About Us
Copyright 2018 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Toyota Certified at Capital Plaza

2.8

11 Lifetime Reviews

6100 Annapolis Road, Landover Hills, Maryland 20784 Directions
Sales: (301) 772-6900

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

11 Reviews of Toyota Certified at Capital Plaza

Sort by Write a review
October 17, 2018

"The Focus Should Be on The Customer 1st Not The Lazy Staff"

- toby S

This dealership or specifically the body shop is very customer unfriendly. They created some in house policy (not Toyota Corporate) to only except vehicles on Monday's or Tuesday before 4pm. This is a very inconvenient time for the average working person. I've used this dealership in the past, I now realize I had stopped because other Toyota dealerships in the area are way more cost competitive and customer friendly. If ya don't believe me compare any service you get here with the next 5 dealers closest to this one. The vibe in this place is just morbid as well.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Choy or Chow or Choi in the body shop
March 09, 2018

"Outstanding, Amazing and Excellent services"

- Melissa L Farmer

I walked in to get parts for my car. I walked out with a brand new car. It took half an hours to get the deal seal.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
TJ , Crystal Johnson Finance Department outstanding job and Sales guy is one of a kind
November 29, 2016

"Deceptive Cross Selling instead of attending to recall issue"

- Abie20770

I brought my Toyota Corolla in response to a safety recall. I did NOT request any additional service. Nor did I report any problem with the vehicle. Mr Lee Tensley who attended on me came to after a wait of two hours to say that the headlights needed cleaning, (a second issue that I do not recall), and third in order, an oil leak. As I was to drive 500 miles to Canada the next day I was blackmailed into agreeing to have the reported oil leak fixed. I was charged $337.92 for this service. Although I requested the cashier at the time of payment, I was not given the estimates that Mr Tensley had brandished before me. I was given only the bill. Not even the inspection report. On closely looking at the bill today, I was astonished to find that it stated an untruth: " customer states the timing chain tensioner is leaking please check and advice." This is a total falsehood. I did not make any such request. I am not an automobile mechanic. It is inconceivable that I would have reported this problem. It is clear from the order of the three repairs Mr Tensley suggested, that it was just a way to hoodwink the customer into paying for unnecessary and unwanted repairs. This sort of cross-selling to customers who came solely in response to the safety recall is UNETHICAL. It is nothing short of blackmail. The statement on the bill attributing a request to me is a complete fabrication. This kind of cross-selling under deception is illegal and I demand a full refund.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Lee Tensley
July 31, 2015

"Beware!!! Toyota certified service here is a joke. "

- GerrySienna

I came to the service center on July 17, 2015 and told the advisor Mr. Larry Wynn that I need a wheel alignment because when you hit the break at 50 to 60 MPH the wheel shakes. They perform the service but the next day I tested the car on the highway and still shakes. It feels that they didn't do anything at all. I came back on July 20 to complain but Mr. Wynn told me that wheel alignment will not correct the problem. I was surprised with his comments. After they investigate my complaints they offered me to change my brakes and rotors for $500.00 and will refund the wheel alignment fee to correct the shaking of wheels. I said no and they just refunded my wheel alignment fee. After 2 days, I check my break and found out they ruin the 2 front wheel bolts. I came back to the service center and complain directly to the service manager Mr. Michael Whelan and the first he said to me is the bolt is rusted and his employee will not do it. He went to his employee to verify and came back. I told him that I need the 2 bolts with nuts and will just do it myself. I will not allow any of his employees to touch my Toyota Sienna ever. I am done with toyota car and their service center. What a nasty experience with Certified Toyota Service Center.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Larry Wynn(Advisor), Michael Welan(Manager)
May 08, 2015

"Do not waste your time going there"

- Denis

Here is my story. I scheduled a regular maintenance appointment for my Tacoma prior to going to this Toyota center. The appointment was for 10AM. I’ve arrived a little earlier and was told that there are cars in the shop in front of me (what’s the point for the appointment then?). Two hours later, at noon, my car remained untouched with no estimated time to start or finish the service. I left the place since I already wasted half of my Friday. The place run on a first come first serve basis. Don’t even bother to schedule an appointment since it’s just a formality that isn’t being embedded anywhere in the process. Going to drive farther to darcars at Silver Spring. At least there I didn’t have such problems. I have to say the guy who assisted me was very professional and helpful, but as I said there is a procedural problem there, and good customer service doesn’t help your waiting time. I wouldn’t recommend this place to anybody.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jason
December 22, 2014

"Simple oil and filter change."

