not know what’s wrong with the truck and should have it towed out of their shop. To top it off they charged me $135.00 for their diagnosis. What diagnosis ? They couldn’t figure out what the issue was. Update : 7/2/19. I called the Glenn Burnie location of Tate because I was told that’s their main location . I asked to speak to Mr Tate. I was told by Jenny in the warranty department that there is no direct line to Mr Tate. I guess he should run for president then !! I asked for 2nd in command at Tate and was told to speak with a Michael Johnson. After being place on hold by Jenny for ten minutes I decided to hang up and call back. I left two voice mails for Jenny on 7/1/19 with no return call. I called back today 7/2/19 and left Michael Johnson a detailed message with no return call from him as well. I decided to file a claim against Tate for the damage to my electrical system they created. They also did not put any of the parts they removed from my truck back together. Instead they threw all the parts on my front passenger seat and rear seats. If you would like to see pictures of the mess the left me just email me at - goldenspring@comcast.net. I have been in business for 27 years and have never dealt with a more incompetent dealer in my life. Do yourself a favor and stay clear of this dealer !

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jesse , Joe, Sean
January 11, 2019

"Worst car purchase and service experience ever!"

- kskingsford

I purchased a used Jeep Renegade on 11/17/2018. Had the car less than a week and check engine light went on, called service and they said to drive until convenient for me to bring in for service. Took in the shop on 12/15/2018 for check engine light and hard shifting in transmission. While in the shop vehicle was wrecked by employee. Asked about $2,6544.00damage being reported to CarFax was told would not be reported because damage was done in the shop. Didn't get car back until 1/2/2019 from service. Got back still same shifting problem, took back in the shop on 1/8/2019, got it back on 1/9/2019 still having shifting problem. Had to take Wayne on drive so he could see the problem. Said yes it has a problem but not throwing a code so have to go through a process to get the vehicle repaired. Ran CarFax report and damage is reported and the price of the vehicle is now $2,000 less than what I paid for it. Had a towing charge of $200, have had to take off 1.5 days from work dealing with these issues. Have spoke with Patrick Sales Manager, Keith, Wayne and Tyler in Service. Called and email General Manager with no response. I have purchased over 5 vehicles from them in the past don't understand why this experience has been so bad.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Patrick, Keith, Wayne, Tyler
December 17, 2018

"Jeep Grand Cherokee in an afternoon."

- SoreHorseman

I researched my vehicle and test drove my selected vehicle. Rick Moffett understood my prior experience with the Jeep Gand Cherokee and did not over sell his product. He was able to meet my price expectations. The finance department was able to beat my auto banker's loan rate. Vehicle plates and registration papers were swapped that afternoon from my old 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee to the new 2017 Jeep Grand Cherokee.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Rick Moffett
November 10, 2018

"Service department worst experience "

- Peter

We brought our Jeep Grand Cherokee in for electrical issues and door lock (item #3 on the work order) and picked up the vehicle and paid in full ($286). LED car headlights stopped working while driving at night; not a pleasant experience. Returned the the car to the dealership within 50 miles of first service (32 miles were the round trip to drop off)) to have the issue fixed and the same door above fixed again. We were clear in follow up phone calls that we wanted LED bulbs. Picked up the car a week later only to discover they had replaced our expensive LED bulbs with OEM. Asked to speak to the service manager to explain this was unsatisfactory. He assured us he would make it right and credited the bill. Two weeks later we called to get an update. We were informed they did not realize the car was there and had done nothing to repair the door lock or lights. Was then told we did not tell the truth about the door even though we paid the first invoice in full. So disappointed with the experience to date we went to pick up the vehicle paid the full bill ($506) and never will return. Do not get service here.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Tyler,Keith
September 18, 2018

"Great Experience will return in the future"

- Medic1md

I was looking to maybe replace my 2007 Chrysler Town Country Minivan. I like the Chrysler minivan line. There was a 2014 Chrysler Town Country Touring Minivan I was interested in. I had seen advertised on the website. I liked the price as I was not looking to take on another car payment. I did not plan on actually buying but did. Jason was polite, willing to listen and made me feel comfortable with the entire process. I wanted to trade in my 2007 Chrysler Town Country touring for a 2014 Chrysler Town Country Touring. I liked how I have been treated by not only Jason, Wetzel, and all the used sales Dept. I have no complaints, I feel like they actually took time for me.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jason, Wetzel, The Entire Sales Dept., Body shop.
June 30, 2018

"Service department = frustrating experience "

- amay11

Had a frustrating experience with Tate. It started the night before when I received a text message confirming my appointment. The message said "text back with questions," so I did. I asked if there was a courtesy shuttle and I received no response. Suggestion: Either use text messaging to comm with your customers or don"t. But the lack of response is NOT helpful or good customer service. In fact, it's frustrating. The next day. I walked in for a schedule appointment and no one acknowledged me. I stood there awkwardly while people clicked on their computers, waiting to hear "be right with you, ma'am" or "welcome to Tate." Nothing. Finally, I said "do I need to talk with someone specifically...what do I do." A man, who didn't even bother to look up from his screen, said "be with you in a minute." Horrible first impression. Suggestion: Greet customers when they come in. How about having the receptionist to the left acknowledge customers if the service techs are busy? Come on...not rocket science... So, despite having a scheduled appointment. I was told "may or may not be seen." He went on to discuss how busy and backed up they were. Yada. Yada. Yada. Suggestion: Stop overbooking. Don't you get tired of pissed off customers who have to schedule their day around service. Aren't you tired of saying "don't know if it will be done today..." and dealing with frustrated customers. Hire some techs. Change your booking policies. Do something. Whatever. So I am stuck in Frederick waiting with promises of a call back and an update. I once again received a text saying "reply to this text" if you need anything. I did...twice...requesting an update...NOTHING. I had to call back repeatedly. It was closing time, and had not heard anything. Finally...after I called back...again...my truck was ready. Suggestion: If you say you are going to call with an update...call with an update. Your courtesy shuttle would not take me home, so i was stuck...waiting... Got the truck. Noticed the oil change indicator had not been reset. Great. They were closed. Did they really change my oil or were they "too busy?" I called Sat morning, and the guy who answered the phone said "all evidence suggests" it was changed, but he couldn't tell me for sure. What the heck does "all evidence suggest" mean? I asked for a straight answer and yes got frustrated. He could not give me one. He went on to say "it's been a rough week" at the shop and would have the service manager call me. He didn't want to deal with me. Oh...and he did tell me I could drop back by and have them check it out and reset it. Sorry, Tate...I can't drop everything and drive 45 mins back to your shop and sit there for something YOU SHOULD HAVE DONE PROPERLY in the first place. Suggestion: Add some sort of line item to your system that says "oil change complete? yes or no." If a service tech can't say definitively that an oil change happened...it's a problem especially when you customer paid for it.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
multiple
June 14, 2018

"Great buying experience "

- Bre

Overall a great car buying experience. Rick was awesome and so helpful in explaining the car, options/features and guiding me thru the entire process. Paul in financing made the actual purchase so very easy and gave some great advise for setting myself up for improving credit scores for better loan rates in the future. Also a shout out to the gentleman that did the finish up details before we drove off the lot, he was very sweet and did a great job. An outstanding team of people!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Rick, Paul, Pat and the gentleman that got the car drive off ready
1
...
1 - 10 of 44 results