- clucas

I brought my Camry here for a simple routine oil change. Had no idea what I was getting myself into. Once the work was completed, drove off and went on my Mary way. About a day later the oil light comes on, and later I realize there a big oil spot on the ground where my car was parked. Low and behold, I was driving around with no oil in the engine. The mechanic caused some damage that caused my oil to leak out. So I had the car towed back up to toyota. They told me that the mechanic nicked the O-ring around the filter, and caused the oil to leak out. Well, here's the major problem for those who may not understand what just happened. Anytime your engine runs over (3) minutes without oil in it, it causes severe engine damage. So, the engine needs to be replaced. Because this kind of problem won't show up right away. But make no mistake about it, your engine will fail down the road. Could be a month, 6 months, or so. But it will fail. Toyota is fully aware of this. Let me tell you what these immoral individuals did. As I stated I had my car towed back here. So they hurried up and changed the oil and filter, and the away the old filter that I asked them to hold on to, and let me take a look at it. (Significance) that oil filter will tell you if there was any damage caused when the engine runs without oil. If you take a look inside of the old filter, and if it has metal shavings inside, then that's your proof that your engine is screwed. They are fully aware of this. So when I brought it to their attention, their attitudes was so bad, that basically they were telling me in so many words that we don't care if our mechanic damage your engine, and caused the oil to leak out. If it happens, its under warranty let them fix it. Folks that is so unfair and just criminally wrong to treat a customer like this. I have purchased three cars from Toyota. Never AGAIN!!!!!! For me to invest in a twenty thousand dollar vehicle only to have toyota mechanics damage my engine, and then basically tell me WE DONT CARE Is terrible. I will never bring my car back here again for anything, and would not recomend anyone else to either!!!! The manager is immoral and untrustworthy to say the least.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
manager Mike Whelan
March 05, 2014

"I went today with my friend to buy a used car. I took my..."

- salem1

I went today with my friend to buy a used car. I took my friend there because I had good experience with another Toyota dealer(355) when I bought my car. As we got there, we stand at the counter for minutes with out getting help. Then, this sales man came to us. He showed us the car that we were interested in. When we ask him the price, he brought us a credit application paper and said "you need to fill out this first.". We told him we need to know the price first. He didn't want to tell us the price. He said " We only tell price for serious buyers." I asked him " Is this how you treat your customers? He said yes. We were upset and left the store. This is my experience at this place. The sales man was unprofessional.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Allen
November 24, 2012

"I went to Toyota Certified at Capital PLaza to purchase a..."

- disappointedconsumer

I went to Toyota Certified at Capital PLaza to purchase a car. The salesman lied and claimed that they were able to certify cars that were not Toyotas. I had had the car for about two weeks when the brakes started grinding. I took it back to the dealership and they had me waiting for about four hours when they told me that they need a part that they did not stock. When it became clear that they work on my car would not be completed that day, I asked for a loaner. The sales manager initially refused to give me a loaner. I recounted the facts that I had purchased the car from them about 2 weeks earlier, that they had kept me sitting in the service area for 5 hours with several versions of the status of my car, and that I refused to leave without a loaner. The sales manager reluctantly authorized a car for me to take home. I'm still continuing to have problems (haven't had it one month yet). I asked the Sales Manager for information on the parent company and they refused to provide it. The Sales Manager Odeh pretended not to know the address of the parent company, the name of the President of the company or to provide a contact number where the President could be reached. Of course, I went to the Internet to get the information. I tried to reached a management person today, but my call was not returned. The service is terrible. These people only care about getting your money. There is no service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Odeh
August 15, 2012

"Get a detailed written estimate that includes all..."

- neveragain12

Get a detailed written estimate that includes all discounts before you have work done here & confirm your appt. in writing & ask them to confirm in writing that they have the parts for the repair. I took my car for a diagnosis & said that I would come back for the repair the next day onWed because of a 20% off coupon. I confirmed this with Greg Morton. I also confirmed with an online appt citing the repair and the coupon. When I arrived their computer system was down for 45 minutes so they had to manually check the availability of every part & the price of everything. After the wait, Greg alleged that he told me the part I was coming for was not in stock. That was a lie, plus I had confirmed my appt for this part & day in writing. When Greg wrote up my bill he lowered the 20% off to 10% & claimed he told me about it on the phone. That was a lie. In fact, he had just written me a tune-up estimate while I was there that included a full 20% off all labors and repairs, just as he quoted on the phone for my current repair. If the manager had not adjusted the price I would have given the place one star but I was very disappointed with the dishonesty of the service rep. On top of it all, the cashier/receptionst was tacky & rude. She was making audible nasty comments about customers to other customers. An overall bad experience.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Greg Morton, Receptionist/Cashier
August 03, 2011

"My husband recently bought. This place sells overpriced..."

- devotedteacher

My husband recently bought. This place sells overpriced vehicles. The salesman was very very pleasant. Our course, he is a SALESMAN!!! He could have warned us about buying an overpriced car!! The bank did an NNA estimate and a KKB and the car is worth 14,000. They sold the car for 18,995. The car was a 2010 Gallant and has 40,000 miles. WOW! A huge difference. PLEASE BUYERS BEWARE WHEN YOU GO TO THIS DEALERSHIP. JUST DONT GO! Some of the people there are very ignorant and rude, after he purchased a car. Please do your research on a car before buying a car from anywhere. DO NOT BUY ANY CARS FROM TOYOTA CAPITAL PLAZA!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Paul
1
1 - 10 of 11 results